DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Onuma et al. (JP 2020-015304 A, hereinafter Onuma).
Re Claim 9. Onuma teaches a supporting body (Fig. 2) comprising:
a nanocluster (P2, items 2 & 6) of an alloy containing Pt and Co (P2); and
a support (item 5) on which the cluster is supported,
wherein an amount of Pt supported is 1 x 10-14 ng/cm2 or more and 1 x105 ng/cm2 or less (P2).
Re Claim 12. Onuma teaches a supporting body (Fig. 2) comprising:
a sub-nanocluster (P2, items 2 & 6) of an alloy containing Pt and Co (P2); and
a support (item 5) on which the cluster is supported,
wherein an amount of Pt supported is 1 x 10-14 ng/cm2 or more and 1 x105 ng/cm2 or less (P2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onuma.
Re Claim 1. Onuma teaches a supporting body (Fig. 2) comprising:
a cluster (items 2 & 6) of an alloy containing Pt and Co (P2); and
a support (item 5) on which the cluster is supported,
a mass activity of the supporting body having the cluster of the alloy supported on the support is 400 A/g to 2 x 104 A/g (P2),
the cluster is a nanocluster or a sub-nanocluster (P2), and
wherein an amount of Pt supported is 1 x 10-14 ng/cm2 or more and 1 x105 ng/cm2 or less (P2).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP § 2144.05, I.
Re Claim 2. Onuma teaches wherein the support is made of a conductive material (P3).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 10, 11, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onuma as applied to claims 1, 2, 9, and 12 above, respectively, and further in view of Paik et al. (US 2011/0020735 A1, hereinafter Paik).
The teachings of Onuma have been discussed above.
Onuma fails to specifically teach that a composition of the cluster is one or more selected from the group consisting of Pt4Co2, Pt5 Co, Pt6Co2, Pt7Co2, and Pt8Co.
The invention of Paik encompasses fuel cell catalyst. Paik teaches a composition of the cluster to be Pt----aCon, wherein a/n is between 1:10 to 10:1 (para. 38).
In view of Paik, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Onuma to employ a cluster having a composition of PtaCon, wherein a/n is between 1:10 to 10:1, since using a well-known composition of a cluster for catalyst is within purview of one skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 1 of remark, part of interview record of 4/20/26, applicant argued that Onuma fails to teach that a mass activity of the supporting body having the cluster of the alloy supported on the support is 500 A/g to 2 x 104 A/g, since Table 1 of Onuma shows a mass activity of less than 500 A/g.
The examiner disagrees with this because Onuma explicitly teaches that a mass activity of the supporting body having the cluster of the alloy supported on the support is 400 A/g to 2 x 104 A/g (P2).
On page 2 of remark, part of interview record of 4/20/26, applicant argued Paik does not disclose a cluster of an alloy as defined in the present application.
The examiner is relying on Onuma for its teaching of a nanocluster/sub-nanocluster (P2, items 2 & 6) of an alloy.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
5/11/2026