CTFR 18/130,578 CTFR 101156 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. 07-31-01 Claims 8 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As to claims 8 and 9 , the recited limitation “a connecting portion that connects stoppers adjacent to each other in the third direction” contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In an effort to expedite prosecution, the broadest reasonable interpretation is applied. The examiner interprets the recited limitation “a connecting portion that connects stoppers adjacent to each other in the third direction” as “a common area that stoppers adjacent to each other in the third direction are in contact with” as this is shown in Fig. 1 of the instant application. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 4-5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamada (US 2008/124622) . Regarding claim 1 , Hamada teaches a power storage device (100, Fig. 7, [0067]) comprising: a power storage stack (110, Fig. 7, [0066]) including a plurality of power storage modules (110, Fig. 7, [0067]) arranged in a first direction parallel to a vertical direction (Fig. 7, the vertical direction is broadly interpreted to be the direction Y of the power storage modules with end plates 180 for the top and bottom as the battery stack would still function if the stack is placed vertically) ; a housing case (160, 170, and 180 combined, Fig. 7, [0067]) that houses therein the power storage stack ([0012]) ; and a plurality of stoppers (185, Fig. 7, [0067]) arranged between the power storage stack and the housing case in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Fig. 7) , wherein: the housing case includes: a pair of restraint plates (180, Fig. 7, [0067]) that sandwich the power storage stack in between in the first direction (Fig. 7, [0067]); and a pair of side wall portions (See annotated Fig. 7 below) that are opposite to each other in the second direction, with the power storage stack located between the side wall portions (See annotated Fig. 7 below); and PNG media_image1.png 840 603 media_image1.png Greyscale the plurality of stoppers are located outside each of opposite sides of the power storage stack in the second direction and are arranged between the power storage stack and each side wall portion of the pair of side wall portions (See annotated Fig. 7 above), the pair of restraint plates form a ceiling portion and a bottom portion of the housing case (Fig. 7, the pair of end plates 180 forms the ceiling portion and the bottom portion of the housing case) , each restraint plate of the pair of restraint plates has an outer main surface located opposite to a side where the power storage stack is located (Fig. 7, outer main surface is surface of 180 opposite to the surface of 180 facing the battery stack), on the outer main surface of each restraint plate of the pair of restraint plates, a plurality of reinforcing portions (nuts on 180, Fig. 7) are disposed that each extend in the second direction and are arranged in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 7), and each of the plurality of stoppers is disposed at a position overlapping, in the first direction, a corresponding reinforcing portion of the plurality of reinforcing portions, at each of opposite ends, in the second direction, of the corresponding reinforcing portion (Fig. 7, 185 appears to penetrate through the nut; therefore, the position of the stopper in the first direction, interpreted as on the axis of the first direction, is overlapping with the position of the reinforcing portion in the first direction, also interpreted as on the axis of the first direction; as a result, the stopper is also overlapping with the position, in the first direction, of the opposite ends, in the second direction, of the corresponding reinforcing portion). Regarding claim 4 , Hamada teaches opposite ends, in the third direction, of each of the stoppers (185, Fig. 7) are located inside respective opposite ends, in the third direction, of the corresponding reinforcing portion (nuts, Fig. 7), as seen in the first direction (Fig. 7). Regarding claim 5 , Hamada teaches each of the plurality of reinforcing portions includes: a pair of flange portions (See annotated Fig. 7 below, second flange portion is the face spaced from, parallel to, and facing the first flange portion at the opposite end of the nut in the third direction) that are disposed on the outer main surface (180, Fig. 7, [0067]), extend in the second direction, and are spaced from each other in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 7 below for details and annotated Fig. 7 in claim 1 above for second direction and third direction); a pair of standing wall portions (See annotated Fig. 7 below, second standing wall portion is the face of the nut spaced from, parallel to, and facing the first standing wall portion at the opposite end of the nut in the third direction) that extend upright from respective inner ends, in the third direction, of the pair of flange portions (the portion of the standing wall portion at the inner ends, in the third direction, of the respective flange portion, does extend upright); and a connecting wall portion (Fig. 7, outermost surface of the nut in the first direction that is facing the first direction) that connects the standing wall portions of the pair of standing wall portions (See annotated Fig. 7 below). PNG media_image2.png 358 586 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding claim 8 , Hamada teaches the plurality of stoppers are arranged side-by-side in the third direction (Fig. 7), and the power storage device further comprises a common area that stoppers adjacent to each other are in contact with (180, Fig. 7) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 3, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terauchi (US 2021/351472) and further in view of Hamada (US 2008/124622) . Regarding claim 1 , Terauchi teaches a power storage device (100, Fig. 1, Abstract) comprising: a power storage stack (10, Fig. 1, [0041]) including a plurality of power storage modules (1, Fig. 1, [0040]) arranged in a first direction (front to back of page) parallel to a vertical direction (the vertical direction is broadly interpreted to be the arrangement direction of the power storage modules with plate portions 23 for the top and bottom as the battery stack would still function if the stack