CTNF 18/131,334 CTNF 98848 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 4/5/2023, 9/26/2023, 5/1/2024, 10/10/2025, and 12/28/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims are narrative in form and contain indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. Claim 1 recites the limitation, “a backmost end portion in a short direction of the keyboard instrument.” A short direction of a keyboard would typically be a vertical direction. It is unknown what is meant by this limitation in this claim. In the interest of advancing prosecution, this limitation will be interpreted as “a backmost end portion in a shorter of two horizontal directions of the keyboard instrument.” Claims 2-9 are likewise rejected for depending, directly or indirectly from claim 1. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 4 recites the limitation " the keyboard instrument set " in line 4 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The scope and structure of claim 4 are unclear. It is unknown what is meant by a “setting floor surface,” and the scope of the keyboard instrument coming “to face a setting floor surface” is unclear. Keyboard instruments mounted on stands typically face a floor surface on a bottom side. Furthermore, the keyboard instrument need not be attached to the keyboard instrument stand. The instrument may fall to a back side without while the keyboard instrument stand remains stationary, or the instrument and stand may fall in varying directions and contact separate surfaces in the event that the instrument comes to face a setting floor surface. Additionally, the scope of the negative limitation, “is not brought into abutment” is unclear. Appropriate correction is required. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 7 recites the limitation " the connector " in line 4 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: 07-08-aia AIA A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Nakata (US 20080276788 A1, November 3, 2009), hereinafter Nakata, to the extent understood. Regarding claim 1 , Nakata discloses a keyboard instrument stand comprising: a leg portion configured to support a keyboard instrument (Nakata fig. 5 below: leg portions 72 and 74) ; a pedal device (Nakata ¶0041: "the second embodiment and the modified example of the first and third embodiments are provided with the plurality of pedals 62") ; and a pedal frame configured to fix the pedal device (Nakata ¶0024: "a pedal unit 80 is fastened to the bar member 78." Pedal unit 80 and bar member 78 comprise a pedal frame.) of which at least a part is disposed further backwards than a backmost end portion in a short direction of the keyboard instrument (Nakata ¶0027: "the position of the pedal unit 80 is moved away in the backward direction with respect to the position of the main body 10 (the keyboard 12 in particular)." See the arrangement disclosed in Nakata Fig. 5 below.) . PNG media_image1.png 649 563 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 6 , Nakata discloses a keyboard instrument stand comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Nakata further discloses a horizontal spanning member extending in a key alignment direction (Nakata ¶0021: "A bar member 78 is fastened to the lower stand portions 74 of the both sides, so that the lower stand portions of the both sides are made to have a certain interval.") ; and plural connectors which are disposed individually at both ends of the horizontal spanning member (Nakata ¶0021: "A bar member 78 is fastened to the lower stand portions 74 of the both sides, so that the lower stand portions of the both sides are made to have a certain interval." Fastening inherently discloses connectors between bar member 78 and lower stand legs 74.), wherein each of the plural connectors comprises a pedal frame fixing portion configured to fix the pedal frame and a leg fixing portion configured to fix the leg portion (Plural connectors (fasteners) fixes the pedal frame (comprising pedal unit 80 and bar member 78) to the lower leg portions 74 of both sides. Each connector (fastener) therefore inherently comprises a pedal frame fixing portion and a leg fixing portion.) . Regarding claim 7 , Nakata discloses a keyboard instrument stand comprising the features of claim 6 as discussed above. Nakata further discloses that an upper end portion of the pedal frame is fixed to the connector on a back side of the connector in case viewed from a player's side (Nakata ¶0021: "A bar member 78 is fastened to the lower stand portions 74 of the both sides, so that the lower stand portions of the both sides are made to have a certain interval." Nakata fig. 5 above discloses an upper end portion of pedal frame 78 fixed on the back side of the connector (fastener); lower leg portion 74 is fixed on the front side of the connector (fastener).) . Regarding claim 8 , Nakata discloses a keyboard instrument stand comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Nakata further discloses a keyboard instrument (Nakata ¶0008: "an electronic musical instrument according to the present invention includes a main body having a keyboard operated with player's hands; a lower stand portion being placed on a floor; an upper stand portion supporting the main body at an upper portion of the upper stand portion") . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Nakata in view of Kuwabara (JPH 11202858 A, July 30, 1999), hereinafter Kuwabara, to the extent understood. Regarding claim 2 , Nakata discloses a keyboard instrument stand comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Nakata further teaches that an upper end of the pedal frame is disposed further toward a back side than an upper end of the leg portion (Nakata ¶0027: "the position of the pedal unit 80 is moved away in the backward direction with respect to the position of the main body 10 (the keyboard 12 in particular)." See the arrangement disclosed in Nakata Fig. 5 above.) . Nakata does not explicitly disclose that the leg portion is disposed in such a manner as to be expanded outwards of the keyboard instrument in case viewed not only in a front-back direction but also in a left-right direction. However, Kuwabara teaches that the leg portion is disposed in such a manner as to be expanded outwards of the keyboard instrument in case viewed not only in a front-back direction but also in a left-right direction (Kuwabara ¶0006: "the present invention comprises at least three legs and a leg support frame to which these legs are attached, and the leg support frame holds each leg at an incline so that the spacing between each leg narrows