DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-20, in the reply filed on 24 November 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that there is no search burden. This is not found persuasive. The Examiner maintains that the different categories of invention require a different field of search.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2011/0272277 A1 to Potchen et al. (Potchen).
As to claim 1, Potchen teaches an electrolytic cell (10) comprising an inlet (54) for receiving fluids into a first side of the electrolytic cell (10); an outlet (52) opposite the inlet (54) at a second side of the electrolytic cell (10) where fluids exit the electrolytic cell (10); a cell body (30) positioned between the inlet (54) and the outlet (52), the cell body (30) comprising a plurality of spaced apart bipolar electrode plates (electrode plates (20) not directly connected to terminals (16)); a first space formed between the inlet (54) and the plurality of bipolar plates (20); and a first flow diverter (34) positioned within the first space, the first flow diverter (34) comprising a plurality of channels (44) that adjust a flow of fluids flowing into the cell body (30) from the inlet (54) (Paragraphs 0022-0027; Figure 2).
As to claims 2 and 3, Potchen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Potchen further teaches that the flow diverter (34) comprises a top surface, a bottom surface, side surfaces and a body portion with the channels (44) formed through top surface, bottom surface and body portion and between the sides (Figure 2, as annotated below).
As to claim 4, Potchen teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Potchen further teaches that the sides of the first flow divertor extend below the body forming grips (Figure 2, as annotated above).
As to claim 6, Potchen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Potchen further teaches that the top surface of the first flow diverter faces the plurality of bipolar electrode plates (20) when positioned in the first space (Figure 2, as annotated above).
As to claim 7, Potchen teaches the apparatus of claim 6. Potchen further teaches that the top surface of the first flow diverter abuts the plurality of bipolar electrode plates (20) when positioned in the first space (Figure 2, as annotated above).
As to claims 9 and 10, Potchen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Potchen further teaches that the apparatus comprises a second space formed between the outlet (52) and the plurality of bipolar plates (20) and a second flow diverter (32) positioned within the second space, the second flow diverter configured the same as the first flow diverter (34) and comprising a plurality of channels (42) that adjust a flow of fluids flowing out of the cell body (30) through the outlet (52) (Paragraphs 0022-0027; Figure 2).
As to claim 11, Potchen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Potchen further teaches that the flow diverter is formed of two connecting components, a flow diverting section (34) and a spacer plate (38) engaged and connected to each other (Paragraph 0024; Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potchen as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US 552,414 to Cabell (Cabell).
As to claim 5, Potchen teaches the apparatus of claim 4. However, Potchen fails to further teach that the flow diverter comprises an additional support member that extends from the bottom of the first flow diverter spaced apart from the grips. However, Cabell also discusses the formation of fluid flow structure underneath a stack of electrode plates in a housing and teaches that additional supports (legs) beyond the sides should be provided for supporting the electrodes (Page 1, Lines 65-71). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide an additional support spaced from the sides and extending from the bottom of the flow diverter in order to provide additional support to the bipolar plate stack as taught by Cabell.
Claims 1, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0276942 A1 to Fritz et al. (Fritz) and further in view of US 4,248,690 to Conkling (Conkling).
As to claim 1, Fritz teaches an electrolytic cell (10) comprising an orifice capable of operating as an inlet (46) for receiving fluids into a first side of the electrolytic cell (10); an orifice capable of operating as an outlet (42) opposite the inlet (46) at a second side of the electrolytic cell (10) where fluids exit the electrolytic cell (10); a cell body (20) positioned between the inlet (46) and the outlet (42), the cell body (20) comprising a plurality of spaced apart bipolar electrode plates (14); a first space formed between the inlet (46) and the plurality of bipolar plates (14) (Paragraphs 0049, 0050 and 0056; Figure 2).
However, Fritz fails to further teach that the first space comprises a flow diverter. However, Conkling also discusses an apparatus for the generation of sodium hypochlorite and teaches that by providing a lower electrolyte inlet with a flow diverter (120) comprising a plurality of channels (132/134/136) that adjust a flow of fluids flowing into the cell from the inlet undesirable product buildup can be prevented (Column 10, Lines 29-58; Figure 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the flow diverter of Conkling in the first space of Fritz in order to adjust the inlet flow to prevent undesirable product buildup as taught by Conkling.
