DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to the amendment filed on June 18, 2026. Claims 1-18 are pending, of which claims 4, 6, 10, 13, 14, and 16-18 have been amended. The Examiner notes that in the amendment claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11, 12, 15 are not presented in accordance with 37 C.F.R. 1.121 (c) as they fail to use the proper identifier of “Original” in a parenthetical expression for original unamended claims (See, also MPEP § 714 II C). In interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner has proceeded with examination of these claims; however, in any future amendments Applicant must submit any amendments with proper identifiers, or the amendment will be treated as non-compliant.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: Reference character 2013 is shown in Fig. 2, but is not mentioned in the specification. Correction is required.
The drawings are also objected to for minor informalities. Figs. 1-3 lack lead lines for the reference characters. Correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a prompt” at line 2. This recitation is unclear. It is not clear if the prompt recited in claim 6 is the same as the or different than the “prompts” recited in claim 4. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim 13 recites “remotely located the system;” however, this should read -- remotely located from the system --. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
A patent may be obtained for “any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof.” 35 U.S.C. § 101. The Supreme Court has held that this provision contains an important implicit exception: laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are not patentable. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2354 (2014); Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972) (“Phenomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.”). Notwithstanding that a law of nature or an abstract idea, by itself, is not patentable, the application of these concepts may be deserving of patent protection. Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 132 S. Ct. 1289, 1293-94 (2012). In Mayo, the Court stated that “to transform an unpatentable law of nature into a patent eligible application of such a law, one must do more than simply state the law of nature while adding the words ‘apply it.” Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294 (citation omitted).
In Alice, the Supreme Court reaffirmed the framework set forth previously in Mayo “for distinguishing patents that claim laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas from those that claim patent-eligible applications of these concepts.” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2355. The first step in the analysis is to “determine whether the claims at issue are directed to one of those patent-ineligible concepts.” Id. If the claims are directed to a patent-ineligible concept, then the second step in the analysis is to consider the elements of the claims “individually and ‘as an ordered combination” to determine whether there are additional elements that “transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent-eligible application.” Id. (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1298, 1297). In other words, the second step is to “search for an ‘inventive concept’-i.e., an element or combination of elements that is ‘sufficient to ensure that the patent in practice amounts to significantly more than a patent upon the [ineligible concept] itself.” Id. (brackets in original) (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294). The prohibition against patenting an abstract idea “cannot be circumvented by attempting to limit the use of the formula to a particular technological environment or adding insignificant post-solution activity.” Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 610-11 (2010) (citation and internal quotation marks omitted). The Court in Alice noted that “[s]imply appending conventional steps, specified at a high level of generality,’ was not ‘enough’ [in Mayo] to supply an ‘inventive concept.” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2357 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1300, 1297, 1294).
Examiners must perform a Two-Part Analysis for Judicial Exceptions. In Step 1, it must be determined whether the claimed invention is directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter. Claims 1 and 10 are directed to a system and a method. As such, the claimed invention falls into the broad categories of invention. However, even claims that fall within one of the four subject matter categories may nevertheless be ineligible if they encompass laws of nature, physical phenomena, or abstract ideas. See Diamond v. Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. at 309.
In Step 2A, it must be determined whether the claimed invention is ‘directed to’ a judicially recognized exception. According to the specification, the invention is directed to “teaching writing composition and assisting writers” and “assistance in organizing ideas or beginning or continuing to complete the writing process, or working out an effective structure for communicating ideas. (e.g., ¶. 13).
Independent claim 1 recites the following (with emphasis):
A system useful for machine-assisted writing composition, comprising:
a prompt database configured to store prompt data for communicating to a user to solicit user input;
a user input database configured to store the user input received from the user at a user interface; and
a processor configured to process, store, and access information in the prompt database and the user input database, and the processor configured to cause the system to communicate with a user by a user interface to provide information to the user and receive user input to the system.
