2. Claims 1-17 are pending. Bolded claim language below regards newly amended subject matter with a corresponding new rejection citation. Newly amended subject matter that is not bolded does not comprise a new rejection citation (utilizes previous interpretation that is unchanged in view of the new language) or is a newly added claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-11, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by McMichael et al. (US Patent 11,921,261), herein after referred to as McMichael.
Regarding independent claim 1, McMichael discloses an imaging lens (Figure 1 102) comprising: sequentially (104(1) to 104(5)) from an object side (left side as oriented in figure 1 opposite to image side with sensor 118) to an image side (right side as oriented in figure 1 with image sensor 118), a first lens (104(1)) including a negative meniscus lens having a convex shape directed to the object side (column 4 lines 12-14); a second lens (104(2)) configured with a single lens (See response to arguments. Multiple interpretations in view of “a single lens”. 1) The second lens in configured with a different single lens: 104(2) is comprised of 108(1) directly in contact with lens 108(2); 2) the second lens is configured of a single lens: 104(2) is comprised of 108(1) and 108(2) which are both single lenses. Even though 108(2) is cemented thereto it does not negate that 108(1) is a single lens.) and including a positive meniscus lens (108(2)) (Column 7 lines 54-63 describes the exit lens 108(2), of 104(2), includes positive optical power enabling lens 108(2) to be configured to converge the rays 140 (describing positive meniscus).) having a convex shape directed to the image side (Column 4 lines 43-48 describes surface 116(2), of lens 108(2), to be convex.); at least one lens including a third lens (104(3)); a fourth lens (110(1) of 104(4)); a fifth lens (110(2) of 104(4)); and a sixth lens (104(5)) including a positive lens (104(3) column 8 line 1, 110(1) column 8 lines 6-7, 104(5) column 8 lines 13-14) having a convex surface as an image-side surface (surface 120(2) column 5 lines 4-5, surface 122(2) column 5 lines 12-13, 126(2) column 5 lines 48-49), wherein
Expression (1) is satisfied as follows (where the given values come from will be detailed after the equation):
1.2<D.sub.2/f (1) (D2=6 to 12mm; f=1 to 3mm; D2/f=4 to 6 mm ; 1.2<4 to 6)
where
D.sub.2 (Figure 1B 134(2)+134(3)) is a thickness of the second lens (104(2)) on an optical axis (106) (Column 6 lines 58-61 describes thicknesses 134(2) and 134(3) to both individually be in the range of 3 to 6 millimeters for a total thickness of lens 104(2) to be in a range of 6 to 12 millimeters.), and
f is a focal length of the imaging lens (102) (Column 6 lines 37-39 describes the focal length of the lens assembly 102 to be in a range of 1 to 3 millimeters.).
Regarding claim 3, McMichael discloses the imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein Expression (3) is satisfied as follows:
0.05<D.sub.1/f<0.6 (3) where D.sub.1 is a thickness (134(1)) of the first lens (104(1)) on the optical axis (106) (Column 6 lines 54-56 describes 134(1) as between 1 and 2 millimeters. Column 6 lines 37-39 describes the focal length of the lens assembly 102 to be in a range of 1 to 3 millimeters. Multiple values may work including: f=1.7 and the D1= 1.003. 1.003/1.7 =.59.).
Regarding claim 4, McMichael discloses the imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein Expression (4) is satisfied as follows:
0.1<d.sub.1-2/f<2.0 (4) where d.sub.1-2 is an air distance (138(1)) between the first lens (104(1)) and the second lens (104(2)) on the optical axis (106) (Column 7 lines 13-15 describes a range of 6 to 10 millimeters. Column 6 lines 37-39 describes the focal length of the lens assembly 102 to be in a range of 1 to 3 millimeters. Multiple values may work for f and 138(1) including: f = 3 and D1-2 = 6; 6/3=2.).
Regarding claim 5, McMichael discloses the imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein the first lens (104(1)) has at least one aspherical face (Figure 1A surfaces 112(1) and 112(2) of first lens 104(1) described in column 4 lines 13-15 to both be aspherical.).
