DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-13, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Pub. No. AU 2018330957 A1) in view of Casey et al. (Pat. No. US 9517089).
Regarding claims 1-9, 11-13, and 18, Zhu et al. discloses a bone screw (figures 1-3 and 13-14) comprising: a bone screw shank 6 comprising a shank head 61; a dual-head receiver 1/2 comprising: a first receiver 1 comprising a first base having a cavity 11 therewithin, the cavity 11 configured to securely receive the shank head 61, a first pair of arms extending upwardly from the first base (figure 13), and a first rod channel 4 defined between the first pair of arms (figure 13); a second receiver 2 comprising a second base having a second rod channel 4 defined between a second pair of arms (figure 13); and a connection 3 (figures 2, 13, 14) between the first receiver 1 and the second receiver 2, wherein the connection 3 is integral to one arm of the first pair of arms and is movable relative to the second pair of arms (figures 1-3, 13, 14; page 6, third paragraph of the translation), wherein the second receiver is movable in multiple dimensions including roll and pitch (figures 1-3). The first rod channel 4 extends in a first direction, and the second rod channel 4 extends in a second direction substantially parallel to the first direction (figure 13). The first rod channel 4 extends in a first direction, and the second rod channel 4 extends in a second direction that is tilted by an angle relative to the first direction (figures 1 and 3). The first rod channel 4 and the second rod channel 4 are at an identical level along a proximal to distal direction (figure 13). The first rod channel 4 and the second rod channel 4 are at two different levels along a proximal to distal direction (in figure 1, when the channels are tilted, they are at different levels along a proximal to distal direction). The first receiver 1 comprises a longitudinal axis extending in a proximal to distal direction, and wherein the connection 3 between the first receiver 1 and the second receiver 2 extends substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the first receiver 1 (figure 13). The connection 3 between the first receiver 1 and the second receiver 2 extends in a direction that is perpendicular to a direction of extension of the first rod channel 4 or tilted by an angle from the direction of extension of the first rod channel 4 (figure 13). The connection 3 between the first receiver 1 and the second receiver 2 extends laterally from an outer surface of one arm of the first pair of arms (figure 13), wherein the second receiver 2 is movably coupled with the connection 3 (page 6, third paragraph of the translation; figure 1-3), wherein the second receiver 2 comprises a slot 21 in one arm of the second pair of arms (figure 2), wherein the connection 3 extends through the slot 21 and permits rotation (figure 1), and tilting (figure 3) of the second receiver 2 relative to the connection 3 (figure 7). The first receiver 1 comprises a first tool engagement groove (illustrated in figure 14) at an outer surface of the first pair of arms at or Serial No. 16/880,8184near a top surface thereof, and wherein a top edge of the connection 3 between the first receiver 1 and the second receiver 2 is distal to the first tool engagement groove (figures 13 and 14). The first receiver 1 comprises a proximal opening (illustrated in figure 13) that is configured to receive a first closure top that presses against a first rod within the first rod channel 4 thereby securing the first rod therewithin (figures 13, 16, and 17). The second receiver 2 is shorter than the first receiver 1 along a proximal to distal direction (figure 14). The second receiver 2 is rotatable relative to an axis of the connection to position the second receiver 2 at an acute angle relative to the axis of connection 3 (figure 3), and wherein the connection 3 is monolithic with the one arm of the first pair of arms (figure 13). A second arm of the second pair of arms is closed at an outer surface thereof such that the connection does not extend through the second arm (figures 1 and 5)
Zhu et al. discloses the claimed invention except wherein the second receiver is moveable in directions including translation, roll, pitch, and yaw. Zhu et al. teaches wherein the second receiver is moveable in directions including roll and pitch.
Casey et al. teaches a connection 70/46 between a first receiver 18 and a second receiver 16 wherein the connection is integral to the first receiver 18 and moveable relative to the second receiver 16 in all axes (figures 2-7; col. 5, lines 1-18), wherein relative to the connection between the first receiver and the second receiver, the second receiver 16 is movable in multiple dimensions including translation, roll, pitch, and yaw (col. 5, lines 1-18 discloses that the spherical connection 70 in combination with the passage 68 allows rotation of the receiver 16 in all directions, and sliding between arm 46 and collet 70). Casey et al. teaches that such a connection is advantageous because it allows the receivers to better accommodate the patient’s anatomy (col. 3, lines 34-43).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the bone screw /receiver disclosed by Zhu et al. to comprise a connection as taught by Casey et al., wherein the second receiver is moveable in directions including translation, roll, pitch, and yaw, in order to better accommodate the patient’s anatomy (col. 3, lines 34-43).
