DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 05/20/2026 has been entered and accepted. The amendments with regard to the 112b of claims 4 and 19 have been accepted and the rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Examiner has not demonstrated that the claim term fails to recite sufficiently defined structure or else recited function without reciting sufficient structure for performing that function (Page 10 of applicant’s remarks filed 05/20/2026). However, the 112(f) analysis is used to invoke structure from the specification to clarify claim limitations which recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. The applicant has not provided any evidence that current claim limitations provide sufficient structure for performing the recited function. The applicant’s recitation of structure supplied in the specification is not sufficient for overcoming 112(f) analysis. A 112(f) analysis is not optional for an examiner. MPEP 2181.I. states that “examiners will apply 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to a claim limitation if it meets the following 3-prong analysis” (emphasis added). In this case, each of the terms “engagement member” in claim 10 and “biasing member” in claim 10 meet the 3-prong analysis. The term “engagement member” uses the term “member” which is a substitute for “means” as a generic placeholder (A), is modified with the term “engagement” which is functional language (B), and is not modified with sufficient structure for performing the claimed function (C). The term “biasing member” in claim 10 uses the term “member” which is a substitute for “means” as a generic placeholder (A), is modified with the term “biasing” which is functional language (B), and is not modified with sufficient structure for performing the claimed function (C).
Applicant further argues that “it is apparent that independent claims 1, 9, and 18 each require that the fluid tank 32 include a handle 36 mounted thereon that is at least partially rotatable about an axis 40 on the fluid tank” (Page 18 of applicant’s remarks filed 05/20/2026). JANG teaches components comprising a front housing, water tank, and panel unit 500 which in combination would reasonably capable of receiving and containing water, and thus would reasonably be considered as a fluid tank under BRI. JANG further teaches that panel unit 500 is moved by the user between multiple positions along an axis (JANG Figures 47-51 Paragraph 372). Figure 51 Paragraph 503 further teaches of shafts by which the panel unit 500 rotate which are located on the combination of components, panel unit 500 and front housing 420 including water tank 450, which comprise the fluid tank. Since the panel unit 500 is rotatable by the user’s external force (JANG Paragraph 372) and is capable of receiving a user’s hand (JANG Figure 19 Paragraphs 429-431), the panel unit 500 would reasonably be considered a handle under BRI. Applicant’s current claim limitations do not consist of any structure that require that the handle of the fluid tank be securely connected to a shell of the fluid tank.
Applicant further argues that the panel unit 500 is not removably coupled to the body (Page 20 of applicant’s remarks filed 05/20/2026). Figure 8 of JANG shows an exploded perspective view of the various components which are installed together to form the kitchen system. Said components include the panel unit 500 and front housing 420 including water tank 450. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that these components are formed separately, not integrally with one another, and thus must be installed together to form the kitchen appliance. Furthermore, Paragraph 284 of JANG teaches that the hinge module 600, front frame 280, and front housing 420 are assembled to each other by one fastener. Paragraph 162 teaches that fasteners include removable fasteners such as screws. Thus, the front frame is removably coupled to the front housing. Paragraphs 473-479 of JANG teach of hinge coupled portions whereby the hinge module 600 and panel unit 500 are coupled to each other by fasteners. Paragraph 496 of JANG teaches that the panel unit 500 is connected to the casings 100,200 through the hinge module 600. Figure 54 of JANG further provides evidence that block fastener B4 connecting the hinge modules 600 to the panel unit consists of a screw. Thus, the panel unit 500 is removably coupled to the hinge module 600, and further the hinge module 600 is removably coupled to the front housing and the front frame. Therefore, the panel unit is removably coupled to the front housing. Paragraph 265 of JANG teaches that the water tank 450 is removable out of the cooking appliance or inserted into the cooking appliance. Thus, the water tank is removably coupled to the front housing, which is removably coupled to the casings. Since every component of the fluid tank is removably coupled to the casings, the entire fluid tank is reasonably removably coupled to the body.