upward, and each leg can be changed in position along the inclined direction." See Kuwabara fig. 1 below for a drawing of legs expanding outward in the front-back and left-right directions.) . It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the keyboard instrument stand of Nakata by adding the outward expanding legs of Kuwabara to adjust the width of the stand to suit instruments of different widths (Kuwabara ¶0007). PNG media_image2.png 904 960 media_image2.png Greyscale Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Nakata in view of Terui (WO 2019043944 A1, March 7, 2019), hereinafter Terui, to the extent understood. Regarding claim 3 , Nakata discloses a keyboard instrument stand comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Nakata does not explicitly disclose that the leg portion comprises two back legs provided on a back side, and wherein the pedal device and the pedal frame are disposed further toward a front side than a line which connects backmost end portions of the two back legs. However, Terui suggests that the leg portion comprises two back legs provided on a back side (Terui fig. 1 below, ref. nos. 132a and 132b) , and wherein the pedal device and the pedal frame are disposed further toward a front side than a line which connects backmost end portions of the two back legs (Terui fig. 1 below, ref. nos. 106a, 106b, 104, and 116, and attached to cross piece ref. no. 134, are disposed further toward a front side than a line which connects the backmost end portions of legs 132a and 132b.) . It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the keyboard instrument stand of Nakata by adding the front-forward disposition of the pedals of Terui to permit the user to operate the pedals without any discomfort (Terui ¶0020). PNG media_image3.png 837 917 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding claim 9 , Nakata discloses a keyboard instrument stand comprising the features of claim 8 as discussed above. Nakata does not explicitly disclose a data communication portion for communication with external equipment is provided at a central portion on a back surface of the keyboard instrument, and wherein the data communication portion is disposed inside the pedal frame in the case that the keyboard instrument and the keyboard instrument stand are fixed to each other. However, Terui teaches a data communication portion for communication with external equipment is provided at a central portion of the keyboard instrument (Terui ¶0033: "the pedal device 100 is electrically connected to the keyboard instrument 142 via a cable 118." See ref. no. 118 in Terui fig. 1 above.) , and wherein the data communication portion is disposed inside the pedal frame in the case that the keyboard instrument and the keyboard instrument stand are fixed to each other (Terui ¶0033: "the pedal device 100 is electrically connected to the keyboard instrument 142 via a cable 118." Terui fig. 1 above suggests the pedal end of cable 118 being disposed inside pedal frame 104.) . Terui does not explicitly disclose that the data communication portion on a back surface of the keyboard instrument. However, locating the data communication portion on the back surface of the keyboard instrument would not modify the operation of the device, and therefore represents an unpatentable design choice involving rearrangement of parts. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the keyboard instrument stand of Nakata by adding the data communication portion of Terui to electrically connect the pedal to change the decay behavior, tone, and volume of the sound (Terui ¶0002). Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Nakata in view of Wang (CN 110619861 A, December 27, 2019), hereinafter Wang, to the extent understood. Regarding claim 5 , Nakata discloses a keyboard instrument stand comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Nakata does not explicitly disclose that the pedal frame comprises two rod members which extend from a left and right side portions of the pedal device towards an upper side in such a manner as to define an inverted trapezoidal shape therebetween in case viewed from a front side. However, Wang suggests that the pedal frame comprises two rod members which extend from a left and right side portions of the pedal device towards an upper side in such a manner as to define a trapezoidal shape therebetween in case viewed from a front side (Wang ¶0089: "a secondary support is also included, which includes at least one secondary support rod 22, the two ends of which are movably connected to the upper crossbar 101 and the lower crossbar 201, respectively." Wang fig. 2 below discloses support rods 22 arranged in a trapezoidal shape, connecting to lower crossbar 201, which comprises a similar position and function to Nakada's pedal frame.) . Wang does not explicitly disclose an inverted trapezoidal shape. However, inverting Wang's trapezoidal shape would not modify the operation of the device, and therefore represents an unpatentable design choice involving rearrangement of parts. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Besides, it is well-known in the art that grand piano pedal backstay rods commonly define an inverted trapezoidal shape, for example the Bosendorfer 290 Imperial Concert Grand. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the keyboard instrument stand of Nakata by adding the rod members of Wang to provide auxiliary support (Wang ¶0089). PNG media_image4.png 657 1097 media_image4.png Greyscale Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PHILIP SCOLES whose telephone number is (703)756-1831. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:30-4:30 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Dedei Hammond can be reached on 571-270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PHILIP G SCOLES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2837 /DEDEI K HAMMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/131,334 Page 2 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/131,334 Page 3 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/131,334 Page 4 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/131,334 Page 5 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/131,334 Page 6 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/131,334 Page 7 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/131,334 Page 8 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/131,334 Page 9 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/131,334 Page 10 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/131,334 Page 11 Art Unit: 2837