DETAILED ACTION
The RCE filed 10 September 2025 has been entered. Claims 2-7, 10-12, 14-16, 21-25, and 27 are pending. Claims 1, 8-9, 13, 17-20, 26, and 28 have been canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the previously cited prior art – Hawa.
The applicant broadly argues with respect to independent claims 24, 25, and 27 that the amendments have overcome the prior art rejections in view of Hawa. However, as discussed in detail in the prior art rejections below, Hawa is seen as anticipating the claimed limitations.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10 September 2025. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The amendment(s) to the specification filed 10 September 2025 has been accepted.
Claim Objections
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 27, lines 6-7, “another end and” should be changed to --another end, and-- (i.e. a comma should be added after “end”) to separate the two limitations, like the similar recitation in other independent claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24, 14, 16, 25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hawa (GB 2584205 A).
Regarding claim 24, Hawa discloses in Figs. 1-2 (specifically the embodiment of the inserts in Figs. 2A-2C) a method of reducing the volume of lubricant provided in an internal cavity of an equipment item 12 having one or more internal components 18 at least partially disposed within the cavity, at least one internal component 18 being movable in the cavity during use of the equipment item, the cavity being at least partially cylindrical (pg. 7, lines 27-30), surrounded by at least one cavity wall and having an upper base at one end (on the top bonnet portion of the overall housing shown in Fig. 2A) and a lower base (on the lower bonnet portion of the overall housing shown in Fig. 2A) at another end, the equipment item including a removable upper bonnet (comprising the top portion of the overall housing, shown in Figs. 2A pinned to the central portion of the housing possessing the flow path) adjacent to, or at least partially forming, the upper base of the cavity and a removable lower bonnet (comprising the lower portion of the overall housing, shown in Fig. 2A pinned to the central portion of the housing possessing the flow path) adjacent to, or at least partially forming, the lower base of the cavity, the method comprising:
arranging at least four removable inserts 26 (pg. 9, lines 1-2 in reference to Fig. 2B) in the cavity to occupy different respective portions of the cavity and be spaced away from the at least one cavity wall and any internal components (such as the movable internal component 18, as disclosed in pg. 9, lines 31-34), the inserts 26 being interchangeable so that any of the inserts can be used in any of the different portions of the cavity (as one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize by the drawings and the lack of disclosure of features that would limit the positioning of each insert 26), each insert being unitary and having no protrusions extending outwardly therefrom (as one having ordinary skill would recognize by the drawings and the lack of disclosure of any protrusions);
the inserts 26 allowing movement in the cavity of any movable internal components 18 of the equipment item during use thereof without impeding such movement;
at least a first insert 26 releasably engaging the upper bonnet (because at least one insert 26 fits into a recess in the top bonnet);
at least a second insert 26 releasably engaging the lower bonnet (because at least one insert 26 fits into a recess in the bottom bonnet);
each insert 26 forming a plurality of lubricant flow paths around the insert 26 (pg. 9, lines 23 – pg. 10, line 6); and
each insert 26 allowing lubricant to pass around at least part of the insert 26 in the cavity 14, whereby lubricant can pass between the insert 26 and the at least one cavity wall, at least one internal component (such as the movable internal component 18) and at least one other insert 26 (pg. 9, line 31 – pg. 10, line 6).
Regarding claim 14, Hawa discloses in Figs. 2A-2C that the cavity has respective upper and lower portions, further including positioning a first pair of inserts 26 to face each other in the upper portion of the cavity (pg. 9, lines 1-2, in reference to Fig. 2B), and positioning a second pair of inserts 26 to face each other in the lower portion of the cavity (pg. 9, lines 1-2, in reference to Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 16, Hawa discloses in Figs. 2A-2C that each insert 26 has upper and lower ends, further including at least one fluid passageway extending through each insert 26 from the upper end to the lower end thereof, and at least one fluid passageway fluidly coupling at least one portion of the cavity above and at least one portion of the cavity below the insert 26 when the insert 26 is disposed in the cavity (because “a flushing fluid flow path is defined from the flushing fluid inlet 22, through the one or more flushing pathways 28 and out via the flushing fluid outlet 24” pg. 9, lines 25-27).
