DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action corresponds to application 18/130,277 which was filed on 4/3/2023.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In the reply filed9/1/2026, Claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended. Claim 24 has been added and no new claims have been cancelled. Accordingly, claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 11-13, 15-16, 18-19, and 21-24 stand pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/1/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
The applicant argues that the Gupta does not teach data source services publishing public-schema event messages in which an entity identifier identifies a class or type of event data independently of the service that published the event message. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Gupta teaches, in figures 1-3 and paragraphs 38-44 and 48, receiving event data from a plurality of cloud-delivered services and the published event data including an indication of the event and/or data describing the event, which is interpreted as an identifier identifying a class or type of event data independently of the source. Since this is for event data received from any of the cloud-delivered services it is interpreted as a public-schema event message. Kulkarni also teaches, in column 45 line 41 – column 46 line 5, using standardized formats such as publicly available open-source formats. Therefore, the examiner is not persuaded.
The applicant also argues that Gupta does not teach “wherein identities of the plurality of management data source services are opaque to the network service such that the registration request identifies the type of event data using the entity identifier without identifying any one of the plurality of management data source services as a source of the event data”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Gupta teaches, in figures 1-3 and paragraphs 33-47, the integration adapter receives event data and sends a request for data to the determination engine which determines data objects responsive to the event and target services, e.g., tenants, to receive data based on business processes associated with the event, note the source, which is also interpreted as a registration request for the target services. Gupta teaches that the target tenants are identified based on the type of event data indicated by the event, e.g., by the event identifier, not the source services. Therefore, the examiner is not persuaded.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 11-13, 15-16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta (US2024/0176764, previously presented in ‘892) in view of Hyun et al. (US2022/0232070, previously presented in ‘892), hereinafter Hyun, and Kulkarni et al. (US12,131,233, previously presented in ‘892), hereinafter Kulkarni.
Regarding Claim 1:
Gupta teaches:
A method, comprising: identifying, by an orchestrator service of a management computing environment, a plurality of management data source services, wherein a particular management data source service maintains a corresponding database storing device data for client devices enrolled with the management computing environment, wherein each of the client devices is associated with at least one of a plurality of enterprises that utilize the management computing environment to manage the client devices (Gupta, figures 1, 3, and 6, [0012-0015, 0044, 0049, 0059], note cloud-delivered services; note the data distribution system identifying a source and target cloud-delivered service for data objects from an event; note each data source service maintains a corresponding database storing device data; note user computing devices of the consumers of the services, which may be enterprises; note the data services may also have various customers, e.g., enterprises) and wherein each of the plurality of management data source services publishes event messages representing event data to a corresponding source pipeline of a plurality of source pipelines, the event data representing changes to the device data in the corresponding database (Gupta, figures 1 and 3, abstract, [0038, 0040-0041, 0049], note plurality of pipelines between the cloud services and data distribution system; note receiving a plurality of event data by the data distribution system, e.g., published event messages from the cloud services; note the event data comprises update messages for the cloud-delivered services, e.g., changes to device data in the databases, which may comprise or be associated with entity and tenant identifiers such as source information, target information, and type of event information), wherein the event messages published by the plurality of management data source services conform to a public schema, and wherein an entity identifier included in each of the event messages identifies a class or type of event data independently of which one of the plurality of management data source services published the event message (Gupta, figures 1-3, [0034, 0038-0044, 0050, 0090], note applying one or more transformations rules to the data objects to send the event data to the target service, which is interpreted as a public schema agreed upon between the computing environment and network services since the computing environment is transforming the data before sending to the services; note receiving feedback data to update rule data and training data, which is also interpreted as a public schema agreed upon between the computing environment and the services; note the use and manipulation of various publicly available media standards, e.g., public schema data structures; note that the published event data includes an indication of the event and/or data describing the event, which is interpreted as an identifier identifying a class or type of event data independently of the source);
