The amendments to the claims, filed on 07/29/2026, have been entered and made of record.
Claims 1-20 are pending with claims 1, 2, 11, and 19 being amended.
Response to Arguments
Arguments presented in the Remarks (“Remarks") filed on 07/29/2026 have been fully considered but are rendered moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendment(s) initiated by the applicant(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, 10, 11, 17 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanathan et al. (“Ramanathan”) [U.S Patent Application Pub. 2022/0366696 A1] in view of Trundle (“Turndle”) [US 10,375,361 B1]
Regarding claim 1, Ramanathan meets the claim limitations as follows (emphasis added):
At least one non-transitory machine-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon (i.e. ‘a program of instructions’) [para. 0127], wherein the instructions, when executed on processing circuitry (i.e. ‘a computer processor’) [para. 0127: ‘a machine-readable storage device for execution by a programmable processor’], cause the processing circuitry to:
receive, via interface circuitry [Figs. 1-2: ‘system 100’, e.g. event detector; para. 0127: ‘electronic circuitry’], sensor data (e.g. ‘the camera image 122’) [Figs. 1-2; para. 0040, 0043, 0053] captured by a plurality of sensors (e.g. ‘one or more cameras 110 installed’ or ‘additional cameras’) [para. 0002-0003, 0010, 0039-0040, 0043, 0114: ‘the monitoring system may activate additional sensors in response to detecting the motion event’; ‘collects data from various sensors in order to monitor conditions and events’], wherein the sensor data comprises a plurality of subsets of sensor data [para. 0003-0004: it is obvious in ‘video surveillance systems’; ‘surveillance cameras’];
detect, based on performing event detection (e.g. ‘areas of interest for motion detection’) on the subsets of sensor data, an inconsistency among event detection results corresponding to (i.e. ‘obtaining a map of false motion event detections’) [Figs. 1-2; para. 0004, 0006, 0010, 0014, 0018, 0058, 0062, 0101, 0115: ‘detecting false motion events’];
detect, based on the sensor data, an external environment of the sensors (e.g. ‘a scene within a field of view of a camera’; ‘areas of interest for motion detection’; ‘activation of the motion sensor or other sensor of a doorbell’) [Figs. 1-2; para. 0014, 0043-0044];
adjust (i.e. ‘AOI adjuster’ 140) [Figs. 1-2; para. 0004, 0010, 0018, 0058, 0062, 0101: ‘adjusting areas of interest for motion detection’; ‘AOI adjustment in response to a repositioning of the camera 110’], based on the external environment of the sensors, one or more configuration parameters (i.e. ‘AOI’) for event detection [Figs. 1-2; para. 0004, 0010, 0018; 0058, 0062, 0101: ‘movement detected by the camera can trigger the camera, a monitoring system, or both, to perform one or more action’; ‘AOI adjustment in response to a repositioning of the camera 110, or in response to the camera 110 detecting a new object’; ‘The AOI adjuster 140 adjusts the AOI based on the motion events 132’]; and
perform event detection on the sensor data based on the one or more adjusted configuration parameters [Figs. 1-2: ‘Event Detector’ 130 based on ‘Adjusted AOI’ 150].
Ramanathan does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
receive, via interface circuitry, sensor data captured by a plurality of sensors, wherein the sensor data comprises a plurality of subsets of sensor data respectively captured by the plurality of sensors;
detect, based on performing event detection on the subsets of sensor data, an inconsistency among event detection results corresponding to different ones of the sensors;
However in the same field of endeavor Trundle discloses the deficient claim as follows:
receive, via interface circuitry, sensor data captured by a plurality of sensors, wherein the sensor data comprises a plurality of subsets of sensor data respectively captured by the plurality of sensors [Fig. 3: ‘320’, Fig. 4: ‘examples of coordinating tracking operation of cameras’; col. 17: subsets of sensor data (‘450’) and (‘460’) respectively captured by the plurality sensors (‘420’) and (‘430’)];
detect, based on performing event detection on the subsets of sensor data, an inconsistency among event detection results (i.e. ‘coordinating tracking operation of cameras’) [col. 3, 12, 15, 17, ‘no motion exists or the motion is not indicative or relevant/interesting activity’; ’determines whether a detected moving object is the same as a subsequent moving object detected …’] corresponding to different ones of the sensors [Fig. 3: ‘320’, Fig. 4: ‘examples of coordinating tracking operation of cameras’; col. 17: subsets of sensor data (‘450’) and (‘460’) respectively captured by the plurality sensors (‘420’) and (‘430’)];
Ramanathan and Trundle are combinable because they are from the same field of surveillance cameras.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ramanathan and Trundle to install a plurality of cameras for surveillance tracking.
