DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 06/07/2023, 06/21/2023, 11/14/2023, 11/15/2023, 10/14/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “172” has been used to designate both “temperature sensor” and “charging sensor” [see Par.0048 of the Instant Application]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “174” is shown in Fig.1 but is not mentioned in the description. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9, 16-17, 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the movable assembly” in line 5. This should read “the movable door assembly” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 1 (line 3).
Claims 2-9 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claims 2 to 9 recite the limitation “The assembly” in line 1. This should read “The heated energy port assembly” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 1 (line 1).
Claims 6-9 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 5.
Claim 4 (lines 1-2, 3), claim 5 (line 2), claim 6 (lines 1-2, 3), claim 7 (line 1), claim 9 (line 2) recite the limitation “the movable door”. It is understood that the limitation “the movable door” refers to the “the movable door assembly” recited previously in claim 1 (line 4). Therefore, the limitation “the movable door” should be changed to “the movable door assembly” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 1 (line 4).
Claims 6-9 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 5.
Claim 7 should include a comma “,” after the limitation “the vehicle” in line 2.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the housing front faces an outside of the vehicle” in line 2. This should read “the housing front face faces an outside of the vehicle” because it is understood that the limitation “the housing front” recited in claim 8 (line 2) refers to the limitation “a housing front face” recited previously in claim 8 (lines 1-2).
Claim 16 should include a comma “,” after the limitation “the vehicle” in line 3.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “movable door” in lines 2-3. The limitation “movable door” should read “the movable door” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 10 (line 5).
Claim 20 recites the limitation “bottom” in “the top and bottom” in line 3. The limitation “bottom” should read “the bottom” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 20 (line 3).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“heating element configured to heat at least a portion of the energy port assembly” in claim 1 (lines 7-8) and “heating element” in claim 1 (line 7), claim 2 (line 3), claim 3 (lines 2-3), claim 5 (line 1), claim 6 (line 2), claim 7 (line 3), claim 8 (lines 3-4), claim 9 (line 1). This limitation uses generic placeholder “element” (Prong A); the term “element” is modified by functional language “configured to heat at least a portion of the energy port assembly” (Prong B); and the term “element” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “heating element” will be interpreted as “PTC heating element or resistive wire” and equivalents, as indicated by Specification Par.0054: “In some embodiments, the heating element is made of a PTC material as discussed herein. In some embodiments, the heating element includes a resistive wire.”.
“heating element configured to heat at least a portion of the at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal” in claim 10 (lines 8-9) & claim 20 (lines 9-10), and “heating element” in claim 10 (line 7), claim 12 (line 3), claim 13 (line 3), claim 15 (line 4), claim 16 (line 4), claim 18 (line 1), claim 19 (line 1), claim 20 (line 8). This limitation uses generic placeholder “element” (Prong A); the term “element” is modified by functional language “configured to heat at least a portion of the at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal” (Prong B); and the term “element” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “heating element” will be interpreted as “PTC heating element or resistive wire” and equivalents, as indicated by Specification Par.0054: “In some embodiments, the heating element is made of a PTC material as discussed herein. In some embodiments, the heating element includes a resistive wire.”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 6, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the contents” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “contents” recited previously. Thus, it is unclear what “the contents” herein refers to. For examination purposes, the limitation “the contents” recited in claim 1 (line 6) will be interpreted as elements that are housed inside of the housing.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a heating element coupled to the energy port assembly” in line 7. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation. First, it is unclear whether or not the limitation “the energy port assembly” recited in line 7 refers to the limitation “A heated energy port assembly” recited previously in line 1. If the limitation “the energy port assembly” recited in line 7 refers to the limitation “A heated energy port assembly” recited previously in line 1, it is unclear what is meant by the limitation “a heating element coupled to the energy port assembly” in line 7 because claim 1 recites “A heated energy port assembly comprising: … a heating element”; therefore, the heated energy port assembly comprises “a heating element”, which means “a heating element” is part of the heated energy port assembly. However, claim 1 further recites “a heating element coupled to the energy port assembly” in line 7, which means “a heating element” is coupled to the energy port assembly. It is unclear how the heated energy port assembly already comprises the heating element, and then the heating element is coupled to the heated energy port assembly. Therefore, if the limitation “the energy port assembly” recited in line 7 refers to the limitation “A heated energy port assembly” recited previously in line 1, it is unclear if the heating element is part of the heated energy port assembly, or a heating element is a separate part that is configured to be coupled with the heated energy port assembly. It is unclear how “A heated energy port assembly comprising: … a heating element” and also “a heating element coupled to the energy port assembly”. Fig.1 of the Instant Application shows that the heating element 160 is part of the heated energy port assembly 100, and Par.0021 of the Instant Application describes: “As seen in Figure 1, the heated energy port assembly 100 includes a housing 110, a movable door assembly 120 (which includes a door 130 in the example embodiment depicted in Figure 1), a seal 140, and a heating element 160.”, and Par.0031 of the Instant Application describes: “Returning to Figure 1, the heating element 160 is coupled to at least one of the housing 110,movable door 130, or seal 140.”. Furthermore, it is noted that the Instant Application defines the entire port assembly as shown in Fig.8 of the Instant Application as a heated energy port assembly, specifically, Par.0016 of the Specification of the Instant Application cited: “Figure 8 illustrates a perspective view of a heated energy port assembly, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure.”; therefore, the heating element 840 is part of the heated energy port assembly; in other words, the heated energy port assembly as shown in Fig.8 of the Instant Application comprises the heating element 840. Therefore, the Specification and the Drawings of the Instant Application describes that the heating element is part of the heated energy port assembly, which means the heated energy port assembly comprises the heating element, and the heating element is coupled to at least one of the housing, movable door, or seal of the heated energy port assembly. Therefore, it is unclear how “A heated energy port assembly comprising: … a heating element” and also “a heating element coupled to the energy port assembly” as recited in claim 1. For examination purposes, the limitation “a heating element coupled to the energy port assembly” recited in claim 1 (line 7) will be interpreted as a heating element coupled to at least one component of the heated energy port assembly.