Independent claim 10 recites the following (with emphasis):
A method, comprising:
providing, by a processor communicating with a database, a user input portal to a user;
prompting the user to input predetermined information sets;
receiving, by the processor, the predetermined information sets at the system;
processing, by the processor, the received user input information sets and storing the same in a database according to a respective information set; and
compiling, by the processor, the stored information to produce a draft document.
The underlined portions of claims 1 and 10 generally encompass the abstract idea. Claims 2-9 and 11-18 further define the abstract idea, for example, as compiling a document based on user input and/or describing generic network and computing components recited at a high level of generality. Under prong 2, the claimed invention encompasses an abstract idea in the form of mental processes. For example, the recited steps or operations may be performed in the mind of a human and/or with the aid of pencil and paper. In addition, the claims are directed to the abstract idea of organizing human activity because they are drawn to the managing personal behavior of students, for example, to teach or train an individual how to write documents.
In general, the claims recite a mental process, i.e., concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) directed to data gathering, processing, and output. But for the recitations of machine-assisted, a database, and a processor, nothing in the claimed method or system precludes the recitations from practically being performed in the mind. For example, communicating a prompt to a user to solicit user input could be a teacher providing a question or direction to a student; user input received from the user at a user interface could be a teacher reviewing the student’s response; and process, store, and access information in the prompt database and the user input database could be a teacher looking at the prompts and comparing the student’s answer to the prompts, and communicate with a user by a user interface to provide information to the user and receive user input to the system, could be teacher writing down the prompts, reviewing and selecting the prompt for a particular student, and reading the prompt to a student and reviewing the responses from the student. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of recitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
The use of prompts or questions to cause students to reflect, think, and generate answers as a means of teaching, training, and imparting knowledge is basic to the learning process. The system and methods in the instant application simply seek to automate this well-known activity using generic computers recited at a high level of generality, and, therefore, the claims are directed to the abstract concept sub-grouping of "managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people" including teaching and following rules or instructions, for example, an instructor conducting training of a student to teach how to draft essays and other documents. As a teacher provides the prompts the student is directed in how to draft an essay. Therefore, under prong 2, the claimed invention also encompasses an abstract idea in the form of mental processes and/or certain methods of organizing human activity.
Under prong 2, the instant claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. In other words, the claims do not (1) improve the functioning of a computer or other technology, (2) effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (3) are not applied with any particular machine, (4) do not effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state, and (5) are not applied in any meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim, as a whole, is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, the claims are directed to the judicially recognized exception of an abstract idea. See MPEP §§ 2106.05(a)-(c), (e)-(h).
While certain physical elements (i.e., elements that are not an abstract idea) are present in the claims, such features do not affect an improvement in any technology or technical field and are recited in generic (i.e., not particular) ways. The elements of a display, a processor, a database, and an interface only recite computing elements at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic elements performing generic functions of storing, receiving, processing, and displaying information), such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components 101 Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 53. Further, even if the claims nominally required these steps to be performed by a computer system, this computer implementation of a mental process would be insufficient to take the claimed subject matter out of the realm of abstract ideas. See Versata Dev. Grp. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2015); Alice, 573 U.S. at 223 (“Stating an abstract idea while adding the words ‘apply it with a computer’” is insufficient to confer eligibility.). Applicant’s specification does not provide additional details about the generic computing elements that would transform the computer system into a specific computing device for converting input data from one form to another. Nor does it disclose any processing circuitry including specific instructions for performing the recited functions, such that the derived content transforms the received data into a new state or thing. See MPEP § 2106.05(a). Rather, the claims merely automate a previously manual process using generic computer technology thereby transforming input data into an equivalent output performance data. See Credit Acceptance Corp. v. Westlake Servs., 859 F.3d 1044, 1055 (Ped. Cir. 2017) (Our prior cases have made clear that mere automation of manual processes using generic computers docs not constitute a patentable improvement in computer technology.”}; see also Bancorp Servs., L.L.C. v. Sun Life Assurance Co. of Can. (U.S.), 687 F.3d 1266, 1278 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (A computer “employed only for its most basic function... does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of those claims.”). Here a computer is used for its inherent processing ability of performing calculations on or processing of data in an efficient and timely manner to produce a directed result.