is placed vertically); and a plurality of stoppers (30, Fig. 1, [0048]) a pair of restraint plates (20, Fig. 1, [0047]) that sandwich the power storage stack in between in the first direction (Fig. 2, [0047]); and each restraint plate (20, Fig. 1, [0047]) of the pair of restraint plates has an outer main surface (23, Fig. 1, outer main surface) located opposite to a side where the power storage stack is located (Fig. 1), on the outer main surface of each restraint plate of the pair of restraint plates, a plurality of reinforcing portions (21, Fig. 1, [0056]) are disposed that each extend in a second direction (top to bottom of page) and are arranged in a third direction (left to right of page) orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 1), and each of the plurality of stoppers (30, Fig. 1, [0048]) is disposed at a position overlapping (22, Fig. 2, [0056]), in the first direction, a corresponding reinforcing portion (21, Fig. 1, [0056]) of the plurality of reinforcing portions, at each of opposite ends, in the second direction, of the corresponding reinforcing portion (Fig. 1). Terauchi does not teach a housing case that houses therein the power storage stack and having the pair of restraint plates form a ceiling portion and a bottom portion of the housing case. Terauchi also does not teach the plurality of stoppers arranged between the power storage stack and the housing case in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction. Additionally, Terauchi does not teach a pair of side wall portions that are opposite to each other in the second direction, with the power storage stack located between the side wall portions, where the plurality of stoppers are located outside each of opposite sides of the power storage stack in the second direction and are arranged between the power storage stack and each side wall portion of the pair of side wall portions. However , Hamada teaches a housing case (160, 170, and 180 combined, Fig. 7, [0067]) that houses therein a power storage stack ([0012]) and having a pair of restraint plates (180, Fig. 7, [0067]) form a ceiling portion and a bottom portion of the housing case (Fig. 7, the pair of end plates 180 forms the ceiling portion and the bottom portion of the housing case). Hamada also teaches a plurality of stoppers (185, Fig. 7, [0067]) arranged between the power storage stack and the housing case in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Fig. 7). Additionally, Hamada teaches the housing includes a pair of side wall portions (See annotated Fig. 7 below) that are opposite to each other in the second direction, with the power storage stack located between the side wall portions (See annotated Fig. 7 below), where the plurality of stoppers are located outside each of opposite sides of the power storage stack in the second direction and are arranged between the power storage stack and each side wall portion of the pair of side wall portions (See annotated Fig. 7 below). PNG media_image1.png 840 603 media_image1.png Greyscale Therefore , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery stack of Terauchi to use the structure of the holding spacers and spacer support members of Hamada in order to restrain the movement of the battery module and a holding spacer even after use for a long period (Hamada: [0131]). This is advantageous because Hamada teaches the solution to a problem with a battery pack similar to the battery pack described in Terauchi, where the battery pack has end plates placed to clasp battery modules and spacers by means of retaining rods and retaining bands (Hamada: [0002]). After the battery pack is mounted on a hybrid electric vehicle or an electric vehicle for a long period under a severe condition, the spacer may be deformed to cause a space between a battery module and the spacer ([0006]). This may cause the battery module and the spacer to freely move inside the battery pack ([0006]). Hamada also teaches the holding spacers can restrain the battery modules from freely moving inside the battery pack (Hamada: [0077] to [0079], and similarly to Terauchi: [0042], the holding spacer constitute cooling passages through which a cooling medium passes, [0071]). Regarding claim 3 , modified Terauchi teaches each of the plurality of stoppers (Terauchi: 30, Fig. 2, [0048], “fastening member”) has an inner surface facing the power storage stack (Terauchi: Fig. 2, [0048], “fastening members 30... are disposed so as to face the upper and lower surfaces of battery stack 10”) and a heat insulating member (Terauchi: [0042]) is disposed on the inner surface (Terauchi: [0042], See reasoning below). Terauchi teaches the stopper can press on the upper surface of the sealing plate (Terauchi: 1b, Fig. 2, [0054]), which is the top surface (Terauchi: 1b, Fig. 2, [0038]) of each power storage module (Terauchi: 1, Fig. 2, [0040], “secondary battery cell”). Terauchi also teaches the surface of the power storage module can be coated with an insulating material such as PET resin (Terauchi: [0042]), which is known in the art to have low thermal conductivity and therefore can function as heat insulation. The PET resin is not stated directly to be disposed on the inner surface of each fastening member. However, the PET resin is disposed in contact with, and in turn, disposed on, the inner surface of each fastening member because the inner surface of each fastening members are disposed in contact with the surfaces of the secondary battery cells. Regarding claim 6 , modified Terauchi teaches each of the plurality of stoppers is fastened to the corresponding reinforcing portion of the plurality of reinforcing portions by a fastening member (Terauchi: 40, Fig. 1) that penetrates the corresponding reinforcing portion in the first direction (Terauchi: Fig. 1, the fastening member penetrates the corresponding reinforcing portion that the stopper corresponds to in the first direction rather than a corresponding reinforcing portion in the second direction, interpreted as the reinforcing portion that the stopper corresponds to, or is matching in position with, in the second direction, or a reinforcing portion that the stopper corresponds to in the third direction) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terauchi (US 2021/351472) and Hamada (US 2008/124622) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamada (WO 2019/092980) . Note : Citations