Claims 2-9 are rejected by virtue of their dependent claim 1.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the periphery” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 6 depends on claim 5; claim 5 depends on claim 1; however, there is no “periphery” recited previously in claim 1, claim 5, or claim 6.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the housing front face” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 16 depends on claim 10; however, there is no “housing front face” recited previously in claim 10 or claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12, 15-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi et al. (JP 2016088250 A, Published 05/23/2016, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi discloses a heated energy port assembly (heated energy port assembly includes the energy supply unit 10 [Hayashi Fig.1], the heater ECU (Electric Control Unit) 201 [Hayashi Fig.6] and temperature sensor 204 [Hayashi Fig.6]) (Hayashi Translated Par.0022 discloses: “As shown in Figures 2 to 4, the first energy replenishment unit 10 includes a charge bracket 11 forming a recess 8 formed in the vehicle body 2, two charge ports 12a and 12b, a lid 14, and heaters 15a to 15d.”) (it is noted that the Instant Application defines the heated energy port assembly 100 including the housing 10 having cavity 112 and port 114, seal 140, door assembly 120 having door 130, heating element 160, controller 170 and sensor 172, as shown in Fig.1 of the Instant Application; therefore, the prior art Hayashi heated energy port assembly is interpreted to include the energy supply unit 10 [Hayashi Fig.1], the heater ECU (Electric Control Unit) 201 [Hayashi Fig.6] and temperature sensor 204 [Hayashi Fig.6]) comprising:
a housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) (Hayashi Translated Par.0028 discloses: “The first bottom wall 21, the first top wall 22, the first plug support wall 23, the first rear wall 24, and the first front wall 25 each form the inner side of the charge bracket 11.”) configured to be coupled to a surface (surface of the vehicle body 2, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) of a vehicle (vehicle 1, Hayashi Fig.1);
a movable door assembly (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2) coupled to the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) and configured to move from a closed position (closed position as shown in Hayashi Figs.1 or 4) in which the movable door assembly (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2) forms a closed compartment (when the movable door assembly is in closed position, it forms a closed compartment with the charging bracket 11 as shown in Hayashi Fig.1) with the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) and an open position (open position as shown in Hayashi Fig.2) in which the movable assembly (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2) moves at least partially away (Hayashi Fig.2 shows the moveable door assembly moves at least partially away from the charging bracket 11) from the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) to expose the contents (the contents of the charging bracket 11 are exposed as shown in Hayashi Fig.2) of the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4); and
a heating element (heaters 15a, 15b, 15c, Hayashi Fig.2) coupled to the energy port assembly (heated energy port assembly includes the energy supply unit 10 [Hayashi Fig.1], the heater ECU (Electric Control Unit) 201 [Hayashi Fig.6] and temperature sensor 204 [Hayashi Fig.6]) (see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection for this limitation “a heating element coupled to the energy port assembly” above; in this case, the heaters 15a, 15b, 15c coupled to at least the charging bracket 11 and the flat portion 51 of the energy supply unit 10), the heating element (heaters 15a, 15b, 15c, Hayashi Fig.2) configured to heat at least a portion of the energy port assembly (heated energy port assembly includes the energy supply unit 10 [Hayashi Fig.1], the heater ECU (Electric Control Unit) 201 [Hayashi Fig.6] and temperature sensor 204 [Hayashi Fig.6]) (Hayashi Translated Par.0038 discloses: “when the heater 15a generates heat, the first bottom wall 21 is heated. When the heaters 15b and 15c generate heat, the lock portion 55 and the step portion 28 are heated. When the heater 15d generates heat, the communication pipe 47 is heated.”; it is noted that the first bottom wall 21, the lock portion 55, the step portion 28 belong to the energy supply unit 10, as shown in Hayashi Fig.2 and indicated by Translated Pars.0023, 0025; therefore, the heaters 15a, 15b, 15c configured to heat at least a portion of the energy supply unit 10 of the heated energy port assembly).
Regarding claim 2, Hayashi discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Hayashi also discloses further comprising
a controller (heater ECU (Electric Control Unit) 201, Hayashi Fig.6) and a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 204, Hayashi Fig.6), the controller (heater ECU (Electric Control Unit) 201, Hayashi Fig.6) configured to provide heat to the movable door assembly (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2) via the heating element (heater 15c, Hayashi Fig.2) responsive to an input (“temperature information D3”, Hayashi Translated Pars.0047-0048) from the temperature sensor (temperature sensor 204, Hayashi Fig.6) (Hayashi Translated Par.0047 discloses: “The outside air temperature sensor 204 measures the temperature outside the vehicle 1 . Information indicating this measured temperature is output to the heater ECU 201 as temperature information D3.”, and Hayashi Translated Par.0048 discloses: “Next, the heating control of heaters A and B, i.e., the heating control of the energy supply unit 10 on the charging port side, performed by the heater ECU 201 based on the switch information D1, the status information D2, and the temperature information D3 will be described with reference to FIG. 7 .”; it is noted that the heater B is heater 15c, as indicated by Hayashi Translated Par.0043: “Here, heater A is heater 15a and heater 15b, heater B is heater 15c (shown in FIG. 2)”, and Hayashi Fig.2 & Par.0037 disclose the heater 15c is installed on the flat portion 51 of the movable door, specifically, Hayashi Translated Par.0037 discloses: “The lid 14 has a heater 15c (shown in FIG. 2) installed on the flat plate portion 51 thereof.”; therefore, Hayashi discloses the heater ECU (Electric Control Unit) 201 configured to provide heat to the flat portion 51 of the movable door assembly via the heater 15c responsive to an input from the temperature sensor 204).
Regarding claim 4, Hayashi discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Hayashi also discloses:
wherein the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) includes an opening (opening, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) when the movable door (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2) is in the open position (open position as shown in Hayashi Fig.2), and wherein a seal (lock plate 53 and locking claw 32, Hayashi Fig.2) (it is noted that the definition of “seal” is “something that secures” – according to Merriam-Webster Dictionary [https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/seal, accessed on 01/07/2025]; in this case, the lock plate 53 has a lock hole 31 at its end that engages with the lock claw 32; the locking claw 32 and the locking hole 31 form a locking portion 55 that fixes the moveable door in the closed position, thus, the lock plate 53 and the locking claw 32 secure the movable door; therefore, the lock plate 53 and the locking claw 32 are interpreted as seal) is disposed at least partially around a periphery (periphery of the opening, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) of the opening (opening, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) when the movable door (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2) is in the closed position (closed position as shown in Hayashi Fig.4).
Regarding claim 5, Hayashi discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Hayashi also discloses:
wherein the heating element (heaters 15a, 15b, 15c, Hayashi Fig.2) is disposed on at least one of the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) or the movable door (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2) (it is noted that the limitation “at least one of the housing or the movable door” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Hayashi discloses the heaters 15a, 15b, 15c disposed on both the charging bracket 11 and the movable door assembly including flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34 because Hayashi Translated Par.0037 discloses: “That is, as shown in FIGS. 2 to 4, the charge bracket cover 40 has a heater 15a (shown in FIG. 3) and a heater 15b (shown in FIG. 4) embedded in the second bottom wall 41 and the second rear side wall 44, respectively. The lid 14 has a heater 15c (shown in FIG. 2) installed on the flat plate portion 51 thereof.”, it is noted that the charging bracket 11 includes the charge bracket cover 40 because Hayashi Par.0029 discloses: “The charging bracket 11 further includes a charging bracket cover 40.”).
Regarding claim 6, Hayashi discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 5, Hayashi also discloses:
wherein the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) includes an opening (opening, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) when the movable door (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2) is in the open position (open position as shown in Hayashi Fig.2), and wherein the heating element (heaters 15a, 15b, 15c, Hayashi Fig.2) at least partially surrounds the periphery (periphery of the opening, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) of the opening (opening, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) when the movable door (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2) is in the closed position (closed position as shown in Hayashi Fig.4) (the heaters 15a, 15b, 15c are at least partially surrounds the periphery of the opening when the movable door assembly including flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34 is in closed position).
Regarding claim 7, Hayashi discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 5, Hayashi also discloses:
wherein the movable door (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2) has a door rear face (door rear face, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) and a door front face (door front face, Hayashi annotated Fig.1 below), the door front face (door front face, Hayashi annotated Fig.1 below) faces an outside of the vehicle (vehicle 1, Hayashi Fig.1) (Hayashi annotated Fig.1 below shows the door front face faces an outside of the vehicle 1) and the door front face (door front face, Hayashi annotated Fig.1 below) and the door rear face (door rear face, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) are oriented away from each other (Hayashi annotated Figs.1-2 below show the door front face and the door rear face are oriented away from each other), wherein the heating element (heater 15c, Hayashi Fig.2) is disposed along at least one of the door front face or the door rear face (door rear face, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) (it is noted that the limitation “at least one of the door front face or the door rear face” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Hayashi discloses the heater 15c is disposed along the door rear face as shown in Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below and Hayashi Translated Par.0037 discloses: “The lid 14 has a heater 15c (shown in FIG. 2) installed on the flat plate portion 51 thereof.”).