Applicant further argues that the “modification of the panel unit 500 of Hang would not have been done by a person of ordinary skill in the art” (Page 24 of applicant’s remarks filed 05/20/2026). The modification of Jang with Novin would not require the modification of the water tank 450 as the panel unit 500 does not rely upon the water tank 450 to perform its pivoting function. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have modified the hinge rotating component of the panel unit with the hinge of Novin for the benefit of providing a component method of preventing inadvertent movements of the cover portion (Novin Paragraphs 6 and 15).
In response to applicant's argument that Novin is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Novin teaches a hinge which provides a detent function for hinges for stopping the movement of hinge when it reaches predetermined positions. This is the same problem that the applicant attempts to solve with the notches 252 in Paragraph 40 of the applicant’s specifications filed 04/05/2023 and Figure 7 of the applicant’s drawings filed 04/05/2023.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “engagement member” in claim 10 and “biasing member” in claim 10.
Regarding the limitation “engagement member” in claim 10, because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification and drawing found the corresponding structure of circular component capable of being received a notch of the projection (per fig. 6-7).
Regarding the limitation “biasing member” in claim 10, because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification and drawing found the corresponding structure of a spring (per paragraph 41 and fig. 6-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by JANG (US 20240044192 A1).
Regarding claim 1, JANG (US 20240044192 A1) teaches a cooking appliance, comprising:
a body (Figure 8 Paragraph 197, inner casing 100 and outer casing 200);
a cooking cavity defined by the body (Paragraph 117, cavity S1 is provided in the inner casing 100);
a fluid tank (front housing 420, water tank 450, and panel unit 500) removably coupled to the body (Paragraph 114, water tank 450 may be ejected out while the panel unit 500 is opened; Figure 8, rest of water tank including front housing 420 and panel unit 500 can reasonably be disassembled; Paragraph 284, hinge module/front frame/front housing are assembled to each other by one fastener; Paragraph 162, fasteners include removably couplable fasteners such as screws; Figure 54 Paragraphs 473-479, hinge coupled portions whereby the hinge module 600 and panel unit 500 are coupled to each other by fasteners such as block fastener B4; Paragraph 496, panel unit 500 is connected to the casings 100,200 through the hinge module 600; Paragraph 265, water tank 450 is removable out of or inserted into cooking appliance; every component is removably coupled to the casings),
wherein the fluid tank is movable between an installed position and an extended position relative to the body (Paragraph 114, water tank 450 may be ejected out while the panel unit 500 is opened; Figure 8, rest of water tank including front housing 420 and panel unit 500 can reasonably be disassembled), and wherein the fluid tank comprises a handle (panel unit 500) that is rotatable about an axis between a neutral position and a rotated position (Figure 47 Paragraph 372, panel unit 500 is moved by the opening device 480 between a first opening section and then the panel unit 500 is moved by the user within the second opening section extending from the last end of the first opening section to the second position); and
a vapor generator in fluid communication with and that receives a fluid from the fluid tank (Paragraph 102, steam device includes a heater that heats water and a water tank 450 that supplies water to the heater), wherein vapor produced by the vapor generator is provided to the cooking cavity (Paragraph 119, steam flow into the cavity through the opening 120).
Regarding claim 2, JANG teaches the cooking appliance of claim 1, wherein:
the handle of the fluid tank comprises an exterior surface (Figure 5 Paragraph 259, front surface of the panel unit 500) and an interior surface (Figure 5 Paragraph 429, rear surface 551), and wherein the exterior surface of the handle is substantially coplanar with a front surface of the body (Paragraph 116, panel unit 500 is disposed in parallel to the door 300 in the closed state of the panel unit 500) when the fluid tank is in the installed position (Paragraph 115, panel unit 500 is disposed in front of the water tank 500 when the water tank is in inserted in the oven) and the handle is in the neutral position (Paragraph 116, panel unit 500 is disposed in parallel to the door 300 in the closed state of the panel unit 500).
