Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “inner loop” and “outer loop” of claims 4-6 and 13-15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Further, the drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the operation of the claimed “inner loop” and “outer loop” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
The drawings are also objected to due to missing element number “156” in Fig. 2, as stated in paragraph [0055].
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 12, Para. [0040], Line 18, change from “44” to –42—
Page 13, Para. [0041], Line 12, change from “44” to –42—
Page 17, Para. [0054], Line 9, change from “12” to –112—
Page 17, Para. [0054], Line 10, change from “14” to –114—
Page 18, Para. [0057], Line 5, change from “12” to –112—
Page 18, Para. [0057], Line 9, change from “12” to –112—
Page 18, Para. [0057], Line 11, change from “12” to –112—
Page 18, Para. [0058], Line 3, change from “14” to –114—
Page 18, Para. [0058], Line 4, change from “22” to –122—
Page 18, Para. [0058], Line 5, change from “12” to –112—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
It is not clear how the claimed “inner loop” controls battery current, nor is it clear how the “outer loop” controls the battery voltage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-10 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brabec U.S. PGPub 2011/0025125 A1 (hereinafter Brabec).
Regarding Claim 1, Brabec teaches a battery staging system (Brabec, Figs. 2-4; Abstract) comprising a first battery (Brabec, Figs. 2-4, Element 95 of 80; Paras. [0043] and [0049]) in operative communication with an electrical load (Brabec, Fig 1. Element 55; Para. [0049]), a second battery (Brabec, Figs. 2-4, Element 100 of 80; Paras. [0043] and [0049]) in operative communication with the electrical load (Brabec, Fig. 2; As illustrated) and in operative communication with the first battery (Brabec, Fig. 2; As illustrated), a boost controller (Brabec, Fig. 2, Element 300; Para. [0055]) in operative communication with the first battery and the second battery (Brabec, Fig. 2; As illustrated), an inductor (Brabec, Fig. 2, Element “L”; Para. [0054]) in operative communication with the boost controller (Brabec, Fig. 2; As illustrated, via switches A-D), the first battery (Brabec, Fig. 2; As illustrated, via switch A or B), a ground (Brabec, Fig. 2; As illustrated, via switch B or D) and the second battery (Brabec, Fig. 2; As illustrated, via switch C or D), whereby the inductor is connected between the first battery and the ground for a predetermined time to obtain a predetermined inductor current (Brabec, Fig. 3; Para. [0059], PWM control to set “Iref” and “Vref” according to sensed “Isense” and “VsenseO1”), the boost controller is configured to pull a first battery current from the first battery and drive the first battery current into the second battery responsive to the predetermined inductor current (Brabec, Para. [0059]), the inductor being connected to the second battery responsive to the inductor obtaining the predetermined inductor current (Brabec, Para. [0059]), whereby the inductor is reconnected between the first battery and the ground before the inductor current reaches zero (Brabec, Para. [0059]), and the boost converter controller configured to pull the first battery current from the first battery until the first battery voltage reaches a target voltage (Brabec, Para. [0059], “Vref”).
Regarding Claim 10, Brabec teaches a process for transferring charge from an offline battery to an online battery utilizing a boost controller (Brabec, Figs. 2,4; Abstract) comprising: operatively connecting a first battery (Brabec, Figs. 2-4, Element 95 of 80; Paras. [0043] and [0049]) with an electrical load (Brabec, Fig 1. Element 55; Para. [0049]), subsequently operatively connecting a second battery (Brabec, Figs. 2-4, Element 100 of 80; Paras. [0043] and [0049]) with the electrical load (Brabec, Fig. 2; As illustrated) and operatively connecting the second battery in communication with the first battery (Brabec, Fig. 2; As illustrated); operatively connecting a boost controller (Brabec, Fig. 2, Element 300; Para. [0055]) in operative communication with the first battery and the second battery (Brabec, Fig. 2; As illustrated); operatively connecting an inductor (Brabec, Fig. 2, Element “L”; Para. [0054]) in communication with the boost controller (Brabec, Fig. 2; As illustrated, via switches A-D), the first battery (Brabec, Fig. 2; As illustrated, via switch A or B), a ground (Brabec, Fig. 2; As illustrated, via switch B or D) and the second battery (Brabec, Fig. 2; As illustrated, via switch C or D), whereby the inductor is connected between the first battery and the ground for a predetermined time to obtain a predetermined inductor current (Brabec, Fig. 3; Para. [0059], PWM control to set “Iref” and “Vref” according to sensed “Isense” and “VsenseO1”), configuring the boost controller to pull a first battery current from the first battery and drive the first battery current into the second battery responsive to the predetermined inductor current (Brabec, Para. [0059]), connecting the inductor to the second battery responsive to the inductor obtaining the predetermined inductor current (Brabec, Para. [0059]), whereby the inductor is reconnected between the first battery and the ground before the inductor current reaches zero (Brabec, Para. [0059]), and configuring the boost controller to pull the first battery current from the first battery until the first battery voltage reaches a target voltage (Brabec, Para. [0059], “Vref”).
