Status of Claims
This action is in response to remarks received 03/23/2025.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 being independent claims while claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 are dependent claims.
The Terminal Disclaimer received 03/21/2025 overcomes the current Double Patenting rejection.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-15, & 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeffrey D. Mullen et al. (US 2012/0290472 A1, herein Mullen).
As per claim 1, Mullen teaches
a method, comprising:
accessing, by a mobile device, one or more images of a contactless card captured by a camera of the mobile device (Mullen ¶¶ [55, 83, 98, 108 & 126]);
processing each image of the one or more images to identify a darkness level associated with a distance of the contactless card from the mobile device (Mullen ¶¶ [61, 142 & 162]);
determining, based on a comparison of the darkness level of at least one of the one or more images to a predetermined darkness level, that the contactless card is at a predetermined distance from the mobile device, wherein the predetermined distance is a distance to automatically trigger a short-range communication operation between the mobile device and the contactless card (Mullen ¶¶ [79, 95, 106, 142, 144 & 159]); and
automatically triggering the short-range communication operation between the mobile device and the contactless card in response to the determination that the contactless card is at the predetermined distance from the mobile device (Mullen ¶¶ [64, 79, 95, 106, 142, 144, 159 & 161]).
As per claims 8 & 15, the claims recite analogous limitations as claim 1 above and rejected under the same premise.
As per claim 3, Mullen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the short-range communication operation comprises a near-field communication (NFC) exchange with the contactless card (Mullen ¶¶ [19-20, 64-66, 79 & 161]).
As per claims 10 & 17, the claims recite analogous limitations as claim 3 above and rejected under the same premise.
As per claim 4, Mullen teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: comparing each darkness level to the predetermined darkness level comprises performing comparisons until one of the darkness levels meets or exceeds the predetermined darkness level (Mullen ¶¶ [61, 64 & 142]).
As per claims 11 & 18, the claims recite analogous limitations as claim 4 above and rejected under the same premise.
As per claim 5, Mullen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein each image of the one or more images comprises a plurality of pixels and wherein, for each image, a subset of the plurality of pixels are used to identify the darkness level (Mullen ¶ [55]).
As per claims 12 & 19, the claims recite analogous limitations as claim 5 above and rejected under the same premise.
As per claim 7, Mullen teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the plurality of pixels of the image is apportioned into a plurality of subsets of pixels, wherein each subset of pixels comprises a subset darkness level, and wherein the darkness level of an image is determined using the subset darkness levels of the plurality of subsets of pixels (Mullen ¶¶ [22, 55, 61 & 162]).
As per claim 14, the claim recites analogous limitations as claim 7 above and rejected under the same premise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullen in view of David Wurmfeld et al. (US 9,978,058 B2, herein Wurmfeld).
As per claim 2, Mullen teaches the method of claim 1, it can be argued Mullen does not explicitly teach, however, Wurmfeld further teaches wherein the short-range communication operation comprises a read of a cryptogram generated by the contactless card (Wurmfeld column 22 lines 4-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the systems and devices for mobile payment acceptance of Mullen with the system, method, and apparatus for a dynamic transaction card of Wurmfeld in order to send and receive data packets between the dynamic transaction card and the terminal (see Wurmfeld column 22 lines 4-29).
As per claims 9 & 16, the claims recite analogous limitations as claim 2 above and rejected under the same premise.
Claims 6, 13 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullen in view of Arkadiusz W. Biegun et al. (US 2017/0255938 A1, herein Biegun).
As per claim 6, Mullen teaches the method of claim 5, it can be argued Mullen does not explicitly teach, however, Biegun further teaches wherein the darkness level for at least one image comprises an average of pixel values of the subset of the plurality of pixels of the at least one image (Biegun ¶¶ [27-28, 36 & 48]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the systems and devices for mobile payment acceptance of Mullen with the NFC device of Biegun in order to block fraudulent transactions below a brightness threshold (see Biegun ¶¶ [17, 21, 28-29 & 48]).
As per claims 13 & 20, the claims recite analogous limitations as claim 6 above and rejected under the same premise.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3696
/MATTHEW S GART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3696