As to claims 6 and 8, the combination of Fritz and Conkling teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Conkling further teaches that a top surface of the flow diverter (120) faces the bipolar plates in a spaced apart manner (Figure 8).
Claims 12-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potchen in view of Fritz.
As to claims 12, 13 and 14, Potchen teaches an electrolytic cell (10) comprising an inlet (54) for receiving fluids into a first side of the electrolytic cell (10); an outlet (52) opposite the inlet (54) at a second side of the electrolytic cell (10) where fluids exit the electrolytic cell (10); a cell body (30) positioned between the inlet (54) and the outlet (52), the cell body (30) comprising a plurality of spaced apart bipolar electrode plates (electrode plates (20) not directly connected to terminals (16)); a first space formed between the inlet (54) and the plurality of bipolar plates (20); and a first flow diverter (34) positioned within the first space, the first flow diverter (34) comprising a plurality of channels (44) that adjust a flow of fluids flowing into the cell body (30) from the inlet (54) (Paragraphs 0022-0027; Figure 2).
Potchen further teaches that the apparatus comprises a vessel (126) for suppling fluid to the electrolytic cell (Paragraph 0044; Figure 12). However, Potchen fails to specifically teach that the fluid is a base solution. Potchen teaches that the cell can be used for a variety of electrochemical purposes, not focusing on the specific reactions, merely mentioning water electrolysis as an example, Potchen instead focusing on the cell configuration.
However, Fritz also discusses electrolytic cells with a bipolar plate flow through configuration as in Potchen and teaches that the cells are useful for the generation of sodium hypochlorite from a base solution (Paragraph 0011; Figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a base solution to the vessel of Potchen to allow for the cell configuration of Potchen to form desirable sodium hypochlorite as taught by Fritz. Fritz further teaches that for the generation of sodium hypochlorite the cells should be provided identically in plurality (Paragraph 0011; Figure 3).
As to claim 15, the combination of Potchen and Fritz teaches the apparatus of claim 12. Potchen further teaches that the flow diverter (34) comprises a top surface, a bottom surface, side surfaces and a body portion with the channels (44) formed through top surface, bottom surface and body portion and between the sides (Figure 2, as annotated above).
As to claim 16, the combination of Potchen and Fritz teaches the apparatus of claim 15. Potchen further teaches that the sides of the first flow divertor extend below the body forming grips (Figure 2, as annotated above).
As to claim 18, the combination of Potchen and Fritz teaches the apparatus of claim 12. Potchen further teaches that the top surface of the first flow diverter abuts the plurality of bipolar electrode plates (20) when positioned in the first space (Figure 2, as annotated above).
As to claim 19, the combination of Potchen and Fritz teaches the apparatus of claim 12. Potchen further teaches that the apparatus comprises a second space formed between the outlet (52) and the plurality of bipolar plates (20) and a second flow diverter (32) positioned within the second space, the second flow diverter configured the same as the first flow diverter (34) and comprising a plurality of channels (42) that adjust a flow of fluids flowing out of the cell body (30) through the outlet (52) (Paragraphs 0022-0027; Figure 2).
As to claim 20, the combination of Potchen and Fritz teaches the apparatus of claim 12. Potchen further teaches that the flow diverter is formed of two connecting components, a flow diverting section (34) and a spacer plate (38) engaged and connected to each other (Paragraph 0024; Figure 2).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Potchen and Fritz as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Cabell.
As to claim 17, the combination of Potchen and Fritz teaches the apparatus of claim 16. However, Potchen fails to further teach that the flow diverter comprises an additional support member that extends from the bottom of the first flow diverter spaced apart from the grips. However, Cabell also discusses the formation of fluid flow structure underneath a stack of electrode plates in a housing and teaches that additional supports (legs) beyond the sides should be provided for supporting the electrodes (Page 1, Lines 65-71). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide an additional support spaced from the sides and extending from the bottom of the flow diverter in order to provide additional support to the bipolar plate stack as taught by Cabell.
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794