receiving a registration request from a network service of a plurality of network services to receive the event data, wherein the registration request includes a tenant identifier that identifies an enterprise of the plurality of enterprises and the entity identifier, wherein identities of the plurality of management data source services are opaque to the network service such that the registration request identifies the type of event data using the entity identifier without identifying any one of the plurality of management data source services as a source of the event data (Gupta, figures 1-3, [0033-0047], note the integration adapter receives event data and sends a request for data to the determination engine which determines data objects responsive to the event and target services, e.g., tenants, to receive data based on business processes associated with the event, note the source, which is also interpreted as a registration event. While Gupta teaches this registration event, additionally, when combined with the Hyun reference cited below, the identified target tenants to receive data would comprise a registration request to receive data as taught by Hyun below. Gupta teaches that the target tenants are identified based on the type of event data indicated by the event, e.g., by the event identifier, not the source services);
generating, by the orchestrator service, a plurality of network-service-specific replication pipelines for a corresponding plurality of network services, wherein a particular network-service-specific replication pipeline is generated in response to receiving the registration request from the network service and is registered in association with the tenant identifier and the entity identifier (Gupta, figures 1-3, [0033-0047], note the integration adapter receives event data and sends a request for data to the determination engine which determines data objects responsive to the event and target services, e.g., tenants, to receive data based on business processes associated with the event, note the source, which is also interpreted as a registration event that generates network-service-specific replication pipelines to replicating and transferring the data. While Gupta teaches this registration event, additionally, when combined with the Hyun reference cited below, the identified target tenants to receive data would comprise a registration request to receive data as taught by Hyun below. Gupta teaches that the target tenants are identified based on the type of event data indicated by the event, e.g., by the event identifier, not the source services)
receiving, by the orchestrator service from the plurality of source pipelines, the event data for a plurality of entity identifiers and a plurality of tenant identifiers (Gupta, figures 1 and 3, abstract, [0038, 0040-0041, 0049], note receiving a plurality of event data by the data distribution system; note the event data comprises update messages for the cloud-delivered services which may comprise or be associated with entity and tenant identifiers such as source information, target information, and type of event information); and
replicating, by the orchestrator service, a subset of the event data associated with the entity identifier and the tenant identifier into the particular network-service-specific replication pipeline (Gupta, figures 1 and 3, [0027, 0034-0036, 0038, 0040-0041, 0044, 0049], note receiving a plurality of event data by the data distribution system; note the event data comprises update messages for the cloud-delivered services which may comprise or be associated with entity and tenant identifiers such as source information, target information, and type of event information; note the data distribution system replicating the data objects and send them to the target cloud-delivered services, e.g., network-service-specific replication pipeline; note the rule data uses event data to indicate the data objects and the target service to send the replicated data, which means the replicated subset of event data is identified using at least one tenant identifier, e.g., target service, and at least one entity identifier, type of data objects. The rule data that specifies a particular target service for data objects is interpreted as being registered for the particular replication pipeline),
wherein the orchestrator service subscribes to the plurality of source pipelines corresponding to the plurality of management data source services to receive the event messages generated by the plurality of management data source services (Gupta, figures 1 and 3, [0027, 0034-0036, 0038, 0040-0041, 0044, 0049], note receiving a plurality of event data by the data distribution system; note the integration adapter is subscribed to a plurality of cloud services, which is interpreted as a plurality of source pipelines corresponding to data source services to receive event messages; note the data distribution system replicating the data objects and send them to the target cloud-delivered services, e.g., network-service-specific replication pipeline; note the rule data that specifies a particular target service for data objects is interpreted as being registered/subscribed for the particular replication pipeline),
wherein the orchestrator service identifies, from the received event messages, a subset of event messages that include both the tenant identifier and the entity identifier registered for the particular network-service-specific replication pipeline (Gupta, figures 1 and 3, [0027, 0034-0036, 0038, 0040-0041, 0044, 0049], note receiving a plurality of event data by the data distribution system; note the rule data uses event data to indicate the data objects and the target service to send the replicated data, which means the replicated subset of event data is identified using at least one tenant identifier, e.g., target service, and at least one entity identifier, type of data objects; note that under broadest reasonable interpretation a subset of items may include all the items in the original set. The rule data that specifies a particular target service for data objects is interpreted as being registered for the particular replication pipeline),
wherein the orchestrator service replicates only the identified subset of the event messages from the plurality of source pipelines into the particular network-service-specific replication pipeline (Gupta, figures 1 and 3, [0027, 0034-0036, 0038, 0040-0041, 0044, 0049], note receiving a plurality of event data by the data distribution system; note the rule data uses event data to indicate the data objects and the target service to send the replicated data, which means the replicated subset of event data is identified using at least one tenant identifier, e.g., target service, and at least one entity identifier, type of data objects; note that under broadest reasonable interpretation a subset of items may include all the items in the original set. The rule data that specifies a particular target service for data objects is interpreted as being registered for the particular replication pipeline; note sending the replicated data to the target service via the network-service-specific pipeline), and