Regarding claim 3, JANG teaches the cooking appliance of claim 2, wherein:
the fluid tank comprises a handle-supporting portion (Figure 20 Paragraph 283, surface around pocket P) having an upper portion (Paragraph 302, surface 455a of the second pocket 455; Paragraph 300, water tank 450 includes a second pocket 455 which provides a gripping space for the user) angled away from interior surface of the handle (Figure 20, surface 445a of the second pocket has an angle which is not perpendicular nor parallel to the rear surface of the panel unit 500) such that the interior surface of the handle (rear surface 551 of the panel unit 500) at an upper region of the handle is spaced from the upper portion when the handle is in the neutral position (Figure 31, second pocket 455 is spaced from the interior surface of the rear surface of the panel unit 500) and contacts an adjacent surface of the upper portion of the handle-supporting portion in the rotated position (Paragraph 369, panel unit serves as a type of support when the water tank 450 is removed or inserted; water tank 450 is supported on the rear surface of the panel unit which means that the rear surface 551 of the panel unit is at least capable of contacting at least one surface of the water tank 450, all of which are adjacent to the surface 455a of the second pocket 455).
Regarding claim 4, JANG teaches the cooking appliance of claim 3, wherein:
an angled orientation of the upper portion of the handle-supporting portion (Figure 31, an arbitrary line drawn from the axis to a portion of the upper surface 445a of the second pocket 455 where the slip prevention ribs 455a’ are located) extends from the axis to a perimeter wall of the handle-supporting portion (Figure 31, surface 455a of the second pocket extends from the bottom end of the rear surface 551 of the panel unit towards the vertically extending wall of the surface 455a of the second pocket 455).
While the applicant may argue that Figure 31 of JANG doesn’t explicitly show a line drawn from the axis of rotation to the rear surface 551 of the panel unit, the Office notes that said angled orientation is an arbitrary line which only reasonably requires that a portion of the three-dimensional curved handle-supporting portion lies along said line extending from an axis of rotation to a perimeter wall of the handle supporting portion. A plurality of examples of non-limiting arbitrary lines, which would reasonably all read upon the limitation, are shown below in Jang Annotated Figure 31.
Jang Annotated Figure 31; plurality of arbitrary angled orientations of the upper portion of the handle-supporting portion are annotated extending from a potential axis to a perimeter wall of the handle-supporting portion
Each of these lines could reasonably extend from an axis of rotation, be reasonably considered an angle orientation of a portion of the upper surface of the pocket, and extends to the vertically extending surface 455a serving as a perimeter wall.
Furthermore, the pocket and upper surface are located on a removable water tank 450 (JANG Paragraph 265). Thus, during normal operation of the prior art when the water tank is removed, the water tank travels through a plurality of positions wherein all possible arbitrary lines drawn in tandem through every position would cover a large amount of area. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that there exists at least one position of the water tank wherein an arbitrary angled orientation of the upper portion of the handle-supporting portion extends from the axis to a perimeter wall of the handle supporting portion.
Regarding claim 5, JANG teaches the cooking appliance of claim 4, wherein:
the handle-supporting portion (Figure 20 Paragraph 283, pocket P) has a lower portion (surface of first pocket 425) angled away from the interior surface of the handle (Figure 31, surface of the first pocket 425 is disposed at an angle which is neither parallel nor perpendicular to the rear of the panel unit) such that the interior surface of the handle at a lower region of the handle is spaced from the lower portion when the handle is in the neutral position (Figure 31, lower region of the rear surface 551 of the panel unit is spaced from surface of the first pocket 425).
Regarding claim 6, JANG teaches the cooking appliance of claim 5, wherein:
the upper portion and the lower portion of the handle-supporting portion are asymmetrical with one another along at least one cross-sectional plane of the fluid tank (Figure 31, surface of the first pocket and surface of the second pocket are not symmetrical with one another across any plane of the fluid tank; Figure 31, a portion of the surface of the second pocket can reasonably include a portion of the vertical wall of the second pocket which also is asymmetrical to the surface of the first pocket).
Regarding claim 7, JANG teaches the cooking appliance of claim 3, wherein:
the interior surface of the handle is provided with an upper protrusion positioned in an upper region thereof (Figure 38 Paragraphs 419-421, cover inclined portion 559 is formed in the cover frame 550 forms a protrusion with the rest of rear surface 551), such that the upper protrusion is in contact with the adjacent surface of the handle-supporting portion in the rotated position (Paragraph 369, panel unit serves as a type of support when the water tank 450 is removed or inserted; water tank 450 is supported on the rear surface of the panel unit which means that the protrusion formed by the rear surface and the cover inclined portion is capable of contacting at least one surface of the water tank 450 under normal operations).