Regarding claim 2, Ramanathan meets the claim limitations as follows:
The storage medium of claim 1, wherein the instructions that cause the processing circuitry to detect, based on performing event detection on the sensor data, the inconsistency among the event detection results corresponding to different ones of the sensors (i.e. ‘obtaining a map of false motion event detections’) [Figs. 1-2; para. 0006, 0014] further cause the processing circuitry to:
perform event detection (i.e. ‘Event Detector 130’) on the subsets of sensor data captured by the plurality of sensors [Figs. 1-2; para. 0006, 0014, 0060-0104: ‘… the adjusted AOI 150 by refining the initial AOI 102’];
detect an event (i.e. ‘adjusted AOI 150’ and ‘Event Detector 130’) based on the subsets of sensor data captured by a first subset of the sensors (i.e. ‘a first area of interest’ of camera 110) [Figs. 1-3; para. 0006, 0014, 0060-0104, 0119-0120: ‘… using a first area of interest of a scene within a field of view of a camera …’; ‘obtaining a map of true motion event detections using the first area of interest’]; and
fail to detect the event (i.e. ‘obtaining a map of false motion event detections’) based on the subsets of sensor data captured by a second subset of the sensors (i.e. ‘a second area of interest’; ‘one or more additional sensors, e.g., motion sensors, additional cameras’) [Figs. 1-3; para. 0006, 0014, 0060-0104, 0110-0111, 0119-0120: ‘obtaining a map of false motion event detections’; ‘determining whether true motion event detections using the second area of interest’].
Ramanathan does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
fail to detect the event based on the sensor data captured by a second subset of the sensors.
However in the same field of endeavor Trundle discloses the deficient claim as follows:
fail to detect the event (i.e. ‘determines whether … the same’) based on the sensor data captured by a second subset of the sensors (i.e. ‘as a subsequent moving object detected in subsequent images captured by a camera’) [Fig. 4A, 4C; col. 3, 12, 15, 17, 19, ‘no motion exists or the motion is not indicative or relevant/interesting activity’; ’determines whether a detected moving object is the same as a subsequent moving object detected …’].
Ramanathan and Trundle are combinable because they are from the same field of surveillance cameras.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ramanathan and Trundle to install a plurality of cameras for surveillance tracking.
Regarding claim 8, Ramanathan meets the claim limitations as follows (emphasis added):
The storage medium of claim 1, wherein: the one or more configuration parameters (i.e. ‘AOI’) are associated at least in part with one or more event detection models (i.e. ‘an AOI adjuster can use an algorithm to automatically detect objects’) [Figs. 1-2; para. 0004, 0010, 0012, 0018; 0058, 0062, 0101: ‘movement detected by the camera can trigger the camera, a monitoring system, or both, to perform one or more action’; ‘The AOI adjuster 140 adjusts the AOI based on the motion events 132’],
wherein the one or more event detection models are trained to perform event detection (i.e. ‘a pretrained object detector’) [para. 0046, 0059: ‘a pre-trained object detector on camera images’] based on the sensor data captured by one or more of the sensors; and
the instructions that cause the processing circuitry to adjust (i.e. ‘AOI adjuster’ 140) [Figs. 1-2; para. 0004, 0010, 0018, 0058, 0062, 0101: ‘adjusting areas of interest for motion detection’; ‘AOI adjustment in response to a repositioning of the camera 110’], based on the external environment of the sensors, the one or more configuration parameters (i.e. ‘AOI’) for event detection [Figs. 1-2; para. 0004, 0010, 0018; 0058, 0062, 0101: ‘movement detected by the camera can trigger the camera, a monitoring system, or both, to perform one or more action’; ‘AOI adjustment in response to a repositioning of the camera 110, or in response to the camera 110 detecting a new object’; ‘The AOI adjuster 140 adjusts the AOI based on the motion events 132’] further cause the processing circuitry to: reconfigure [Fig. 1, 2: ‘Adjusted AOI 150’], based on the external environment of the sensors, the one or more event detection models used to perform event detection.