Regarding claim 6, McMichael discloses the imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein Expression (5) is satisfied as follows:
0.5<R.sub.11/f<10.0 (5) where R.sub.11 is a paraxial curvature radius of an object side surface (112(1)) of the first lens (104(1)) (Column 4 lines 15-18 describes the radius to be between 9 and 14 millimeters. Column 6 lines 37-39 describes the focal length of the lens assembly 102 to be in a range of 1 to 3 millimeters. Multiple values may work including: f= 2 and r11 = 10; 10/2 =5.).
Regarding claim 7, McMichael discloses the imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein Expression (6) is satisfied as follows:
0.25<D.sub.3/f<2.0 (6) where D.sub.3 is a thickness (134(4)) of the third lens (104(3)) on the optical axis (106) (Column 6 lines 62-63 describes the thickness 134(4) between 2 and 5 millimeters. Column 6 lines 37-39 describes the focal length of the lens assembly 102 to be in a range of 1 to 3 millimeters. Multiple values may work including: f= 2 and D3 = 3; 3/2 =1.5.).
Regarding claim 8, McMichael discloses the imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein Expression (7) is satisfied as follows:
0<d.sub.5-6/f<1.5 (7) where d.sub.5-6 is an air distance (138(4)) between the fifth lens (110(2) of 104(4)) and the sixth lens (104(5)) on the optical axis (106) (Column 7 lines 24-27 describes the distance 138(4) between 1 and 4 millimeters. Column 6 lines 37-39 describes the focal length of the lens assembly 102 to be in a range of 1 to 3 millimeters. Multiple values may work including: f= 3 and D5-6 = 3; 3/3 =1.).
Regarding claim 9, McMichael discloses the imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein Expression (8) is satisfied as follows:
2.0<TTL/f<10.0 (8) where TTL is a distance (Figure 1B 134(1)+138(1)+134(2)+134(3)+134(4)+138(2)+138(3)+134(5)+134(6)+138(4)+134(7)+138(5)+ 136(1)+138(6)+ 136(2)) from an object side surface (112(1)) of the first lens (104(1)) to an image plane (118) on the optical axis (106) (Column 6 lines 29-31 describes the track length is between 40-50 millimeters. Column 6 line 51 to column 7 line 32 describes each individual range of values (in mm) including: 134(1) 1-2, 138(1) 6-10, 134(2) 3-6, 134(3) 3-6, 134(4) 2-5, 138(2) 2-4, 138(3) 2-6, 134(5) 4-7, 134(6) 0.1-3, 138(4) 1-4, 134(7) 2-5, 138(5) 0.2-1, 136(1) 0.1-0.7, 138(6) 1-3, and 136(2) 0.1-0.8 for a total range of TTL= 27.5-63.5. Column 7 lines 41-45 describes the filter and/or cover are optional and may not be included and the distance between fifth lens 104(5) and sensor 118 is between 2 to 5mm. Column 6 lines 37-39 describes the focal length of the lens assembly 102 to be in a range of 1 to 3 millimeters. Multiple values may work including: f= 3 and TTL = 27.5; 27.5/3 =9.166. ), and a value (not utilized in the expression) converted into air is used as a distance (138(5)+optionally 136(1)+138(6)+optionally 136(2)) from the sixth lens (104(5)) to the image plane (sensor 118) on the optical axis (106) (Column 7 lines 6-10 describes 136(1) between 0.1 and 0.7 millimeters and 136(2) between 0.1 and 0.8 millimeters. Column 7 lines 27-32 describes the distances 138(5) between 0.2 and 1 millimeters and 138(6) is between 1 and 3 millimeters.).
