DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 1/22/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden to search all claims. This is not found persuasive because the different groups have found separate status in the art, and there is nothing of record to show them as obvious variants.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauman et al. (WO-2017087019).
Regarding claims 1-4
Bauman discloses an electrochromic device (abstract), that has first and second substantially transparent substrate with a cell distance of 250 microns (i.e., in opposed spaced opposition),that have electrically conductive materials coated on the first and second substrate (i.e., first and second transparent electrode layers) and a sealing member adhesively bonded to the first and second substrate to seal a chamber and that an electrochromic composition (i.e., electrochromic layer) is within the chamber (i.e., interposed between first and second electrically conductive layers) (paras 0064-0065).
Bauman discloses (i) a cathodic material in the electrochromic composition maybe compound 7 (i.e., a cation of N,N’-bis (1-sulfobutane)-4,4’-bipyridyl) (para 0076). This reads directly on instant Formula (I) when R1 and R2 read on Formula (III), and R6 is propyl.
Bauman discloses (ii) an anodic material in the electrochromic composition comprising N-(4-sulfatobutane)-phenothiazene (para 0032). This reads directly on instant Formula (V), where R9 is a butyl group (i.e., C4 alkane linking group).
Bauman discloses (iv) a cross-linked polymer matrix in the electrochromic medium (para 0054).
Although Bauman does not explicitly disclose the use of compound 7 with the N-(4-sulfatobutane)-phenothiazene, Bauman discloses that one may be used as the cathodic material and the other as the anodic material, making it obvious if not anticipated to use them in combination together as the required anodic and cathodic materials.
Regarding claim 5
Bauman discloses that the net charge of the ion-paired electrochromic material (i.e., anodic and cathodic materials) is zero (para 0004).
Regarding claims 6-7
Bauman discloses that the cathodic material may have a tetraalkyl ammonium counterion such as (CH3CH2)4N+ (para 0021).
Regarding claim 8
Bauman discloses that the cathodic material may have a counterion such as BF4-, PF6-, ClO4-, (CF3SO2)2N- or (CF3SO2)3C- (para 0030).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauman et al. (WO-2017087019), as applied to claims 1-8 above, in view of Ahmad et al. (DE-1020090224207-A1).
Regarding claim 9
Although Bauman does not disclose the claimed electrolyte, Bauman does disclose an electrolyte in the electrochromic medium (para 0051). However, Ahmad discloses that in electrochromic devices that as the electrolyte an ionic liquid can be used such as 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium bis(trifluormethylenesulfonyl)imide (EMITFS) (Example 1: Preparation of ionic liquid). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of Bauman by using EMITFS with these anions and cations as the electrolyte, with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful electrochromic device as suggested by Ahmad.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauman et al. (WO-2017087019), as applied to claims 1-8 above, in view of Choi et al. (US 20210313569).
Regarding claims 10-11
Although Bauman does not teach the claimed polymeric matrix, Bauman does disclose the sue of a polymeric matrix. However, Choi discloses that in similar electrochromic devices that as the polymer matrix that poly(diallyldimethylammonium)-bis(trifluormethanesulfonyl)imide may be used (para 0127). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of Bauman by using poly(diallyldimethylammonium)-bis(trifluormethanesulfonyl)imide as the polymer matrix, with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful electrochromic device as suggested by Choi.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-15 of co-pending Application No. 18/133,000 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘000 applications discloses each and every limitations of the instant claims, except for the Markush groups, but does teach explicit examples therefrom.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-13 of co-pending Application No. 18/133,045 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘045 applications discloses each and every limitations of the instant claims, except for the Markush groups, but does teach explicit examples therefrom. Further, any additional ingredients in the ‘045 applications are not excluded by the comprising language of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 4-9 of co-pending Application No. 18/134,057 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘057 applications discloses each and every limitations of the instant claims, except for the Markush groups, but does teach explicit examples therefrom. Further, any additional ingredients in the ‘057 applications are not excluded by the comprising language of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734