DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The first paragraph of the specification should be amended to include updated patent information..
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23, 27-29 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson (US 2007/0299895).
Regarding claim 21, Johnson discloses a method of generating electrical signal waveforms by a generator, the generator comprising a processor and a memory in communication with the processor, the memory defining a first and second table [Para 0012 discusses the use of look up tables], the method comprising: retrieving, by the processor, stored phase points defining a first digital electrical signal wave shape of a first electrical signal waveform from the first table defined in memory; retrieving, by the processor, stored phase points defining a second digital electrical signal wave shape of a second electrical signal waveform from the second table defined in memory; receiving, by the processor, tissue parameter feedback; and switching, by the processor, between the phase point of the first electrical signal waveform and the phase point of the second electrical signal waveform based on the tissue parameter feedback [Para 0012-0019, Para 0038-0043, 0059, Para 0012 specifically mentions adjusting of parameters]. The examiner notes that the method steps as claimed do not actively apply the waveform to tissue. Additionally, it does not send the signal to a device for treatment of tissue. Any generator that creates waveforms is capable of the steps claimed.
Regarding claim 22, Johnson discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the tissue parameter feedback comprises at least one of tissue impedance, tissue type, or temperature of the tissue [Para 0038-0043].
Regarding claim 23, Johnson discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the tissue parameter feedback is based on a temperature of an electrode or an ultrasonic blade or an electrical impedance of an ultrasonic transducer [Para 0019 mentions the use of electrodes and adjusting if the waveform].
Regarding claim 27, Johnson discloses a method of generating electrical signal waveforms by a generator, the generator comprising a processor and a memory in communication with the processor, the memory defining a first and second table [Para 0012 discusses the use of tables], the method comprising: retrieving, by the processor, stored phase points defining a first digital electrical signal wave shape of a first electrical signal waveform from the first table defined in memory; retrieving, by the processor, stored phase points defining a second digital electrical signal wave shape of a second electrical signal waveform from the second table defined in memory; receiving, by the processor, tissue parameter feedback; and synchronize, by the processor, the phase points of the first and second electrical signal waveforms based on the tissue parameter feedback [Para 0012-0019, Para 0038-0043, 0059, Para 0012 specifically mentions adjusting of parameters]. The examiner notes that the method steps as claimed do not actively apply the waveform to tissue. Additionally, it does not send the signal to a device for treatment of tissue. Any generator that creates waveforms is capable of the steps claimed.
Regarding claim 28, Johnson discloses the method of claim 27, wherein the tissue parameter feedback comprises at least one of tissue impedance, tissue type, or temperature of the tissue [Para 0038-0043].
Regarding claim 29, Johnson discloses 29. The method of claim 27, wherein the tissue parameter feedback is based on temperature of an electrode or an ultrasonic blade or an electrical impedance of an ultrasonic transducer [Para 0019 mentions the use of electrodes and adjusting if the waveform].
Regarding claim 33, Johnson discloses a method of generating electrical signal waveforms by a generator, the generator comprising a processor and a memory in communication with the processor, the memory defining a first and second table [Para 0012 discusses the use of tables], the method comprising: retrieving, by the processor, stored phase points defining a first digital electrical signal wave shape of a first electrical signal waveform from the first table defined in memory; retrieving, by the processor, stored phase points defining a second digital electrical signal wave shape of a second electrical signal waveform from the second table defined in memory; receiving, by the processor, tissue parameter feedback; and determining, by the processor, whether to switch or synchronize the phase points of the first and second electrical signal waveforms based on the tissue parameter feedback [Para 0012-0019, Para 0038-0043, 0059, Para 0012 specifically mentions adjusting of parameters]. The examiner notes that the method steps as claimed do not actively apply the waveform to tissue. Additionally, it does not send the signal to a device for treatment of tissue. Any generator that creates waveforms is capable of the steps claimed.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,624,691. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the present application and the previously patented invention are directed towards a method of generating electrical signal waveforms by a generator including retrieving stored phase points defining first and second digital electrical signal wave shapes and receiving tissue parameter feedback. The use of RF or ultrasound components found in claims 23, 25, 29, 31, and 40 are found in patent claims 3, 11 and 16.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11766,287. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the present application and the previously patented invention are directed towards a method of generating electrical signal waveforms by a generator or processor including retrieving stored phase points defining first and second digital electrical signal wave shapes and receiving tissue parameter feedback. Claim 21 also discusses switching or modification of phase points based on tissue parameters (as discussed in patent claim 9 and 19). Synchronization of the phase points address in claim 27 are found in patent claim 9. The use of RF or ultrasound components found in claims 23, 25, 29, 31, and 40 are found in patent claims 3, 11 and 16.
Conclusion
/A.L.Z/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794