Regarding claim 10, Ramanathan meets the claim limitations as follows:
The storage medium of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensors include at least one of a camera [Fig. 1: camera 110], a microphone [para. 0114: ‘microphone’], a location sensor, a radio frequency identification (RFID) sensor, a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensor, a radio detection and ranging (RADAR) sensor [para. 0042: ‘radio wave images’], an ultrasonic sensor, a thermal sensor, an infrared sensor [Fig. 0042: ‘infrared images’], a temperature sensor, a gas sensor, or a magnetic sensor.
Regarding claim 11, the corresponding system in the claim is identical in scope and function to the previously rejected “non-transitory machine-readable storage medium” claim 1, and is therefore rejected in the same manner.
Regarding claim 17, the corresponding system in the claim is identical in scope and function to the previously rejected “non-transitory machine-readable storage medium” claim 8, and is therefore rejected in the same manner.
Regarding claim 19, the corresponding method in the claim is identical in scope and function to the previously rejected “non-transitory machine-readable storage medium” claim 1, and is therefore rejected in the same manner.
Claims 3 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanathan in view of Trundle in further view of Han et al. (“Han”) [US 2005/0104960 A1]
Regarding claim 3, Ramanathan meets the claim limitations as follows:
The storage medium of claim 1, wherein the instructions that cause the processing circuitry to detect, based on the sensor data, the external environment of the sensors (e.g. ‘a scene within a field of view of a camera’; ‘areas of interest for motion detection’; ‘activation of the motion sensor or other sensor of a doorbell’) [Figs. 1-2; para. 0014, 0043-0044] further cause the processing circuitry to: detect, based on the sensor data, one or more conditions of the external environment (i.e. ‘areas of interest for motion detection’ or ‘a doorbell’), wherein the one or more conditions include at least one of lighting [para. 0114: ‘turning on a porch light’], weather, visibility (i.e. ‘turning on a porch light’), noise, location, or time of day.
Ramanathan does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
wherein the one or more conditions include at least one of lighting, weather, visibility, noise, location, or time of day.
However in the same field of endeavor Han discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein the one or more conditions [Figs. 1A, 2, 9: ‘The image-based multiple-object tracking system’] include at least one of lighting, weather, visibility, noise, location, or time of day [para. 0003, 0024, 0049, 0137: ‘the system’s assessment as the locations of objects’; ‘to changed lighting conditions’].
Ramanathan, Trundle and Han are combinable because they are from the same field of motion failure determination.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ramanathan, Trundle and Han as motivation to include detecting true motion, lighting or location of the object for a surveillance system.
Regarding claim 12, all claim limitations are set forth as claim 3 in the system form and rejected as per discussion for claim 3.
Claims 4-6, 9, 13-15 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanathan in view of Trundle in further view of Merrill et al. (“Merrill”) [US 9,743,013 B1]
Regarding claim 4, Ramanathan meets the claim limitations as follows:
The storage medium of claim 1, wherein: the one or more configuration parameters include one or more sensor settings (i.e. ‘AOI’) associated with one or more of the sensors [Figs. 1, 2: ‘Adjusted AOI 150’; ; para. 0004, 0010, 0018; 0058, 0062, 0101: ‘AOI adjustment in response to a repositioning of the camera 110, or in response to the camera 110 detecting a new object’; ‘The AOI adjuster 140 adjusts the AOI based on the motion events 132’]; and
the instructions that cause the processing circuitry to adjust, based on the external environment of the sensors, the one or more configuration parameters for event detection further cause the processing circuitry to: adjust, based on the external environment of the sensors, the one or more sensor settings [Figs. 1, 2: ‘Adjusted AOI 150’; ; para. 0004, 0010, 0018; 0058, 0062, 0101: ‘AOI adjustment in response to a repositioning of the camera 110, or in response to the camera 110 detecting a new object’; ‘The AOI adjuster 140 adjusts the AOI based on the motion events 132’].
Ramanathan does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
wherein: …; and the instructions that cause the processing circuitry to adjust, based on the external environment of the sensors, the one or more configuration parameters for event detection further cause the processing circuitry to: adjust, based on the external environment of the sensors, the one or more sensor settings.
