DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant 1st argues on page 10: “First, the skilled person starting from Francois would have no reason to consult Yun. Francois' control concept is based on detecting the subject's actual exhalation phase and delivering a stimulus in response to that detected phase. Yun, by contrast, is concerned with autonomic modulation by behavioral protocols such as controlled breathing. Yun does not address the technical problem of controlling a therapeutic stimulation unit for suppressing pathologically synchronous neuronal activity based on a reference physiological breathing cycle”.
The examiner is not persuaded. Arguments directed towards solving the same problem can be persuasive if the secondary reference is performing a significant modification on the function of the primary reference. However, this is not the case. Yun is not being relied upon for any major modification of Francois and is simply being cited to illustrate that a respiration rate can be quantified in a frequency in hertz. Francois teaches the at least one reference clock signal (e.g. see [0057]-[0059], [0066]-[0069]) and the reference physiological cycle is a breathing cycle which relates to a target or desired reference state to be attained by the patient (e.g. see [0106], [0109], [0110]. Note: [0106] discloses “For example, an apparatus may assist the subject with appropriate timing of contraction with respect to the onset of exhalation and/or appropriate duration of contraction in order to facilitate one or more outcomes or goals such as, e.g., to exhale a selected volume, to retain no more than a selected volume in the lungs at end-expiration, to have a selected respiratory rate or a respiratory rate within a selected range, or to make efficient use of respiratory muscle effort”. [0109] and [0110] also disclose targets associated with respiratory timing). Francois explicitly discloses in [0106] targeting a respiratory rate in a selected range. Yun is simply cited to illustrate that a respiration rate can be quantified in a frequency in hertz.
Applicant 2nd argues on pages 10-11: “Second, even if Yun were considered, Yun would not cure the specific deficiency of Francois. The Examiner relies on Yun primarily for breathing rates and autonomic modulation. However, the missing feature is not merely a breathing frequency, but a reference-based control concept in which the stimulation unit is controlled in dependence on a reference clock signal related to a reference physiological breathing cycle corresponding to a target or desired reference state to be attained by the patient. Francois may disclose adapting stimulation timing or parameters based on the subject's detected actual breathing condition. However, this remains a reactive control scheme based on the patient's current respiration. Yun's disclosure of controlled or metered breathing for autonomic modulation does not provide any teaching or motivation leading to a generated reference clock signal representing a target breathing condition, nor to use of such a generated reference clock signal as the basis for controlling the therapeutic stimulation unit. Thus, Yun does not bridge the gap between Francois' reactive exhalation-assistance control and the claimed reference-based therapeutic stimulation control”.
The examiner is not persuaded. The limitation “which relates to a target or desired reference state to be attained by the patient” is a new limitation. Francois (the primary cited reference) teaches the limitation in [0106], [0109], [0110]. Note: [0106] discloses “For example, an apparatus may assist the subject with appropriate timing of contraction with respect to the onset of exhalation and/or appropriate duration of contraction in order to facilitate one or more outcomes or goals such as, e.g., to exhale a selected volume, to retain no more than a selected volume in the lungs at end-expiration, to have a selected respiratory rate or a respiratory rate within a selected range, or to make efficient use of respiratory muscle effort”. [0109] and [0110] also disclose targets associated with respiratory timing. Since the limitation is taught by the primary reference, Yun does not need to bridge any gap with regards to the newly introduced claim limitation.
Applicant 3rd argues on page 11: “Third, incorporating the claimed reference-based control into Francois would require changing the basic operating principle of Francois. Francois reacts to the subject's actual breathing and delivers stimulation to assist exhalation. Claim 1, however, uses a reference physiological breathing cycle corresponding to a target or desired reference state to be attained by the patient, and controls therapeutic neuronal stimulation in dependence on that reference cycle. This is not a mere combination of known features, but a different control architecture”.
The examiner is not persuaded. The limitation “which relates to a target or desired reference state to be attained by the patient” is a new limitation. Francois (the primary cited reference) teaches the limitation in [0106], [0109], [0110]. Note: [0106] discloses “For example, an apparatus may assist the subject with appropriate timing of contraction with respect to the onset of exhalation and/or appropriate duration of contraction in order to facilitate one or more outcomes or goals such as, e.g., to exhale a selected volume, to retain no more than a selected volume in the lungs at end-expiration, to have a selected respiratory rate or a respiratory rate within a selected range, or to make efficient use of respiratory muscle effort”. [0109] and [0110] also disclose targets associated with respiratory timing. Since the limitations are taught by the primary reference, the newly cited paragraphs would not “require changing the basic operating principle” or be a “a different control architecture” of Francois. Note that the cited sections of [0106], [0109], [0110] of Francois are coordinated with the breathing cycle as are [0057]-[0059], [0066]-[0069], and thus appear to be either part of the same embodiment or an embodiment usable together.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a non-invasive therapeutic stimulation unit”, “a clock unit”, and “a control unit” in claim 1 and a “a pacing unit” in claim 6. NOTE: The specification seems to imply the “a non-invasive therapeutic stimulation unit” is a stimuli generator and “a clock unit”, “a control unit”, and “a pacing unit” are logic/processing circuitry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 12-15, and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francois et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0142652 A1); hereinafter referred to as “Francois”, in view of Yun et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0240468 A1); hereinafter referred to as “Yun”.