Similarly, the abstract idea does not improve the functioning of these physical elements. In recent cases, the CAFC has made it clear that the term “practical application” means providing a technical solution to a technical problem in computers or networks per se. To be patent-eligible, the claimed invention must improve the computer as a computer or network as a network. Applicant’s invention does not meet these requirements. Applicant’s invention uses computers and networks to present information to users, collect the information, and process/compile information based on the collected information. These are all basic computer functions and do not improve the computer qua computer or the network qua network. Instead, Applicant’s invention uses generic computers and networks as a tool to implement the abstract idea. As such, the claims are not eligible under Section 101.
Step 2B requires that if the claim encompasses a judicially recognized exception, it must be determined whether the claimed invention recites additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements or combination of elements other than the abstract idea per se amounts to no more than: a system having a processor and memory storage (database) and a display configured to perform the abstract idea. Applicant’s specification, for example, ¶¶30-32 and 59-60, recite off the shelf general purpose computing components such a display, a processor, a database, and a memory for storing instructions that can be executed by a computer. As a result, nothing in Applicant’s specification indicates the computer system performs anything other than well understood, routine, and conventional functions, such as receiving, storing, and processing. See, Elec. Power Grp., LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1355 (ed. Cir. 2016) (“Nothing in the claims, understood in light of the [S]pecification, requires anything other than off-the-shelf, conventional computer, network, and display technology for gathering, sending, and presenting the desired information.”); see also Alice, 573 US. at 224—26 (receiving, storing, sending information over networks insufficient to add an inventive concept); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1340, 1355 (ed. Cir, 2014) (That a computer receives and sends the information over a network-—with no further specification—is not even arguably inventive.”). At best, Applicant’s claimed subject matter simply uses generic processing circuitry to perform the abstract idea of converting input data from one form to another (e.g., student answers to prompts to a draft document). As noted above, the use of a generic computer system does not alone transform an otherwise abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter. As our reviewing court has observed, “after Alice, there can remain no doubt: recitation of generic computer limitations does not make an otherwise ineligible claim patent-eligible.” DDR Holdings, 773 F.3d at 1256 (citing Alice, 573 U.S. at 223).
As a result, these additional elements amount to generic, well-understood and conventional computer components. As demonstrated by Berkheimer v. HP, such computer functions cannot save an otherwise ineligible claim under §101. In short, each step or operation does no more than require a generic computer to perform generic computer functions.
Considered as an ordered combination, only generic computer components are present. Viewed as a whole, the claims simply recite the concept of making judgments by a generic computer. The claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Instead, the claims at issue amount to nothing significantly more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using some unspecified, generic computer. Under relevant court precedents, that is not enough to transform an abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.