Regarding claims 15-17 and 19, as modified, a gap exists between the second receiver 1 and the first receiver 2 during movement of the second receiver 2 in each of the multiple dimensions (figure 2 of Casey et al.); wherein the gap is sufficient to prevent contact between the first receiver 1 and the second receiver 2 during movement of the second receiver in all of the multiple dimensions (when the receivers are fully translated apart from one another, such a gap exists); wherein the first and second rod channels are aligned substantially parallel with one another, and are offset in each of two dimensions (they are offset laterally, and when tilted away from each other); wherein a gap exists between the second receiver 1 and the first receiver 2 during movement of the second receiver 2 in each of the multiple dimensions (figure 2 of casey et al), wherein a primary axis of the gap is aligned with the axis of the connection between the first receiver and the second receiver (Casey, figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Zhu et al. as modified by Casey et al. discloses the claimed invention except wherein the bone screw further comprises a load ring configured to be bottom-loaded into the first receiver, wherein the shank head is configured to be bottom loaded with space for a clip ring or a lock ring to be assembled below the shank head.
Casey et al. teaches wherein a bone screw further comprises a load ring 42 configured to be bottom-loaded into the first receiver 34, wherein the shank head 26 is configured to be bottom loaded with space for a clip ring 42 or a lock ring to be assembled below the shank head (figure 2-4), for the purpose of allowing the screw shank to be anchored into the vertebrae before attaching it to the dual head receiver (col. 4, lines 32-42).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the bone screw disclosed by Zhu to further comprise a load ring configured to be bottom-loaded into the first receiver, wherein the shank head is configured to be bottom loaded with space for a clip ring or a lock ring to be assembled below the shank head, as taught by Casey et al., for the purpose of allowing the screw shank to be anchored into the vertebrae before attaching it to the dual head receiver (col. 4, lines 32-42).
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (Pub. No. AU2018330957 A1) in view of Casey et al. (Pat. No. US 9517089) and further in view of Yacoub et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0325558 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Zhu et al. as modified by Casey et al. discloses the claimed invention, except wherein the second receiver 2 comprises a second tool engagement groove at an outer surface of the second pair of arms at or near a top surface thereof, and wherein a top edge of the connection between the first receiver and the second receiver is distal to the second tool engagement groove. Zhu et al. discloses that the first receiver comprises a tool engagement groove (figure 14), but does not show a tool engagement groove on the second receiver.
Yacoub et al. teaches wherein both receivers of a dual-headed receiver comprise tool engagement grooves 782 (figure 56), wherein the second receiver comprises a second tool engagement groove 782 at an outer surface of the second pair of arms at or near a top surface thereof, and wherein a top edge of the connection 750 between the first receiver and the second receiver is distal to the second tool engagement groove (figure 56).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the second receiver to comprise a tool engagement groove at an outer surface of the second pair of arms at or near a top surface thereof, and wherein a top edge of the connection between the first receiver and the second receiver is distal to the second tool engagement groove, as taught by Yacoub et al., in order to make it easier to grasp the dual-headed receiver during placement thereof.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11684395. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are thus more specific. Thus the invention of the patent claims are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the application claims are anticipated by the patent claims, they are not patentably distinct from the patent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that Casey fails to disclose the feature of the second receiver is movable in multiple dimensions including roll, pitch, and yaw is not persuasive. Casey clearly discloses a spherical connection 70 with an arm 46 in figures 3-5. Col. 5, lines 9-18 discloses that the spherical connection 70/arm 46 allows for translation and rotation of the tulip in all directions. Applicant’s argument that the connection of Casey is flat is irrelevant, since the spherical collet 70 of Casey allows for rotation in all directions. The pending rejection modifies Zhu to comprise connection as taught by Casey in order to provide more axes of rotation and thereby better accommodate the patient’s anatomy. Such a modification does not destroy the function of Zhu, because Zhu can still operate as intended with the added advantage of additional dimension of angulation and movement to better accommodate the patient.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LYNNSY M SUMMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773