Regarding claim 8, JANG teaches the cooking appliance of claim 5, wherein:
the interior surface of the handle is provided with a lower protrusion positioned in a lower region thereof (Figure 38 Paragraphs 419-421, cover inclined portion 559 is formed in the cover frame 550 forms a protrusion with the rest of rear surface 551), such that the lower protrusion is in contact with an adjacent surface of the lower portion of the handle-supporting portion in the rotated position (Paragraph 369, panel unit serves as a type of support when the water tank 450 is removed or inserted; water tank 450 is supported on the rear surface of the panel unit which means that the protrusion formed by the rear surface and the cover inclined portion is capable of contacting at least one surface of the water tank 450 under normal operations).
Regarding claim 9, JANG (US 20240044192 A1) teaches a cooking appliance, comprising:
a body (Figure 8 Paragraph 197, inner casing 100 and outer casing 200);
a cooking cavity defined by the body (Paragraph 117, cavity S1 is provided in the inner casing 100);
a fluid tank (front housing 420, water tank 450, and panel unit 500) removably coupled to the body (Paragraph 114, water tank 450 may be ejected out while the panel unit 500 is opened; Figure 8, rest of water tank including front housing 420 and panel unit 500 can reasonably be disassembled), wherein the fluid tank is movable between an installed position and an extended position relative to the body (Paragraph 114, water tank 450 may be ejected out while the panel unit 500 is opened; Figure 8, rest of water tank including front housing 420 and panel unit 500 can reasonably be disassembled; Paragraph 114, water tank 450 may be ejected out while the panel unit 500 is opened; Figure 8, rest of water tank including front housing 420 and panel unit 500 can reasonably be disassembled; Paragraph 284, hinge module/front frame/front housing are assembled to each other by one fastener; Paragraph 162, fasteners include removably couplable fasteners such as screws; Figure 54 Paragraphs 473-479, hinge coupled portions whereby the hinge module 600 and panel unit 500 are coupled to each other by fasteners such as block fastener B4; Paragraph 496, panel unit 500 is connected to the casings 100,200 through the hinge module 600; Paragraph 265, water tank 450 is removable out of or inserted into cooking appliance; every component is removably coupled to the casings), and wherein the fluid tank comprises a handle (panel unit 500) that is rotatable about an axis between a neutral position and a rotated position (Figure 47 Paragraph 372, panel unit 500 is moved by the opening device 480 between a first opening section and then the panel unit 500 is moved by the user within the second opening section extending from the last end of the first opening section to the second position) and a handle-supporting portion (drive arm 620 and surfaces of pocket P) having an angled portion angled away from an interior surface of the handle (Paragraph 302, surface 455a of the second pocket 455; Paragraph 300, water tank 450 includes a second pocket 455 which provides a gripping space for the user; Figure 20, surface 445a of the second pocket has an angle which is not perpendicular nor parallel to the rear surface of the panel unit 500) such that the interior surface of the handle (rear surface 551 of the panel unit 500) at a predetermined region of the handle is spaced from the angled portion when the handle is in the neutral position (Figure 31, second pocket 455 is spaced from the interior surface of the rear surface of the panel unit 500) and contacts an adjacent surface of the angled portion of the handle-supporting portion when the handle is in the rotated position (Paragraph 369, panel unit serves as a type of support when the water tank 450 is removed or inserted; water tank 450 is supported on the rear surface of the panel unit which means that the rear surface 551 of the panel unit is at least capable of contacting at least one surface of the water tank 450 all of which are adjacent to the surface 455a of the second pocket 455); and
a vapor generator in fluid communication with and that receives a fluid from the fluid tank (Paragraph 102, steam device includes a heater that heats water and a water tank 450 that supplies water to the heater), wherein vapor produced by the vapor generator is provided to the cooking cavity (Paragraph 119, steam flow into the cavity through the opening 120).