As a result, claims 1-18 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2011/0300520 by Harris et al. (“Harris”);
In re claim 10, Harris discloses a method [¶12 describes a computer-implemented method of assisting a user in organizing and writing a research paper] including: providing, by a processor communicating with a database, a user input portal to a user [Fig. 2, ¶¶9-12, 42, 47, among others, describe a processor 118/202 communicating with a database 204 to generate a user interface (portal) to receive inputs over a network 208 from a client device 206 of a user for drafting a paper]; prompting the user to input predetermined information sets [Figs. 3-22, ¶¶9-12, 42, 47, 76-80, among others, describe interfaces (Figs. 3-22) which provide the user with a series of interfaces to convey a step-by-step prompting of the user to input information to build a paper, such as step 1 entering the paper info and schedule (e.g., Figs. 3-5), step 2 building a topic/thesis (e.g., Figs. 6-9), step 3 gathering information and sources, (e.g., Figs. 10-14), step 4 organize the information (e.g., Figs. 15-16), step 5 generate an outline (e.g., Fig. 17,) step 6 write the paper using the information organized by the outline (e.g., Figs. 18-22). The information input using each interface are information sets predetermined by the step and saved in the database by the server]; receiving, by the processor, the predetermined information sets at the system [¶¶9-12, among others, describe information input into the user interface (Figs. 3-22) is received by the sever 202]; processing, by the processor, the received user input information sets and storing in a database according to a respective information set [Fig. 2, ¶¶9-12, 42, 43, 47, 76-80, among others, describe the input to the user interface (Figs. 3-22) is processed by the server 202 and stored in the database 204 or mass storage organized by the inputs fields of the interface and used to automatically generate a draft document, which may be edited by the user]; and compiling, by the processor, the stored information to produce a draft document [Figs. 2-22, ¶¶9-12, 42, 47, 76-80, among others, describe the input to the user interfaces are used to automatically generate a draft document (research paper), which may be edited by the user].
In re claim 11, Harris discloses communicating the draft document comprising the compiled information to the user [Figs. 3-22, ¶¶9-12, 42, 43, 47, 76-80, among others, describe displaying (interfaces shown in Figs. 3-22) the draft document to the user which may be edited and saved at each step of the process].
In re claim 12, Harris discloses displaying the draft document on a display [Fig. 1, ¶¶12, 43, 56, 72-80, among others, described a display 124 to display various components and drafts of the document to a user].
In re claim 13, Harris discloses the displaying further comprising displaying the draft document on a display at a user device remotely located the system, the system comprising a network connection configured to facilitate networked communication between the system and the user device [Figs. 1-22, ¶¶10, 42, 43, 47, 76-80, among others, describe System 200 allows a user to use a client device 206 to access the research paper assistance program at a server 202 through a network 208 rather than through a local memory device (i.e., remotely located). The client device may include a display 124 for display the interfaces and the compiled document].
In re claim 14, Harris discloses storing the provided information in a database for use by a processor for populating portions of a document and presenting for display to the user on a display device [Figs. 1-22, ¶¶9-12, 36-42, 47, 76-80, among others, describe processor 202/118 to populate the user interface (Figs. 3-22) to automatically assist in the generation a draft document (research paper), which may be edited by the user, the processor (server 202/118) includes a mass storage and databases for storing information input to the user interfaces].
In re claim 15, Harris discloses displaying the user input information for user review and re-organization by the user interface [Figs. 3-22, ¶¶9-12, 42, 47, 76-80, among others, describe the user input to the interface (Figs. 3-22) is used to automatically generate a draft document. The input to the interfaces may be reviewed, changed, reorganized, edited, and saved during the drafting process using information input to the interfaces by the user].
In re claim 17, Harris discloses displaying the draft to the user at a display local to the system [Figs. 1 and 2, ¶¶9-12, 42, 43, 47, 76-80, among others, describe the user input to the interface is used to automatically generate a draft document, which may be edited by the user. The interface may be displayed by a display 124 of the client device 206 (a local display)].
In re claim 18, Harris discloses generating a revised draft based on user input edits and/or provide proofreading or drafting hints or comments for review by the user [Fig. 2, ¶¶9-12, 42, 47, 76-80, among others, describe the user input to the interface is used to automatically generate a draft document. The document may be edited and saved by the user. The document may be proofread (e.g., spell check) and interface provides comments for review (e.g., Fig. 22 “write one sentence to start your conclusion that summarizes or even repeats your thesis above. Rephrase any questions you posed in your introductory paragraph and answer in the order in which to phrased them.”)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Harris; or, in the alternative, claims 1-8, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Harris in view of US Publication No. 2004/0250209 by Norcross et al. (“Norcross”) and US Publication No. 2015/0356060 by Peden et al. (“Peden”).
