DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Pub. No. AU 2018330957 A1) in view of Casey et al. (Pat. No. US 9517089).
Regarding claims 1-9, 11-13, and 18, Zhu et al. discloses a bone screw (figures 1-3 and 13-14) comprising: a bone screw shank 6 comprising a shank head 61; a dual-head receiver 1/2 comprising: a first receiver 1 comprising a first base having a cavity 11 therewithin, the cavity 11 configured to securely receive the shank head 61, a first pair of arms extending upwardly from the first base (figure 13), and a first rod channel 4 defined between the first pair of arms (figure 13); a second receiver 2 comprising a second base having a second rod channel 4 defined between a second pair of arms (figure 13); a load ring disposed in the first receiver and configured to polyaxially secure the shank head to the first receiver; and a connection 3 (figures 2, 13, 14) between the first receiver 1 and the second receiver 2 and defining a first longitudinal axis, wherein the connection 3 is integral to one arm of the first pair of arms and is movable relative to the second pair of arms (figures 1-3, 13, 14; page 6, third paragraph of the translation), such that the second receiver is movable in multiple dimensions, including rotation about the first longitudinal axis (figures 1-3). The first rod channel 4 extends in a first direction, and the second rod channel 4 extends in a second direction substantially parallel to the first direction (figure 13). The first rod channel 4 extends in a first direction, and the second rod channel 4 extends in a second direction that is tilted by an angle relative to the first direction (figures 1 and 3). The first rod channel 4 and the second rod channel 4 are at an identical level along a proximal to distal direction (figure 13). The first rod channel 4 and the second rod channel 4 are at two different levels along a proximal to distal direction (in figure 1, when the channels are tilted, they are at different levels along a proximal to distal direction). The first receiver 1 comprises a longitudinal axis extending in a proximal to distal direction, and wherein the connection 3 between the first receiver 1 and the second receiver 2 extends substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the first receiver 1 (figure 13). The connection 3 between the first receiver 1 and the second receiver 2 extends in a direction that is perpendicular to a direction of extension of the first rod channel 4 or tilted by an angle from the direction of extension of the first rod channel 4 (figure 13). The connection 3 between the first receiver 1 and the second receiver 2 extends laterally from an outer surface of one arm of the first pair of arms (figure 13), wherein the second receiver 2 is movably coupled with the connection 3 (page 6, third paragraph of the translation; figure 1-3), wherein the second receiver 2 comprises a slot 21 in one arm of the second pair of arms (figure 2), wherein the connection 3 extends through the slot 21 and permits rotation (figure 1), and tilting (figure 3) of the second receiver 2 relative to the connection 3 (figure 7). The first receiver 1 comprises a first tool engagement groove (illustrated in figure 14) at an outer surface of the first pair of arms at or Serial No. 16/880,8184near a top surface thereof, and wherein a top edge of the connection 3 between the first receiver 1 and the second receiver 2 is distal to the first tool engagement groove (figures 13 and 14). The first receiver 1 comprises a proximal opening (illustrated in figure 13) that is configured to receive a first closure top that presses against a first rod within the first rod channel 4 thereby securing the first rod therewithin (figures 13, 16, and 17). The second receiver 2 is shorter than the first receiver 1 along a proximal to distal direction (figure 14). The second receiver 2 is rotatable relative to an axis of the connection to position the second receiver 2 at an acute angle relative to the axis of connection 3 (figure 3), and wherein the connection 3 is monolithic with the one arm of the first pair of arms (figure 13). A second arm of the second pair of arms is closed at an outer surface thereof such that the connection does not extend through the second arm (figures 1 and 5)
Zhu et al. discloses the claimed invention except wherein the second receiver is translatable along the first longitudinal axis. Zhu et al. teaches wherein the second receiver rotates about the first longitudinal axis (figure 1).
Casey et al. teaches a connection 70/46 between a first receiver 18 and a second receiver 16 wherein the connection is integral to the first receiver 18 and moveable relative to the second receiver such that the second receiver is translatable along the first longitudinal axis and rotatable about the first longitudinal axis (figures 2-7; col. 5, lines 1-18 discloses that the spherical connection 70 in combination with the passage 68 allows rotation of the receiver 16 in all directions, and sliding between arm 46 and collet 70). Casey et al. teaches that such a connection is advantageous because it allows the receivers to better accommodate the patient’s anatomy (col. 3, lines 34-43).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the bone screw /receiver disclosed by Zhu et al. to comprise a connection as taught by Casey et al., wherein the second receiver is moveable in both translation along the first longitudinal axis and rotation about the first longitudinal axis, in order to better accommodate the patient’s anatomy (col. 3, lines 34-43).