Regarding claim 16, JANG as modified teaches the cooking appliance of claim 9, wherein:
the handle of the fluid tank includes pivot brackets that extend from the interior surface (Figure 53 Paragraphs 473-476, panel unit 500 comprises hinge coupled portion 520 is provided at the rear surface of the main housing which include first hinge coupled portion 521 and second hinge coupled portion 525), each pivot bracket defining a slot therein (Figure 53 Paragraphs 473-480, first hinge coupled portion 521 and second hinge coupled portion 525 serve as coupling portions each comprising a spot for connection block 625 where the hinge modules 600 and panel unit 500 are coupled to each other; Figure 52A Paragraphs 477, block fastener B4 extends from the rear surface of the panel unit 500 such as to pass through the connection block 625 and each cover hinge hole), and wherein each of the slots receive a tab that extends from the handle-supporting portion of the fluid tank (Figure 53 Paragraphs 473-480, each of first hinge coupled portion 521 and second hinge receive a connection block 625).
Regarding claim 17, JANG as modified teaches the cooking appliance of claim 9, wherein:
the fluid tank is received within a tank housing mounted to the body (Figures 8 and 24 Paragraphs 273-275, tank housing 460 receives the water tank 450; Figure 8 Paragraph 168, upper cover 260 surrounds the upper surface of the front housing 420) and collectively the fluid tank and the tank housing comprise a set of cooperating alignment surfaces that allow insertion of the fluid tank within the tank housing in a single angular orientation relative a front surface of the body (Paragraph 269, guides extend in a direction parallel to removal and insertion directions of the water tank 450 such as to facilitate the water tank being ejected and inserted; Paragraph 275, water tank 450 is configured such that a main surface is mainly supported by the front housing 420 such that stable insertion of the water tank is possible), such that a fill aperture on the fluid tank is oriented on an upper surface of the fluid tank when in the installed position (Paragraph 295, tank cover 452’ can be removed such that the user can fill water into the water storage space 451 through said opening).
Regarding claim 18, JANG (US 20240044192 A1) teaches a cooking appliance, comprising:
a cooking cavity defined by a body (Paragraph 117, cavity S1 is provided in the inner casing 100);
a fluid tank (front housing 420, water tank 450, and panel unit 500) removably coupled to the body (Paragraph 114, water tank 450 may be ejected out while the panel unit 500 is opened; Figure 8, rest of water tank including front housing 420 and panel unit 500 can reasonably be disassembled), wherein the fluid tank is movable between an installed position and an extended position relative to the body (Paragraph 114, water tank 450 may be ejected out while the panel unit 500 is opened; Figure 8, rest of water tank including front housing 420 and panel unit 500 can reasonably be disassembled), and wherein the fluid tank comprises a handle (panel unit 500) that is rotatable about an axis rotatable between a neutral position and a rotated position (Figure 47 Paragraph 372, panel unit 500 is moved by the opening device 480 between a first opening section and then the panel unit 500 is moved by the user within the second opening section extending from the last end of the first opening section to the second position), and
wherein the fluid tank comprises an upper handle-adjacent surface (surface of water tank adjacent to surface of the second pocket 455; Paragraph 302, surface 455a of the second pocket 455; Paragraph 300, water tank 450 includes a second pocket 455 which provides a gripping space for the user) and a lower handle-adjacent surface (surface of water tank adjacent to surface of the first pocket 425; Figure 31, surface of the first pocket 425 is disposed at an angle which is neither parallel nor perpendicular to the rear of the panel unit) each sloped away from the handle (Figure 20, surface 445a of the second pocket has an angle which is not perpendicular nor parallel to the rear surface of the panel unit 500; Figure 31, surface of the first pocket 425 is disposed at an angle which is neither parallel nor perpendicular to the rear of the panel unit) such that an upper recess and a lower recess are provided (Figure 20 Paragraph 283, pocket P formed from a first pocket 425 and second pocket 455); and
a vapor generator in fluid communication with and that receives a fluid from the fluid tank (Paragraph 102, steam device includes a heater that heats water and a water tank 450 that supplies water to the heater), wherein vapor produced by the vapor generator is provided to the cooking cavity (Paragraph 119, steam flow into the cavity through the opening 120).
