DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are pending in the application.
Examiner’s Notes
The Examiner cites particular sections in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant(s) fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 8-13 are directed to a multi-core system comprising a linker script, a first software component and a second software component. Currently presented, neither the claimed system nor its components are limited to hardware embodiments. As such, the system recited in claims 8-13 encompasses software embodiments which are non-statutory under 35 U.S.C. §101. See MPEP §2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ravich et al. (US 2022/0229711 A1; hereinafter Ravich).
With respect to claim 1, Ravich teaches: A method for communicating between software components (SWCs) (see e.g. paragraph 3: “threads running on different cores”) in a multi-core system (see e.g. paragraph 13: “implementing an asymmetric arrangement for remote procedure calls (RPCs) between multi-core devices”), the method comprising:
determining, by a linker script (see e.g. paragraph 21: “Pairing relationships 102 are configured to synchronize changes between nodes a and b using RDMA”; and paragraph 1: “Software running on the storage processors manages incoming storage requests and performs various data processing tasks”), a memory operating as a data buffer (see e.g. paragraph 18: “Memory 40 also stores a shared receive queue (SRQ) 42, a shared completion queue (Shared CQ) 44”; paragraph 21: “Pairing relationships 102 are configured to synchronize changes between nodes a and b using RDMA”; and Fig. 2), based on an execution cycle of each of the SWCs (see e.g. paragraph 13: “cores of the target device poll the Shared CQ when they have free cycles”; and paragraph 31: “When core 35-b(S) has free processing cycles, Core S application thread 56-b(S) may perform step 401 to poll (e.g., by sending a polling request 80) the Shared CQ 44(b)”), when communicating between an SWC executed by a first core and at least one SWC executed by a second core (see e.g. paragraph 13: “remote procedure calls (RPCs) between multi-core devices using Remote Direct Memory Access (RDMA)… a single shared receive queue that is shared between multiple cores on a target device. The shared receive queue is associated with a single shared completion queue (Shared CQ) of the target device, the Shared CQ being configured to report completed receipt of commands by the associated shared receive queue”; and paragraph 21: “whenever an application thread 56-a(x) on node a makes a change to its respective core x send queue 52-a(x), that change is automatically synchronized to the SRQ 42(b) of node b over pairing relationship 102-a(x)”);
writing, by the SWC executed by the first core (see e.g. paragraph 28: “Core P application thread 56-a(P)”; and Fig. 3B: “Initiator Node”), data in the data buffer (see e.g. paragraph 28: “Core P application thread 56-a(P) generates a work queue element (WQE) 72 (depicted as a Receive WQE in FIG. 3B) that describes the reply buffer 71 (e.g., it points to the memory address of reply buffer 71) and stores (step 304) the Receive WQE 72 in the shared receive queue 12(a)”); and
reading, by the at least one SWC executed by the second core (see e.g. paragraph 31: “Core S application thread 56-b(S)”; and Fig. 3C: “Target Node”), the data from the data buffer (see e.g. paragraph 31: “Core S application thread 56-b(S) may perform step 401 to poll (e.g., by sending a polling request 80) the Shared CQ 44(b) of computing device 32(b) for a newly-received request… Shared CQ 44(b) to respond (step 403) by sending a completion queue element (CQE) 81 back to Core S application thread 56-b(S) (or to the core-specific polling thread for core S, which then forwards the CQE 81 to the Core S application thread 56-b(S)). CQE 81 points to the Receive WQE 64 that was just received”; and paragraph 33: “Core S application thread 56-b(S) handles the RPC request encoded in the request buffer 62 pointed to by the Receive WQE 64 pointed to by the CQE 81”).
Ravich discloses pairing relationships between core-specific queues and shared receive/completion queues (i.e. memory operating as data buffers), the shared queues used for implementing communications between application threads (i.e. software components) running on different cores. A first thread running on a first core sends a remote procedure call (RPC) request to a second application thread running on a second core by writing the RPC request to the shared queues (as determined by the pairing relationship) which is then read by the second thread from the shared queue.
With respect to claim 2, Ravich teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the data is runtime environment (RTE) data (see e.g. paragraph 1: “Software running on the storage processors manages incoming storage requests and performs various data processing tasks”; and Fig. 3B-C).
With respect to claim 3, Ravich teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein each of the first core and the second core includes at least one memory (see e.g. paragraph 18: “a set of per-core memory spaces 50”; and Fig. 1: “Core P Memory Space 50-a(P)”, “Core S Memory Space 50-b(S)”).