Regarding claim 25, Hawa discloses in Figs. 1-2 (specifically Figs. 2A-2C with regard to the inserts 26) a system for reducing the volume of high-pressure lubricant injected into a through-conduit valve during use of the valve (pg. 6, lines 16-18) in oilfield related operations (wherein “in oilfield related operations” is an intended use that isn’t seen as defining over the prior art (MPEP 2111.02)(II)), the valve having an internal cavity at least partially surrounded by at least one cavity wall (of the of the overall housing 12) and at least one internal component (comprising the reciprocating gate/valve member) disposed at least partially in the cavity, at least one such internal component 18 being movable in the cavity during use of the valve, the cavity being at least partially cylindrical (pg. 7, lines 27-30) and including an upper base (formed by the upper bonnet) at one end and a lower base (formed by the lower bonnet) at another end and the valve having a removable upper bonnet adjacent to, or at least partially forming, the upper base of the cavity and a removable lower bonnet adjacent to, or at least partially forming, the lower base of the cavity, the system comprising:
at least four removable inserts 26 (pg. 9, lines 1-2 in reference to Fig. 2B), each insert 26 being unitary, having no protrusions extending outwardly therefrom (as one having ordinary skill would recognize by the drawings and the lack of disclosure of any protrusions) and configured to occupy a different respective portion of the cavity without impeding movement of the at least one movable internal component 18 during use of the valve, wherein each insert 26, when disposed in the cavity, is configured to be spaced away from and allow lubricant to pass between itself and the at least one cavity wall, at least one internal component (comprising the reciprocating gate/valve member) and at least one other insert 26, further wherein at least a first insert 26 is releasably engageable with the upper bonnet (because the upper insert(s) 26 are fitted into the recess of the upper bonnet, and/or because the upper bonnet is shown touching the top of the top insert(s) 26, and/or because the top insert(s) 26 are free to move within the cavity such that they can selectively touch the upper bonnet given that the disclosure doesn’t mention fixedly securing the insert(s) in their respective locations) and at least a second insert 26 is releasably engageable with the lower bonnet (because the lower insert(s) 26 are fitted into the recess of the lower bonnet, and/or because the bottom bonnet is shown touching the bottom of the bottom insert(s) 26, and/or because the bottom insert(s) 26 are free to move within the cavity such that they can selectively touch the bottom bonnet given that the disclosure doesn’t mention fixedly securing the insert(s) in their respective locations), whereby the inserts 26 are configured to be added to the valve to retrofit the valve (pg. 15, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 27, Hawa discloses in Figs. 1-2 (specifically Figs. 2A-2C with regard to the inserts 26) a system for reducing the volume of high-pressure lubricant injected into a through-conduit valve during use of the valve (pg. 6, lines 16-18) in oilfield related operations (wherein “in oilfield related operations” is an intended use that isn’t seen as defining over the prior art (MPEP 2111.02)(II)), the valve having an internal cavity at least partially surrounded by at least one cavity wall (of the overall housing 12) and at least one internal component (comprising the reciprocating gate/valve member) disposed at least partially in the cavity, at least one such internal component 18 being movable in the cavity during use of the valve, the cavity being at least partially cylindrical (pg. 7, lines 27-30) and including an upper base (formed by the upper bonnet) at one end and a lower base (formed by lower bonnet) at another end and the valve having a removable upper bonnet adjacent to, or at least partially forming, the upper base of the cavity and a removable lower bonnet adjacent to, or at least partially forming, the lower base of the cavity, the system comprising:
at least four removable inserts 26 (pg. 9, lines 1-2 in reference to Fig. 2B), each insert 26 being unitary, having no protrusions extending outwardly therefrom (as one having ordinary skill would recognize by the drawings and the lack of disclosure of any protrusions) and configured to occupy a different respective portion of the cavity without impeding movement of the at least one movable internal component 18 during use of the valve, wherein each insert 26, when disposed in the cavity, is configured to be spaced away from and allow lubricant to pass between itself and the at least one cavity wall, at least one internal component (comprising the reciprocating gate/valve member) and at least one other insert, further wherein at least a first insert 26 is releasably engageable with the upper bonnet (because the upper insert(s) 26 are fitted into the recess of the upper bonnet) and configured to be secured in the valve only by engagement with the upper bonnet (because the lower bonnet closes off the end of the cavity where the top inserts 26 are located, similar to the applicant’s device, whose inserts are similarly secured by the bonnets being assembled to the rest of the housing regardless of the connectors used to fasten the inserts to the bonnets) and at least a second insert is releasably engageable with the lower bonnet (because the lower insert(s) 26 are fitted into the recess of the lower bonnet) and configured to be secured in the valve only by engagement with the lower bonnet (because the lower bonnet closes off the end of the cavity where the bottom inserts 26 are located, similar to the applicant’s device, whose inserts are similarly secured by the bonnets being assembled to the rest of the housing regardless of the connectors used to fasten the inserts to the bonnets), the first and second inserts 26 being removable from the valve independent of one another merely by disconnecting the upper and lower bonnets from the valve, respectively, whereby the inserts 26 are configured to be added to the valve to retrofit the valve (pg. 15, lines 9-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawa in view of Baugh (US 3,768,774).
Regarding claim 15, Hawa discloses in Figs. 2A-2C each insert 26 allowing the flow of fluid around the entire periphery of the insert 26 when the insert 26 is disposed in the cavity (as shown in the drawing) except where at least one connector engages the insert 26.
Hawa lacks teaching releasably coupling at least one insert to at least one among the group consisting of the equipment item, at least one internal component and at least one other insert with one or more connectors engaged therebetween.
Baugh teaches in Figs. 1-6 releasably coupling at least one insert 18 to at least one among the group consisting of the equipment item 35, at least one internal component and at least one other insert (specifically an equipment item 35 in the form of bonnet 35) with one or more connectors 37 engaged therebetween.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Hawa to releasably couple at least one insert to an equipment item comprising a bonnet via one or more connectors to secure the at least one insert in the proper orientation in the cavity, as Baugh teaches (col. 2, lines 33-37).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 10-12, and 21-23 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance. The prior art fails to disclose or render obvious, in combination with the other limitations in claim 21, wherein at least one insert includes first and second spaced-apart connector passages extending at least partially between the upper and lower ends thereof, the at least one insert being configured so that a first and a second connector are insertable into the respective first and second connector passages from the lower end toward the upper end of the at least one insert and thereafter engageable with the equipment item when the at least one insert is disposed in the cavity so that the at least one insert is secured in a desired location in the cavity and not rotatable relative to the equipment item.
Conclusion
/J. W./
Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753