DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claims 1, 11, 13-14 and 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 8-9: “resonate about an excitation frequency of the microfluidic channel” should be changed to “resonate at about an excitation frequency of the microfluidic channel” for more clarity.
Claim 11, line 4: “excite the excite the channel” should be changed to “excite
Claim 11, lines 5-6: “resonate about an excitation frequency of the channel” should be changed to “resonate at about an excitation frequency of the channel” for more clarity.
Claim 13, line 1: “the second region and is aligned” should be changed to “the second region [[and]] is aligned” for more clarity.
Claim 14, line 2: “the width of the channel,” should be changed to “the width of the channel[[,]].” for more clarity.
Claim 19, lines 1-2: “using an adhesive layer the portion of the microfluidic channel with the transducer” should be changed to “using an adhesive layer to couple the portion of the microfluidic channel with the transducer” for more clarity.
Claim 20, line 2: “an second region” should be changed to “a[[n]] second region” to correct the grammatical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 6 and 20 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
(1). Claim 6, which depends from claim 1, recites the limitation “the first region” in line 1 and the limitation “the second region” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations in the claim.
Since claim 5 recites “a first region” and “a second region”, claim 6 may be amended to depend from claim 5 (instead of claim 1) to overcome this rejection.
(2). Claim 20, which depends from claim 10, recites the limitation “adhesive layer” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Since claim 19 recites “an adhesive layer”, claim 20 may be amended to depend from claim 19 (instead of claim 10) to overcome this rejection.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,022. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,022 teach or render obvious all the features as recited in instant claims 1-20. Specifically, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,022 teaches a microfluidic system that comprises all the structural elements required by the system of instant claim 1; each of claims 12 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,022 teaches a microfluidic system that comprises all the structural elements required by the microfluidic system of instant claim 11; and claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,022 teaches a method that comprises all the steps and elements required by the method of instant claim 17. In addition, the other features as recited in instant claims 2-10, 12-16 and 18-20 are also taught or rendered obvious by claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-5, 10-11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fiering et al. (US 2018/0361053 A1).
Regarding claim 1
Fiering et al. disclose, throughout the whole document, a microfluidic system comprising: a microfluidic channel (e.g., microfluidic separation channel) having a thickness of a wall of the microfluidic channel and a width of the microfluidic channel (see paragraphs [0005], [0040]-[0043] and [0053]-[0058]; Figures 1-4); and a transducer (e.g., acoustic transducer) coupled to the microfluidic channel, the transducer configured to operate at a frequency different than a resonant frequency of the transducer to excite the microfluidic channel to impart an acoustic wave onto a fluid within the microfluidic channel, wherein at least a width of the transducer is selected, based at least on a thickness of a wall and a width of the channel, to cause the transducer to resonate at about an excitation frequency of the microfluidic channel (see paragraphs [0005], [0040]-[0043], [0053]-[0058] and [0077]-[0079]; Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 2
The microfluidic system according to Fiering et al., wherein the width of the transducer is multiple times the width of the microfluidic channel (see Figure 4A).
Regarding claim 3
The microfluidic system according to Fiering et al., wherein the width of the transducer is one of about 2 or 3 times the width of the microfluidic channel including the thickness of the wall (see Figure 4A).
Regarding claim 4
The microfluidic system according to Fiering et al., wherein the microfluidic channel comprises an elastic material (e.g., thermoplastic substrate) (see Abstract; paragraphs [0005] and [0065]).
Regarding claim 5
The microfluidic system according to Fiering et al., wherein an adhesive layer (e.g., coupling adhesive) couples the transducer with a portion of the microfluidic channel, the adhesive layer patterned to define a first region that couples the transducer with the microfluidic channel and a second region in which a gap exists between the transducer and the substrate (see paragraphs [0040], [0055] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 10
The microfluidic system according to Fiering et al., wherein the transducer is mechanically coupled to a substrate forming the microfluidic channel (see paragraphs [0005], [0040] and [0055]; Figure 4A).
Regarding claim 11
Fiering et al. disclose, throughout the whole document, a microfluidic system comprising: a channel (e.g., microfluidic separation channel) having a thickness of a wall of the channel and a width of the microfluidic channel (see paragraphs [0005], [0040]-[0043] and [0053]-[0058]; Figures 1-4); a transducer (e.g., acoustic transducer) configured to excite the channel to impart an acoustic wave onto a fluid within the channel and to cause the transducer to resonate at about an excitation frequency of the channel (see paragraphs [0005], [0040]-[0043], [0053]-[0058] and [0077]-[0079]; Figures 1-4); and an adhesive layer (e.g., coupling adhesive) to couple the transducer with a portion of the channel, the adhesive layer patterned to define a first region that couples the transducer with the channel and a second region in which a gap exists between the transducer and the channel (see paragraphs [0040], [0055] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 14
The microfluidic system according to Fiering et al., wherein at least a width of the transducer is selected, based at least on the thickness of the wall and the width of the channel (see paragraphs [0005], [0040]-[0043], [0053]-[0058] and [0077]-[0079]; Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 15
The microfluidic system according to Fiering et al., wherein the width of the transducer is multiple times the width of the microfluidic channel (see Figure 4A).
Regarding claim 16
The microfluidic system according to Fiering et al., wherein the width of the transducer is one of about 2 or 3 times the width of the microfluidic channel (see Figure 4A).