Regarding claim 1, Francois discloses a medical device for stimulating neurons of a patient to suppress a pathologically synchronous activity of the neurons (e.g. see [0067], “contraction of at least some of the lower external intercostal muscles (located in intercostal spaces 7 and below) is blocked while contraction of at least some of the lower internal intercostal muscles (located in intercostal spaces 7 and below) is stimulated”), comprising: a non-invasive therapeutic stimulation unit (e.g. see [0049]-[0056]) configured to administer a plurality of stimuli to a patient's body which is configured to suppress the pathologically synchronous activity, a clock unit (e.g. see processing/logic circuitry disclosed in [0081]-[0084], [0106], [0109], [0110], and [0057]-[0059], [0066]-[0069] for the inhalation/exhalation timing. The timing of the inhalation and exhalation will read on “clock signal”. The applicant disclosed this in original claim 4) configured to generate at least one reference clock signal related to a reference physiological cycle of a patient, and a control unit (e.g. see [0081]-[0084], “controller”) configured to control operation of the medical device in dependence on the at least one reference clock signal such that the non-invasive therapeutic stimulation unit is actuated in a first operating mode during a first phase of the at least one reference clock signal and in a second operating mode which differs from the first operating mode during a second phase of the at least one reference clock signal (e.g. see [0057]-[0059], [0066]-[0069]), wherein the reference physiological cycle is a breathing cycle which relates to a target or desired reference state to be attained by the patient (e.g. see [0106], [0109], [0110]. Note: [0106] discloses “For example, an apparatus may assist the subject with appropriate timing of contraction with respect to the onset of exhalation and/or appropriate duration of contraction in order to facilitate one or more outcomes or goals such as, e.g., to exhale a selected volume, to retain no more than a selected volume in the lungs at end-expiration, to have a selected respiratory rate or a respiratory rate within a selected range, or to make efficient use of respiratory muscle effort”. [0109] and [0110] also disclose targets associated with respiratory timing) and which comprises at least one of an inhalation phase, a breath holding phase, an exhalation phase and a pause phase (e.g. see [0057]-[0059], [0066]-[0069]), and wherein the control unit is configured to control operation of the non-invasive therapeutic stimulation unit such that stimulation parameters are adjusted and controlled in dependence on the at least one reference clock signal (e.g. see [0057]-[0059], [0066]-[0069], [0106], [0109], [0110]).
Francois discloses the claimed invention but is silent as to the patient having a physiological rhythm in a range of 0.03 Hz to 0.5 Hz. Yun teaches that it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0088]-[0089] to provide modulation of the subject's autonomic nervous system (e.g. see [0087]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to treat a patient with a physiological rhythm in a range of 0.07 to 0.16 Hz as taught by Yun in the system/method of Francois, since said modification would provide the predictable results of modulation of the subject's autonomic nervous system.
Regarding claim 2, Francois discloses the plurality of stimuli comprises at least one of acoustic stimuli, tactile stimuli, vibratory stimuli, vibrotactile stimuli, visual stimuli, electrical stimuli and, or thermal stimuli, and wherein the stimulation unit is configured to selectively and intermittently administer the plurality of stimuli (e.g. see [0049]-[0056], [0073]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 3, Francois discloses the at least one reference clock signal comprises a repeating sequence of at least two subsequent phases (e.g. see [0057]-[0059], [0066]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 6, Francois discloses a pacing unit which is configured to provide guidance for a physiological cycle of the patient, wherein the control unit is configured to operate the pacing unit in dependence on the at least one reference clock signal (e.g. see processing/logic circuitry disclosed in [0081]-[0084] and [0057]-[0059], [0066]-[0069] for the inhalation/exhalation timing).
