DETAILED ACTION
Rejections Withdrawn
1. The 35 U.S.C. 102(a) rejection of claims 1,12,14 anticipated by Bowers et al. has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment filed on 1/6/26.
2. The 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claims 2-11 unpatentable over Bowers et al. in view of Kimpel has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment filed on 1/6/26.
3. The 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claims 13-15 unpatentable over Bowers et al. in view of Klewer has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment filed on 1/6/26.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1,12,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Sanderson et al. (US20170018787).
As to claim 1, Sanderson et al. discloses a system (figure 1) comprising: a fuel cell stack (12); and a heat exchanger (24) having an air passage in thermal communication with an H20 passage (36) for heat exchange between air and H20, wherein an exhaust outlet (22) of the fuel cell stack is connected in fluid communication with an H20 inlet of the heat exchanger (24) for supplying H20 to the heat exchanger (paragraph 0016).
As to claim 12, Bowers et al. discloses wherein the air passage of the heat
exchanger has an inlet connected to receive air inlet from a source (figure 1 number 28).
As to claim 16, Sanderson et al. discloses a system comprising:
a fuel cell stack (figure 1 number 12); and a heat exchanger (24) having an air passage in thermal communication with an H₂O passage (36) for heat exchange between air and H₂O; wherein an air outlet of the heat exchanger (24) is connected in fluid communication with an air inlet of the fuel cell stack to supply the air for reaction in the fuel cell stack (paragraph 0016).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 2-4,7-11,18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanderson et al. in view of Klimpel (US20210245629).
Sanderson et al. discloses the system described above. As to claim 2,18 Sanderson et al. fail to disclose, further comprising a source of cryogenic H2 connected in fluid communication
to supply H2 to fuel the fuel cell stack for production of electrical power. Klimpel teaches
further comprising a source of cryogenic H2 connected in fluid communication to supply
H2 to fuel the fuel cell stack for production of electrical power for the purpose of
providing improved cooling efficiency (paragraph 0005-0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at
the time applicant's invention was made to Sanderson et al. with further comprising a
source of cryogenic H2 connected in fluid communication to supply H2 to fuel the fuel
cell stack for production of electrical power for the purpose of providing improved
cooling efficiency (paragraph 0005-0006).
As to claim 3,19 Sanderson et al. discloses further comprising a coolant circuit in fluid communication with an internal heat exchanger of the fuel cell stack for cooling the fuel cell stack (paragraph 0014).
As to claim 4, 20 Sanderson et al. discloses wherein the heat exchanger is a first heat exchanger (24) and wherein the coolant circuit includes a second heat exchanger (20) having a coolant passage in thermal communication with an H2 passage. Sanderson et al. fail to disclose wherein an inlet of the H2 passage is connected in fluid communication with the source of cryogenic H2.
Klimpel teaches further comprising a source of cryogenic H2 connected in fluid communication to supply H2 to fuel the fuel cell stack for production of electrical power for the purpose of providing improved cooling efficiency (paragraph 0005-0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Sanderson et al. with wherein an inlet of the H2 passage is connected in fluid communication with the source of cryogenic H2 for the purpose of providing improved cooling efficiency (paragraph 0005-0006).
As to claim 7, Sanderson et al. fail to disclose wherein an outlet of the H2 passage is in fluid communication with a reactive portion of the fuel cell stack for supplying H2 as fuel for the fuel cell stack.
Klimpel teaches wherein an outlet of the H2 passage is in fluid communication with a reactive portion of the fuel cell stack for supplying H2 as fuel for the fuel cell stack for the purpose of providing improved cooling efficiency (paragraph 0005-0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Sanderson et al. with wherein an outlet of the H2 passage is in fluid communication with a reactive portion of the fuel cell stack for supplying H2 as fuel for the fuel cell stack for the purpose of providing improved cooling efficiency (paragraph 0005-0006).
As to claim 8, Sanderson et al. fail to disclose wherein an outlet of the H2 passage is in fluid communication with a gas expansion turbine operatively connected to provide rotational power to a motor/generator and/or an air compressor for compressing ambient air to supply to an environmental control system (ECS) of an aircraft by extracting power in the gas expansion turbine from H2 passing through the gas expansion turbine.
Klimpel teaches wherein an outlet of the H2 passage is in fluid communication
with a gas expansion turbine operatively connected to provide rotational power to a
motor/generator and/or an air compressor for compressing ambient air to supply to an
environmental control system (ECS) of an aircraft by extracting power in the gas
expansion turbine from H2 passing through the gas expansion turbine for the purpose of
further cooling the fuel (paragraph 0067-0068).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at
the time applicant's invention was made to provide Sanderson et al. with wherein an outlet of the H2 passage is in fluid communication with a gas expansion turbine operatively connected to provide rotational power to a motor/generator and/or an air compressor for compressing ambient air to supply to an environmental control system (ECS) of an aircraft by extracting power in the gas expansion turbine from H2 passing through the gas expansion turbine for the purpose of further cooling the fuel (paragraph 0067-0068).