Regarding claim 19, JANG teaches the cooking appliance of claim 18, wherein:
an interior surface of the handle (rear surface 551 of the panel unit 500) at an upper region of the handle is spaced from the upper handle adjacent surface when the handle is in the neutral position (Figure 31, second pocket 455 is spaced from the interior surface of the rear surface of the panel unit 500) and the upper region of the handle is in contact with the upper handle-supporting adjacent surface in the rotated position (Paragraph 369, panel unit serves as a type of support when the water tank 450 is removed or inserted; water tank 450 is supported on the rear surface of the panel unit which means that the rear surface 551 of the panel unit is at least capable of contact at least one surface of the water tank 450 all of which are adjacent to the surface 455a of the second pocket 455).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANG (US 20240044192 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Novin (US 20120174339 A1) .
Regarding claim 10, JANG teaches the cooking appliance of claim 9.
JANG fails to explicitly teach:
an engagement member disposed on the handle-supporting portion
a biasing member, wherein the biasing member biases the engagement member to an extended position such that the engagement member maintains physical contact with the handle
Novin (US 20120174339 A1) teaches a detent hinge, wherein:
an engagement member disposed on the handle-supporting portion (Figures 14-15 Paragraphs 48-29, needle rollers are disposed as part of the detent mechanism connecting the first hinge part 240 with the second hinge part 260); and
a biasing member, wherein the biasing member biases the engagement member to an extended position such that the engagement member maintains physical contact with the handle (Paragraph 48, one or more springs which bias one or more needle rollers into engagement with the outer surface of the hinge shaft).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JANG with Novin and used a detent mechanism in the rotation of the panel unit. This would have been done to provide a compact method of preventing inadvertent movements of the cover portion (Novin Paragraphs 6 and 15).
Regarding claim 11, JANG teaches the cooking appliance of claim 10.
Novin further teaches:
the interior surface of the handle includes a projection extending from the interior surface and toward the engagement member (Figures 12A-12B Paragraph 48, hinge shaft 210 includes a portion extending from the bore 248 of an adaptor 240), and wherein a cavity within the handle-supporting portion includes a channel that receives the biasing member and the engagement member (Figure 16 Paragraph 44, second hinge part 260 has a housing or base 260 in which the spring and needle rollers are located).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, JANG teaches the cooking appliance of claim 11.
Novin further teaches:
the projection of the handle defines a notch within which the engagement member is received (Figure 15 Paragraph 51, needle rollers 284 engage the detent grooves 286 by means of the spring).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, JANG as modified teaches the cooking appliance of claim 12.
Novin further teaches:
a pair of notches are defined on the projection and the pair of notches are separated by a step (Figure 15 Paragraph 51, detent grooves 286 are separated from one another by a step), and wherein a first one of the pair of notches is associated with the neutral position of the handle and a second one of the pair of notches is associated with the rotated position of the handle (Figures 14-16 Paragraph 38, hinge assembly to allow rotational movement relative to the second member between predetermined positions including an open position, partially open position, and a closed position),
whereby when the handle is in the neutral position, the biasing member provides a biasing force in an outward direction from the channel such that the engagement member is held in physical contact with the first one of the pair of notches (Figure 15 Paragraphs 53-54, detent springs provide a force on the rollers such as to ensure that the rollers 284 engage a second set of detent grooves 286 when the detent grooves 286 register with the needle rollers 284; Figure 54, Paragraph 62, reverse the positions of the channel 297 and grooves 286 such as to provide a force in an outward direction) and
when the handle is in the rotated position, the biasing member provides a force in an outward direction from the channel such that the engagement member is in physical contact with the second one of the pair of notches (Figure 16 Paragraphs 53-54, detent springs provide a force on the rollers such as to ensure that the rollers 284 engage a first set of detent grooves 286 when the detent grooves 286 register with the needle rollers 284; Figure 54, Paragraph 62, reverse the positions of the channel 297 and grooves 286 such as to provide a force in an outward direction).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 10.