Regarding claim 10, McMichael discloses the imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein Expression (9) is satisfied as follows:
0.2<BF/f<2.0 (9) where BF is a distance (138(5)+optionally 136(1)+138(6)+optionally 136(2)) converted into air from an image side surface (126(2)) of the sixth lens (104(5)) to the image plane (118) on the optical axis (106) (Column 7 lines 6-10 describes 136(1) between 0.1 and 0.7 millimeters and 136(2) between 0.1 and 0.8 millimeters. Column 7 lines 27-32 describes the distances 138(5) between 0.2 and 1 millimeters and 138(6) is between 1 and 3 millimeters. Column 7 lines 41-45 describes the filter and/or cover are optional and may not be included. A total range of the distance TTL (including without filter and cover and with filter and cover): 1.4 to 5.5 millimeters. Column 6 lines 37-39 describes the focal length of the lens assembly 102 to be in a range of 1 to 3 millimeters. Multiple values may work including: f= 2 and TTL = 5; 5/2 =2.5.).
Regarding claim 11, McMichael discloses the imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein Expression (10) is satisfied as follows:
90°<FOV (10) where FOV is an angle of view of the imaging lens (Column 6 lines 33-37 describes vertical FOV equal to or greater than 50, horizontal FOV equal to or greater than 80, and/or diagonal FOV is equal to or greater than 95 degrees.).
Regarding claim 16, McMichael discloses the imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein all lenses from the first lens (104(1)) to the sixth lens (104(5)) are made of glass (Column 2 lines 33-35 describes the lenses may be made of glass.).
Regarding claim 17, McMichael discloses an imaging apparatus (figure 1A 100) comprising: the imaging lens (102) according to claim 1; and an image sensor (118) that converts an optical image formed by the imaging lens into an electrical signal (column 4 lines 59-61).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMichael in view of Usiu et al. (EP Patent Application Publication 3220179A1), herein after referred to as Usiu.
Regarding claim 12, McMichael discloses the imaging lens according to claim 1,
McMichael does not specifically disclose wherein Expression (11) is satisfied as follows:
40<ν.sub.3 (11) where ν.sub.3 is an Abbe number of the third lens with respect to d Line.
Usiu discloses wherein Expression (11) is satisfied as follows:
40<ν.sub.3 (11) where ν.sub.3 is an Abbe number of the third lens with respect to d Line (Table 5 fifth column vd described in paragraph [0044] to be abbe number with respect to the d-line, surface 6 (of third lens 21’) to be 75.5.) (40<75.5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable McMichael’s third lens (104(3)) with the known technique of satisfying expression (11) yielding the predictable results of suppressing chromatic aberration as disclosed by Usiu (paragraph [0037]).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 2 and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the cited art discloses the expressions of claims 2 and 13-15.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) have been fully considered and are unpersuasive.
Page 8 of the filed remarks states that the newly amended claim language of the second lens being configured with a single lens “and thus is not cemented to third lens”. However, a second lens “configured” with a single lens comprises an extremely broad scope. A single lens not cemented with any lens is itself a lens and therefore considered “configured with a single lens”. A single lens cemented with another lens includes the interpretation that being “configured” regards another lens besides the single lens. A single lens that is cemented directly and/or indirectly with multiple other lens still falls within the scope of being “configured” with another lens. Lastly, a lens regardless of being cemented or not to another lens is still a singular lens and therefore “configured with a single lens”.
In order for the claim language to be limited to applicant’s remarks the language must reflect the limited scope. For example, in view of applicant’s G2 lens, the lens is never cemented with another lens. Therefore, applicant may claim “a second lens that is not cemented with another lens”. While this specific wording is not stated in the written specification it is clearly supported in view of the figures. Further, while the claims are to be interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not brought into the claims. Applicant’s invention is given its broadest most reasonable interpretation. Therefore, the second lens being “configured with a single lens” does not inherently limit the scope to “not being cemented with another lens” as argued.
Applicant’s next argument regards the cemented lens 108(2), page 9 of the filed remarks. As described above 104(2) is identified as the second lens. 104(2) is a lens element that comprises a positive meniscus lens having a convex shape directed to the image side. In the current state of the claim language the rejection is maintained final. However, it is noted if applicant amends the claims, as suggested, it would overcome the current rejection. Said amendments after final would require further search and consideration.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621