DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 12-17 in the reply filed on 10/14/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baugher et al. (5,802,995) in view of Schafer et al. (2015/0230392) and Mori et al. (2010/0292045).
Regarding claim 12, Baugher et al. disclose a gauge arm comprising:
An arm portion (286)
An unthreaded receptacle portion (298)
A single interior stop (300) within a bore of said receptacle portion, wherein said unthreaded receptacle is adapted for receiving two sealed (306,308) bearings (302), one on each side of said single interior stop
A first bearing (302) is inserted into said receptacle on a first side of said single interior stop (Figure 18)
A second sealed bearing (302) is inserted into said receptacle portion against a second side of said single interior stop (Figure 18), wherein said gauge arm is suitable for use in a planter
While Baugher discloses the invention as described above, it fails to disclose that the bearings are press fit into place. Like Baugher, Schafer also teaches a sealed bearing on a gauge arm for a planter. Unlike Baugher, Schafer specifically discloses that the sealed bearings are press fit into place (pgph 0021). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a press fit for the bearings in Baugher as taught by Schafer as it would be combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
While the combination of Baugher and Schafer discloses the invention as described above, it fails to disclose that the two bearings can be different sizes with one of the bearings being a double row bearing. Like the combination, Mori discloses a axial support system (23) using multiple bearings. Unlike the combination, Mori discloses that single bearings can be used together, double bearings can be used together or one of each can be used for varying benefits in different arrangements (pgph 0048). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a single bearing and a double bearing in the combination as taught by Mori as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)). Further, it appears to be an obvious matter of design choice to utilize different size bearings, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. Applicant discloses in the originally filed specification that the two bearings are preferably different sizes but that they need not be different and could include two identical bearings thereby showing a lack of criticality (pgph 0013). It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by the combination.
Regarding claim 13, the combination discloses that the receptacle portion is a smooth bore.
Regarding claim 14, the combination discloses that the two bearings can be of different dimensions (Mori).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baugher et al. (5,802,995) in view of Schafer et al. (2015/0230392) and Mori et al. (2010/0292045) as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Kester (2017/0156254).
Regarding claims 15-16, the combination discloses the invention as described above, but fails to specifically disclose that the bearing assembly is used for a gauge wheel and closing wheel bearing and/or a round bore grain drill. Like the combination, Kester also discloses a bearing assembly for mounting agricultural implements to mounting arms. Unlike the combination, Kester discloses that the same bearing arrangements can be utilized in multiple different embodiments to mount different tools to their respective arms (mounting structure 100 for closing wheel bearing structure and/or mounting structure 10 for a gauge wheel/opening drill) (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the bearing arrangement of the combination on multiple different rolling tools including but no limited to a gauge wheel, closing wheel, drill, etc. as it would be combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baugher et al. (5,802,995) in view of Schafer et al. (2015/0230392) and Mori et al. (2010/0292045) as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Copp et al. (2014/0312646).
Regarding claim 17, the combination discloses the invention as described above but fails to disclose that the bearing can be held in place with a press fit and no additional fasteners. Like the combination, Copp also discloses a bearing press fit into place. Unlike the combination, Copp discloses that bearings can be press fit into position using tolerances such that no other fasteners are required (pgph 0174). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize tolerances on the press fit that do not require further fasteners int eh combination as taught by Copp as the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Garner (EP4289245) also discloses a press fit for a bearing that requires no additional fasteners (Figure 3).
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671