DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending herein.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species A (Fig.1-6) in the reply filed on 9/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 5 (Figure 4: “rounded” in elected embodiment), 8, 9, 12, and 13, are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/29/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “upper chamber and the lower chamber” (Claim 1/10), “opposite end parts” (Claim 2/4) must all be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), and second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitations: “according to” (Claim 1/10) which are unclear and therefore render the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) , and second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitations: “configured to be disposed” (Claim 1, line 3) which are unclear and therefore render the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required
Claims 2 and 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 2, the claim recites the limitations: “relatively larger than” which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 10, the claim recites the limitations: “disposed along” (line 3) which are indefinite and therefore render the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 10, the claim recites the limitations: “an outside the inner pipe” (line 4) which is indefinite and therefore render the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shibata et al. (US 9,428,040 B2).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Shibata discloses: A motor mount device (See, e.g. Fig.1-9, 71) for an electric vehicle (See, e.g. Fig.1-9, 1), the device comprising:
an inner pipe (See, e.g. Fig.1-9, 94) configured to be disposed along a front-rear direction of the vehicle (See, e.g. Fig.1-9);
an outer pipe (See, e.g. Fig.1-9, 91) disposed coaxially with the inner pipe and around an outside of the inner pipe (See, e.g. Fig.1-9);
a main damper (See, e.g. Fig.1-9, 93) with a bridge (See, e.g. Fig.1-9, 93) defining an upper chamber and a lower chamber (See, e.g. Fig.1-9) between the inner pipe and the outer pipe along the front-rear direction (See, e.g. Fig.1-9) and being elastically deformable according to a load transmitted through the inner pipe (See, e.g. Fig.1-9); and
a middle plate (See, e.g. Fig.1-9, unlabeled) disposed between the main damper and the outer pipe and provided to support a load in the front-rear direction transmitted through the inner pipe by compressing the bridge (See, e.g. Fig.1-9).
[Claim 2] Regarding Claim 1, Shibata discloses: wherein the inner pipe has a central part (See, e.g. Fig.1-9, 94) with an outer diameter that is relatively larger than an outer diameter of each of opposite end parts of the inner pipe, the central part disposed inside of the outer pipe (See, e.g. Fig.1-9).
[Claim 3] Regarding Claim 1, Shibata discloses: wherein the bridge is inclined toward the central part of the inner pipe along the front-rear direction of the main damper (See, e.g. Fig.1-9).
[Claim 4] Regarding Claim 1, Shibata discloses: wherein the middle plate has a cylindrical shape (See, e.g. Fig.1-9) and includes a pair of through holes having a size and shape corresponding to the upper chamber and the lower chamber (See, e.g. Fig.1-9) and has opposite end parts in the front-rear direction surrounding the main damper, respectively, wherein each of the opposite end parts is rounded (See, e.g. Fig.1-9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10 and 11 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record when taken alone or in combination with another does not teach or fairly suggest at this time at least, among other limitations: A motor mount device for an electric vehicle, the device comprising: an inner pipe disposed along a front-rear direction of the vehicle; an outer pipe disposed coaxially with the inner pipe and around an outside the inner pipe; a main damper with a bridge defining an upper chamber and a lower chamber between the inner pipe and the outer pipe along the front-rear direction, the main damper being elastically deformable according to a load transmitted through the inner pipe; a middle plate disposed between the main damper and the outer pipe and configured to support a load in the front-rear direction transmitted through the inner pipe by compressing the bridge; and air flow guides provided in the main damper and configured to allow air to flow inside of the outer pipe as an up-down direction load is applied to the inner pipe, as claimed in Claim 10 and similarly claimed in Claim 6 (emphasis added to allowable limitations not suggested or taught by the prior art).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618