DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I (claims 1-6 and 12-17) in the reply filed on 27 October 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 27 October 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 12-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0021375 A1 to Wetzel et al. (Wetzel).
With regard to claim 1, Wetzel discloses an air conditioning system (Wetzel, title, abstract) comprising:
an air handler (10, fig. 1, paragraph 0027);
an evaporator coil (24, fig. 1, paragraph 0027) in the air handler (shown in fig. 1);
a blower (28, fig. 1, paragraph 0027) in the air handler (shown in fig. 1);
a heater (25, fig. 1, paragraph 0027) in the air handler (shown in fig. 1);
an air filter (as labeled in the annotated figure above and described in paragraph 0027 where the intake includes a pre-filter); and
a transition between the air handler and the air filter (as labeled in the annotated figure above).
With regard to claim 2, Wetzel discloses the air conditioning system according to claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses comprising:
an air return unit (30, fig. 1, paragraph 0027) on one side of the air filter.
With regard to claim 3, Wetzel discloses the air conditioning system according to claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the transition comprises a panel (16, fig. 1, paragraph 0027) that includes an access door that opens to allow access into an interior of the transition (as described in paragraph 0027, the intake grille may incorporate a pre-filter. The inclusion of a pre-filter in the grille demonstrates the grille’s functionality as an access door that when removed allows access into an interior of the transition).
With regard to claim 5, Wetzel discloses the air conditioning system according to claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the transition includes a panel (52, fig. 1, paragraph 0030) comprising one or more access ports (54/56, fig. 1, paragraph 0030) opening into the interior of the transition (shown in fig. 1).
With regard to claim 12, Wetzel discloses a method of transitioning within an air conditioning system, the method comprising:
positioning a first opened end of a transition (as labeled in the annotated figure above) at a first opened end of an air handler (10, fig. 1, paragraph 0027) comprising an evaporator coil (24, fig. 1, paragraph 0027), a blower (28, fig. 1, paragraph 0027), and a heater (25, fig. 1, paragraph 0027); and
positioning a first side of an air filter (24, fig. 1, paragraph 0027) at a second opened end of the transition, the second opened end being opposite the first opened end of the transition (shown in fig. 1).
With regard to claim 13, Wetzel discloses the method according to claim 12 as set forth above, further comprising:
positioning an opened end of an air return unit (30, fig. 1, paragraph 0027) on a second side of the air filter, the second side being opposite the first side (shown in fig. 1).
With regard to claim 14, Wetzel discloses the method according to claim 12 as set forth above, and further discloses comprising:
providing a panel (16, fig. 1, paragraph 0027) of the transition with an access door that opens to allow access into an interior of the transition (as described in paragraph 0027, the intake grille may incorporate a pre-filter. The inclusion of a pre-filter in the grille demonstrates the grille’s functionality as an access door that when removed allows access into an interior of the transition).
With regard to claim 16, Wetzel discloses the method according to claim 12 as set forth above, and further discloses comprising:
providing a panel (52, fig. 1, paragraph 0030) of the transition with one or more access ports (54/56, fig. 1, paragraph 0030) opening into the interior of the transition (shown in fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0021375 A1 to Wetzel et al. (Wetzel).
With regard to claims 4 and 15, Wetzel discloses the air conditioning system according to claims 1 and 12 as set forth above, but fails to further disclose wherein a length of the transition is at least 8 inches so that the air filter is at least 8 inches away from the air handler.
It is noted that the length of the transition being at least 8 inches is not disclosed with criticality in the specification as set forth in paragraph 0072 (“may be greater than 9 inches”). Wetzel does not disclose a distance of at least 8 inches from the filter to the air handler. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a transition between the air handler and the filter of Wetzel of at least 8 inches in order to provide an effective space for treatment of the air with the UV light source of Wetzel prior to passing the air through the unit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest an air conditioning system of claims 6 and 17 having an ultraviolet light mounted within the transition and having a baffle positioned to face the air filter to protect the air filter from being degraded by the ultraviolet light, together in combination with the other elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPNs 3907050, 5987908, 2023/0324053, 2018/0112886, 2021/0404671, 2002/0121101, 2020/0278128, 2022/0412576 disclose a self-contained AC unit having some but not all of the claimed features. USPNs 2015/0082825 and 2015/0082826 disclose an AC unit with a transition and an access door. USPN 2008/0230619 discloses an AC unit with noise abatement features.
/DAVID R DEAL/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3753