Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7, 8, and 15-17 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: control and analysis unit in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “rough” in claims 2 and 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “rough” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In claim 2, it is unclear what is meant by defining a “rough form” of a scanned object.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “classes for defining object types respectively shape types”. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5-8, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rohner et al. (Rohner) (US 2024/0134048) in view of Li et al. (Li) (US 2020/0200907).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Rohner discloses optoelectronic measuring device (ABSTRACT, [0028], an optoelectronic module) having a scanning functionality for generating points by scanning sampling of surfaces of objects ([0131], a point cloud is generated by scanning points of an object’s surface), wherein the optoelectronic measuring device is selected from a laser scanner ([0003], a laser tracker is used), the optoelectronic measuring device comprising:
a radiation source, in particular a laser source, for generating measuring radiation ([0003], [0131], a laser is used to generate a point cloud),
of a form of a measuring beam, whereby the emission direction of the measuring beam is variable about at least one axis, in particular two axes perpendicultar to one another ([0005], [0017], the light source is swept through orthogonal axes),
at least one position or angle sensor for measuring the emission direction of the measuring beam ([0017], The laser tracker furthermore includes an angle detector configured for detecting angle data with respect to a rotation of the emitting component around the two axes of rotation),
an optoelectronic detector for detecting reflected measuring radiation ([0003], [0151], the reflected light is detected),
a control and analysis unit designed for measuring a distance value for a respective scan point ([0017], the distance to a point is determined).
Rohner is silent about whereby the control and analysis unit is designed for automatic scan point reduction of the number of generated scan points by discarding of scan points, wherein the automatic scan point reduction comprises an object type-specific scan point reduction, whereby object type refers to the kind of object, in particular whereby the number of scan points remains unreduced for objects of a type not specified for scan point reduction.
Li from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses whereby the control and analysis unit is designed for automatic scan point reduction of the number of generated scan points by discarding of scan points, wherein the automatic scan point reduction comprises an object type-specific scan point reduction, whereby object type refers to the kind of object, in particular whereby the number of scan points remains unreduced for objects of a type not specified for scan point reduction ([0018], [0019], the control and annotation systems 132 and 136 for modifying point clouds is part of the Lidar system, [0019], points are removed from a point cloud based on a type of detected object which is imaged).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Rohner for faster detector to object distance detection and for easier determination of object types (Li: [0002]).
Regarding claim 2, Rohner discloses wherein the control and analysis unit is designed for determination of scan points -denoted key points- based on the set of generated scan points of an object of a type specified for scan point reduction which key points define a rough form of a scanned object ([0025], a point cloud is used to generate a model of the scanned object).
Regarding claim 3, Li further discloses wherein the control and analysis unit comprises information about object classes for defining object types respectively ([0018], human classification data is input for determining object types), whereby for each object class it is defined if, and particularly to what extent, scan points are to be reduced ([0019], points for different types of objects, such as landmarks/buildings, are processed based on the detected object type and are removed from the point cloud).
Regarding claim 5, Li further discloses wherein the control and analysis unit executes the object and/or shape type-specific scan point reduction based on a machine learning algorithm, in particular based on a neural network, designed for the object and/or shape type- specific scan point reduction ([0007], [0017], [0019], the object detection model is a deep neural network (DNN)).
Regarding claim 6, Li further discloses wherein the machine learning algorithm is embodied as a neural network configured to consider for the reduction information about intensity of the detected measurement radiation ([0019], One example of the filtering is the removal of data points corresponding to road lane lines or marks by thresholding based on the intensity of the LIDAR measurements).
Regarding claim 8, Li further discloses wherein the reduction is based solely on scanning data of the generated scanning points ([0019], points are removed from a point cloud based on a type of detected object which is imaged).
Regarding claims 15-17, the limitations of claims 15-17 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1, 6, and 7. Li further discloses a computer program, which is stored on a non-transitory machine-readable medium, for controlling and/or carrying out the method ([0022], a stored program is executed).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Eckman et al. (Eckman) (US 2024/0070888) ([0033], [0041], [0078], objects in a point cloud are identified for removal).
Toth et al. (Toth) (US 2017/0076304) ([0009], points corresponding to the ground are removed a point cloud model).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488