DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: At least 204A and 214 are missing from the figures. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: The term, “the deflector plate” is used in claim9 with improper antecedent basis, but was understood by the Office to mean “a deflector plate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,8, and 14-16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whittenburg et al. (US 4,509,412) in view of Ruttel (DE 29 09 811 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Whittenburg (W) discloses a food steaming system (Abstract), comprising: an enclosed interior space (area containing (99) in Figure 4) defined by a first wall (31, 60); a cooking volume (50) within the interior space defined by a second wall (Exterior of (50)) radially inboard of the fist wall (31,60) forming an annulus between the first wall and the second wall (Upward steam arrows, Figure 4); a steam generator (22,40), disposed proximate the cooking volume configured to inject a steam flow into the annulus prior to the steam flow entering the cooking volume (See arrows in Figure 4), but does not disclose an air mover operatively connected to move the steam flow upwards through the annulus from a lower portion of the interior space to an upper portion of the interior space.
However, Ruttel (R) disclose a food steamer (Abstract) with an air mover (2, Figure 1) operatively connected to move the steam flow (9, Figure 1 arrows) upwards through the annulus from a lower portion of the interior space to an upper portion of the interior space. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize a blower to increase the circulation of steam within the device if it were desirous to cook the food faster.
Regarding claim 2, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steaming system of claim 1, wherein the air mover (2, Figure 1) is configured to form an upward moving cyclonic steam flow (9) within the annulus rotating about a rotational axis of the air mover.
Regarding claim 8, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steaming system of claim 1, wherein the cooking volume includes an upper cooking volume (W-at 60, Figure 4) and a lower cooking volume (W-at 31 in Figure 4), wherein the second wall includes a gap between the upper cooking volume and the lower cooking volume to allow the steam flow moving in the annulus to enter the lower cooking volume, while the steam flow continues in the annulus to the upper cooking volume (W-Arrows near 30 in Figure 4).
Regarding claim 14, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steaming system of claim 1, further comprising a drip tray (W-30, Figure 4) operatively connected to the lower portion of the cooking volume configured to catch condensate formed in the cooking volume to prevent condensate from interacting with the air mover.
Regarding claim 15, Whittenburg (W) discloses a food steamer (Abstract), comprising: a steamer unit (10, Figure 1) configured to cook foodstuffs (99) within the steamer unit using a steam flow; and a base unit (31, Figure 4) operatively coupled to the steamer unit configured to provide the steam flow to the steamer unit, the base unit comprising: a steam generator (via 22, 40), configured to generate the steam flow, but does not disclose an air mover disposed below the steamer unit configured to drive the steam flow from the steam generator upwards into the steamer unit as an upward moving cyclonic column of steam rotating about a rotational axis of the air mover and along an outer periphery of the steamer unit.
However, Ruttel (R) disclose a food steamer (Abstract) with an air mover (2, Figure 1) disposed below the steamer unit (The motor portion is below the steam generator) configured to drive the steam flow (9, Figure 1 arrows) from the steam generator upwards into the steamer unit as an upward moving cyclonic column of steam rotating about a rotational axis of the air mover and along an outer periphery of the steamer unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize a blower to increase the circulation of steam within the device if it were desirous to cook the food faster.
Regarding claim 16, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steamer of claim 15, wherein the steamer unit further includes: an enclosed interior space defined by a first wall (end of (13) IN Figure 1); a cooking volume (7) within the interior space defined by a second wall (6) radially inboard of the fist wall forming an annulus therebetween, wherein the cyclonic column of steam (9) is configured to rotate within the annulus.
Claims 3-5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whittenburg et al. (US 4,509,412), Ruttel (DE 29 09 811 A1), and Cheung et al. (US 2013/0126514).
Regarding claim 3, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steaming system of claim 1, but not that the steam generator includes a water inlet, a heating element, and a steam outlet, the water inlet and heating element being upstream of the steam outlet.
However, Cheung (C) discloses a food steamer (Abstract) wherein the steam generator includes a water inlet (53), a heating element (5), and a steam outlet (51, Figure 3), the water inlet and heating element being upstream of the steam outlet ([0025]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize a water tank system to simplify the operation of the device, by being able to add water to the steam whilst in operation.
Regarding claim 4, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steaming system of claim 3, further comprising a reservoir (4, Figure 2) fluidly connected to the water inlet to provide water to the steam generator via the water inlet ([0028-0029]).
Regarding claim 5, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steaming system of claim 4, further comprising a pump (7) fluidly connected to pump water from the reservoir to the steam generator via the water inlet ([0027]).
