DETAILED ACTION
Rejections Withdrawn
1. The U.S.C. 102(a) rejection of claims 1-7,10-14,16-20 anticipated by Ryu et al. has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment filed on 2/2/26.
2. The U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claims 8-9 unpatentable over Ryu et al. in view of Dai et al. has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment filed on 2/2/26.
3. The U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claims 15 unpatentable over Ryu et al. has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment filed on 2/2/26.
4. The U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claims 21 unpatentable over Ryu et al. in view of Hui et al. has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment filed on 2/2/26.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Ryu et al. (US20130209894).
Ryu et al. discloses comprising: an aluminum salt component having a structure according to a formula AIX3, wherein each independently is a halogen atom (paragraph 0043); and an ether-based solvent having a structure according to a formula R1-0-R2, wherein each of R1 and R2 independently is selected from C3-2oalkyl, C3-2oalkenyl, C3-2oalkynyl, C3-2ohaloalkyl, C3-2ohaloalkenyl, or C3- 2ohaloalkynyl (paragraph 0044-0045). As to the optional additives, since it is optional and not positively claimed Ryu et al. does not need to disclose optional additives.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-7,10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (US20130209894).
As to claim 1, Ryu et al. discloses comprising: an aluminum salt component having a structure according to a formula AIX3, wherein each independently is a halogen atom (paragraph 0043); and an ether-based solvent having a structure according to a formula R1-0-R2, wherein each of R1 and R2 independently is selected from C3-2oalkyl, C3-2oalkenyl, C3-2oalkynyl, C3-2ohaloalkyl, C3-2ohaloalkenyl, or C3- 2ohaloalkynyl (paragraph 0044-0045) and the aluminum-ether-based composition does not comprise, or is free of, a metal hydride and/or an ionic liquid (paragraph 0049).
As to an aluminum-ether-based composition for use in electroplating an aluminum metal coating or for use in an aluminum battery is intended use. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which the claimed particle is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed article form a prior art article satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
As to wherein the aluminum salt component and the ether-based solvent are present in amounts that provide a molar ratio of 0.5 to 1.5 (aluminum salt component: ether-based solvent), Ryu et al. teaches a range of 0.001M to 10M (paragraph 0049).It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Ryu et al. with wherein the aluminum salt component and the ether-based solvent are present in amounts that provide a molar ratio of 0.5 to 1.5 overlaps Ryu’s claimed range of 0.001M to 10M. MPEP 2144.05 states that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
As to claim 2, Ryu et al. discloses wherein the aluminum salt component is AICI3, AIF3, AIBr3, AI(I)3, or a combination thereof (paragraph 0043).
As to claim 3, Ryu et al. discloses wherein the aluminum salt component is AICI3 (paragraph 0043).
As to claim 4, Ryu et al. discloses wherein each of R1 and R2 independently is selected from C3-1oalkyl or C3-1ohaloalkyl (paragraph 0045).
As to claim 5, Ryu et al. discloses, wherein each of R1 and R2 independently is selected from n-propyl, n-butyl, n-pentyl, or any fluorinated version thereof (paragraph 0047).
As to claim 6, Ryu et al. discloses comprising AICI3 and a mixture of two or more ether-based solvents (paragraph 0043,0047).
As to claim 7, Ryu et al. discloses wherein the molar ratio ranges from 0.5 to 1 (paragraph 0049).
As to claim 10, Ryu et al. discloses a battery, comprising: the aluminum-ether- based composition of claim 1; an aluminum anode; and a cathode (paragraph 0063).
As to claim 11, Ryu et al. discloses wherein the cathode is a metal-halid-based cathode, a vanadium-based cathode, an organic cathode, or a metal-chalcogenide- based cathode (paragraph 0056).
As to claim 12, Ryu et al. discloses wherein the aluminum-ether-based composition comprises (i)AIC3 and (ii) dipropyl ether or dibutyl ether, wherein (i) and (ii) are present in amounts providing a ratio ranging from 0.5 to 1 (paragraph 0047).
As to claim 13, Ryu et al. discloses a method, comprising applying a voltage to a system comprising an aluminum-containing substrate, a second substrate, and the aluminum-ether-based composition of claim 1, wherein the aluminum-containing substrate and the second substrate are positioned at a distance from one another, and the aluminum-ether-based composition comes into fluid contact with both the aluminum- containing substrate and the second substrate (paragraph 0077, figure 3 number 3,2,4).
