DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action on the merits in response to the application filed on 12/04/2025.
Claims 1-5, 7-14, and 16-22 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/04/2025 with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-5, 7-14, and 16-22 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The rejection (and corresponding rejections to its dependent claims, if applicable) is maintained.
The applicant amended Independent Claim 1, Without conceding to the merits of the rejections, Applicant has amended the present independent claim 1 as follows method for processing a blockchain transaction using a payment card and a linked self-custodial blockchain wallet, comprising: receiving, by a receiver of a processing server from a merchant system via a payment network, an authorization request for a blockchain payment transaction initiated using the payment card, wherein the authorization request includes transaction data stored in one or more data elements, the transaction data including at least a payment card number, a transaction amount, a currency identifier associated with a blockchain network, and a merchant blockchain wallet wallet based on an association between the linked self-custodial blockchain wallet and the payment card number; verifying, by the processor of the processing server, compliance with one or more restrictions on use of the linked blockchain wallet based on at least the transaction data and a transaction history of the linked self-custodial blockchain wallet; executing, by a transmitter of the processing server, a smart contract stored on a blockchain of the blockchain network, where at least the transaction amount and merchant blockchain wallet
The examiner states Groarke describes “receiving, by a receiver of a processing server from a merchant system via a payment network, an authorization request for a blockchain payment transaction initiated using the payment card, wherein the authorization request includes transaction data stored in one or more data elements, the transaction data including at least a payment card number, a transaction amount, a currency identifier associated with a blockchain network, and a merchant blockchain wallet address, the blockchain network associated with the linked self-custodial blockchain wallet,” at “Claim 1. receiving, by a receiver of the processing server, an authorization request for a payment transaction from an external entity, wherein the authorization request is formatted according to one or more standards and includes at least a plurality of data elements including at least a first data element configured to store an account number, a second data element configured to store the merchant identifier, and a third data element configured to store a transaction amount; generating, by a processing device of the processing server, a recipient blockchain address using the merchant public key; and Para. 0025, The blockchain wallet may be associated with a blockchain network 114 that is used to transmit and receive blockchain currency in electronic payment transactions conducted via the blockchain network 114. A blockchain wallet may be an application program that is executed by a computing device 110 possessed by the consumer 104. A blockchain wallet may include a private key of a cryptographic key pair that is used to generate digital signatures that serve as authorization by the consumer 104 for a blockchain transaction, where the digital signature can be verified by the blockchain network 114 using the public key of the cryptographic key pair. In some cases, the term “blockchain wallet” may refer specifically to the private key…Para. 0033-0034, The transaction message may include a plurality of data elements, where each data element is configured to store transaction data as indicated in the applicable standard(s), which may also be represented by one or more bitmaps stored in the transaction message. Each transaction message may also include a message type indicator indicative of a type of transaction message, used in the processing thereof. The transaction message received by the payment network 112 for the payment transaction may be formatted by the merchant system 106 or by an intermediate entity, such as an acquiring institution… The transaction message may be an authorization request (e.g., as indicated by the message type indicator) where the data elements included therein may store the transaction data including at least the account number, transaction amount, and merchant identifier that is unique to the merchant involved in the payment transaction. In some embodiments, the processing server 102 may be a part of the payment network 112 and may assist in the processing of payment transactions thereby. In other embodiments, the processing server 102 may be external to the payment network 112 and may receive authorization requests form the payment network 112 for processing.”. Examiner interprets the term linked self-custodial blockchain wallet is analogous for blockchain wallet may be associated with a blockchain network 114 that is used to transmit and receive blockchain currency… may include a private key of a cryptographic key pair that is used to generate digital signatures that serve as authorization by the consumer 104 for a blockchain transaction, where the digital signature can be verified by the blockchain network 114 using the public key of the cryptographic key pair in the cited prior art. The Examiner states that although “currency identifier field,” it associates the transaction with a blockchain network and blockchain currency. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “currency identifier associated with blockchain network” is interpreted as the blockchain currency, blockchain network, and blockchain amount based on transaction amount.