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, The teaching of the Brabec reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 1 and 10 respectively. Furthermore, Brabec teaches wherein the first battery is activated and connected to the electrical load before the second battery is activated and connected to the electrical load (Brabec, Fig. 5, Elements 210a-210c; Paras. [0053] – [0054], via the Enable circuitry.).
Regarding Claims 4 and 13, The teaching of the Brabec reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 1 and 10 respectively. Furthermore, Brabec teaches wherein the boost controller includes an inner loop, the inner loop being configured to control the first battery current (Brabec, Fig. 3; Para. [0059], PWM control to set “Iref” according to sensed “Isense”).
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, The teaching of the Brabec reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 4/1 and 13/10 respectively. Furthermore, Brabec teaches wherein the inner loop is configured to measure a loop error and apply one of a full voltage or no voltage for a predetermined period of time (Brabec, Fig. 3; Para. [0059]).
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, The teaching of the Brabec reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 1 and 10 respectively. Furthermore, Brabec teaches wherein the boost controller includes an outer loop; the outer loop being configured to control the first battery voltage (Brabec, Fig. 3; Para. [0059], PWM control to set “Vref” according to sensed “VsenseO1”).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, The teaching of the Brabec reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 1 and 10 respectively. Furthermore, Brabec teaches wherein the boost controller is configured to transfer a charge from the first battery to the second battery, wherein the first battery is offline and the second battery is online (Brabec, Para. [0054] – [0058]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, The teaching of the Brabec reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 1 and 10 respectively. Furthermore, Brabec teaches wherein the boost controller is configured to measure battery impedance (Brabec, Para. [0059]).
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, The teaching of the Brabec reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 1 and 10 respectively. Furthermore, Brabec teaches wherein the boost controller is configured to determine an online battery resistance responsive to: a measurement of the online battery voltage when the inductor is connected to the online battery; and a measurement of the online battery voltage when the inductor is disconnected from the online battery (Brabec, Para. [0059]).
Regarding Claim 19, The teaching of the Brabec reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 10. Furthermore, Brabec teaches further comprising: controlling a first power switch with the boost controller; and controlling a second power switch with the boost controller (Brabec, Fig. 4, Element 300; Para. [0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brabec U.S. PGPub 2011/0025125 A1 (hereinafter Brabec) as applied to claims 1 and 10 respectively above, and further in view of Im et al. U.S. PGPub 2022/0190358 A1 (hereinafter Im).
Regarding Claims 2 and 11, The teaching of the Brabec reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 1 and 10 respectively, but does not teach the battery being thermal type.
Im, however, teaches wherein the first battery is a thermal battery and the second battery is a thermal battery (Im, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Brabec is silent as to using thermal batteries for the batteries of the converter, Brabec would inherently incorporate some type of conventional battery types commonly understood in the art. The thermal batteries taught by Im, for providing long shelf life batteries, teaches one of the many conventional battery types utilized in the art for providing power to an electrical load. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional battery types, such as the one taught by Im, to provide long shelf life within the battery pack of Brabec.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The primary reason for allowance of the claim is the inclusion of a second boost controller controlling a separate function of the battery staging system.
Regarding Claim 20: Though the prior art discloses a battery staging system comprising a first battery in operative communication with an electrical load; a second battery in operative communication with the electrical load and in operative communication with the first battery; a first boost controller in operative communication with the first battery and in operative communication with the second battery; a first inductor in operative communication with the first boost controller, the first battery, a ground and the second battery; whereby the first inductor is connected between the first battery and the ground for a predetermined time to obtain a first predetermined inductor current; the first boost controller is configured to pull a first battery current from the first battery and drive the first battery current into the second battery responsive to the first predetermined inductor current; the first inductor being connected to the second battery responsive to the first inductor obtaining the predetermined inductor current; whereby the first inductor is reconnected between the first battery and the ground before the first inductor current falls below zero; and the first boost controller configured to pull the first battery current from the first battery until the first battery voltage reaches a target voltage, it fails to teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations of claim 20, and further including the combination of:
a second boost controller in operative communication with the second battery and in operative communication with an nth battery;
a second inductor in operative communication with the second boost controller, the second battery, a ground and the nth battery; whereby the second inductor is connected between the second battery and the ground for a predetermined time to obtain a second predetermined inductor current;
the second boost controller is configured to pull a second battery current from the second battery and drive the second battery current into an nth battery responsive to the second predetermined inductor current;
the second inductor being connected to the nth battery responsive to the second inductor obtaining the second predetermined inductor current; whereby the second inductor is reconnected between the second battery and the ground before the second inductor current falls below zero; and
the second boost controller configured to pull the second battery current from the second battery until the second battery voltage reaches a target voltage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bogue et al. U.S. Patent 3,767,933 teaches power sources sequentially placed on load one at a time.
Pathe et al. U.S. Patent 4,585,713 teaches thermal batteries with switched activation.
Bogue et al. U.S. Patent 3,693,068 teaches sequentially activated batteries
/JERRY D ROBBINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859