As to claim 14, Ryu et al. discloses wherein the aluminum-containing substrate is an aluminum anode and the second substrate is a cathode (paragraph 0063,0054,0077).
As to claim 16, Ryu et al. discloses wherein applying the voltage to the system results in AI3+ ion transport between the aluminum anode and the cathode and through the aluminum-ether-based composition (paragraph 0043).
As to claim 17, Ryu et al. discloses wherein the method produces electrical energy (paragraph 0003).
As to claim 18, Ryu et al. discloses wherein the system further comprises a separator and/or a membrane component positioned between the aluminum-containing substrate and the second substrate (paragraph 0077, figure 3 number 4).
7. Claim(s) 8-9,23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. in view of Dai et al. (US20150056499).
Ryu et al. discloses the aluminum ether based composition described above. Ryu et al. fail to disclose further comprising a rare earth element component having a formula REE(Z)n, wherein: REE is selected from lanthanum (La), cerium (Ce), praseodymium (Pr), neodymium (Nd), promethium (Pm), samarium (Sm), europium (Eu), gadolinium (Gd), terbium (Tb), dysprosium (Dy), holmium (Ho), erbium (Er), thulium (Tm), ytterbium (Yb), lutetium (Lu), scandium (Sc), yttrium (Y), or combinations thereof; each Z independently is selected from a halogen; a polyatomic anion; an alkoxy group having a formula R30-, wherein R3 is selected from an aliphatic group, an aromatic group, a haloaliphatic group, or a combination thereof; or a combination thereof; and n is an integer selected from 3 or 4 and wherein the rare earth element component is CeCI3.
Dai et al. teaches further comprising a rare earth element component having a formula REE(Z)n, wherein: REE is selected from lanthanum (La), cerium (Ce), praseodymium (Pr), neodymium (Nd), promethium (Pm), samarium (Sm), europium (Eu), gadolinium (Gd), terbium (Tb), dysprosium (Dy), holmium (Ho), erbium (Er), thulium (Tm), ytterbium (Yb), lutetium (Lu), scandium (Sc), yttrium (Y), or combinations thereof; each Z independently is selected from a halogen; a polyatomic anion; an alkoxy group having a formula R30-, wherein R3 is selected from an aliphatic group, an aromatic group, a haloaliphatic group, or a combination thereof; or a combination thereof; and n is an integer selected from 3 or 4 and wherein the rare earth element component is CeCI3 for the purpose of providing electrolyte material that is environmentally benign and of lower cost (paragraph 0003,0065,0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Ryu et al. with further comprising a rare earth element component having a formula REE(Z)n, wherein: REE is selected from lanthanum (La), cerium (Ce), praseodymium (Pr), neodymium (Nd), promethium (Pm), samarium (Sm), europium (Eu), gadolinium (Gd), terbium (Tb), dysprosium (Dy),holmium (Ho), erbium (Er), thulium (Tm), ytterbium (Yb), lutetium (Lu), scandium (Sc), yttrium (Y), or combinations thereof; each Z independently is selected from a halogen; a polyatomic anion; an alkoxy group having a formula R30-, wherein R3 is selected from an aliphatic group, an aromatic group, a haloaliphatic group, or a combination thereof; or a combination thereof; and n is an integer selected from 3 or 4
and wherein the rare earth element component is CeCI3 for the purpose of providing electrolyte material that is environmentally benign and of lower cost (paragraph 0003,0065,0073).
8. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (US20130209894).
Ryu et al. discloses the aluminum ether based composition described above. Ryu et al. discloses wherein the voltage is a charging voltage (paragraph 0101). Ryu et al. fail to disclose wherein the voltage is a charging voltage and is applied as DC, AC, or a combination thereof. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Ryu et al. with wherein the voltage is a charging voltage and is applied as DC, AC, or a combination thereof for the purpose of providing optimal results in absence of unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fail to teach or suggest wherein the aluminum-containing substrate is an aluminum metal counter electrode and the second substrate is a working electrode
and comprises a substrate upon which aluminum metal formed from the aluminum salt component is deposited upon exposure of the system to the voltage. Applicant teaches the aluminum based coating exhibits desirable morphology and durability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JANE J RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724