The examiner states Groarke describes “receiving, by the receiver of the processing server from a blockchain node in the blockchain network, a confirmation message including a transaction identifier identifying a blockchain transaction added to the blockchain, the blockchain transaction corresponding to the blockchain payment transaction,” at “Para. 0068, In one embodiment, the method 400 may further include receiving, by the receiver of the processing server, a confirmation message from the node in the blockchain network, wherein the confirmation message includes at least a blockchain transaction reference value. In a further embodiment, the plurality of data elements included in the authorization response may further include a second data element configured to store the blockchain transaction reference value. In another further embodiment, the method 400 may also include storing, in a memory (e.g., the memory 226) of the processing server, a linkage between the blockchain transaction reference value and the payment transaction. In an even further embodiment, the linkage may be between the blockchain transaction reference value and a transaction identifier included in a fourth data element included in the plurality of data elements included in the authorization request.; and Para. 0039, In some embodiments, the processing server 102 may wait until the blockchain network 114 provides (e.g., or the processing server 102 independently performs) confirmation of the blockchain transaction before returning the authorization response. In other embodiments, the processing server 102 may return the authorization response after submitting the blockchain transaction, before a confirmation is received. In some such embodiments, the processing server 102 may maintain an accounting of the blockchain currency available to the consumer's blockchain wallet, and may only return the authorization response prior to confirmation if the consumer's blockchain wallet has sufficient blockchain currency available to cover the blockchain transaction. In some instances, the accounting of blockchain currency available to the consumer's blockchain wallet may only be identifiable in cases where the processing server 102 possesses the private key for the consumer's blockchain wallet.; and Para. 0029, In some instances, the node may return a blockchain transaction identifier to the computing device 110, which may be a value that is unique to that blockchain transaction for identification thereof. In such traditional transactions, the merchant system 106 is required to generate blockchain address or distribute its public key, and, in some cases, may be required to submit the transaction data directly to blockchain networks 114. In the system 100, the processing server 102 may perform these functions as part of the hybrid authorization of payment transactions for greater convenience and ease of adoption by merchant systems 106.; and Para. 0055, FIG. 3 illustrates an example process 300 for the hybrid payment authorization of an initiated electronic payment transaction as either a fiat currency transaction or blockchain transaction as executed by the processing server 102 of FIG. 2 in the system 100.” Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “receiving, by the receiver of the processing server from a blockchain node in the blockchain network, a confirmation message including a transaction identifier identifying a blockchain transaction added to the blockchain, the blockchain transaction corresponding to the blockchain payment transaction” is interpreted as “receiving, by the receiver of the processing server, a confirmation message from the node in the blockchain network, wherein the confirmation message includes at least a blockchain transaction reference value.” The examiner states that once a block is completed, the block is then added to the blockchain. Therefore, the blockchain transaction is added to the blockchain, the confirmation message is received, and the transaction reference value is included in the cited prior art.
The examiner states Millius describes “executing, by a transmitter of the processing server, a smart contract stored on a blockchain of a blockchain network, where at least the transaction amount and merchant blockchain wallet address are provided as input for the smart contract”, at “Para. 0023, Once the aggregation process is completed, the most recent user-signed transaction is signed by the payment platform and submitted to the blockchain for withdrawal of cryptocurrency from the user's account and conversion into fiat currency.; and Para. 0025, when a new cryptocurrency wallet is opened for a user, the payment platform issues an address to the user for the new wallet, but does not initially deploy a new smart contract. Instead, the actual deploying of the smart contract is delayed until after a first purchase has been made using the issued address, and after any subsequent aggregation period has been completed.; and Para. 0045-0046, In any of the above embodiments, step A) can include depositing by the user of a plurality of types of cryptocurrency into a corresponding plurality of cryptocurrency accounts, and wherein the payment number issued to the user by the payment platform in step… J), deploying a new smart contract associated with the cryptocurrency account.” Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “executing, by a transmitter of the processing server, a smart contract stored on a blockchain of a blockchain network, where at least the transaction amount and merchant blockchain wallet address are provided as input for the smart contract” is interpreted as “deploying a new smart contract associated with the cryptocurrency account”. The examiner states the cited prior art is used for the disclosure pf the smart contract deployment and execution. The examiner also states the primary reference already discloses generating recipient blockchain addresses using the merchant public key, transmitting blockchain amount based on transaction amount, and transmitting to the blockchain nodes. Modifying the method to include executing, by a transmitter of the processing server, a smart contract stored on a blockchain of a blockchain network, where at least the transaction amount and destination address are provided as input for the smart contract results in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensures that the process of executing cryptocurrency is more streamlined with the use of smart contracts to mitigate error, thus improving the overall performance of the invention. See remarks on page 9-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16-18, 19 and 21are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groarke et al. (US 20200027084 A1), in view of Millius et al. (US 20200364686 A1), and further in view of Azgad-Tromer et al. (WO 2022159854 A1).