In re claim 1, Harris discloses a system useful for machine-assisted writing composition [Fig. 2 #200 and ¶¶9-12], comprising: a prompt database configured to store prompt data for communicating to a user to solicit user input [Figs. 3-22, ¶¶9-12, 42, 47, 76-80, among others, describe interfaces (Figs. 3-22) which provide the user with a series of interfaces to convey a step-by-step prompting of the user to input information to build a paper, such as step 1 entering the paper info and schedule (e.g., Figs. 3-5), step 2 building a topic/thesis (e.g., Figs. 6-9), step 3 gathering information and sources, (e.g., Figs. 10-14), step 4 organize the information (e.g., Figs. 15-16), step 5 generate an outline (e.g., Fig. 17,) step 6 write the paper using the information organized by the outline (e.g., Figs. 18-22). The information input using each interface are information sets predetermined by the step and saved in the database by the server]; a user input database configured to store the user input received from the user at a user interface [¶¶9-12, 9-12, 42-44, 47, 76-80, among others, describe information input into the user interface (Figs. 3-22) is received by the sever 202 which may include a database and mass storage]; and a processor configured to process, store, and access information in the prompt database and the user input database, and the processor configured to cause the system to communicate with a user by a user interface to provide information to the user and receive user input to the system [Fig. 2, ¶¶9-12, 42, 43, 47, 76-80, among others, describe the input to the user interface (Figs. 3-22) is processed by the server 202 and stored in the database 204 or mass storage organized by the inputs fields of the interface and used to automatically generate a draft document, which may be edited by the user].
Harris teaches a system 200 including a server 202 and a database 204 that communicate with a client device 206 to provide the interfaces (prompts, e.g., Figs. 3-22) to facilitate gathering and storing the information used to generate a draft of a research paper and then finalize the paper for submission to a teacher. Harris teaches that server 202 may include a mass storage and a database and that system may include a database 204 for storing system information. The database 204 may include a plurality of databases. However, to the extent Harris lacks a teaching of storing the prompts in a “prompt database,” Norcross, which is also directed to an automated writing assistance system, teaches writing structure and composition aids databases, which include prompts directed to a user to help the user organize and input information to compose a paper [¶¶36, 37]. Similarly, to the extent Harris lacks a teaching of storing user inputs in a specific “user input database,” Peden, which is also directed to an automated writing assistance system teaches storing the user's answers input to an interface used to generate the writing in a user's record on the remote system database (i.e., a user input database).
Harris, Norcross, and Peden are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of automated writing assistance systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Harris and include the databases of Norcross and Peden, in order to improve system efficiency, for example, by providing an organized storage of system resources for easy access and modification by a processor.
In addition, Harris teaches the use of databases for a server system to store system information used in the research drafting process. Norcross and Peden also teach the use of databases (e.g., user input and prompt) for storage of information used in the drafting of written instruments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one type of database (e.g., user input and prompt of Norcross and Peden) for the other (Server/Database 202/204) to achieve the predictable result of storing information for processing.
In re claim 2, Harris discloses a user interface configured to store and provide for access user interface information for providing a user interface [Figs 3-22 show the interfaces input, access to and editing of information input by the user. ¶¶9-12].
In re claim 3, Harris discloses the processor configured to cause the system to provide a user interface for use by a user, the user interface provided based on the user interface information [Figs. 1, 2 shows processor 202/118 to provide user interfaces (Figs. 3-22) to input, access to and editing of information input by the user. ¶¶9-12].
In re claim 4, Harris discloses a teaching module comprising computer-readable instructions, the processor configured to cause, according to the computer-readable instructions, the system to communicate prompts to a user, receive responsive user input, process the responsive user input, and store the responsive user input in the user input, compile a document based on the user input, and communicate the document to the user [Figs 1 and 2 show teaching module 102 with modules for planning 104, thesis 106, research 108, organization 110, outline 112 and writing 114. ¶¶9-12, 36-41].