Regarding claims 15-17 and 19, as modified, a gap exists between the second receiver 1 and the first receiver 2 during movement of the second receiver 2 in each of the multiple dimensions (figure 2 of Casey et al.); wherein the gap is sufficient to prevent contact between the first receiver 1 and the second receiver 2 during movement of the second receiver in all of the multiple dimensions (when the receivers are fully translated apart from one another, such a gap exists); wherein the first and second rod channels are aligned substantially parallel with one another, and are offset in each of two dimensions (they are offset laterally, and when tilted away from each other); wherein a gap exists between the second receiver 1 and the first receiver 2 during movement of the second receiver 2 in each of the multiple dimensions (figure 2 of Casey et al), wherein a primary axis of the gap is aligned with the axis of the connection between the first receiver and the second receiver (Casey, figure 2).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, in an alternate interpretation, Zhu et al. as modified by Casey et al. discloses the claimed invention except wherein the bone screw further comprises a load ring disposed in the first receiver and configured to polyaxially secure the shank head to the first receiver, the load ring configured to be bottom-loaded into the first receiver, wherein the shank head is configured to be bottom loaded with space for a clip ring or a lock ring to be assembled below the shank head.
Casey et al. teaches wherein a bone screw further comprises a load ring 42 disposed in the first receiver and configured to polyaxially secure the shank head to the first receiver, the load ring configured to be bottom-loaded into the first receiver 34, wherein the shank head 26 is configured to be bottom loaded with space for a clip ring 42 or a lock ring to be assembled below the shank head (figure 2-4), for the purpose of allowing the screw shank to be anchored into the vertebrae before attaching it to the dual head receiver (col. 4, lines 32-42).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the bone screw disclosed by Zhu to further comprise a load ring disposed in the first receiver and configured to polyaxially secure the shank head to the first receiver, the load ring configured to be bottom-loaded into the first receiver, wherein the shank head is configured to be bottom loaded with space for a clip ring or a lock ring to be assembled below the shank head, as taught by Casey et al., for the purpose of allowing the screw shank to be anchored into the vertebrae before attaching it to the dual head receiver (col. 4, lines 32-42).
Regarding claim 20, Zhu et al. discloses a bone screw (figures 1-3 and 13-14) comprising: a bone screw shank 6 comprising a shank head 61; a dual-head receiver 1/2 including: a first receiver 1 including a first base having a cavity 11 therewithin, the cavity 11 configured to securely receive the shank head 61, a first pair of arms extending upwardly from the first base (figure 13), and a first rod channel 4 defined between the first pair of arms (figure 13); a second receiver 2 comprising a second base having a second rod channel 4 defined between a second pair of arms (figure 13); and a connection 3 (figures 2, 13, 14) between the first receiver 1 and the second receiver 2 and defining a first longitudinal axis, wherein the connection 3 is integral to one arm of the first pair of arms and is movable relative to the second pair of arms (figures 1-3, 13, 14; page 6, third paragraph of the translation), such that the second receiver is movable in multiple dimensions, including rotation about the first longitudinal axis (figures 1-3).
Zhu et al. discloses the claimed invention except wherein the second receiver is translatable along the first longitudinal axis. Zhu et al. teaches wherein the second receiver rotates about the first longitudinal axis (figure 1).
Casey et al. teaches a connection 70/46 between a first receiver 18 and a second receiver 16 wherein the connection is integral to the first receiver 18 and moveable relative to the second receiver such that the second receiver is translatable along the first longitudinal axis and rotatable about the first longitudinal axis (figures 2-7; col. 5, lines 1-18 discloses that the spherical connection 70 in combination with the passage 68 allows rotation of the receiver 16 in all directions, and sliding between arm 46 and collet 70). Casey et al. teaches that such a connection is advantageous because it allows the receivers to better accommodate the patient’s anatomy (col. 3, lines 34-43).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the bone screw /receiver disclosed by Zhu et al. to comprise a connection as taught by Casey et al., wherein the second receiver is moveable in both translation along the first longitudinal axis and rotation about the first longitudinal axis, in order to better accommodate the patient’s anatomy (col. 3, lines 34-43).
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Pub. No. AU2018330957 A1) in view of Casey et al. (Pat. No. US 9517089) and further in view of Yacoub et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0325558 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Zhu et al. as modified by Casey et al. discloses the claimed invention, except wherein the second receiver 2 comprises a second tool engagement groove at an outer surface of the second pair of arms at or near a top surface thereof, and wherein a top edge of the connection between the first receiver and the second receiver is distal to the second tool engagement groove. Zhu et al. discloses that the first receiver comprises a tool engagement groove (figure 14), but does not show a tool engagement groove on the second receiver.
Yacoub et al. teaches wherein both receivers of a dual-headed receiver comprise tool engagement grooves 782 (figure 56), wherein the second receiver comprises a second tool engagement groove 782 at an outer surface of the second pair of arms at or near a top surface thereof, and wherein a top edge of the connection 750 between the first receiver and the second receiver is distal to the second tool engagement groove (figure 56).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the second receiver to comprise a tool engagement groove at an outer surface of the second pair of arms at or near a top surface thereof, and wherein a top edge of the connection between the first receiver and the second receiver is distal to the second tool engagement groove, as taught by Yacoub et al., in order to make it easier to grasp the dual-headed receiver during placement thereof.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11684395. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are thus more specific. Thus the invention of the patent claims are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the application claims are anticipated by the patent claims, they are not patentably distinct from the patent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/1/2026 have been fully considered. The amendments have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph rejections and the drawing objections. There are no art rejection arguments to address.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LYNNSY M SUMMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773