However in the same field of endeavor Merrill discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein: …; and the instructions that cause the processing circuitry to adjust, based on the external environment of the sensors, the one or more configuration parameters for event detection further cause the processing circuitry to: adjust, based on the external environment of the sensors, the one or more sensor settings [col. 9: ‘adjusted for a camera include pan angle(s), pitch angle(s), zoom, focus, sensitivity …’].
Ramanathan, Trundle and Merill are combinable because they are from the same field of surveillance systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ramanathan, Trundle and Merill as motivation to include a networks of cameras and/or other sensors that effectively cooperate with one another to use hiding devices to hide or disguise [Merill: col. 1, 2].
Regarding claim 5, Ramanathan meets the claim limitations set forth in claim 4:
Ramanathan does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations:
The storage medium of claim 4, wherein: the plurality of sensors include a camera; and the one or more sensor settings include: one or more pan, tilt, or zoom settings associated with a field of view of the camera; a resolution of the camera; a frame rate of the camera; or a lighting intensity of the camera.
However in the same field of endeavor Merrill discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein: the plurality of sensors include a camera; and the one or more sensor settings include: one or more pan, tilt, or zoom settings associated with a field of view of the camera; a resolution of the camera; a frame rate of the camera; or a lighting intensity of the camera [col. 9: ‘adjusted for a camera include pan angle(s), pitch angle(s), zoom, focus, sensitivity, aperture setting, frame-rate …’].
Ramanathan, Trundle and Merill are combinable because they are from the same field of surveillance systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ramanathan, Trundle and Merill as motivation to include a networks of cameras and/or other sensors that effectively cooperate with one another to use hiding devices to hide or disguise [Merill: col. 1, 2].
Regarding claim 6, Ramanathan meets the claim limitations as follows:
The storage medium of claim 4, wherein: the plurality of sensors include a microphone [Ramanathan: para. 0114: ‘microphone’]; and the one or more sensor settings include: a sensitivity of the microphone; a beam direction of the microphone; or a sampling rate of the microphone.
Ramanathan does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
wherein: the plurality of sensors include a microphone; and the one or more sensor settings include: a sensitivity of the microphone; a beam direction of the microphone; or a sampling rate of the microphone.
However in the same field of endeavor Merill discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein: the plurality of sensors include a microphone; and the one or more sensor settings include: a sensitivity of the microphone; a beam direction of the microphone; or a sampling rate of the microphone [col. 9, ll. 50-55: ‘adjusting the sensitivity of microphones’; ‘adjusting the pointing directions of directional microphones’].
Ramanathan, Trundle and Merill are combinable because they are from the same field of surveillance systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ramanathan, Trundle and Merill as motivation to include a networks of cameras and/or other sensors that effectively cooperate with one another to use hiding devices to hide or disguise [Merill: col. 1, 2].
Regarding claim 9, Ramanathan meets the claim limitations as follows:
The storage medium of claim 8, wherein the instructions that cause the processing circuitry to reconfigure [Fig. 1, 2: ‘Adjusted AOI 150’], based on the external environment of the sensors, the one or more event detection models (i.e. ‘an AOI adjuster can use an algorithm to automatically detect objects’) [Figs. 1-2; para. 0004, 0010, 0012, 0018; 0058, 0062, 0101: ‘movement detected by the camera can trigger the camera, a monitoring system, or both, to perform one or more action’; ‘The AOI adjuster 140 adjusts the AOI based on the motion events 132’] used to perform event detection further cause the processing circuitry to:
adjust, based on the external environment of the sensors, one or more performance characteristics (i.e. ‘AOI’) of the one or more event detection models [Figs. 1-2; para. 0004, 0010, 0018; 0058, 0062, 0101: ‘movement detected by the camera can trigger the camera, a monitoring system, or both, to perform one or more action’; ‘AOI adjustment in response to a repositioning of the camera 110, or in response to the camera 110 detecting a new object’; ‘The AOI adjuster 140 adjusts the AOI based on the motion events 132’]; or
replace [Fig. 1, 2: ‘Adjusted AOI 150’], based on the external environment of the sensors, the one or more event detection models with one or more alternative event detection models, wherein the one or more alternative event detection models have different performance characteristics than the one or more event detection models.