7. Regarding claims 1 and 10, Groarke discloses a method (a system for processing a blockchain transaction using a payment card and a linked self-custodial blockchain wallet, comprising: a blockchain network; and a processing server), (Para. 0041, In some embodiments, the processing server 102 may be configured to store data linking payment transactions processed as blockchain transactions with the underlying electronic payment transaction; and Para. 0037, If processing of the payment transaction as a blockchain transaction is authorized, then the processing server 102 may identify the consumer's blockchain wallet that is mapped to the account number included in the authorization request. In cases where the processing server 102 possesses the consumer's private key, the processing server 102 may generate the digital signature on behalf of the consumer 104. In other cases, the processing server 102 may request a digital signature from the computing device 110. In some instances, the computing device 110 may generate a digital signature that is transmitted to the processing server 102 when the payment transaction is initiated, in anticipation of processing as a blockchain transaction. The processing server 102 may also identify the merchant's blockchain address, either as included in the authorization request or generated by the processing server 102 using the merchant's public key (e.g., previously stored by the processing server 102 or included in the authorization request). The processing server 102 may then submit the blockchain transaction data to a node in the blockchain network 114 for processing.. Para. 0053-0055,The transmitting device 224 may also be configured to electronically transmit data signals to nodes in a blockchain network 114 that may be superimposed or otherwise encoded with data for use in a blockchain transaction, including at least a digital signature, recipient address, and blockchain currency amount. The processing server 102 may also include a memory 226…The memory 226 may also be configured to store linkage data for linkages between electronic payment transactions and blockchain transactions associated therewith, where such linkages may include unique identifiers associated with each respective transaction. FIG. 3 illustrates an example process 300 for the hybrid payment authorization of an initiated electronic payment transaction as either a fiat currency transaction or blockchain transaction as executed by the processing server 102 of FIG. 2 in the system 100.; and Para. 0024, As part of the issuing of the transaction account, the issuing institution 108 may issue a payment instrument to the consumer 104, such as a physical payment card, virtual payment card, paper check, virtual check, etc. The consumer 104 may receive the payment instrument, which may be provided to a merchant system 106 to convey payment credentials associated with the transaction account fund a payment transaction with that transaction account.)
receiving, by a receiver of a processing server from a merchant system via a payment network, an authorization request for a blockchain payment transaction initiated using the payment card, wherein the authorization request includes transaction data stored in one or more data elements, the transaction data including at least a payment card number, a transaction amount, a currency identifier associated with a blockchain network, and a merchant blockchain wallet address, the blockchain network associated with the linked self-custodial blockchain wallet, (Claim 1. receiving, by a receiver of the processing server, an authorization request for a payment transaction from an external entity, wherein the authorization request is formatted according to one or more standards and includes at least a plurality of data elements including at least a first data element configured to store an account number, a second data element configured to store the merchant identifier, and a third data element configured to store a transaction amount; generating, by a processing device of the processing server, a recipient blockchain address using the merchant public key; and Para. 0025, The blockchain wallet may be associated with a blockchain network 114 that is used to transmit and receive blockchain currency in electronic payment transactions conducted via the blockchain network 114. A blockchain wallet may be an application program that is executed by a computing device 110 possessed by the consumer 104. A blockchain wallet may include a private key of a cryptographic key pair that is used to generate digital signatures that serve as authorization by the consumer 104 for a blockchain transaction, where the digital signature can be verified by the blockchain network 114 using the public key of the cryptographic key pair. In some cases, the term “blockchain wallet” may refer specifically to the private key; and Para. 0030-0031, In the system 100, the consumer 104 may register with the processing server 102 for hybrid payment authorization. As part of the registration, the consumer 104 (e.g., or the financial institution 108 operating on behalf of the consumer 104) may provide the processing server 102 with the primary account number associated with the fiat currency transaction account issued to the consumer 104. The processing server 102 may also be provided with information associated with the consumer's blockchain wallet…The account number may be mapped in the processing server 102 to both the primary account number of the consumer's fiat currency transaction account as well as the consumer's blockchain wallet. The account number may be provided to the consumer 104 (e.g., via the computing device 110 or in a newly issued physical payment instrument; and Para. 0033-0034, The transaction message may include a plurality of data elements, where each data element is configured to store transaction data as indicated in the applicable standard(s), which may also be represented by one or more bitmaps stored in the transaction message. Each transaction message may also include a message type indicator indicative of a type of transaction message, used in the processing thereof. The transaction message received by the payment network 112 for the payment transaction may be formatted by the merchant system 106 or by an intermediate entity, such as an acquiring institution… The transaction message may be an authorization request (e.g., as indicated by the message type indicator) where the data elements included therein may store the transaction data including at least the account number, transaction amount, and merchant identifier that is unique to the merchant involved in the payment transaction. In some embodiments, the processing server 102 may be a part of the payment network 112 and may assist in the processing of payment transactions thereby. In other embodiments, the processing server 102 may be external to the payment network 112 and may receive authorization requests form the payment network 112 for processing.). Examiner interprets the term linked self-custodial blockchain wallet is analogous for blockchain wallet may be associated with a blockchain network 114 that is used to transmit and receive blockchain currency… may include a private key of a cryptographic key pair that is used to generate digital signatures that serve as authorization by the consumer 104 for a blockchain transaction, where the digital signature can be verified by the blockchain network 114 using the public key of the cryptographic key pair in the cited prior art. The Examiner states that although “currency identifier field,” it associates the transaction with a blockchain network and blockchain currency. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “currency identifier associated with blockchain network” is interpreted as the blockchain currency, blockchain network, and blockchain amount based on transaction amount.