Regarding claim 8, Hayashi discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 5, Hayashi also discloses:
wherein the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) has a housing rear face (housing rear face, Hayashi annotated Fig.4 below) and a housing front face (housing front face, Hayashi annotated Figs.2, 4 below), the housing front faces (housing front face, Hayashi annotated Figs.2, 4 below) an outside of the vehicle (vehicle 1, Hayashi Fig.1) (Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below shows the housing front face faces an outside of the vehicle 1 when the movable door is in an open position as shown in Hayashi Fig.2), and the housing rear face (housing rear face, Hayashi annotated Fig.4 below) and the housing front face (housing front face, Hayashi annotated Figs.2, 4 below) are oriented away from each other (Hayashi annotated Fig.4 below shows the housing rear face and the housing front face are oriented away from each other), wherein the heating element (heaters 15a, 15b, Hayashi Fig.2) is disposed along at least one of the housing rear face or the housing front face (housing front face, Hayashi annotated Figs.2, 4 below) (it is noted that the limitation “at least one of the housing rear face or the housing front face” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Hayashi discloses the heaters 15a &15b are disposed along the housing front face as shown in Hayashi annotated Figs.2, 4 below and Hayashi Translated Par.0037 discloses: “That is, as shown in FIGS. 2 to 4, the charge bracket cover 40 has a heater 15a (shown in FIG. 3) and a heater 15b (shown in FIG. 4) embedded in the second bottom wall 41 and the second rear side wall 44, respectively.”, it is noted that the charging bracket 11 includes the charge bracket cover 40 because Hayashi Par.0029 discloses: “The charging bracket 11 further includes a charging bracket cover 40.”, and Hayashi annotated Fig.4 below shows the charge bracket cover 40 are disposed along the housing front face).
Regarding claim 9, Hayashi discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 5, Hayashi also discloses:
wherein the heating element (heater 15c, Hayashi Fig.2) is integrated in at least one of the housing or the movable door (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2) (it is noted that the limitation “at least one of the housing or the movable door” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Hayashi discloses the heater 15c is integrated in the flat portion 51 of the movable door because Hayashi Translated Par.0037 discloses: “The lid 14 has a heater 15c (shown in FIG. 2) installed on the flat plate portion 51 thereof.”).
Regarding claim 10, Hayashi discloses a heated energy port assembly (heated energy port assembly includes the energy supply unit 10 [Hayashi Fig.1], the heater ECU (Electric Control Unit) 201 [Hayashi Fig.6] and temperature sensor 204 [Hayashi Fig.6]) (Hayashi Translated Par.0022 discloses: “As shown in Figures 2 to 4, the first energy replenishment unit 10 includes a charge bracket 11 forming a recess 8 formed in the vehicle body 2, two charge ports 12a and 12b, a lid 14, and heaters 15a to 15d.”) (it is noted that the Instant Application defines the heated energy port assembly 100 including the housing 10 having cavity 112 and port 114, seal 140, door assembly 120 having door 130, heating element 160, controller 170 and sensor 172, as shown in Fig.1 of the Instant Application; therefore, the prior art Hayashi heated energy port assembly is interpreted to include the energy supply unit 10 [Hayashi Fig.1], the heater ECU (Electric Control Unit) 201 [Hayashi Fig.6] and temperature sensor 204 [Hayashi Fig.6]) comprising:
a housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) (Hayashi Translated Par.0028 discloses: “The first bottom wall 21, the first top wall 22, the first plug support wall 23, the first rear wall 24, and the first front wall 25 each form the inner side of the charge bracket 11.”) configured to be disposed along an exterior of a vehicle (vehicle 1, Hayashi Fig.1) (Hayashi Figs.1-4 shows the charging bracket 11 disposed along an exterior of the vehicle 1), the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) defining a cavity (recess 8, Hayashi Fig.2) (Hayashi Translated Par.0022 discloses: “As shown in Figures 2 to 4, the first energy replenishment unit 10 includes a charge bracket 11 forming a recess 8 formed in the vehicle body 2”) configured to accept an external power source (“normal charging gun” & “quick charging gun”, Hayashi Translated Par.0032) for insertion into a port (charging ports 12a & 12b, Hayashi Fig.2) (Hayashi Translated Par.0032 discloses: “As shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, the first energy replenishment unit 10 has one charging port 12a connectable to a normal charging gun and the other charging port 12b connectable to a quick charging gun.”) disposed within the cavity (recess 8, Hayashi Fig.2);
a movable door assembly (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2) comprising a movable door (moveable door includes flat portion 51 and bent portion 52, Hayashi Fig.2) coupled to the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4);
a seal (lock plate 53 and locking claw 32, Hayashi Fig.2) (it is noted that the definition of “seal” is “something that secures” – according to Merriam-Webster Dictionary [https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/seal, accessed on 01/07/2025]; in this case, the lock plate 53 has a lock hole 31 at its end that engages with the lock claw 32; the locking claw 32 and the locking hole 31 form a locking portion 55 that fixes the moveable door in the closed position, thus, the lock plate 53 and the locking claw 32 secure the movable door; therefore, the lock plate 53 and the locking claw 32 are interpreted as seal) interposed between the movable door (moveable door includes flat portion 51 and bent portion 52, Hayashi Fig.2) and the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) (it is noted that the charging bracket 11 is formed by the first bottom wall 21, the first top wall 22, the first plug support wall 23, the first rear wall 24, and the first front wall 25, as indicated by Hayashi Translated Par.0032, thus, Hayashi Fig.4 shows the lock plate 53 and locking claw 32 are in between the charging bracket 11 and the moveable door including flat portion 51 and bent portion 52); and
a heating element (heaters 15a, 15b, 15c, Hayashi Fig.2) coupled to at least one of the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4), the movable door (moveable door includes flat portion 51 and bent portion 52, Hayashi Fig.2), or the seal (it is noted that the limitation “coupled to at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Hayashi discloses the heaters 15a, 15b are coupled to the charging bracket 11, and heater 15c is coupled to the flat portion 51 of the movable door because Hayashi Translated Par.0037 discloses: “That is, as shown in FIGS. 2 to 4, the charge bracket cover 40 has a heater 15a (shown in FIG. 3) and a heater 15b (shown in FIG. 4) embedded in the second bottom wall 41 and the second rear side wall 44, respectively. The lid 14 has a heater 15c (shown in FIG. 2) installed on the flat plate portion 51 thereof.”, it is noted that the charging bracket 11 includes the charge bracket cover 40 because Hayashi Par.0029 discloses: “The charging bracket 11 further includes a charging bracket cover 40.”), the heating element (heaters 15a, 15b, 15c, Hayashi Fig.2) configured to heat at least a portion of the at least one of the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4), the movable door (moveable door includes flat portion 51 and bent portion 52, Hayashi Fig.2), or the seal (lock plate 53 and locking claw 32, Hayashi Fig.2) (it is noted that the limitation “at least a portion of the at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Hayashi discloses the heaters 15a, 15b, 15c configured to heat at least a portion of the charging bracket 11, the movable door including the flat portion 51 and the bent portion 52, and the seal including the lock plate 53 and the locking claw 32 because Hayashi Translated Par.0038 discloses: “when the heater 15a generates heat, the first bottom wall 21 is heated. When the heaters 15b and 15c generate heat, the lock portion 55 and the step portion 28 are heated.”, and since the “heater 15c (shown in FIG. 2) installed on the flat plate portion 51 thereof”, as shown in Hayashi Fig.2 & indicated by Hayashi Translated Par.037, the heater 15c is configured to heat the flat portion 51 of the movable door. Therefore, Hayashi discloses the heaters 15a, 15b, 15c configured to heat at least a portion of the charging bracket 11, the movable door including the flat portion 51 and the bent portion 52, and the seal including the lock plate 53 and the locking claw 32).