wherein the network service receives the subset of the event data through the particular network-service-specific replication pipeline, and the replicated subset of the event data is identified using the tenant identifier and the entity identifier registered for the particular network-service-specific replication pipeline (Gupta, figures 1 and 3, [0027, 0034-0036, 0038, 0040-0041, 0044, 0049], note receiving a plurality of event data by the data distribution system; note the event data comprises update messages for the cloud-delivered services which may comprise or be associated with entity and tenant identifiers such as source information, target information, and type of event information; note the data distribution system replicating the data objects and send them to the target cloud-delivered services; note the rule data is uses event data to indicate the data objects and the target service to send the replicated data, which means the replicated subset of event data is identified using at least one tenant identifier, e.g., target service, and at least one entity identifier, type of data objects. The rule data that specifies a particular target service for data objects is interpreted as being registered for the particular replication pipeline), wherein the network service provides one or more services for the client devices of the enterprise associated with the tenant identifier by using the event data in the particular network-service-specific replication pipeline, and wherein the network service receives event data of the type identified by the entity identifier rather than event data identified according to a particular management data source service (Gupta, figures 1 and 3, [0012-0013, 0015, 0038-0043], note the cloud services provide services for the client devices of the enterprise; note that the published event data includes an indication of the event and/or data describing the event; note the event data indication/identifier is used to obtain and send the appropriate data rather than the source. When combined with Kulkarni the client devices would be associated with a tenant identifier as shown below).
While Gupta teaches replicating data to various cloud services, Gupta broadly teaches registration requests and generating pipelines, to further support this interpretation, Hyun is in the same field of endeavor, data management, and Hyun teaches:
identifying, by an orchestrator service of a management computing environment, a plurality of management data source services, wherein a particular management data source service maintains a corresponding database and wherein each of the plurality of management data source services publishes event messages representing event data to a corresponding source pipeline of a plurality of source pipelines, the event data representing changes to the device data in the corresponding database (Hyun, figures 1, 4, and 8, [0013, 0060-0061, 0141], note detecting a new registration event of new data sinks, which is interpreted as identifying a plurality of data sources; note event data may comprise device data; note transmitting data from a data source to a data sink which means changes to the device data in the corresponding databases would be transmitted. When combined with the previously cited reference this would be for identifying the cloud services as taught by Gupta);
receiving a registration request from a network service of a plurality of network services to receive the event data, wherein the registration request includes a tenant identifier that identifies an enterprise of the plurality of enterprises and the entity identifier (Hyun, figures 1, 4, and 8, [0013, 0060-0061, 0116, 0141], note registration events, which are interpreted as registration requests; note detecting and registering data sinks and generating pipelines for the data sinks in response to the registration; note registering a data sink includes information about the data sink such as credential information and owner information, e.g., tenant identifier that identifies an enterprise, and type of data sink and source, e.g., entity identifier. When combined with the previous references this would be for the pipelines used by the cloud services and data distribution system as taught by Gupta);
generating, by the orchestrator service, a plurality of network-service-specific replication pipelines for a corresponding plurality of network services, wherein a particular network-service-specific replication pipeline is generated in response to receiving the registration request from the network service and is registered in association with the tenant identifier and the entity identifier (Hyun, figures 1, 4, and 8, [0013, 0060-0061, 0116, 0141], note registration events; note registering a data sink includes information about the data sink such as credential information, e.g., at least one tenant identifier, and type of data sink, e.g., at least one entity identifier; note generating a pipeline for the data sink; note the type of data sink, e.g., entity identifier, registered is interpreted to mean it is of interest to a network service since it was registered. When combined with the previous references this would be for the pipelines used by the cloud services and event data as taught by Gupta);
receiving, by the orchestrator service from the plurality of source pipelines, the event data for a plurality of entity identifiers and a plurality of tenant identifiers (Hyun, figures 1, 4, and 8, [0013, 0060-0061, 0116, 0141], note transmitting data from a data source to a data sink which means event data for a plurality of entity and tenant identifiers would be transmitted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Hyun because all references are directed towards data management and because Hyun would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data distribution which would improve the network cost and performance by efficiently managing the data brokers and data pipelines (Hyun, [0006, 0071]).