receiving, by the receiver of the processing server from a blockchain node in the blockchain network, a confirmation message including a transaction identifier identifying a blockchain transaction added to the blockchain, the blockchain transaction corresponding to the blockchain payment transaction, (Para. 0068, In one embodiment, the method 400 may further include receiving, by the receiver of the processing server, a confirmation message from the node in the blockchain network, wherein the confirmation message includes at least a blockchain transaction reference value. In a further embodiment, the plurality of data elements included in the authorization response may further include a second data element configured to store the blockchain transaction reference value. In another further embodiment, the method 400 may also include storing, in a memory (e.g., the memory 226) of the processing server, a linkage between the blockchain transaction reference value and the payment transaction. In an even further embodiment, the linkage may be between the blockchain transaction reference value and a transaction identifier included in a fourth data element included in the plurality of data elements included in the authorization request.; and Para. 0039, In some embodiments, the processing server 102 may wait until the blockchain network 114 provides (e.g., or the processing server 102 independently performs) confirmation of the blockchain transaction before returning the authorization response. In other embodiments, the processing server 102 may return the authorization response after submitting the blockchain transaction, before a confirmation is received. In some such embodiments, the processing server 102 may maintain an accounting of the blockchain currency available to the consumer's blockchain wallet, and may only return the authorization response prior to confirmation if the consumer's blockchain wallet has sufficient blockchain currency available to cover the blockchain transaction. In some instances, the accounting of blockchain currency available to the consumer's blockchain wallet may only be identifiable in cases where the processing server 102 possesses the private key for the consumer's blockchain wallet.; and Para. 0029, In some instances, the node may return a blockchain transaction identifier to the computing device 110, which may be a value that is unique to that blockchain transaction for identification thereof. In such traditional transactions, the merchant system 106 is required to generate blockchain address or distribute its public key, and, in some cases, may be required to submit the transaction data directly to blockchain networks 114. In the system 100, the processing server 102 may perform these functions as part of the hybrid authorization of payment transactions for greater convenience and ease of adoption by merchant systems 106.; and Para. 0055, FIG. 3 illustrates an example process 300 for the hybrid payment authorization of an initiated electronic payment transaction as either a fiat currency transaction or blockchain transaction as executed by the processing server 102 of FIG. 2 in the system 100.) Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “receiving, by the receiver of the processing server from a blockchain node in the blockchain network, a confirmation message including a transaction identifier identifying a blockchain transaction added to the blockchain, the blockchain transaction corresponding to the blockchain payment transaction” is interpreted as “receiving, by the receiver of the processing server, a confirmation message from the node in the blockchain network, wherein the confirmation message includes at least a blockchain transaction reference value.” The examiner states that once a block is completed, the block is then added to the blockchain. Therefore, the blockchain transaction is added to the blockchain, the confirmation message is received, and the transaction reference value is included in the cited prior art.
generating, by the processor of the processing server, an authorization response message including a response code indicating approval of the payment transaction; and transmitting, by the transmitter of the processing server to the merchant system via the payment network, the authorization response message, (Para. 0007, wherein the processing device of the processing server is further configured to generate an authorization response for the payment transaction, wherein the authorization response is formatted according to the one or more standards and includes at least a plurality of data elements including a first data element configured to store a response code indicating approval or denial of the payment transaction, and the transmitter of the processing server is further configured to transmit the generated authorization response to the external entity.; and Para. 0039, The authorization response may be transmitted to the payment network 112 (e.g., via payment rails associated therewith) where the payment network 112 may perform any additional processing. In some embodiments, the processing server 102 may wait until the blockchain network 114 provides (e.g., or the processing server 102 independently performs) confirmation of the blockchain transaction before returning the authorization response. In other embodiments, the processing server 102 may return the authorization response after submitting the blockchain transaction, before a confirmation is received. In some such embodiments, the processing server 102 may maintain an accounting of the blockchain currency available to the consumer's blockchain wallet, and may only return the authorization response prior to confirmation if the consumer's blockchain wallet has sufficient blockchain currency available to cover the blockchain transaction. In some instances, the accounting of blockchain currency available to the consumer's blockchain wallet may only be identifiable in cases where the processing server 102 possesses the private key for the consumer's blockchain wallet.)
Groarke does not disclose identifying, by a processor of the processing server, the linked self-custodial blockchain wallet based on an association between the linked self-custodial blockchain wallet and the payment card number.