Regarding claim 12, Hayashi discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 10, Hayashi also discloses further comprising
a controller (heater ECU (Electric Control Unit) 201, Hayashi Fig.6) and a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 204, Hayashi Fig.6), the controller (heater ECU (Electric Control Unit) 201, Hayashi Fig.6) configured to provide heat to the at least one of the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4), the movable door (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2), or the seal (lock plate 53 and locking claw 32, Hayashi Fig.2) via the heating element (heaters 15a, 15b, 15c, Hayashi Fig.2) responsive to an input (“temperature information D3”, Hayashi Translated Pars.0047-0048) from the temperature sensor (temperature sensor 204, Hayashi Fig.6) (Hayashi Translated Par.0047 discloses: “The outside air temperature sensor 204 measures the temperature outside the vehicle 1 . Information indicating this measured temperature is output to the heater ECU 201 as temperature information D3.”, and Hayashi Translated Par.0048 discloses: “Next, the heating control of heaters A and B, i.e., the heating control of the energy supply unit 10 on the charging port side, performed by the heater ECU 201 based on the switch information D1, the status information D2, and the temperature information D3 will be described with reference to FIG. 7 .”; it is noted that the heater A is heaters 15a & 15b, and the heater B is heater 15c, as indicated by Hayashi Translated Par.0043: “Here, heater A is heater 15a and heater 15b, heater B is heater 15c (shown in FIG. 2)”; additionally, Hayashi discloses the heaters 15a, 15b, 15c configured to heat at least a portion of the charging bracket 11, the movable door including the flat portion 51 and the bent portion 52, and the seal including the lock plate 53 and the locking claw 32 because Hayashi Translated Par.0038 discloses: “when the heater 15a generates heat, the first bottom wall 21 is heated. When the heaters 15b and 15c generate heat, the lock portion 55 and the step portion 28 are heated.”, and since the “heater 15c (shown in FIG. 2) installed on the flat plate portion 51 thereof”, as shown in Hayashi Fig.2 & indicated by Hayashi Translated Par.037, the heater 15c is configured to heat the flat portion 51 of the movable door; therefore, Hayashi discloses the heater ECU (Electric Control Unit) 201 configured to provide heat to the the charging bracket 11, flat portion 51 of the movable door assembly, the seal including the lock plate 53 and the locking claw 32 via the heaters 15a, 15b, 15c responsive to an input from the temperature sensor 204).
Regarding claim 15, Hayashi discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 10, Hayashi also discloses:
wherein the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) has a housing front face (housing front face, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) and the movable door (moveable door includes flat portion 51 and bent portion 52, Hayashi Fig.2) has a door rear face (door rear face, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below), the housing front face (housing front face, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) is oriented toward an outside of the vehicle (vehicle 1, Hayashi Fig.1) (Hayashi Fig.1 and annotated Fig.2 below shows the housing front face is oriented toward an outside of the vehicle 1) and the door rear face (door rear face, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) is oriented toward the housing front face (housing front face, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) (Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below shows the door rear face is oriented toward the housing front face), wherein the heating element (heaters 15a, 15b, 15c, Hayashi Fig.2) is disposed along at least one of the housing front face (housing front face, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) or the door rear face (door rear face, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) (it is noted that the limitation “at least one of the housing front face or the door rear face” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Hayashi discloses the heaters 15a &15b are disposed along the housing front face as shown in Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below and Hayashi Translated Par.0037 discloses: “That is, as shown in FIGS. 2 to 4, the charge bracket cover 40 has a heater 15a (shown in FIG. 3) and a heater 15b (shown in FIG. 4) embedded in the second bottom wall 41 and the second rear side wall 44, respectively.”, it is noted that the charging bracket 11 includes the charge bracket cover 40 because Hayashi Par.0029 discloses: “The charging bracket 11 further includes a charging bracket cover 40.”, and Hayashi annotated Fig.4 below shows the charge bracket cover 40 are disposed along the housing front face. Hayashi further discloses the heaters 15c is disposed along the door rear face as shown in Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below and Hayashi Translated Par.0037 discloses: “The lid 14 has a heater 15c (shown in FIG. 2) installed on the flat plate portion 51 thereof.”. Therefore, Hayashi discloses the heaters 15a &15b are disposed along the housing front face, and Hayashi discloses the heater 15c is disposed along the door rear face).
Regarding claim 16, Hayashi discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 10, Hayashi also discloses:
wherein the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) has a housing rear face (housing rear face, Hayashi annotated Fig.4 below) and the movable door (moveable door includes flat portion 51 and bent portion 52, Hayashi Fig.2) has a door front face (door front face, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below), the housing front face (housing front face, Hayashi annotated Figs.2, 4 below) is oriented toward an outside of the vehicle (vehicle 1, Hayashi Fig.1) (Hayashi Fig.1 and annotated Fig.2 below show the housing front face is oriented toward an outside of the vehicle 1) and the housing rear face (housing rear face, Hayashi annotated Fig.4 below) is oriented away from the housing front face (housing front face, Hayashi annotated Figs.2, 4 below), wherein the heating element (heaters 15a, 15b, 15c, Hayashi Fig.2) is disposed along at least one of the housing rear face or the door front face (door front face, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) (it is noted that the limitation “at least one of the housing rear face or the door front face” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Hayashi discloses the heater 15c is disposed along the door front face as shown in Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below and Hayashi Translated Par.0037 discloses: “The lid 14 has a heater 15c (shown in FIG. 2) installed on the flat plate portion 51 thereof.”).
Regarding claim 17, Hayashi discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 10, Hayashi also discloses:
wherein the heating element (heater 15c, Hayashi Fig.2) includes a resistive wire element (Hayashi Translated Par.0036 discloses: “The heaters 15a to 15h are, for example, electric heating wires”; it is noted that the electric heating wire is resistive wire element) integrated into at least one of the housing or movable door (movable door includes flat portion 51 and bent portion 52; Hayashi Fig.2) (it is noted that the limitation “at least one of the housing or movable door” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Hayashi discloses the heater 15c is integrated in the flat portion 51 of the movable door because Hayashi Translated Par.0037 discloses: “The lid 14 has a heater 15c (shown in FIG. 2) installed on the flat plate portion 51 thereof.”).
Regarding claim 18, Hayashi discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 10, Hayashi also discloses:
wherein the heating element (heaters 15a, 15b, 15c, Hayashi Fig.2) is configured to receive energy from a battery (battery 205, Hayashi Fig.6) disposed on the vehicle (vehicle 1, Hayashi Fig.1) (Hayashi Translated Par.0036 discloses: “The heaters 15a to 15h are, for example, electric heating wires, and are electrically connected to an auxiliary battery 205 (shown in FIG. 6, which will be described later) mounted on the vehicle 1 via wiring.”).