While Gupta as modified teaches replicating data to various cloud services, Gupta as modified doesn’t specifically teach a plurality of enterprises. However, Kulkarni is in the same field of endeavor, data management, and Kulkarni teaches:
storing device data for client devices enrolled with the management computing environment, wherein each of the client devices is associated with at least one of a plurality of enterprises that utilize the management computing environment to manage the client devices, the event data representing changes to the device data in the corresponding database (Kulkarni, figures 1 and 2, column 16 line 65 – column 17 line 25, note the data management system is a multi-tenant system, e.g., a plurality of enterprises; note using tenant identifiers to identify data associated with different tenants that may be stored on different devices, which is interepted to mean tenant data comprises device data since each tenant may use their own devices. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the system as taught by Gupta and Hyun);
wherein the event messages published by the plurality of management data source services conform to a public schema (Kulkarni, column 45 line 41 – column 46 line 5, note using standardized formats such as publicly available open-source formats. When combined with Gupta this would be for the transformation rules used by Gupta).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Kulkarni because all references are directed towards data management and because Kulkarni would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data distribution which would improve the efficiency and usability of the system by enabling communications between diverse systems or networks or applications for multiple tenants.
Regarding Claim 2:
Gupta as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Gupta as modified further teaches:
wherein the corresponding plurality of network services are external to the management computing environment (Gupta, [0012], note the use of network services such as the internet) (Hyun, figure 1, [0013, 0061, 0116, 0141], note the pipeline control service is external to the data source and sink. When combined with the previous references this would be for the pipelines used by the cloud services and event data as taught by Gupta).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Hyun because all references are directed towards data management and because Hyun would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data distribution which would improve the network cost and performance by efficiently managing the data brokers and data pipelines (Hyun, [0006, 0071]).
Regarding Claim 4:
Gupta as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Gupta as modified further teaches:
receiving, by the orchestrator service, a plurality of source registration requests for the plurality of management data source services, wherein the source pipelines are generated in response to the source registration requests (Hyun, [0013, 0061, 0116, 0141], note detecting and registering data sinks and generating pipelines for the data sinks in response to the registration. When combined with the previous references this would be for the pipelines used by the cloud services and data distribution system as taught by Gupta).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Hyun because all references are directed towards data management and because Hyun would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data distribution which would improve the network cost and performance by efficiently managing the data brokers and data pipelines (Hyun, [0006, 0071]).
Regarding Claim 5:
Gupta as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Gupta as modified further teaches:
wherein the plurality of management data source services are internal to the management computing environment (Gupta, figure 1, note the cloud services are managed by the data distribution system which is interpreted to mean the management of data source services are internal to the management computing environment) (Hyun, figure 1, [0013, 0061, 0116, 0141], note the pipeline control service is external to the data source and sink. When combined with the previous references this would be for the pipelines used by the cloud services and event data as taught by Gupta).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Hyun because all references are directed towards data management and because Hyun would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data distribution which would improve the network cost and performance by efficiently managing the data brokers and data pipelines (Hyun, [0006, 0071]).