With respect to claim 6, Ravich teaches: The method of claim 3, wherein each of the at least one memory includes at least one of a program scratch-pad random-access memory (PSPR), a data scratch-pad random-access memory (DSPR), a direct-connected local memory unit (DLMU), a default application memory (DAM), a program flash memory (PFLASH) (see e.g. paragraph 49: “flash memory, etc.) programmed with instructions”), a data flash memory (DFLASH) (see e.g. paragraph 1: “Data storage systems… electronic flash drives”), or an extension memory (EMEM), or any combination thereof.
With respect to claims 8-10 and 13: Claims 8-10 and 13 are directed to a multi-core system implementing active functions corresponding to the method implemented in the multi-core system recited in claims 1-3 and 6, respectively; please see the rejections directed to claims 1-3 and 6 above which also cover the limitations recited in claims 8-10 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravich in view of McKown (US 9,942,327 B1).
With respect to claim 4, Ravich teaches: The method of claim 3, wherein the determining of the memory operating as the data buffer includes:
setting, by the linker script, the data buffer in the memory included in the first core (see e.g. Ravich, paragraph 19: “Each core-specific send queue 52-a has a pairing relationship 102 (depicted as pairing relationships 102-a(1), 102-a(2), 102-a(3), . . . 102-a(M)) to a single shared receive queue SRQ 42(b)”; paragraph 21; and Fig. 1-2),
Ravich does not but McKown teaches:
when an execution cycle of the SWC executed by the first core is shorter than or equal to an execution cycle of the at least one SWC executed by the second core (see e.g. McKown, column 8, lines 47-54: “Shared Buffer Memory Manager 665 is only employed for memory sharing favorable cases of the buffer timing parameters. An example favorable case is when the native processing cycle time for Application 3 is faster than Application 2 is faster than Application 1 is faster than Input Device. The native processing cycle time refers here to the time it takes to completely process an input buffer to an output buffer”).
Ravich and McKown are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing access and utilization of a shared memory based on execution cycles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravich with the teachings of McKown. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve the shared memory access efficiency.
With respect to claim 5, Ravich teaches: The method of claim 3, wherein the determining of the memory operating as the data buffer includes:
setting, by the linker script, the data buffer in the memory included in the second core (see e.g. Ravich, paragraph 20: “ Each core-specific send queue 52-b has a pairing relationship 102 (depicted as pairing relationships 102-b(1), 102-b(2), . . . 102-b(N)) to a single shared receive queue SRQ 42(a)”; paragraph 21; and Fig. 1-2),
Ravich does not but McKown teaches:
when an execution cycle of the SWC executed by the first core is longer than an execution cycle of the at least one SWC executed by the second core (see e.g. McKown, column 8, lines 47-54: “Shared Buffer Memory Manager 665 is only employed for memory sharing favorable cases of the buffer timing parameters. An example favorable case is when the native processing cycle time for Application 3 is faster than Application 2 is faster than Application 1 is faster than Input Device. The native processing cycle time refers here to the time it takes to completely process an input buffer to an output buffer”).
Ravich and McKown are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing access and utilization of a shared memory based on execution cycles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravich with the teachings of McKown. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve the shared memory access efficiency.
With respect to claims 14 and 15: Claims 14 and 15 are directed to a multi-core system implementing active functions corresponding to the method implemented in the multi-core system recited in claims 4 and 5, respectively; please see the rejections directed to claims 4 and 5 above which also cover the limitations recited in claims 14 and 15.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravich in view of Iida et al. (US 2021/0049057 A1; hereinafter Iida).
With respect to claim 7, Ravich teaches: The method of claim 1,
Ravich does not but Iida teaches:
wherein the multi-core system is an autonomous driving electronic control unit (ECU) having a multi-core hardware architecture (see e.g. Iida, paragraph 33: “drive device 5 is an actuator or the like that drives mechanical and electric devices (for example, an engine, a transmission, wheels, a brake, a steering device, etc.) that control the vehicle motion under the control of the vehicle control system 2”; paragraph 47: “ECU 302 includes a plurality of cores 401 as a processing device, a plurality of local memories 402, a timer 403, a ROM 404, a shared memory 405”; and Fig. 3).
Ravich and Iida are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing access and utilization of a shared memory within a multi-core processing environment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravich with the teachings of Iida. The motivation/suggestion would be to increase the compatibility and applicability of the system with different platforms.
With respect to claim 14: Claims 8-10 and 13 are directed to a multi-core system implementing active functions corresponding to the method implemented in the multi-core system recited in claims 1-3 and 6, respectively; please see the rejections directed to claims 1-3 and 6 above which also cover the limitations recited in claims 8-10 and 13.
CONCLUSION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hontani (US 2013/0246736 A1) discloses a shared ring buffer shared between multiple cores of an ECU (se paragraphs 37-39).
Ma et al. (US 2020/0150734 A1) discloses a shared buffer that enable sharing encrypted data between different cores (see paragraphs 59, 63).
Contact Information
/UMUT ONAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194