Regarding claim 20, Hayashi discloses a heated energy port assembly (energy supply unit 10, Hayashi Fig.1) (Hayashi Translated Par.0022 discloses: “As shown in Figures 2 to 4, the first energy replenishment unit 10 includes a charge bracket 11 forming a recess 8 formed in the vehicle body 2, two charge ports 12a and 12b, a lid 14, and heaters 15a to 15d.”) (it is noted that the Instant Application defines the entire port assembly as shown in Fig.8 of the Instant Application as a heated energy port assembly, specifically, Par.0016 of the Specification of the Instant Application cited: “Figure 8 illustrates a perspective view of a heated energy port assembly, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure.”; therefore, the energy supply unit 10 as shown in Hayashi Figs.1-4 is interpreted as a heated energy port assembly) comprising:
a housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) (Hayashi Translated Par.0028 discloses: “The first bottom wall 21, the first top wall 22, the first plug support wall 23, the first rear wall 24, and the first front wall 25 each form the inner side of the charge bracket 11.”) configured to be disposed along a vehicle (vehicle 1, Hayashi Fig.1) (Hayashi Figs.1-4 show the charging bracket 11 disposed along the vehicle 1), the vehicle (vehicle 1, Hayashi Fig.1) having at least a top (top of vehicle 1, Hayashi annotated Fig.1 below), a bottom (bottom of vehicle 1, Hayashi annotated Fig.1 below), and a side (side of vehicle 1, Hayashi annotated Fig.1 below) connecting the top (top of vehicle 1, Hayashi annotated Fig.1 below) and bottom (bottom of vehicle 1, Hayashi annotated Fig.1 below), the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) disposed along the side (side of vehicle 1, Hayashi annotated Fig.1 below) of the vehicle (vehicle 1, Hayashi Fig.1) (Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below shows the charging bracket 11 disposed along the side of the vehicle 1), the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) defining a cavity (recess 8, Hayashi Fig.2) (Hayashi Translated Par.0022 discloses: “As shown in Figures 2 to 4, the first energy replenishment unit 10 includes a charge bracket 11 forming a recess 8 formed in the vehicle body 2”) configured to accept an external power source (“normal charging gun” & “quick charging gun”, Hayashi Translated Par.0032) for insertion into a port (charging ports 12a & 12b, Hayashi Fig.2) (Hayashi Translated Par.0032 discloses: “As shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, the first energy replenishment unit 10 has one charging port 12a connectable to a normal charging gun and the other charging port 12b connectable to a quick charging gun.”) disposed within the cavity (recess 8, Hayashi Fig.2);
a movable door assembly (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2) comprising a movable door (moveable door includes flat portion 51 and bent portion 52, Hayashi Fig.2) coupled to the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4);
a seal (lock plate 53 and locking claw 32, Hayashi Fig.2) (it is noted that the definition of “seal” is “something that secures” – according to Merriam-Webster Dictionary [https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/seal, accessed on 01/07/2025]; in this case, the lock plate 53 has a lock hole 31 at its end that engages with the lock claw 32; the locking claw 32 and the locking hole 31 form a locking portion 55 that fixes the moveable door in the closed position, thus, the lock plate 53 and the locking claw 32 secure the movable door; therefore, the lock plate 53 and the locking claw 32 are interpreted as seal) interposed between the movable door (moveable door includes flat portion 51 and bent portion 52, Hayashi Fig.2) and the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) (it is noted that the charging bracket 11 is formed by the first bottom wall 21, the first top wall 22, the first plug support wall 23, the first rear wall 24, and the first front wall 25, as indicated by Hayashi Translated Par.0032, thus, Hayashi Fig.4 shows the lock plate 53 and locking claw 32 are in between the charging bracket 11 and the moveable door including flat portion 51 and bent portion 52); and
a heating element (heaters 15a, 15b, 15c, Hayashi Fig.2) coupled to at least one of the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4), the movable door (moveable door includes flat portion 51 and bent portion 52, Hayashi Fig.2), or the seal (it is noted that the limitation “coupled to at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Hayashi discloses the heaters 15a, 15b are coupled to the charging bracket 11, and heater 15c is coupled to the flat portion 51 of the movable door because Hayashi Translated Par.0037 discloses: “That is, as shown in FIGS. 2 to 4, the charge bracket cover 40 has a heater 15a (shown in FIG. 3) and a heater 15b (shown in FIG. 4) embedded in the second bottom wall 41 and the second rear side wall 44, respectively. The lid 14 has a heater 15c (shown in FIG. 2) installed on the flat plate portion 51 thereof.”, it is noted that the charging bracket 11 includes the charge bracket cover 40 because Hayashi Par.0029 discloses: “The charging bracket 11 further includes a charging bracket cover 40.”), the heating element (heaters 15a, 15b, 15c, Hayashi Fig.2) configured to heat at least a portion of the at least one of the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4), the movable door (moveable door includes flat portion 51 and bent portion 52, Hayashi Fig.2), or the seal (lock plate 53 and locking claw 32, Hayashi Fig.2) (it is noted that the limitation “at least a portion of the at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Hayashi discloses the heaters 15a, 15b, 15c configured to heat at least a portion of the charging bracket 11, the movable door including the flat portion 51 and the bent portion 52, and the seal including the lock plate 53 and the locking claw 32 because Hayashi Translated Par.0038 discloses: “when the heater 15a generates heat, the first bottom wall 21 is heated. When the heaters 15b and 15c generate heat, the lock portion 55 and the step portion 28 are heated.”, and since the “heater 15c (shown in FIG. 2) installed on the flat plate portion 51 thereof”, as shown in Hayashi Fig.2 & indicated by Hayashi Translated Par.037, the heater 15c is configured to heat the flat portion 51 of the movable door. Therefore, Hayashi discloses the heaters 15a, 15b, 15c configured to heat at least a portion of the charging bracket 11, the movable door including the flat portion 51 and the bent portion 52, and the seal including the lock plate 53 and the locking claw 32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (JP 2016088250 A, Published 05/23/2016, Translation is attached) in view of Hamamoto et al. (JP 2011255735 A, Published 12/22/2011, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 3, Hayashi discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Hayashi does not explicitly disclose further comprising
a controller and a charging sensor, the controller configured to provide heat to the movable door assembly via the heating element responsive to an input from the charging sensor.
Hamamoto teaches a heater assembly in a vehicle (Hamamoto Abstract & Figs.1, 3):
a controller (controller A, Hamamoto Figs.1, 3) and a charging sensor (charge detection sensor 151, Hamamoto Figs.1, 3), the controller (controller A, Hamamoto Figs.1, 3) configured to provide heat via the heating element (heater 105, Hamamoto Figs.1, 3) responsive to an input from the charging sensor (charge detection sensor 151, Hamamoto Figs.1, 3) (Hamamoto Translated Abstract teaches the charge detection sensor 151, which detects whether the battery 120 is in a state of normal charge and whether it is in a state of fast charge; and a controller A, which controls the heater 105. When the battery is detected to be in the state of fast charge, the controller A is structured to control the heater 105 so as to decrease the heating capacity compared with the time when it is detected to be in the state of normal charge).
It is noted that in combination, by adding Hamamoto’s teachings to the Hayashi heated energy port assembly, Hayashi in view of Hamamoto teaches the controller configured to provide heat to the movable door assembly via the heating element responsive to an input from the charging sensor because the Hayashi heating element configured to heat the movable door assembly since the “heater 15c (shown in FIG. 2) installed on the flat plate portion 51 thereof”, as shown in Hayashi Fig.2 & indicated by Hayashi Translated Par.037, the heater 15c is configured to heat the flat portion 51 of the movable door.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hayashi, by adding charging sensor and making controller configured to provide heat via the heating element responsive to an input from the charging sensor, as taught by Hamamoto, in order to ensure safety, efficiency, and prevent overheating. Furthermore, by accurately sensing the charging state, the system prevents overcharging or deep discharging, which extends the overall life and health of the vehicle’s battery.
Regarding claim 13, Hayashi discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 10, Hayashi does not explicitly disclose further comprising
a controller and a charging sensor, the controller configured to provide heat to the at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal via the heating element responsive to an input from the charging sensor.