However, Millius teaches identifying, by a processor of the processing server, the linked self-custodial blockchain wallet based on an association between the linked self-custodial blockchain wallet and the payment card number, (Para. 0011, The wallets require that each transaction is doubly signed by both the user and the payment platform, such that the funds can only be distributed from a wallet via a blockchain transaction that is signed by the private keys of both the user and the payment platform. This dual-signing approach provides assurance to the payment platform that no expenditure of the deposited cryptocurrency can take place without their participation, and hence no attempt can be made to “double-spend” the deposited cryptocurrency.; and Para. 0012, As a result of the double-signing requirement, the cryptocurrency that funds the wallets of the user's account is subject to the “joint custody” of the user and the payment platform, according to the “two-of-two” multi-signature requirement for distribution. In embodiments, the payment platform account is subject to a contract between the user and the payment platform specifying terms that guarantee return to the user of sole control over the cryptocurrency that is stored in the account in the case of any dispute between the parties, or failure to perform on the part of the payment platform.; and Para. 0022, each time the user makes a purchase, the user submits a user-signed blockchain transaction to the payment platform authorizing withdrawal from the user's account of sufficient cryptocurrency to fund all of the user's transactions that have been made since the most recent, previous aggregate blockchain conversion. As the aggregation process continues, each time a new user-signed transaction is received, the payment platform archives or discards any previously received, unused user-signed transactions in favor of the new one.). Examiner interprets the term self-custodial blockchain wallet is analogous for the wallet controlled by the user with their private key, the user retains full control of the wallets and funds in the cited prior art.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Millius to the known invention of Groarke would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate digital wallet features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include identifying, by a processor of the processing server, the linked self-custodial blockchain wallet based on an association between the linked self-custodial blockchain wallet and the payment card number, results in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensures that user’s funds are secured while still being able to make transactions, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
Groarke does not disclose executing, by a transmitter of the processing server, a smart contract stored on a blockchain of a blockchain network, where at least the transaction amount and destination address are provided as input for the smart contract.
However, Millius teaches executing, by a transmitter of the processing server, a smart contract stored on a blockchain of a blockchain network, where at least the transaction amount and merchant blockchain wallet address are provided as input for the smart contract, (Para. 0023, Once the aggregation process is completed, the most recent user-signed transaction is signed by the payment platform and submitted to the blockchain for withdrawal of cryptocurrency from the user's account and conversion into fiat currency.; and Para. 0025, when a new cryptocurrency wallet is opened for a user, the payment platform issues an address to the user for the new wallet, but does not initially deploy a new smart contract. Instead, the actual deploying of the smart contract is delayed until after a first purchase has been made using the issued address, and after any subsequent aggregation period has been completed.; and Para. 0045-0046, In any of the above embodiments, step A) can include depositing by the user of a plurality of types of cryptocurrency into a corresponding plurality of cryptocurrency accounts, and wherein the payment number issued to the user by the payment platform in step… J), deploying a new smart contract associated with the cryptocurrency account.) Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “executing, by a transmitter of the processing server, a smart contract stored on a blockchain of a blockchain network, where at least the transaction amount and merchant blockchain wallet address are provided as input for the smart contract” is interpreted as “deploying a new smart contract associated with the cryptocurrency account”. The examiner states the cited prior art is used for the disclosure pf the smart contract deployment and execution. The examiner also states the primary reference already discloses generating recipient blockchain addresses using the merchant public key, transmitting blockchain amount based on transaction amount, and transmitting to the blockchain nodes.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Millius to the known invention of Groarke would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate smart contract features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include executing, by a transmitter of the processing server, a smart contract stored on a blockchain of a blockchain network, where at least the transaction amount and destination address are provided as input for the smart contract results in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensures that the process of executing cryptocurrency is more streamlined with the use of smart contracts to mitigate error, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
Groarke as modified does not disclose verifying, by the processor of the processing server, compliance with one or more restrictions on use of the linked self-custodial blockchain wallet based on at least the transaction data and a transaction history of the linked blockchain wallet.
However, Azgad-Tromer teaches verifying, by the processor of the processing server, compliance with one or more restrictions on use of the linked self-custodial blockchain wallet based on at least the transaction data and a transaction history of the linked blockchain wallet, (Para. 0013, Compliance policies may be established by the authorities of a jurisdiction, by one or more consortia (e.g., self-governing industry associations) implementing their regulatory obligations, by regulated entities, and/or by any other suitable parties. For example, compliance policies may be determined by organizations or individuals to suit their specific requirements, such as preventing fund outflows above a certain rate, outside a designated allow-list of destinations, etc.; and Para. 0027, there is provided a computer- implemented compliance system configured to manage transactions over a digital asset network according to a compliance policy, the digital asset network being configured to enforce rules governing recording transactions on a public ledger, the compliance system being configured to: determine that a requested transaction is in compliance with the compliance policy; generate at least partially encrypted compliance relevant auxiliary information (CRAI), the CRAI comprising information configured to facilitate independent verification of the compliance; and associate at least a portion of the CRAI with transaction information stored on the public ledger, and store the associated CRAI in a storage location accessible via the digital asset network.; and Para. 0030, The compliance policy may define one or more conditions constituting suspicious activity, the compliance system being configured to determine that the one or more transactions constitutes the defined suspicious activity. The compliance system may be configured to cryptographically store the report with the regulatory information such that knowledge of the existence of the report is encrypted; and Para. 0087-0088, Identity certificates may comprise further information, for example obtained in the course of customer due diligence and/or enhanced due diligence processes, including, but not limited to:… 9) other customer information, transaction history, and additional transaction data that it or its counterparty VASP obtained from its customer… In addition, identity certificates and other information constituting portions of CRAI may be revised and updated from time to time, e.g., in compliance with regulatory requirements, for identity verification and authentication purposes, and/or for ongoing due diligence, by undertaking reviews of existing records and matching the information with new data that becomes available.; and Para. 0121, The policy itself will enforce the following conditions: (1) any transactions received by a sealed wallet must be associated with a specific pool identifier that is also contained within the wallet,)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Azgad-Tromer to the known invention of Groarke as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate blockchain wallet features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include verifying, by the processor of the processing server, compliance with one or more restrictions on use of the linked self-custodial blockchain wallet based on at least the transaction data and a transaction history of the linked blockchain wallet results in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensures that the system can verify transactions based on restrictions on the blockchain wallet to make blockchain more secure, thus improving the overall security of the invention.