As to claims 9-11 Sanderson et al. fail to disclose wherein the gas expansion turbine includes an H2 outlet in fluid communication with a third heat exchanger operatively connected to a cooling loop for cool one or more electrical machines or power electronics, wherein fluid in the coolant loop is in thermal communication with an H2 circuit passing through the third heat exchanger, wherein the H2 circuit of the third heat exchanger includes an H2 outlet in fluid communication with the a reactive portion of the fuel cell stack for supplying H2 as fuel for the fuel cell stack and further comprising a branch line from the source of cryogenic H2 for supplying H2 as fuel to a combustor of a gas turbine engine.
Klimpel teaches wherein the gas expansion turbine includes an H2 outlet in fluid communication with a third heat exchanger operatively connected to a cooling loop for cool one or more electrical machines or power electronics, wherein fluid in the coolant loop is in thermal communication with an H2 circuit passing through the third heat exchanger, wherein the H2 circuit of the third heat exchanger includes an H2 outlet in fluid communication with the a reactive portion of the fuel cell stack for supplying H2 as fuel for the fuel cell stack and further comprising a branch line from the source of cryogenic H2 for supplying H2 as fuel to a combustor of a gas turbine engine for the purpose of for the purpose of further cooling the fuel. (paragraph 0067-0068,0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Sanderson et al. with wherein the gas expansion turbine includes an H2 outlet in fluid communication with a third heat exchanger operatively connected to a cooling loop for cool one or more electrical machines or power electronics, wherein fluid in the coolant loop is in thermal communication with an H2 circuit passing through the third heat exchanger, wherein the H2 circuit of the third heat exchanger includes an H2 outlet in fluid communication with the a reactive portion of the fuel cell stack for supplying H2 as fuel for the fuel cell stack and further comprising a branch line from the source of cryogenic H2 for supplying H2 as fuel to a combustor of a gas turbine engine for the purpose of for the purpose of further cooling the fuel. (paragraph 0067-0068,0061).
6. Claim(s) 5-6,21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanderson et al. in view of Klimpel and in further view of Bowers (EP3232500).
Sanderson et al. discloses the system described above. As to claim 5,21 Sanderson et al. fail to disclose wherein the coolant circuit includes a coolant tank downstream of the second heat exchanger a coolant pump downstream of the coolant tank, and the internal heat exchanger of the fuel cell stack downstream of the coolant pump.
Bowers et al. teaches wherein the coolant circuit includes a coolant tank downstream of the second heat exchanger a coolant pump downstream of the coolant tank, and the internal heat exchanger of the fuel cell stack downstream of the coolant pump for the purpose to store water and move water through a passage (paragraph 0017).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Sanderson et al. with wherein the coolant circuit includes a coolant tank downstream of the second heat exchanger a coolant pump downstream of the coolant tank, and the internal heat exchanger of the fuel cell stack downstream of the coolant pump for the purpose to store water and move water through a passage (paragraph 0017).
As to claim 6,22 Sanderson et al. fail to disclose wherein the coolant circuit includes a bypass valve upstream of the second heat exchanger, wherein the bypass valve is configured to divert flow around the second heat exchanger through a coolant bypass passage from the bypass valve to the coolant tank. Kimpel teaches wherein the coolant circuit includes a bypass valve upstream of the second heat exchanger, wherein the bypass valve is configured to divert flow around the second heat exchanger through a coolant bypass passage from the bypass valve to the coolant tank for the purpose of
cooling the fuel while bypassing the fuel cell system (paragraph 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at
the time applicant's invention was made to provide Sanderson et al. with wherein the
coolant circuit includes a bypass valve upstream of the second heat exchanger, wherein the bypass valve is configured to divert flow around the second heat exchanger through
a coolant bypass passage from the bypass valve to the coolant tank (paragraph
0065).
7. Claim(s) 13,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanderson et al. in view of Klewer (WO2008014912).
Sanderson et al. discloses the system described above. Sanderson et al. fail to
disclose wherein the air outlet of the heat exchanger has an outlet in fluid communication with an aircraft cabin for supplying air conditioned air from the heat
exchanger to the aircraft cabin for the purpose of utilizing the water contained in the fuel waste gas so as to moisturize the air to be fed to the aircraft cabin (page 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at
the time applicant's invention was made to Bowers et al. with wherein the air passage of
the heat exchanger has an outlet in fluid communication with an aircraft cabin for
supplying air conditioned air from the heat exchanger to the aircraft cabin for the purpose of utilizing the water contained in the fuel waste gas so as to moisturize the air to be fed to the aircraft cabin (page 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13,16-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JANE J RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724