Hamamoto teaches a heater assembly in a vehicle (Hamamoto Abstract & Figs.1, 3):
a controller (controller A, Hamamoto Figs.1, 3) and a charging sensor (charge detection sensor 151, Hamamoto Figs.1, 3), the controller (controller A, Hamamoto Figs.1, 3) configured to provide heat via the heating element (heater 105, Hamamoto Figs.1, 3) responsive to an input from the charging sensor (charge detection sensor 151, Hamamoto Figs.1, 3) (Hamamoto Translated Abstract teaches the charge detection sensor 151, which detects whether the battery 120 is in a state of normal charge and whether it is in a state of fast charge; and a controller A, which controls the heater 105. When the battery is detected to be in the state of fast charge, the controller A is structured to control the heater 105 so as to decrease the heating capacity compared with the time when it is detected to be in the state of normal charge).
It is noted that in combination, by adding Hamamoto’s teachings to the Hayashi heated energy port assembly, Hayashi in view of Hamamoto teaches the controller configured to provide heat to the at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal via the heating element responsive to an input from the charging sensor because the Hayashi heating element configured to heat the at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal because Hayashi discloses the heaters 15a, 15b, 15c configured to heat at least a portion of the charging bracket 11, the movable door including the flat portion 51 and the bent portion 52, and the seal including the lock plate 53 and the locking claw 32 because Hayashi Translated Par.0038 discloses: “when the heater 15a generates heat, the first bottom wall 21 is heated. When the heaters 15b and 15c generate heat, the lock portion 55 and the step portion 28 are heated.”, and since the “heater 15c (shown in FIG. 2) installed on the flat plate portion 51 thereof”, as shown in Hayashi Fig.2 & indicated by Hayashi Translated Par.037, the heater 15c is configured to heat the flat portion 51 of the movable door. Therefore, Hayashi discloses the heaters 15a, 15b, 15c configured to heat at least a portion of the charging bracket 11, the movable door including the flat portion 51 and the bent portion 52, and the seal including the lock plate 53 and the locking claw 32.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hayashi, by adding charging sensor and making controller configured to provide heat via the heating element responsive to an input from the charging sensor, as taught by Hamamoto, in order to ensure safety, efficiency, and prevent overheating. Furthermore, by accurately sensing the charging state, the system prevents overcharging or deep discharging, which extends the overall life and health of the vehicle’s battery.
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (JP 2016088250 A, Published 05/23/2016, Translation is attached) in view of Ishii et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0173414 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Hayashi discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 10, Hayashi does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the heating element comprises a positive thermal coefficient (PTC) material.
Ishii discloses a heater assembly for use in a vehicle (Ishii Figs.1A & 1B, Par.0001):
wherein the heating element (PTC heating element as shown in Ishii Figs.1A-1B & Pars.0078-0084; the PTC heating element includes substrate 1, electrodes 2, PTC resistor 3 and cover material 4) comprises a positive thermal coefficient (PTC) material (Ishii Par.0078 teaches: “PTC resistor (hereinafter as resistor) 3 is obtained by screen printing and drying a PTC ink.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hayashi, by making heating element to be PTC heating element, as taught by Ishii, in order to self-regulating for safety and efficiency because PTC heating elements cause their electrical resistance to increase dramatically as they gets hotter, automatically limiting current and preventing dangerous overheating, leading to lower energy consumption, faster heat-up for reliable charging in cold weather, compact size, and longer lifespan. This self-regulating feature makes PTC heating elements safer and more efficient than traditional heating elements.
Regarding claim 14, Hayashi discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 10, Hayashi also discloses:
wherein at least one of the housing or the movable door comprises integrated heating element (movable door includes flat portion 51 and bent portion 52; Hayashi Fig.2) (it is noted that the limitation “at least one of the housing or the movable door” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Hayashi discloses the heater 15c is integrated in the flat portion 51 of the movable door because Hayashi Translated Par.0037 discloses: “The lid 14 has a heater 15c (shown in FIG. 2) installed on the flat plate portion 51 thereof.”).
However, Hayashi does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the heating element comprises an integrated PTC element.
Ishii discloses a heater assembly for use in a vehicle (Ishii Figs.1A & 1B, Par.0001):
wherein the heating element (PTC heating element as shown in Ishii Figs.1A-1B & Pars.0078-0084; the PTC heating element includes substrate 1, electrodes 2, PTC resistor 3 and cover material 4) comprises an integrated PTC element (PTC resistor 3, Ishii Figs.1A-1B) (Ishii Par.0078 teaches: “PTC resistor (hereinafter as resistor) 3 is obtained by screen printing and drying a PTC ink.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hayashi, by making heating element to be PTC heating element, as taught by Ishii, in order to self-regulating for safety and efficiency because PTC heating elements cause their electrical resistance to increase dramatically as they gets hotter, automatically limiting current and preventing dangerous overheating, leading to lower energy consumption, faster heat-up for reliable charging in cold weather, compact size, and longer lifespan. This self-regulating feature makes PTC heating elements safer and more efficient than traditional heating elements.
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (JP 2016088250 A, Published 05/23/2016, Translation is attached) in view of Kamachi (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0028019 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Hayashi discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 10, Hayashi does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the heating element is configured to receive energy via a charging cable.
Kamachi teaches a heating system in a vehicle (Kamachi Figs.1-2):
wherein the heating element (heater 7, Kamachi Figs.1-2) is configured to receive energy via a charging cable (charge cable 11, Kamachi Figs.1-2) (Kamachi Par.0026 teaches: “This heater 7 is a heating device which generates heat for warming up the vehicle 10 by using a current supplied from the battery 6 or a current supplied from the external power supply.”, and Kamachi Par.0027 teaches: “a charge gun 12 is provided at one end of the charge cable 11, and a connector 12 a is provided at a distal end of the charge gun 12 for connection with the inlet 15 of the vehicle. A plug 14 is provided at the other end of the charge cable 11 for connection with a plug socket 16 of a household charging equipment or a public charging equipment. This plug socket 16 is connected to an external power supply (for example, a commercial power supply or a non-utility generation power supply) via an electric wiring, not shown.”; therefore, Kamachi teaches the heater 7 is configured to receive energy via charge cable 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hayashi, by making the heating element is configured to receive energy via charging cable, as taught by Kamachi, in order to pre-heat before a journey, primarily to conserve the main car battery’s charge and maximize driving range because initiate the heater using the car’s battery can consume a significant amount of power, especially in cold weather, and thus, it can reduce the vehicle’s driving range. Therefore, by making the heating element configured to receive energy from external source via charging cable, the heating system draws power from the grid instead of the onboard battery, preserving the full charge for driving.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses a heated energy port assembly (“A heated energy port assembly”, Claim 5) comprising:
a housing configured to be coupled to a surface of a vehicle (“a housing configured to be disposed along an exterior of a vehicle”, Claim 5);
a movable door assembly coupled to the housing and configured to move from a closed position in which the movable door assembly forms a closed compartment with the housing and an open position in which the movable assembly moves at least partially away from the housing to expose the contents of the housing (“a door assembly comprising a hingedly movable door coupled to the housing”, Claim 5); and
a heating element coupled to the energy port assembly, the heating element configured to heat at least a portion of the energy port assembly (“a heating element coupled to at least one of the housing, the hingedly movable door, or the seal, the heating element configured to heat at least a portion of the at least one of the housing, the hingedly movable door, or the seal.”, Claim 5).
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses the heated energy port assembly set forth in claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 also discloses further comprising
a controller and a temperature sensor, the controller configured to provide heat to the movable door assembly via the heating element responsive to an input from the temperature sensor (“further comprising a controller and a temperature sensor, the controller configured to provide heat to the at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal via the heating element responsive to an input from the temperature sensor.”, Claim 7).
Regarding claim 3, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses the heated energy port assembly set forth in claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 also discloses further comprising
a controller and a charging sensor, the controller configured to provide heat to the movable door assembly via the heating element responsive to an input from the charging sensor (“further comprising a controller and a charging sensor, the controller configured to provide heat to the at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal via the heating element responsive to an input from the charging sensor.”, Claim 8).
