35 USC 102 Rejections
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al 2009/0130908.
Regarding claim 1, 11, 12, 18 and 19, Park et al (Figure 9) discloses an apparatus comprising: a seal 210 to prevent a cooling liquid from causing electrical contact with a pin (circuit trace, not shown) of an edge card 10 to be inserted in a connector 202, the seal at least one of covering a top surface of the connector or sealing an aperture of the pin; and an adhesive 230 to prevent the cooling liquid from causing electrical contact with a terminal 204 of the connector, the adhesive covering the terminal of the connector and sealing a gap between the connector and a printed circuit board 300, wherein the connector is to be coupled to the printed circuit board prior to application of the adhesive.
Regarding claim 2, Park et al discloses the connector 202 is to be coupled to the printed circuit board 300 via soldering. Note that the soldering is not positively recited, and thus Park et al is deemed to disclose the positively recited structure.
Regarding claim 3, the cooling liquid is not positively recited, and thus Park et al is deemed to disclose the positively recited structure.
Regarding claims 8, 17 and 20, Park et al discloses the edge card 20 comprises one or more of: a processor, a storage device, a communication device, or an input/output device (very broadly recited, inherent in the function of an edge card).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the processor is not positively recited, and thus Park et al is deemed to meet the positively recited structure.
35 USC 103 Rejections
Claim(s) 4, 6, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Bailey et al 2967284.
Bailey et al discloses seal 18 comprises silicone gel, and to form the seal of Park et al of this material thus would have been obvious, to better prevent ingress of contaminants.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, to form the adhesive of Park et al as hot glue is deemed to have been an obvious substitution of equivalents.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, to form the adhesive of Park et al of the same material as the seal (i.e. silicone) is deemed to have been an obvious substitution of equivalents since silicone is widely used as an adhesive in many environments.
Response To Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Finality
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY F PAUMEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834