Regarding claim 17
Fiering et al. disclose, throughout the whole document, a method comprising: establishing a microfluidic channel (e.g., microfluidic separation channel) having a first set of dimensions defining a thickness of a wall of the channel (see paragraphs [0005], [0040]-[0043] and [0053]-[0058]; Figures 1-4); selecting a transducer (e.g., acoustic transducer) to operate at a frequency different from a resonant frequency of the transducer to excite the microfluidic channel in a selected oscillatory mode to impart an acoustic wave onto a fluid contained in the microfluidic channel, wherein a thickness and a width of the transducer are selected based on the first set of dimensions defining the thickness of the wall of the microfluidic channel, such that the width of the transducer is a predetermined multiplier of the width of the microfluidic channel, and the transducer resonates at about an excitation frequency of the microfluidic channel (see paragraphs [0005], [0040]-[0043], [0053]-[0058] and [0077]-[0079]; Figures 1-4); and coupling at least a portion of the microfluidic channel with the transducer (see paragraphs [0005], [0040]-[0043], [0053]-[0058] and [0077]-[0079]; Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 18
The method according to Fiering et al., wherein the width of the transducer is one of about 2 or 3 times the width of the channel (see Figure 4A).
Regarding claims 19-20
The method according to Fiering et al., further comprising using an adhesive layer (e.g., coupling adhesive) to couple the portion of the microfluidic channel with the transducer, wherein adhesive layer is patterned to define a first region that couples the transducer with the portion of the microfluidic channel and a second region in which a gap exists between the transducer and the channel (see paragraphs [0040], [0055] and [0057]).
10. Claims 1, 4-5, 10-11, 14, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Broyer et al. (US 2017/0241878 A1).
Regarding claim 1
Broyer et al. disclose a microfluidic system (e.g., microfluidic acoustophoresis device) comprising: a microfluidic channel (e.g., microfluidic separation channel) having a thickness of a wall of the microfluidic channel and a width of the microfluidic channel; a transducer (e.g., acoustic transducer) coupled to the microfluidic channel, the transducer configured to operate at a frequency different than a resonant frequency of the transducer to excite the microfluidic channel to impart an acoustic wave onto a fluid within the microfluidic channel; wherein at least a width of the transducer is selected, based at least on a thickness of a wall and a width of the channel, to cause the transducer to resonate at about an excitation frequency of the microfluidic channel (see the whole document, particularly paragraphs [0032], [0148]-[0186] and [0215]-[0217]; Figures 1-4, 6 and 8).
Regarding claim 4
The microfluidic system according to Broyer et al., wherein the microfluidic channel comprises an elastic material (e.g., flexible material such as plastic, polymer or silicone material) (see paragraphs [0174], [0186] and [0217]).
Regarding claim 5
The microfluidic system according to Broyer et al., wherein an adhesive layer (e.g., ultrasound gel) couples the transducer with a portion of the microfluidic channel (see paragraph [0247]), the adhesive layer patterned to define a first region that couples the transducer with the microfluidic channel and a second region in which a gap exists between the transducer and the substrate (see paragraphs [0148]-[0199], [0206], [0211], [0215], [0218], [0247] and [0261]).
Regarding claim 10
The microfluidic system according to Broyer et al., wherein the transducer is mechanically coupled to a substrate forming the microfluidic channel (see paragraphs [0161], [0167], [0173]-[0176] and [0247]).
Regarding claim 11
Broyer et al. disclose a microfluidic system (e.g., microfluidic acoustophoresis device) comprising: a channel (e.g., microfluidic separation channel) having a thickness of a wall of the channel and a width of the microfluidic channel; a transducer (e.g., acoustic transducer) configured to excite the channel to impart an acoustic wave onto a fluid within the channel and to cause the transducer to resonate at about an excitation frequency of the channel; and an adhesive layer (e.g., ultrasound gel. See paragraph [0247]) to couple the transducer with a portion of the channel, the adhesive layer patterned to define a first region that couples the transducer with the channel and a second region in which a gap exists between the transducer and the channel (see the whole document, particularly paragraphs [0032], [0148]-[0186] and [0215]-[0217]; Figures 1-4, 6 and 8).
Regarding claim 14
The microfluidic system according to Broyer et al., wherein at least a width of the transducer is selected, based at least on the thickness of the wall and the width of the channel (see paragraphs [0150] and [0167]).
Regarding claim 17
Broyer et al. disclose a method comprising: establishing a microfluidic channel (e.g., microfluidic separation channel) having a first set of dimensions defining a thickness of a wall of the channel; selecting a transducer (e.g., acoustic transducer) to operate at a frequency different from a resonant frequency of the transducer to excite the microfluidic channel in a selected oscillatory mode to impart an acoustic wave onto a fluid contained in the microfluidic channel, wherein a thickness and a width of the transducer are selected based on the first set of dimensions defining the thickness of the wall of the microfluidic channel, such that the width of the transducer is a predetermined multiplier of the width of the microfluidic channel, and the transducer resonates at about an excitation frequency of the microfluidic channel; and coupling at least a portion of the microfluidic channel with the transducer (see the whole document, particularly paragraphs [0032], [0148]-[0186] and [0215]-[0217]; Figures 1-4, 6 and 8).
Regarding claims 19-20
The method according to Broyer et al., further comprising using an adhesive layer (e.g., ultrasound gel. See paragraph [0247]) to couple the portion of the microfluidic channel with the transducer, wherein adhesive layer is patterned to define a first region that couples the transducer with the portion of the microfluidic channel and a second region in which a gap exists between the transducer and the channel (see paragraphs [0148]-[0199], [0206], [0211], [0215], [0218], [0247] and [0261]).
Conclusion
11. No claim is allowed.
/KAIJIANG ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684