Regarding claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses the heated energy port assembly set forth in claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 also discloses
wherein the heating element is disposed on at least one of the housing or the movable door (“wherein the heating element comprises a positive thermal coefficient (PTC) material” from Claim 6 and “wherein at least one of the housing or the movable door comprises an integrated PTC element.” from Claim 9).
Regarding claim 7, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses the heated energy port assembly set forth in claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 also discloses
wherein the movable door has a door rear face and a door front face, the door front face faces an outside of the vehicle and the door front face and the door rear face are oriented away from each other, wherein the heating element is disposed along at least one of the door front face or the door rear face (“wherein the housing has a housing front face and the movable door has a door rear face, the housing front face and the door rear face opposing each other and oriented toward each other, wherein the heating element is disposed along at least one of the housing front face or the door rear face” from Claim 10, and “wherein the housing has a housing rear face and the movable door has a door front face, the housing rear face and the door front face opposing each other and oriented away from each other, wherein the heating element is disposed along at least one of the housing rear face or the door front face” from Claim 11).
Regarding claim 8, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses the heated energy port assembly set forth in claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 also discloses
wherein the housing has a housing rear face and a housing front face, the housing front faces an outside of the vehicle, and the housing rear face and the housing front face are oriented away from each other, wherein the heating element is disposed along at least one of the housing rear face or the housing front face (“wherein the housing has a housing front face and the movable door has a door rear face, the housing front face and the door rear face opposing each other and oriented toward each other, wherein the heating element is disposed along at least one of the housing front face or the door rear face” from Claim 10, and “wherein the housing has a housing rear face and the movable door has a door front face, the housing rear face and the door front face opposing each other and oriented away from each other, wherein the heating element is disposed along at least one of the housing rear face or the door front face” from Claim 11).
Regarding claim 9, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses the heated energy port assembly set forth in claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 also discloses
wherein the heating element is integrated in at least one of the housing or the movable door (“wherein the heating element comprises a positive thermal coefficient (PTC) material” from Claim 6 and “wherein at least one of the housing or the movable door comprises an integrated PTC element” from Claim 9).
Regarding claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses a heated energy port assembly (“A heated energy port assembly”, Claim 5) comprising:
a housing configured to be disposed along an exterior of a vehicle, the housing defining a cavity configured to accept an external power source for insertion into a port disposed within the cavity (“a housing configured to be disposed along an exterior of a vehicle, the housing defining a cavity configured to accept an external power source for insertion into a port disposed within the cavity”, Claim 5);
a movable door assembly comprising a movable door coupled to the housing (“a door assembly comprising a hingedly movable door coupled to the housing”, Claim 5);
a seal interposed between the movable door and the housing (“a seal interposed between the hingedly movable door and the housing”, Claim 5); and
a heating element coupled to at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal, the heating element configured to heat at least a portion of the at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal (“a heating element coupled to at least one of the housing, the hingedly movable door, or the seal, the heating element configured to heat at least a portion of the at least one of the housing, the hingedly movable door, or the seal.”, Claim 5).
Regarding claim 11, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses the heated energy port assembly set forth in claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 also discloses
wherein the heating element comprises a positive thermal coefficient (PTC) material (“wherein the heating element comprises a positive thermal coefficient (PTC) material”, Claim 6).
Regarding claim 12, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses the heated energy port assembly set forth in claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 also discloses further comprising
a controller and a temperature sensor, the controller configured to provide heat to the at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal via the heating element responsive to an input from the temperature sensor (“further comprising a controller and a temperature sensor, the controller configured to provide heat to the at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal via the heating element responsive to an input from the temperature sensor”, Claim 7).
Regarding claim 13, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses the heated energy port assembly set forth in claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 also discloses further comprising
a controller and a charging sensor, the controller configured to provide heat to the at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal via the heating element responsive to an input from the charging sensor (“further comprising a controller and a charging sensor, the controller configured to provide heat to the at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal via the heating element responsive to an input from the charging sensor”, Claim 8).
Regarding claim 14, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses the heated energy port assembly set forth in claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 also discloses
wherein at least one of the housing or the movable door comprises an integrated PTC element (“wherein at least one of the housing or the movable door comprises an integrated PTC element”, Claim 9).
Regarding claim 15, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses the heated energy port assembly set forth in claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 also discloses
wherein the housing has a housing front face and the movable door has a door rear face, the housing front face is oriented toward an outside of the vehicle and the door rear face is oriented toward the housing front face, wherein the heating element is disposed along at least one of the housing front face or the door rear face (“wherein the housing has a housing front face and the movable door has a door rear face, the housing front face and the door rear face opposing each other and oriented toward each other, wherein the heating element is disposed along at least one of the housing front face or the door rear face”, Claim 10).
Regarding claim 16, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses the heated energy port assembly set forth in claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 also discloses
wherein the housing has a housing rear face and the movable door has a door front face, the housing front face is oriented toward an outside of the vehicle and the housing rear face is oriented away from the housing front face, wherein the heating element is disposed along at least one of the housing rear face or the door front face (“wherein the housing has a housing rear face and the movable door has a door front face, the housing rear face and the door front face opposing each other and oriented away from each other, wherein the heating element is disposed along at least one of the housing rear face or the door front face”, Claim 11).
Regarding claim 17, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses the heated energy port assembly set forth in claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 also discloses
wherein the heating element includes a resistive wire element integrated into at least one of the housing or movable door (“wherein the heating element includes a resistive wire element integrated into at least one of the housing or movable door.”, Claim 12).
Regarding claim 18, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses the heated energy port assembly set forth in claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 also discloses
wherein the heating element is configured to receive energy from a battery disposed on the vehicle (“wherein the heating element is configured to receive energy from a battery disposed on the vehicle”, Claim 13).
Regarding claim 19, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses the heated energy port assembly set forth in claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 also discloses
wherein the heating element is configured to receive energy via a charging cable (“wherein the heating element is configured to receive energy via a charging cable.”, Claim 14).
Claims 4, 6, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 in view of Hayashi et al. (JP 2016088250 A, Published 05/23/2016, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 4, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses the heated energy port assembly set forth in claim 1,
U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 does not disclose
wherein the housing includes an opening when the movable door is in the open position, and wherein a seal is disposed at least partially around a periphery of the opening when the movable door is in the closed position.
Hayashi teaches a heated energy port assembly (energy supply unit 10, Hayashi Fig.1) (Hayashi Translated Par.0022 discloses: “As shown in Figures 2 to 4, the first energy replenishment unit 10 includes a charge bracket 11 forming a recess 8 formed in the vehicle body 2, two charge ports 12a and 12b, a lid 14, and heaters 15a to 15d.”) (it is noted that the Instant Application defines the entire port assembly as shown in Fig.8 of the Instant Application as a heated energy port assembly, specifically, Par.0016 of the Specification of the Instant Application cited: “Figure 8 illustrates a perspective view of a heated energy port assembly, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure.”; therefore, the energy supply unit 10 as shown in Hayashi Figs.1-4 is interpreted as a heated energy port assembly):
wherein the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) includes an opening (opening, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) when the movable door (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2) is in the open position (open position as shown in Hayashi Fig.2), and wherein a seal (lock plate 53 and locking claw 32, Hayashi Fig.2) (it is noted that the definition of “seal” is “something that secures” – according to Merriam-Webster Dictionary [https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/seal, accessed on 01/07/2025]; in this case, the lock plate 53 has a lock hole 31 at its end that engages with the lock claw 32; the locking claw 32 and the locking hole 31 form a locking portion 55 that fixes the moveable door in the closed position, thus, the lock plate 53 and the locking claw 32 secure the movable door; therefore, the lock plate 53 and the locking claw 32 are interpreted as seal) is disposed at least partially around a periphery (periphery of the opening, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) of the opening (opening, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) when the movable door (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2) is in the closed position (closed position as shown in Hayashi Fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heated energy port assembly of U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2, by adding the teachings of the housing includes an opening when the movable door is in the open position, and wherein a seal is disposed at least partially around a periphery of the opening when the movable door is in the closed position, as taught by Hayashi, in order to secure the movable door to the vehicle body for security, and prevent the movable door from accidental opening such as when car is moving or car is in car wash, protecting the sensitive port; additionally, the seal also helps to prevent tampering, unauthorized unplugging, and potential damage from outside environment.