In re claim 5, Harris discloses a display [Fig 1 shows display 124. ¶¶12,41].
In re claim 6, Harris discloses a display, the teaching module configured to communicate a prompt and the document to the user by the display [Fig 1 shows display 124. ¶¶9-12, 36-41, among others describe the modules provide interfaces (Figs. 3-22) to input, access to and editing of information input by the user to assist a user in the drafting of a research paper].
In re claim 7, Harris discloses a third-party database [¶76 describes exporting the document to a third part and Fig. 2 shows an external database 124 accessed via a network 208].
In re claim 8, Harris discloses a network connection [Fig. 2 shows network connection 208,¶10].
In re claim 16, Harris discloses generating by the processor the rough draft document using the information provided by the user at the user interface in response to prompts stored and served from a user prompt database [Fig. 2, ¶¶9-12, 42, 47, 76-80, among others, describe the user input to the interface is used to automatically generate a draft document (i.e., a document which may be edited by the user that is not the final document)].
Harris teaches a system 200 including a server 202 and a database 204 that communicate with a client device 206 to provide the interfaces (prompts, e.g., Figs. 3-22) to facilitate gathering and storing the information used to generate a draft of a research paper and then finalize the paper for submission to a teacher. Harris teaches that server 202 may include a mass storage and a database and that system may include a database 204 for storing system information. The database 204 may include a plurality of databases. However, to the extent Harris lacks a teaching of storing the prompts in a “prompt database,” Norcross, which is also directed to an automated writing assistance system teaches writing structure and composition aids databases, which include prompts directed to a user to help the user organize and input information to compose a paper [¶¶36, 37].
Harris and Norcross are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of automated writing assistance systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Harris and include the database of Norcross, in order to improve system efficiency, for example, by providing an organized storage of system resources for easy access and modification by a processor.
In addition, Harris teaches the uses of databases for a server system to store system information used in the research drafting process. Norcross also teaches the use of databases (e.g., prompt databases) for storage of information used in the drafting of written instruments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one type of database (e.g., prompt of Norcross) for the other (Server/Database 202/204) to achieve the predictable result of providing information for interfaces used in the generation and/or processing of a draft document.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Harris in view of US Publication No. 2016/0293035 by Okubo et al. (“Okubo”); or, in the alternative, in view of Norcross and further in view of Okubo.
In re claim 9, Harris and/or Harris in view of Norcross does not explicitly teach a teacher device connected to the system by the network connection; a user device connected to the system by the network connection; and a third-party device connected to the system by the network connection.
However, in a learning system, Okubo teaches a teacher device connected to the system by the network connection; a user device connected to the system by the network connection; and a third-party device connected to the system by the network connection [Fig. 1 shows a teacher device 116, a student device 104, and a third-party device 124/118 all connected to a curation server (system) by a network 122].
Harris and Okubo are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of automated writing assistance and learning systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Harris and include a teacher device connected to the system by the network connection; a user device connected to the system by the network connection; and a third party device connected to the system by the network connection, as taught by Okubo, in order to improve a user’s (e.g., a student) experience, for example, by providing a versatile system in which the student can remotely share their paper and receive help/feedback from teachers and third parties during the drafting process, see, e.g., ¶¶202-22
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 18, 2026 have been fully considered.
The objection to the drawings is maintained. Applicant refers to supplemental replacement drawings in their remarks; however, no supplemental drawings were submitted with Applicant’s amendment.
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the specification.
The objection to claim 4 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment; however, a new objection is made in view of Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of claims 6 and 10-18 under 112(b) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more is maintained. The rejection has been updated in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant argues “The rejected claims are directed to a computer-implemented architecture that facilitates machine-assisted composition through the coordinated use of stored prompt data and stored user responses. The claimed databases and processor are structural components of a computerized system and are not merely instructions to perform writing or information gathering mentally.”