8. Regarding claims 2 and 11, Groarke discloses wherein identifying the linked blockchain wallet includes identifying, in an account database of the processing server, an account profile including an identifier of the linked blockchain wallet and the payment card number, (Para. 0041, In some embodiments, the processing server 102 may be configured to store data linking payment transactions processed as blockchain transactions with the underlying electronic payment transaction. In such embodiments, the processing server 102 may maintain a database that includes authorization requests or data included therein, such as a transaction identifier unique to the related electronic payment transaction such as may be identified in a corresponding data element in the authorization request, and blockchain transaction identifier for the blockchain transactions conducted as a result of the respective authorization request. Such a linkage may be suitable for use in auditing or the processing of refunds, exchanges, chargebacks, etc.; and Para. 0045, The receiving device 202 may be configured to receive data signals electronically transmitted by merchant systems 106 that may be superimposed or otherwise encoded with a public key associated with the merchant system's blockchain wallet, for use in generating blockchain addresses. The receiving device 202 may also be configured to receive data signals electronically transmitted by issuing institutions 108 and/or computing devices 110, which may be superimposed or otherwise encoded with registration information for enrollment in hybrid payment authorization, such as may include a PAN for a fiat currency transaction account, proof of authorization for the consumer 104 of use thereof (e.g., authentication data), a blockchain wallet private key, communication data for a computing device 110, authorization to generate a cryptographic key pair for a blockchain wallet, or other data as discussed herein.)
9. Regarding claims 3 and 12, Groarke discloses wherein the account profile further includes a permission value indicating permission to process the blockchain payment transaction using blockchain currency, and verifying compliance with one or more restrictions on use includes verifying the permission value included in the account profile, (Para. 0030-0031, In the system 100, the consumer 104 may register with the processing server 102 for hybrid payment authorization. As part of the registration, the consumer 104 (e.g., or the financial institution 108 operating on behalf of the consumer 104) may provide the processing server 102 with the primary account number associated with the fiat currency transaction account issued to the consumer 104. The processing server 102 may also be provided with information associated with the consumer's blockchain wallet. In some embodiments, the processing server 102 may be provided with or given permission to generate the consumer's private key. In such embodiments, the processing server 102 may be configured to generate a digital signature on behalf of the consumer 104. In other embodiments, the processing server 102 may be given communication data of the computing device 110 used to contact the computing device 110 to request a digital signature when a blockchain transaction is to be processed. The processing server 102 may also be provided with, or given permission to generate, the public key of the consumer's cryptographic key pair. The public key may be provided to the nodes of the blockchain network 114 for use in validating the digital signature corresponding to the consumer's blockchain wallet. Once the requisite data has been received, the processing server 102 may generate or otherwise identify (e.g., from a pool of available numbers) an account number that is uniquely associated with the consumer 104. The account number may be mapped in the processing server 102 to both the primary account number of the consumer's fiat currency transaction account as well as the consumer's blockchain wallet. The account number may be provided to the consumer 104 (e.g., via the computing device 110 or in a newly issued physical payment instrument; and Para. 0054, The memory 226 may be configured to store, for example, blockchain data, hashing algorithms for generating blocks, credentials for validation, usage rule templates, communication data for blockchain nodes, communication data for computing devices 110, routing information for transaction messages, transaction message formatting standards, currency exchange rate data and algorithms, etc.). Examiner interprets the term restrictions is analogous for the term usage rule templates in the cited prior art.
10. Regarding claims 4 and 13, Groarke discloses wherein the account profile further includes an available balance for the linked blockchain wallet, and verifying compliance with one or more restrictions on use includes verifying that the transaction amount is less than the available balance ,(Para.0040-0041, In some embodiments, if the consumer's blockchain wallet does not have sufficient blockchain currency available to cover the amount of the blockchain transaction (e.g., as identified by the processing server 102 or indicated by a node in the blockchain network 114 if processing of the blockchain transaction fails), the processing server 102 may attempt to process the payment transaction as a fiat currency transaction using the PAN mapped to the account number that corresponds to the consumer's fiat currency transaction account. The processing server 102 may likewise be configured to attempt to process a transaction as a blockchain transaction if processing as a fiat currency transaction fails. In some cases, such alternative processing may only be performed if authorized by the consumer 104 (e.g., during enrollment in the hybrid payment authorization). In some embodiments, the processing server 102 may be configured to store data linking payment transactions processed as blockchain transactions with the underlying electronic payment transaction.; and Para. 0054, The memory 226 may be configured to store, for example, blockchain data, hashing algorithms for generating blocks, credentials for validation, usage rule templates, communication data for blockchain nodes, communication data for computing devices 110, routing information for transaction messages, transaction message formatting standards, currency exchange rate data and algorithms, etc.).) Examiner interprets the term restrictions is analogous for the term usage rule templates in the cited prior art.
