DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11, 18, and 20-24 are pending and under examination. Claims 12-17 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 refers to an equation, but there does not appear to be an equation present on the claims submitted 9/25/2026. This claim is not specified as amended, but is different from the previous 3/16/2026 submission. Accordingly, the claim is not clear as currently drafted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harris (US Patent No. 4,721,589).
Regarding claims 1 and 5-6, Harris discloses a positive displacement pump (screw 14 or gear pump 24) comprising (see Fig. 1):
(a) a motor (22) having a rotatable output shaft and electrically connected to a controller (screw motor control 36) (7:4-7:27);
(b) at least one rotatable screw (14) that is attached to the output of the motor (as described in 7:9, the motor rotates the screw, meaning that it is inherently attached to the motor) and disposed within a first portion of a housing having a hollow region and positioned to surround the screw (barrel 11) (Fig. 1), and
(c) a passage (25) disposed within a second portion of the housing downstream of the first portion (containing the screw) (as shown in Fig. 1, the passage 25 is further downstream from the barrel 11 containing the screw 14) the passage configured to receive material, cause heating of the material from a first temperature at an inlet to the passage and a second temperature at the outlet of the passage, and wherein the controller is configured to control a rotation rate of the output shaft of the motor (the algorithm in 7:9-7:24 describes adjusting the rotation rate of the screw based on the detected pressure), thereby causing heated material to be expelled out of the passage at a flow rate proportional to the rotation rate of the motor and at a constant flow rate for fixed rotation rate of the output shaft regardless of changes in system pressure (7:13-7:24). See also 10:43-11:17.
Regarding claim 2, Harris discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and this limitation is considered to be an intended use. It is also seemingly met as the heating does not occur on the gear pump 24.
Regarding claim 3, Harris discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses a nozzle (die 27 having orifice 29) (6:48-6:52).
Regarding claims 4 and 22-23, Harris discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that there is a heater near the passage or around the second portion of the housing (heating elements 18; 7:43-7:57).
Regarding claim 7, Harris discloses the subject matter of claim 6, and further discloses that there is a guide (feeder 23) (6:30-6:32; Fig. 1) positioned to direct the material into a gap defined between the one rotatable screw and housing.
Regarding claim 8, Harris discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that there is at least one rotatable gear, including a gear pump (24) with two gears (30, 31) meshed together as required in the claim (6:53-6:64) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 9-10, Harris discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the screw has less than 4 turns (see Fig. 3) and is in a conical shape.
Regarding claim 11, Harris discloses the subject matter of claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly disclose that the length of the passage is defined by the equation in claim 11.
However, Examiner notes that this limitation is interpreted in view of the instant specification, which provides that this equation comes from a textbook, meaning that this knowledge would be generally attributable to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Furthermore, the equation depends on elements such as “a volumetric flow rate of a material”; “a thermal diffusivity of a material”; meaning that this is limited by its mode of operation, which is not considered limiting to an apparatus claim. See MPEP 2114.
The specific material or article worked upon by a claimed structure is also generally not considered limiting. See MPEP 2115.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris (US Patent No. 4,721,589) in view of Gerada et al. (US 2022/0097293), hereinafter Gerada.
Regarding claim 18, Harris discloses a positive displacement pump (screw 14 or gear pump 24) comprising (see Fig. 1) [“for an additive manufacture (AM) application” is considered to be an intended use]:
(a) a motor (22) having a rotatable output shaft and electrically connected to a controller (screw motor control 36) (7:4-7:27);
(b) at least one rotatable screw (14) that is attached to the output of the motor (as described in 7:9, the motor rotates the screw, meaning that it is inherently attached to the motor) and disposed within a first portion of a housing having a hollow region and positioned to surround the screw (barrel 11) (Fig. 1), and
(c) a passage (25) disposed within a second portion of the housing downstream of the first portion (containing the screw) (as shown in Fig. 1, the passage 25 is further downstream from the barrel 11 containing the screw 14) the passage configured to receive material, cause heating of the material from a first temperature at an inlet to the passage and a second temperature at the outlet of the passage, and wherein the controller is configured to control a rotation rate of the output shaft of the motor (the algorithm in 7:9-7:24 describes adjusting the rotation rate of the screw based on the detected pressure), thereby causing heated material to be expelled out of the passage at a flow rate proportional to the rotation rate of the motor and at a constant flow rate for fixed rotation rate of the output shaft regardless of changes in system pressure (7:13-7:24). See also 10:43-11:17.
Harris does not appear to explicitly disclose one of the options in claim 18 for curing the material in the last portion of the claim.
However, like Harris above, Gerada likewise uses a system that uses a screw or worm (24) (Gerada, par. 0067; Fig. 1) for depositing a material. Gerada additionally discloses the use of a second heating means (62) which can include an infrared radiator (which reads upon the claimed ‘radiation emitter’ or a heated substrate (Gerada, par. 0074-0076). Accordingly, in order to likewise assist in curing the material being deposited or extruded in Harris above, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have specified that there is a radiation emitter or heated substrate/heater near the substrate as to have cured the material being deposited.
*The limitation of “the nozzle positioned to deposit material exiting the nozzle onto an ever growing substrate that is a product of AM” is not considered limiting as it is an intended use. See MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 20, Harris/Gerada discloses the subject matter of claim 18, and the only element from Applicant’s specification that can read upon this element is the gear pump, which is met as outlined above. Applicant’s disclosure is not construed to include features that are not described therein.
Claim(s) 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris (US Patent No. 4,721,589) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Marshall (US Patent No. 2,767,437).
Regarding claims 21 and 24, Harris discloses the subject matter of claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly disclose that the passage is coiled.
However, Marshall discloses a similar extruder/pump to that of Harris above and Marshall (Fig. 3) describes an extruder pump that has a coiled section (26) (Marshall, 6:40-6:61) that is used with a loop/coil in order to obtain a higher back pressure while at the same time decreasing the length of the passage and the space required for extruding/pumping the material out of the machine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have incorporated such a coiled section into the apparatus of Harris above as to likewise have achieved the higher back pressure while decreasing the overall length of the passage as is required in the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
All other arguments have been previously addressed with respect to the interpretation of certain dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742