While Applicant’s claims may include structural components, the analysis under step 2A prong 1 is whether the claims include an abstract idea. As outlined above, the claims include an abstract concept, which but for the claimed computer implemented components could be implemented in the mind of a user and/or with the aid of pen and paper. In addition, Applicant’s a computer-implemented architecture that facilitates machine-assisted composition through the coordinated use of stored prompt data and stored user responses is automation of an organized activity of the teaching of how compose writing of documents and/or the instruction of how to compose a paper. Applicant has not explained how these are not abstract concepts.
Applicant further argues “This claimed architecture provides a practical implementation of machine-assisted writing composition through coordinated computer functionality. The claims therefore recite a particular technological solution rather than a result-oriented instruction to perform an abstract concept.” Under Step 2A prong 2, the question is whether the claim invention provides a practical application of the abstract concept. Practical application can be shown by a “solution” to a technical problem such as improvement to the functioning of a computer. Applicant argues “coordinated computer functionality” is a practical application. However, the courts have long held that mere automation of abstract concept using a computer is not a practical application absent a technical solution or improvement to the computer. Here no such improvement is found. The computer components are merely performing “coordinated” computer functions of accessing, processing and storing in a manner normally used in computing. No improvement is asserted and none can be found. An improvement, if any, would appear to be directed to the abstract concept of composition writing and not computing, which cannot be the basis of a practical application under Section 101. Applicant states there is a “particular technological solution” but fails to explain or provide evidence of what the solution is, what the problem addressed, and/or what the improvement is or how the problem is overcome by applicant’s recited computer architecture.
Applicant also argues “Moreover, under Step 2B, the claims recite significantly more than any alleged abstract idea. The ordered combination of the prompt database, user input database, processor, and user interface defines a particular machine configured to perform machine-assisted writing composition. The claims are not directed to merely displaying information, collecting information, or storing information in the abstract. Instead, it recites specific system components configured to interact in a particular manner to facilitate composition through prompt-driven user interaction and storage of resulting responses.” However, the recited ordered combination of computer components is conventional computer components used for their intended purpose of processing, storing, and displaying. As a result, these components do not add significantly more to the abstract concept.
Finally, Applicant concludes “Unlike claims found ineligible in cases involving generic information collection or organization, the present claim is directed to a specific machine architecture employing multiple data repositories and processor-controlled interaction with a user for a machine-assisted composition process.” This is a misstatement of the relevant case law of which none is provided by Applicant to support this conclusion. It’s not that generic information or collection is ineligible, it’s that the ordered steps operations that constitute the abstract concept are implemented using generic computer components. This is true of Applicant’s claims. The use of databases to store and organize information is conventional and well known, and the use of processors to process, store, and access information is also notoriously well-known and conventional, as pointed out above. The steps/operations performed are directed to the abstract concept, therefore, the claims are directed to applying the abstract concept with conventional computer components that do not amount to significantly more than apply the concept using a computer. The courts have held that this does not amount to significantly more.
The rejections under Section 102 are also maintained as explained above.
Applicant argues “Harris fails to disclose the claimed system for machine-assisted writing composition. For example, Applicant's claims recite "a prompt database configured to store prompt data for communicating to a user to solicit user input." Applicant argues “The claimed prompt database is not merely a collection of text or content used by the system. Rather, it stores prompts specifically designed to be presented to a user in order to elicit responsive user input during a machine-assisted writing process. Harris does not disclose a dedicated prompt database storing prompt data for soliciting writing-related responses from a user. Any prompts or questions discussed in Harris are generated or used within its disclosed process, but Harris does not teach storing such prompts in a separate prompt database as claimed.”
The examiner points out that limitations of claims 1 and 10 lack any recitation of “prompts specifically designed to be presented to a user in order to elicit responsive user input during a machine-assisted writing process.” In addition, independent claim 10 lacks any recitation of a “prompt database” or an “input database.” Applicant states “Any prompts or questions discussed in Harris are generated or used within its disclosed process,” which according to Harris is machine assisted writing process (i.e., a system for assisting a user in organizing and writing a research paper).