Ramanathan does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
adjust, based on the external environment of the sensors, one or more performance characteristics of the one or more event detection models; or
replace, based on the external environment of the sensors, the one or more event detection models with one or more alternative event detection models, wherein the one or more alternative event detection models have different performance characteristics than the one or more event detection models.
However in the same field of endeavor Merrill discloses the deficient claim as follows:
adjust, based on the external environment of the sensors, one or more performance characteristics of the one or more event detection models [col. 9: ‘adjusted for a camera include pan angle(s), pitch angle(s), zoom, focus, sensitivity …’; ‘adjusting the sensitivity of microphones’; ‘adjusting the pointing directions of directional microphones’]; or
replace (i.e. ‘adjusted’), based on the external environment of the sensors, the one or more event detection models with one or more alternative event detection models, wherein the one or more alternative event detection models have different performance characteristics than the one or more event detection models [col. 9: ‘adjusted for a camera include pan angle(s), pitch angle(s), zoom, focus, sensitivity …’; ‘adjusting the sensitivity of microphones’; ‘adjusting the pointing directions of directional microphones’].
Ramanathan, Trundle and Merill are combinable because they are from the same field of surveillance systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ramanathan, Trundle and Merill as motivation to include a networks of cameras and/or other sensors that effectively cooperate with one another to use hiding devices to hide or disguise [Merill: col. 1, 2].
Regarding claim 13, all claim limitations are set forth as claim 4 in the system form and rejected as per discussion for claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, all claim limitations are set forth as claim 5 in the system form and rejected as per discussion for claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, all claim limitations are set forth as claim 6 in the system form and rejected as per discussion for claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, all claim limitations are set forth as claim 9 in the system form and rejected as per discussion for claim 9.
Claims 7, 16 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanathan in view of Trundle in further view of Zhou et al. (“Zhou”) [US 2016/0273921 A1]
Regarding claim 7, Ramanathan meets the claim limitations set forth in claim 1.
Ramanathan does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations:
The storage medium of claim 1, wherein: the one or more configuration parameters include one or more sensor fusion weights, wherein the one or more sensor fusion weights indicate a level of influence of one or more of the sensors for performing event detection; and the instructions that cause the processing circuitry to adjust, based on the external environment of the sensors, the one or more configuration parameters for event detection further cause the processing circuitry to: adjust, based on the external environment of the sensors, the one or more sensor fusion weights.
However in the same field of endeavor Zhou discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein:
the one or more configuration parameters include one or more sensor fusion weights [para. 0211: ‘one or more weight values can be determined …;],
wherein the one or more sensor fusion weights indicate a level of influence (i.e. ‘indicative of the accuracy of a machine vision algorithm’) of one or more of the sensors for performing event detection [para. 0211: ‘such that the weight value is based on a parameter indicative of the accuracy of a machine vision algorithm used to analyze vision sensing data’]; and
the instructions that cause the processing circuitry [Fig. 4, 6: camera 602, 604; IMU 606, GPS 608] to adjust, based on the external environment of the sensors (e.g.; one or more of sensor signal strength or magnitude, …, or a state of the movable object’) [Fig. 6], the one or more configuration parameters (i.e. ‘The weight value can be determined’) [para. 0211: ‘The weight value can be determined …. based on any suitable parameter, such as one or more of sensor signal strength or magnitude, …, or a state of the movable object’] for event detection further cause the processing circuitry to: adjust, based on the external environment of the sensors, the one or more sensor fusion weights (i.e. ‘The weight value can be determined’) [para. 0211: ‘The weight value can be determined by the sensor fusion module 520 based on any suitable parameter, such as one or more of sensor signal strength or magnitude, number of sensing signals received by a sensing system, sensor type, or a state of the movable object’].
Ramanathan, Trundle and Zhou are combinable because they are from the same field of sensor fusion.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ramanathan, Trundle and Zhou as motivation to include sensor fusion as an improved system for collecting positional information for movable objects such as unmanned vehicles [para. 0003].
Regarding claim 16, all claim limitations are set forth as claim 7 in the system form and rejected as per discussion for claim 7.
Regarding claim 20, all claim limitations are set forth as claim 7 in the method form and rejected as per discussion for claim 7.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER D LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488