11. Regarding claims 5 and 14, Groarke discloses wherein the available balance is one of: an integer value amount or a percentage. (Para. 0069, In some embodiments, the method 400 may further include: storing, in an account database (e.g., the account database 210) of the processing server, an account profile (e.g., account profile 212), wherein the account profile includes an sender private key of a sender cryptographic key pair and the account number; and generating, by the processing device of the processing server, the sender digital signature using the sender private key. In one embodiment, the method 400 may also include storing, in an account database of the processing server, an account profile, wherein the account profile includes a blockchain currency amount and the account number, wherein the blockchain currency amount is greater than the blockchain amount. In some embodiments, the method 400 may further include receiving, by the receiver of the processing server, the sender digital signature from an external computing device.)
12. Regarding claims 7 and 16, Groarke discloses wherein the authorization request is a transaction message formatted according to one or more standards governing the exchange of messages in payment transactions, (Para. 0033-0034, The payment network 112 may receive the transaction data in the form of a transaction message. A transaction message may be a specially formatted data message that is formatted according to one or more standards governing the interchange of financial transaction messages, such as the International Organization of Standardization's ISO 8583 or ISO 20022 standards. The transaction message may include a plurality of data elements, where each data element is configured to store transaction data as indicated in the applicable standard(s), which may also be represented by one or more bitmaps stored in the transaction message. Each transaction message may also include a message type indicator indicative of a type of transaction message, used in the processing thereof. The transaction message received by the payment network 112 for the payment transaction may be formatted by the merchant system 106 or by an intermediate entity, such as an acquiring institution. The transaction message may be an authorization request (e.g., as indicated by the message type indicator) where the data elements included therein may store the transaction data including at least the account number, transaction amount, and merchant identifier that is unique to the merchant involved in the payment transaction. In some embodiments, the processing server 102 may be a part of the payment network 112 and may assist in the processing of payment transactions thereby. In other embodiments, the processing server 102 may be external to the payment network 112 and may receive authorization requests form the payment network 112 for processing. In such instances, the payment network 112 may route all transaction messages to the processing server 102, where the processing server 102 may determine if hybrid payment authorization is to be performed, or may route only those transactions where hybrid payment authorization is to be performed to the processing server 102. In latter cases, such a determination may be made based on the account number included in the authorization request, where the account number may include an identification number that indicates hybrid payment authorization or otherwise results in routing of the authorization request to the processing server 102.)
13. Regarding claims 8 and 17, Groarke discloses wherein the one or more standards includes ISO 8583, (Para.0033, formatted according to one or more standards governing the interchange of financial transaction messages, such as the International Organization of Standardization's ISO 8583 or ISO 20022 standards.)
14. Regarding claims 9 and 18, Groarke does not disclose wherein execution of the smart contract results in a swap being performed to exchange blockchain currency from the blockchain of the blockchain network to a second currency.
However, Millius teaches wherein execution of the smart contract results in a swap being performed to exchange blockchain currency from the blockchain of the blockchain network to a second currency, (Para. 0025-0026, In some embodiments, when a new cryptocurrency wallet is opened for a user, the payment platform issues an address to the user for the new wallet, but does not initially deploy a new smart contract. Instead, the actual deploying of the smart contract is delayed until after a first purchase has been made using the issued address, and after any subsequent aggregation period has been completed. In this way, the fees and any other expenses that are required to deploy a new smart contract are not incurred until they are actually needed. And in the case that a user determines that a wallet will not be needed, without having ever used the wallet, then the cost of deploying a new smart contract is avoided. In various embodiments, if a user wishes to obtain a wallet for the purpose of holding a first type of cryptocurrency, for which the creation and/or maintenance of such a wallet requires an expenditure of a second type of cryptocurrency for the payment of fees, the payment platform is able to create the wallet for the first type of cryptocurrency without requiring that the user open and fund a wallet directed to the second type of cryptocurrency. For example, creation for a user of a wallet containing U.S. Dollar Coin (USDC) cryptocurrency will typically require use of the Ethereum blockchain, for which the transaction fees must be paid in Ether. However, embodiments of the present invention are able to use an Ethereum wallet maintained by the payment platform to make Ether payments on behalf of the user. The fees for creating the USDC wallets can then be assessed against the user in USDC currency, or in any other denomination, including fiat currency.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Millius to the known invention of Groarke would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate smart contract features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include wherein execution of the smart contract results in a swap being performed to exchange blockchain currency from the blockchain of the blockchain network to a second currency result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensures that the process of exchanging cryptocurrency is more streamlined with the use of smart contracts to mitigate error, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
15. Regarding claims 19 and 21, Groarke does not disclose wherein prior to the receiving of the authorization request for a payment transaction initiated using the payment card, the merchant system is configured to: receive, from the payment card, payment details including at least the payment card number, wherein the payment card is a physical payment card presented to the merchant system; and transmit the authorization request to the processing server via the payment network.