used below for Yamada (WO 2019/092980) are from US equivalent patent publication Yamada (US 2021/0184301) . Regarding claim 2 , modified Terauchi does not teach the power storage stack includes: a cooler (Hamada: 141, Fig. 1, [0074]) disposed between power storage modules adjacent to each other (Hamada: [0067], [0072], [0074], holding spacer 130, placed between battery modules 100, has spacer body 131, which is provided with cooling passage forming protrusions 141). Terauchi teaches the stoppers (Terauchi: 30, Fig. 2, [0048], “fastening members”) can press on the upper surface of the sealing plate (Terauchi: 1b, Fig. 2, [0054]), which is the top surface (Terauchi: 1b, Fig. 2, [0038]) of each power storage module (Terauchi: 1, Fig. 2, [0040], “secondary battery cells”). Therefore, one would reasonably find that each stopper is disposed in contact with each power storage module. Hamada teaches each of the plurality of stoppers is not in contact with the cooler (Hamada: 141, Fig. 1, [0074]) because the coolers is not at the surface of the spacer body that would contact the stoppers (Fig. 1). Modified Terauchi does not teach a first current collecting plate stacked on one side, in the first direction, of one endmost power storage module in the first direction; and a second current collecting plate stacked on another side, in the first direction, of another endmost power storage module in the first direction, and each of the plurality of stoppers is disposed in contact with the plurality of power storage modules and not in contact with the cooler, the first current collecting plate, and the second current collecting plate. However , Yamada teaches a positive electrode terminal (24, Fig. 1, [0033]) connected and formed integrally ([0033]) to a conductive plate (14, Fig. 1, [0033]) at one end in the stacking direction ([0033]), and a negative electrode terminal (26, Fig. 1, [0033]) connected and formed integrally ([0033]) to a conductive plate (14, Fig. 1, [0033]) at the other end ([0033]). Similarly to Terauchi, Yamada also teaches electricity-storage modules that are stacked and serially connected ([0033]), and heat dissipation plates alternatively stacking between modules in the stacking direction ([0034] [0035]). Also, similarly to Terauchi, Yamada teaches binding plates on each end (16A and 16B, Fig. 1, [0035] [0036]) that sandwich the stack components to apply a binding load in the stacking direction ([0036]), having connection members connecting the binding plates (18 and 20, Fig. 1, [0035]) and insulating films between the binding plates and endmost plate (22, Fig. 1, [0035]). Therefore , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply device of Terauchi and Hamada to include the positive electrode terminal as a current collector connected to a conductive plate, at one end, and negative electrode terminal as another current collector connected to another conductive plate, at another end, of Yamada in order to carry out charging and discharging of the device (Yamada: [0033]). This is necessary for charging and discharging the power supply device (Terauchi: [0002]) to supply electric power to a hybrid vehicle (Terauchi: 100 and HV, Fig. 2, [0069]). Yamada teaches that disposing the electrode terminals at both ends of the battery stack would have a reasonable expectation of attaching the battery stack for charging and discharging ([0033]) to power a load. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the positive electrode terminal (Yamada: 24, Fig. 1, [0033]) and the negative electrode terminal (Yamada: 26, Fig. 1, [0033]) should not be in contact with the bolt (Yamada: 18, Fig. 1, [0033]) because this would create an unintended low-resistance path connecting the positive and negative terminals of the battery, potentially resulting in a short circuit. This arrangement would also be applied to the new modified power supply of Terauchi as it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to avoid having the electrode terminals (Yamada: 24 and 26, Fig. 1, [0033]) in contact with the metal fastening members (Terauchi: 30, Fig. 1, [0048]) to avoid short circuits. Regarding claim 7 , modified Terauchi teaches each of the plurality of stoppers is fastened to the corresponding reinforcing portion of the plurality of reinforcing portions by a fastening member (Terauchi: 40, Fig. 1) that penetrates the corresponding reinforcing portion in the first direction (Terauchi: Fig. 1, the fastening member penetrates the corresponding reinforcing portion that the stopper corresponds to in the first direction rather than a corresponding reinforcing portion in the second direction, interpreted as the reinforcing portion that the stopper corresponds to, or is matching in position with, in the second direction, or a reinforcing portion that the stopper corresponds to in the third direction). Regarding claim 9 , modified Terauchi teaches the plurality of stoppers are arranged side-by-side in the third direction (Fig. 1), and the power storage device further comprises a common area that stoppers adjacent to each other are in contact with (23, Fig. 1). Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to An Bach Phan whose telephone number is (571)272-7244. The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 7-3 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached at (571)272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/130,578 Page 2 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/130,578 Page 3 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/130,578 Page 4 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/130,578 Page 5 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/130,578 Page 6 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/130,578 Page 7 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/130,578 Page 8 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/130,578 Page 9 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/130,578 Page 10 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/130,578 Page 11 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/130,578 Page 12 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/130,578 Page 13 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/130,578 Page 14 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/130,578 Page 15 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/130,578 Page 16 Art Unit: 3763