Regarding claim 18, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steamer of claim 15, wherein the base unit further includes an expandable fluid reservoir (7) fluidly connected to provide water to the steam generator and a pump fluidly connected to pump water from the reservoir (4, Figure 2) to the steam generator ([0027]).
Claims 6-7, 9-10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whittenburg et al. (US 4,509,412), Ruttel (DE 29 09 811 A1), and Lee et al. (US 4,467,784)
Regarding claim 6, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steaming system of claim 1, but not that it comprises a deflector plate disposed at the upper portion of the interior space and extending into the cooking volume configured to deflect steam flow from the annulus into the cooking volume as a downward moving cyclonic steam flow.
However Lee (L) disclose a deflector plate (1, Figure 2) suitable for being
disposed at the upper portion of the interior space and extending into the cooking volume configured to deflect steam flow from the annulus into the cooking volume as a downward moving cyclonic steam flow (Figures-1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilized a coned deflector at the peak of the steam to help direct the steam towards the center of the device to better distribute the steam for more even cooking.
Regarding claim 7, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steaming system of claim 6, wherein the deflector plate has a generally conical shape, wherein a peak of the deflector plate extends downwards into the cooking volume (3, Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 9, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steaming system of claim 8, wherein the deflector plate is a first deflector plate (3, Figures 1-4), and further comprising a second deflector plate (W-50, Figure 6), disposed at an upper portion of the lower cooking volume.
Regarding claim 10, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steaming system of claim 9, wherein the first deflector plate (3, Figures 1-4) is defined on an interior surface of a lid of the food steamer system, wherein the second deflector plate (W-50, Figure 6) is defined on a bottom surface of a tray for holding foodstuffs in the upper cooking volume.
Regarding claim 17, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steamer of claim 16, but not that the steamer unit further includes a deflector plate disposed at an upper portion of the interior space and extending into the cooking volume, the deflector plate having a generally conical shape and wherein a peak of the deflector plate extends downwards into the cooking volume configured to deflect the upward moving cyclonic column of steam into the cooking volume downwards towards the foodstuffs within the steamer unit as a downward moving cyclonic flow of steam.
However Lee (L) disclose a deflector plate 1, Figure 2) suitable for being
disposed at an upper portion of the interior space and extending into the cooking volume, the deflector plate having a generally conical shape (3) and wherein a peak of the deflector plate extends downwards into the cooking volume configured to deflect the upward moving cyclonic column of steam into the cooking volume downwards towards the foodstuffs within the steamer unit as a downward moving cyclonic flow of steam.
(Figures-1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilized a coned deflector at the peak of the steam to help direct the steam towards the center of the device to better distribute the steam for more even cooking.
Claims 11-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whittenburg et al. (US 4,509,412), Ruttel (DE 29 09 811 A1), and Van Der Vlis et al. (US 2012/0247342).
Regarding claim 11, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steaming system of claim 1, but not that a controller operatively connected to a motor coupled to the air mover to drive the air mover at one or more predetermined speeds based on input received from a user.
However, Van Der Vlis (V), discloses a food steamer (Abstract) that comprises a controller (240) operatively connected to a motor coupled to the air mover to drive the air mover at one or more predetermined speeds based on input received from a user ([0025, 0059]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize a controller in order to control the temperature and amount of steam provided to the food to prepare a perfect meal, every time.
Regarding claim 12, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steaming system of claim 11, wherein the one or more predetermined speeds includes a first speed configured and adapted to provide an optimal steam flow to a single cooking volume within the interior space and a second speed configured and adapted to provide an optimal steam flow to multiple cooking volumes within the interior space ([0060,0065], the temperature sensor input figures into the control scheme to ensure compensation for the additional thermal mass of additional foodstuff within the device).
Regarding claim 13, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steaming system of claim 12, wherein the user input includes a number of cooking volumes occupied with foodstuffs selected by the user on a user interface operatively connected to provide the user input to the controller ([0060,0065]).
Regarding claim 19, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steamer of claim 15, but not that an amount of steam injected into the steamer unit is controlled as a function of a number of cooking volumes within the steamer unit.
However, Van Der Vlis (V), discloses a food steamer (Abstract) that comprises a controller (240) operatively connected to a motor coupled to the air mover to drive wherein the user input includes a number of cooking volumes occupied with foodstuffs selected by the user on a user interface operatively connected to provide the user input to the controller ([0060,0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize a controller in order to control the temperature and amount of steam provided to the food to cook the meal as directed by the user.
Regarding claim 20, Whittenburg (W), as modified, discloses the food steamer of claim 15, wherein a speed of the air mover is controlled as a function of a number of cooking volumes within the steamer unit ([0060,0065]).
Conclusion
/JOHN E BARGERO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/STEVEN B MCALLISTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762