Regarding claim 14, JANG as modified teaches the cooking appliance of claim 13, wherein:
when an inward force is applied to the predetermined region of the handle while the handle is in the neutral position, the handle is transitioned towards the rotated position (Paragraphs 352-358, cam or electromagnet is used to provide a force for pushing the panel unit; Paragraph 361, panel unit 500 is moved from a first opening section to the second position)
Novin further teaches:
the handle is transitioned toward the rotated position and the engagement member is transitioned from the first one to the second one of the pair of notches (Figures 14-15 Paragraph 61, detent positions are approximately 20 degrees wherein said adaptor 240 is rotated from a first set of notches to a second set of notches as the handle moves from the vertical position to a second position; Paragraph 11, needle roller roll on the surface of the hinge shaft as the hinge shaft is rotated relative to the spring), such that the handle is retained in the rotated position until a second external force is applied to the handle (Paragraph 46, increased resistance to relative rotation occurs at the detent positions of the hinge part; Paragraph 47, threshold torque for moving the hinge member is high enough to prevent most inadvertent movements of the member).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, JANG as modified teaches the cooking appliance of claim 14, wherein:
the axis is disposed parallel to a horizontal plane (Figures 2 and 4, panel unit 500 rotates relative to the horizontal plane), and the predetermined region of the handle is defined as a region above the axis relative the horizontal plane (Figures 2 and 4, horizontal axis of rotation is located at the bottom of the panel unit 500).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANG (US 20240044192 A1) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Harris (US 20230018909 A1), LEE (US 20200245804 A1), Yeung (US 20060169693 A1), and LEWIS (US 4902182 A).
Regarding claim 20, JANG teaches the cooking appliance of claim 19, wherein the fluid tank further comprises:
a fill aperture disposed on an upper surface of the fluid tank through which the fluid may be added to the fluid tank when the fluid tank is in the extended position (Paragraph 295, separate tank lid 452’ can be removed such that the user can fill water into the water storage space 451 through said opening when the water tank is removed from the cooking appliance);
an opening proximate the fill aperture (Paragraph 295, tank cover 452 can be a separate object from the water tank which would result in an opening in proximate to the separate tank lid 452’); and
JANG fails to explicitly teach:
a fill cover constructed of a pliable material and configured to retain the fluid within the fluid tank, wherein a snap tab on a first end of the fill cover is fittingly received within the opening to secure the fill cover to the upper surface of the of the fluid tank proximate the fill aperture, a rib provided on an inner surface of the fill cover resiliently engages an outer perimeter of the fill aperture to form a seal therewith when engaged, and a grip on a second opposite end of the fill cover is provided by which a user may manipulate the fill cover into and out of engagement with the fill aperture.
However, Harris (US 20230018909 A1) teaches a container lid for covering a hatch opening for inserting liquid sealing liquid within a container (Figures 16c-16D) comprising a front edge tab used to allow the user to manipulate and grip the cover (Harris Figure 8A). It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JANG with Harris and included grip for the user in the form of a front edge tab. This would have been done to allow the user to easily manipulate the lid of the container (Harris Paragraph 223). The Office further notes that using a pivotable lid to seal a water tank is known in the art as evidenced by Ball (US 20250024979 A1).
LEE (US 20200245804 A1) teaches a heating apparatus and cooking apparatus which comprises a container configured to contain water and which the lid comprises a third sealing member 147 as part of the lid and made of silicone such as to protrude from the lid and come into close contact with the upper end bending part 121 of the container such as to form a seal between the lid and the container (Lee Figure 7 Paragraphs 161-162). It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JANG with LEE and included a sealing rib provided on the interior surface of the cover. This would have been done to form an airtight structure between the container and cover (LEE Paragraphs 163-166).
Yeung (US 20060169693 A1) teaches that silicone lids are used for sealing open containers containing liquids (Yeung Paragraphs 26 and 29). It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JANG with Yeung and have the lid be made of pliable silicone. This would have been done to provide a lid which is pliable and able to conform to the shape of an open-ended container (Yeung Paragraph 12).
LEWIS (US 4902182 A) teaches a push-in fastener which is used to join one component to another. It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JANG with LEWIS and used a push-in fastener as a snap tab to join the lid to the water tank by inserting through a performed opening in the water tank. This would have been done to provide a removable lid secured by a snap tab to allow access to the opening while also providing a low resistance to installation and a high resistance to removal (Column 2 Lines 15-18) to prevent the lid from accidentally opening.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761