Regarding Claim 6:
Gupta as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Gupta as modified further teaches:
wherein the particular network-service-specific replication pipeline uses a messaging platform to provide the subset of the event data to the particular network service (Hyun, figure 1, [0013, 0061, 0116, 0141], note message queue used by the pipelines. When combined with the previous references this would be for the pipelines used by the cloud services and event data as taught by Gupta).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Hyun because all references are directed towards data management and because Hyun would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data distribution which would improve the network cost and performance by efficiently managing the data brokers and data pipelines (Hyun, [0006, 0071]).
Claim 8 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1 respectively, except claim 8 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium while claim 1 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 8 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 1.
Claim 9 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 2 respectively, except claim 9 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium while claim 2 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 9 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 2.
Claim 11 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 4 respectively, except claim 11 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium while claim 4 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 11 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 4.
Claim 12 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 5 respectively, except claim 12 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium while claim 5 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 5.
Claim 13 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 6 respectively, except claim 13 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium while claim 6 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 6.
Claim 15 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1 respectively, except claim 15 is directed to a system comprising at least one computing device (Gupta, figure 8), while claim 1 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 1.
Claim 16 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 2 respectively, except claim 16 is directed to a system comprising at least one computing device (Gupta, figure 8), while claim 2 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 2.
Claim 18 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 5 respectively, except claim 18 is directed to a system comprising at least one computing device (Gupta, figure 8), while claim 5 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 5.
Claim 19 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 6 respectively, except claim 19 is directed to a system comprising at least one computing device (Gupta, figure 8), while claim 6 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta in view of Hyun, Kulkarni, and Quan et al. (US20140136481), hereinafter Quan.
Regarding Claim 21:
Gupta as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Gupta as modified further teaches:
wherein the event data in the plurality of source pipelines comprises a plurality of database update messages generated in response to device data received by a management service from the client devices enrolled for management with the management service, wherein each of the client devices includes a management agent installed thereon, wherein the management agent on each of the client devices periodically reports the device data to the management service (Gupta, abstract, figures 1 and 3, [0032-0034, 0038], note a plurality of pipelines; note the cloud services generate events which cause the integration adapter and determination engine to determine data objects response to the event and requests those data objects and send them to the target services, which is interpreted as event data in the plurality of source pipelines comprising database update messages in response to device data received by the integration adapter, e.g., management service) (Hyun, figures 1, 4, and 8, [0016, 0055, 0069, 0141], note message queues/data broker which comprises a plurality of update messages that are in response to device data received by a management service, e.g., registration events; note pipeline control server and scheduling module; note the scheduling information may include a time batch-based schedule allowing the pipelines to operation at time intervals, which is interpreted as a management agent periodically reporting device data since the device data is needed to operation the pipelines to transmit data form the sources to the sinks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Hyun because all references are directed towards data management and because Hyun would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data distribution which would improve the network cost and performance by efficiently managing the data brokers and data pipelines (Hyun, [0006, 0071]).
While Gupta as modified teaches transmitting data for event data via pipelines, Gupta as modified doesn’t specifically teach wherein each of the client devices includes a management agent installed thereon; However, Quan is in the same field of endeavor, data management, and Quan teaches:
wherein each of the client devices includes a management agent installed thereon, wherein the management agent on each of the client devices periodically reports the device data to the management service (Quan, figures 1-4, claim 1, [0033], note state synchronization module which may periodically report state data, e.g., device data. When combined with the previously cited references this would be to the management service as taught by Gupta and Hyun).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Quan because all references are directed towards data management and because Quan would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data distribution which would improve the security and availability of the data by periodically analyzing the device state.
Claim 22 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 21 respectively, except claim 22 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium while claim 21 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 22 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 21.
Claim 23 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 21 respectively, except claim 23 is directed to a system comprising at least one computing device (Gupta, figure 8), while claim 21 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 23 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 21.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fan et al. (US2021/0303585) teaches determining pipelines to send data from sources to target services; Jayanthi (US2021/0056121) teaches identifying target targets for data replication.
/JOHN J MORRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2151 9/23/2026
/James Trujillo/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2151