Applicant argues Harris does not teach storing prompts in a separate prompt database as claimed. The examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 does not require the databases are separate (i.e., distinct). However, even so, Harris teaches a server system with a database 204. In addition, Harris also teaches the database 249, which may be separate databases (i.e., a plurality of databases).
Applicant also argues Further, Applicant's independent claims recite "a user input database configured to store the user input received from the user at a user interface." Harris may receive information from a user, but it does not disclose a separate database dedicated to storing user-entered responses received through the interface. The claim expressly recites a distinct user input database that stores the received user input. Harris lacks any teaching of this particular database structure.”
Again, the examiner disagrees. First as stated above claim 10 does not include any recitation of “a user input database configured to store the user input received from the user at a user interface.” In addition, the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 does not require the databases are separate (i.e., distinct). Even so, while Harris teaches a server system with a database 204, Harris also teaches the database 204 may be a plurality of databases (i.e., separate databases). Harris stores user inputs and may use a database to do so.
Applicant argues “Still further, Applicant's independent claims recite a processor configured to process, store, and access information in both the prompt database and the user input database. Thus, the processor operates on two distinct repositories: (1) stored prompts and (2) stored user responses. Harris does not disclose accessing and managing information across these two separate databases. Instead, Harris discloses user interaction within its disclosed system without teaching the claimed architecture involving separate prompt and user-input databases.” Again, these limitations do not appear in claim 10. In addition, the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 does not require the databases are separate (i.e., distinct). Even so, while Harris teaches a server system with a database 204, Harris also teaches the database 204 may be a plurality of databases (i.e., separate databases). Harries stores both the user questions (prompts) and user answers (inputs) and may use multiple databases 204 to do so.
Applicant also argues “Yet further, Applicant's claimed combination of features is directed to a system useful for machine-assisted writing composition in which prompts are presented to a user, user responses are collected and stored, and the processor accesses both stored prompts and stored responses to facilitate composition. Harris does not disclose this prompt-response database framework for machine-assisted writing. This argument is not understood. Harris explicitly teaches a system for machine assistance writing. For example, ¶¶37-38 state:
The present invention provides students with a user-friendly, engaging and accessible technology platform that provides guidance and support for completing a complex assignment such as a research paper. The system allows students to self-pace while providing the necessary structure to successfully complete the research paper within the assigned time. The system provides an intuitive interface that allows students to immediately start organizing and writing the research paper without the need for instructions or training. The system also builds student confidence by breaking down the complex task of writing a research paper into manageable sub tasks, and by providing self-assessment check points along the way that allow the student to stay on track or to seek help when needed.
[0038] In one exemplary embodiment, the system guides students through a six-step process for creating a research paper: planning a schedule, establishing a topic and thesis statement, gathering information and sources, organizing information, creating an outline, and writing the paper. The number of steps is illustrative; each step may be broken up or combined in any suitable manner.
Harris provides automated organized questions (i.e. prompts) to solicit information provided from a user (user inputs) which is processed to help the user write the paper including a draft. Harris also teaches storage of system information in a plurality of databases (i.e., the questions and the answers/inputs). Therefore, the rejection of the claims is maintained.
The rejection under Section 103 also is maintained. Applicant did not address this rejection in their response. Applicant’s response submits that Harris fails to teach a separate prompt and a user input database. However, even if this were the case, the examiner has provided Norcross as teaching a prompt database for machine assisted writing and Peden as teaching a user input database. Applicant’s remarks did not address these references or the rejection under Section 103. Therefore, the rejection is maintained for the reasons provided above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed on the attached Notice of References Cited.
US 2020/0005157 describes an education system that includes a memory. In particular, the memory includes: a content library database containing a plurality of prompts and evaluation data associated with each of the plurality of prompts.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW BODENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715