However, Millius teaches wherein prior to the receiving of the authorization request for a payment transaction initiated using the payment card, the merchant system is configured to: receive, from the payment card, payment details including at least the payment card number, wherein the payment card is a physical payment card presented to the merchant system; and transmit the authorization request to the processing server via the payment network, (Para. 0013-0015, When making a purchase, the user presents to a merchant a payment number that was issued to the user by the payment platform. In embodiments, the payment number functions as a placebo debit card number, in that it can be entered by a merchant into traditional POS equipment that is configured to accept debit card information, or processed by a website that is configured to accept debit card numbers as payment. In embodiments, immediately or shortly before making the purchase, the user transmits a request for an authorization code to the payment platform using the cryptocurrency payment app that is running on the user's mobile device, and in response the payment platform transmits a single-use payment number to the app which can be displayed on the mobile device, for example as a barcode, “QR” code, or other visible image to be scanned. In some of these embodiments, the payment number is only valid for a limited time period. If the merchant POS apparatus is not equipped to scan the image, the merchant can manually enter the payment number into the POS apparatus. Similarly, in embodiments the user can enter the payment number into a website as part of an online purchase. In other embodiments, the payment number is a static digit string that is recorded on a physical card that functions as a “placebo” debit card. As with an actual debit card, the static digital string can be physically stamped on the card, magnetically recorded on the card, and/or electronically recorded in a “chip” included in the card. When entered into the POS apparatus, the static digital string is used for routing the transaction from the POS apparatus to the payment platform for authorization.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Millius to the known invention of Groarke would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate payment details features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include wherein prior to the receiving of the authorization request for a payment transaction initiated using the payment card, the merchant system is configured to: receive, from the payment card, payment details including at least the payment card number, wherein the payment card is a physical payment card presented to the merchant system; and transmit the authorization request to the processing server via the payment network result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensures that the system is able to read a plurality of payment card details to ensure flexibility with merchants and users, thus improving the overall user convenience of the invention.
Claims 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groarke et al. (US 20200027084 A1), in view of Millius et al. (US 20200364686 A1), in view of Azgad-Tromer et al. (WO 2022159854 A1), and further in view of Wall et al. (US 20210027297 A1).
17. Regarding claims 20 and 22, Groarke as modified does not disclose wherein the payment details are received from the payment card by the merchant system via one of: a magnetic strip, an integrated circuit, and near field communication.
However, Wall teaches wherein the payment details are received from the payment card by the merchant system via one of: a magnetic strip, an integrated circuit, and near field communication, (Para. 0022, To avoid obscuring the present invention, card not present data is described herein as being collected, encrypted, and processed by merchant payment application/interface. However, in some embodiments, the customer's payment information may be card present data collected from a payment instrument (e.g., a credit card, automatic teller machine card, gift card, etc.) by the customer system 110 via a card reader device (e.g., near field communication (NFC) interface, magnetic strip reader, integrated circuit card (ICC) smart card interface, etc.) communicatively coupled with the merchant payment application/interface 112. That is, although discussed in the context of card not present transactions, the encryption and deterministic identification techniques, information flow, and transaction processing may be utilized for other types of transactions, such as card present transactions.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Wall to the known invention of Groarke as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate payment details features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include wherein the payment details are received from the payment card by the merchant system via one of: a magnetic strip, an integrated circuit, and near field communication result in an improved invention because applying said technique will ensures that the system is able to read a plurality of payment card details to ensure flexibility with merchants and users, thus improving the overall user convenience of the invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
System and Method for Location-Based Token Transaction Processing (US 20180293573A1) teaches systems, methods, and machine-executable data structures for the processing of data for the secure creation, administration, manipulation, processing, and storage of electronic data useful in the processing of electronic payment transactions. Aspects of such methods, systems, and data structures include providing at an electronic device, an output indicating that a dynamically-configured electronic token is in a transaction-ready state, where the dynamically-configured electronic token is associated with a plurality of loyalty accounts; in response to one or more signals providing information regarding a location of the electronic device, obtaining token data associated with a loyalty account of the plurality of loyalty accounts corresponding to the location of the electronic device; and via a data communication interface, route a token, generated from the token data, for processing at a transaction processing system.
In addition to the foregoing, other aspects are described in the claims, drawings, and text. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Davida L. King whose telephone number is (571) 272-4724. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm.
/D.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3699
/NEHA PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3699