Regarding claim 7, Francois discloses the at least one reference clock signal has a cycle frequency in a slow breathing range (e.g. see [0081]-[0084], [0057]-[0059], [0066]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 8, Francois discloses the pacing unit is configured to provide non-invasive guidance stimuli to the patient's body for providing guidance for an activity or physiological cycle of the patient, wherein the non-invasive guidance stimuli comprises at least one of visual stimuli, acoustic stimuli, tactile stimuli, vibratory stimuli, vibrotactile stimuli, electrical stimuli, transdermal electrical stimuli transdermal magnetic stimuli, transcranial electrical stimuli, transcranial magnetic stimuli, or electrical tongue stimuli, and wherein the non-invasive guidance stimuli are configured to guide or instruct the patient to perform an activity (e.g. see [0049]-[0056], [0073]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 9, Francois discloses the control unit is configured to actuate the stimulation unit in dependence on a predetermined actuation pattern (e.g. see [0081]-[0084], “controller”, [0057]-[0059], [0066]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 10, Francois discloses a sensor unit (e.g. see [0036]-[0048]) configured to monitor an actual physiological cycle of the patient, wherein the clock unit is configured to generate a recorded clock signal being indicative of the actual physiological cycle in dependence on monitoring data obtained by the sensor unit (e.g. see [0081]-[0084], [0057]-[0059], [0066]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 12, Francois discloses the first operating mode and the second operating mode of the stimulation unit differ in at least one of a stimulation modality, a frequency of the stimuli to be administered, stimulation elements to be actuated, stimulation amplitude, a stimulation pattern, a stimulation region at the patient's body to which the stimuli are to be administered, or stimuli intensity (e.g. see [0054]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 13, Francois discloses the control unit is configured to, based on a recorded clock signal, determine a parameter quantifying a characteristic of an actual cycle, and wherein the control unit is configured to control operation of the medical device in dependence on a comparison of the parameter with a threshold or a threshold range (e.g. see [0066]).
Regarding claim 14, Francois discloses the control unit is configured to actuate the stimulation unit if the parameter has reached the threshold range and to stop actuation of the stimulation unit if the determined parameter lies outside the threshold range (e.g. see [0066]).
Regarding claim 15, Francois discloses the control unit is configured to provide information to the patient being indicative of a result of the comparison of the parameter with the threshold (e.g. see [0066]).
Regarding claim 18, Francois discloses the claimed invention but is silent as to the slow breathing range is in a range of 0.07 Hz to 0.16 Hz. Yun teaches that it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0088] to provide modulation of at least a portion of the subject's autonomic nervous system (e.g. see [0087]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a slow breathing range as taught by Yun in the system/method of Francois, since said modification would provide the predictable results of modulation of at least a portion of the subject's autonomic nervous system.
Regarding claim 19, Francois discloses the predetermined actuation pattern is not dependent on the at least one reference clock signal (e.g. see [0081]-[0084], [0057]-[0059], [0066]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 20, Francois discloses the clock unit is configured to generate a reference clock signal which refers to a reference condition of the patient, wherein the clock unit is configured to generate a recorded clock signal being indicative of an actual activity or an actual physiological cycle of the patient, and wherein the control unit is configured to actuate the stimulation unit in dependence on the reference clock signal or the recorded clock signal (e.g. see [0081]-[0084], [0057]-[0059], [0066]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 21, Francois discloses the control unit is configured to actuate the stimulation unit according to a predefined actuation pattern if the parameter lies outside the threshold range and to actuate the stimulation unit in dependence on the recorded clock signal if the parameter has reached the threshold range (e.g. see [0081]-[0084], [0057]-[0059], [0066]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 23, Francois discloses the control unit is configured to, based on a recorded clock signal, determine a parameter quantifying a characteristic of an actual cycle, and wherein the control unit is configured to control operation of the medical device in dependence on a comparison of the parameter with a threshold or a threshold range (e.g. see [0106], [0109], [0110]. Note: [0106] discloses “For example, an apparatus may assist the subject with appropriate timing of contraction with respect to the onset of exhalation and/or appropriate duration of contraction in order to facilitate one or more outcomes or goals such as, e.g., to exhale a selected volume, to retain no more than a selected volume in the lungs at end-expiration, to have a selected respiratory rate or a respiratory rate within a selected range, or to make efficient use of respiratory muscle effort”. [0109] and [0110] also disclose targets associated with respiratory timing. The targets in [0106], [0109], and [0110] will read on “threshold”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is allowed as it contains the allowable subject matter from claim 16 (and intervening claims 13 and 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Simon et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0184792 A1) (e.g. see [0279]) and Gelfand (Patent No.: US 9,987,488 B1) (e.g. see figures 2 and 4, column 7 lines 43-57 and column 9 line 49 through column 10 line 19).
/P.C.E/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796