Regarding claim 6, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses the heated energy port assembly set forth in claim 5,
U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 does not disclose
wherein the housing includes an opening when the movable door is in the open position, and wherein the heating element at least partially surrounds the periphery of the opening when the movable door is in the closed position.
Hayashi teaches a heated energy port assembly (energy supply unit 10, Hayashi Fig.1) (Hayashi Translated Par.0022 discloses: “As shown in Figures 2 to 4, the first energy replenishment unit 10 includes a charge bracket 11 forming a recess 8 formed in the vehicle body 2, two charge ports 12a and 12b, a lid 14, and heaters 15a to 15d.”) (it is noted that the Instant Application defines the entire port assembly as shown in Fig.8 of the Instant Application as a heated energy port assembly, specifically, Par.0016 of the Specification of the Instant Application cited: “Figure 8 illustrates a perspective view of a heated energy port assembly, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure.”; therefore, the energy supply unit 10 as shown in Hayashi Figs.1-4 is interpreted as a heated energy port assembly):
wherein the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) includes an opening (opening, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) when the movable door (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2) is in the open position (open position as shown in Hayashi Fig.2), and wherein the heating element (heaters 15a, 15b, 15c, Hayashi Fig.2) at least partially surrounds the periphery (periphery of the opening, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) of the opening (opening, Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below) when the movable door (movable door assembly includes flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34; Hayashi Fig.2) is in the closed position (closed position as shown in Hayashi Fig.4) (the heaters 15a, 15b, 15c are at least partially surrounds the periphery of the opening when the movable door assembly including flat portion 51, bent portion 52, hinge 34 is in closed position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heated energy port assembly of U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2, by adding the teachings of the housing includes an opening when the movable door is in the open position, and wherein the heating element at least partially surrounds the periphery of the opening when the movable door is in the closed position, as taught by Hayashi, in order to prevent ice buildup around the heated energy port assembly, ensuring the movable door does not get stuck and allowing reliable charging in cold weather, which enhances safety, prevents costly delays (such as Supercharger fees), and maintains charging efficiency by keeping connectors and the port at optimal temperatures for conductivity.
Regarding claim 20, U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 discloses a heated energy port assembly (“A heated energy port assembly”, Claim 5) comprising:
a housing configured to be disposed along a vehicle, the housing defining a cavity configured to accept an external power source for insertion into a port disposed within the cavity (“a housing configured to be disposed along an exterior of a vehicle, the housing defining a cavity configured to accept an external power source for insertion into a port disposed within the cavity”, Claim 5);
a movable door assembly comprising a movable door coupled to the housing (“a door assembly comprising a hingedly movable door coupled to the housing”, Claim 5);
a seal interposed between the movable door and the housing (“a seal interposed between the hingedly movable door and the housing”, Claim 5); and
a heating element coupled to at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal, the heating element configured to heat at least a portion of the at least one of the housing, the movable door, or the seal (“a heating element coupled to at least one of the housing, the hingedly movable door, or the seal, the heating element configured to heat at least a portion of the at least one of the housing, the hingedly movable door, or the seal.”, Claim 5).
U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2 does not disclose
the vehicle having at least a top, a bottom, and a side connecting the top and bottom, the housing disposed along the side of the vehicle,
Hayashi teaches a heated energy port assembly (energy supply unit 10, Hayashi Fig.1) (Hayashi Translated Par.0022 discloses: “As shown in Figures 2 to 4, the first energy replenishment unit 10 includes a charge bracket 11 forming a recess 8 formed in the vehicle body 2, two charge ports 12a and 12b, a lid 14, and heaters 15a to 15d.”) (it is noted that the Instant Application defines the entire port assembly as shown in Fig.8 of the Instant Application as a heated energy port assembly, specifically, Par.0016 of the Specification of the Instant Application cited: “Figure 8 illustrates a perspective view of a heated energy port assembly, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure.”; therefore, the energy supply unit 10 as shown in Hayashi Figs.1-4 is interpreted as a heated energy port assembly) comprising:
a housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) (Hayashi Translated Par.0028 discloses: “The first bottom wall 21, the first top wall 22, the first plug support wall 23, the first rear wall 24, and the first front wall 25 each form the inner side of the charge bracket 11.”) configured to be disposed along a vehicle (vehicle 1, Hayashi Fig.1) (Hayashi Figs.1-4 show the charging bracket 11 disposed along the vehicle 1), the vehicle (vehicle 1, Hayashi Fig.1) having at least a top (top of vehicle 1, Hayashi annotated Fig.1 below), a bottom (bottom of vehicle 1, Hayashi annotated Fig.1 below), and a side (side of vehicle 1, Hayashi annotated Fig.1 below) connecting the top (top of vehicle 1, Hayashi annotated Fig.1 below) and bottom (bottom of vehicle 1, Hayashi annotated Fig.1 below), the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) disposed along the side (side of vehicle 1, Hayashi annotated Fig.1 below) of the vehicle (vehicle 1, Hayashi Fig.1) (Hayashi annotated Fig.2 below shows the charging bracket 11 disposed along the side of the vehicle 1), the housing (charging bracket 11, Hayashi Figs.1-4) defining a cavity (recess 8, Hayashi Fig.2) (Hayashi Translated Par.0022 discloses: “As shown in Figures 2 to 4, the first energy replenishment unit 10 includes a charge bracket 11 forming a recess 8 formed in the vehicle body 2”) configured to accept an external power source (“normal charging gun” & “quick charging gun”, Hayashi Translated Par.0032) for insertion into a port (charging ports 12a & 12b, Hayashi Fig.2) (Hayashi Translated Par.0032 discloses: “As shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, the first energy replenishment unit 10 has one charging port 12a connectable to a normal charging gun and the other charging port 12b connectable to a quick charging gun.”) disposed within the cavity (recess 8, Hayashi Fig.2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heated energy port assembly of U.S. Patent No. 11,654,772 B2, by adding the teachings of the vehicle having at least a top, a bottom, and a side connecting the top and bottom, the housing disposed along the side of the vehicle, as taught by Hayashi, in order to enhance standardized infrastructure compatibility, parking convenience and safety because most of public charging stations and typical parking layouts are largely designed for vehicles to pull up alongside or back into a spot, aligning the charger with the side of the car. Standardizing the location on the side makes it easier for all vehicles to use most public charging points without awkward maneuvering or cables having to stretch across the car or into traffic lanes.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Dudar et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0198525 A1) discloses a vehicle comprising a side window moveable between a first position and a second position, a heating element that selectively heats the side window, the heating element generating more heat when the side window is in the first position than when the side window is in the second position.
Tanneberger et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,193,270 B2) discloses a charging interface for a motor vehicle, in particular, an electric vehicle, for charging the traction battery, having a charging socket arranged in a vehicle body opening and a closure device for covering the vehicle body opening.
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 01/09/2026