Detail Office Action
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Status: Please all the replies and correspondence should be addressed to Examiner’s art unit 2629. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted on 04-06-2023 under new application; which have been placed of record in the file. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04-07-2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OGATA NAOKO (US 20250036349 A1) hereinafter referenced as OGATA in view of KENMOCHI Isamu (US-20210020124-A1) hereinafter referenced as KENMOCHI.
Regarding Claim 1, OGATA discloses An apparatus (please see figs. 1-2) comprising: at least one memory and at least one processor (par.122-123), communicatively coupled to the at least one memory, wherein the at least one processor is to execute instructions stored on the at least one memory that cause the at least one processor to: determine (paras. 122-123) distance between two display based on radiation and/or emitted image (paras.34-35, figs. 1, 4, paras. 38 existence of multiple display device, and determining distance between two displays display device emitting radio waves to determine distance between two displays).
However, OGATA fails to recite location or position of the second or another monitor or display.
However, KENMOCHI does disclose location or position of the second or another monitor or display (paras. 7, 41 disclosing image pixel light emitted is detected by light detecting unit determining display position and location).
OGATA teaches a method performed by the computer of the system or apparatus by, for example, reading out and executing computer instructions from the storage medium to perform the functions to control the display such that in a case where possibility of collision of a second user with display device is high.
OGATA teaches the alert determination unit may receive a radio wave emitted from the display device, and measure the distance (or determines the location of the display device) between the second user display device and the first user display device in accordance with the intensity of the received radio wave.
KENMOCHI teaches display device having plurality of light detector detecting light emitted supplies to CPU and determining location or position of the second display.
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, OGATA performs the same function as it does separately of managing process of measuring distance between the second display panel and first display unit which obviously maps to locating second display location or position.
KENMOCHI performs the same function as it does separately of plurality of light detector detecting light emitted supplies to CPU and determining location or position of the second display.
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The results of the combination would have been predictable and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of OGATA to include teaching of location or position of the second or another monitor or display, as disclosed by KENMOCHI thereby computer program product, and computing system for determining relative positioning in a multiple display as KENMOCHI discusses at para.7.
Regarding Claim 2, OGATA discloses an operating system (OS) is to determine (please see paras. 122-123, 56) a location of at least one display based on radiation and/or emitted image (paras.34-35, figs. 1, 4, paras. 38 existence of multiple display device, and determining distance between two displays display device emitting radio waves to determine distance between wo displays or location of the two displays).
Please also see KENMOCH disclosure, paras. paras. 7, 41 disclosing image pixel light emitted is detected by light detecting unit supplied to CPU and CPU determining display position and location.
Regarding Claim 10, , OGATA discloses An apparatus (please see figs. 1-2) comprising: at least one memory and at least one processor (par.122-123), communicatively coupled to the at least one memory, wherein the at least one processor is to execute instructions stored on the at least one memory that cause the at least one processor to: determine (paras. 122-123) distance between two display based on radiation and/or emitted image (paras.34-35, figs. 1, 4, paras. 38 existence of multiple display device, and determining distance between two displays display device emitting radio waves to determine distance between two displays).
However, OGATA fails to recite location or position of the second or another monitor or display.
However, KENMOCHI does disclose location or position of the second or another monitor or display (para. 7, 41 disclosing image pixel light emitted is detected by light detecting unit determining display position and location).
OGATA teaches a method performed by the computer of the system or apparatus by, for example, reading out and executing computer instructions from the storage medium to perform the functions to control the display such that in a case where possibility of collision of a second user with display device is high.
OGATA teaches the alert determination unit may receive a radio wave emitted from the display device, and measure the distance (or determines the location of the display device) between the second user display device and the first user display device in accordance with the intensity of the received radio wave.
KENMOCHI teaches display device having plurality of light detector detecting light emitted supplies to CPU and determining location or position of the second display.
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, OGATA performs the same function as it does separately of managing process of measuring distance between the second display panel and first display unit which obviously maps to locating second display location or position.
KENMOCHI performs the same function as it does separately of plurality of light detector detecting light emitted supplies to CPU and determining location or position of the second display.
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The results of the combination would have been predictable and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of OGATA to include teaching of location or position of the second or another monitor or display, as disclosed by KENMOCHI thereby computer program product, and computing system for determining relative positioning in a multiple display as KENMOCHI discusses at para.7.
Regarding Claim 11, OGATA discloses an operating system (OS) is to determine (please see paras. 122-123, 56) a location of at least one display based on radiation and/or emitted image (paras.34-35, figs. 1, 4, paras. 38 existence of multiple display device, and determining distance between two displays display device emitting radio waves to determine distance between wo displays or location of the two displays).
Please also see KENMOCH disclosure, paras. paras. 7, 41 disclosing image pixel light emitted is detected by light detecting unit supplied to CPU and CPU determining display position and location.
Regarding Claim 16, OGATA discloses A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon, that if executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors (paras. 122-123) to determine a location of at least one display based on radiation and/or emitted image relative to a monitor of a computer (paras.34-35, figs. 1, 4, paras. 38 existence of multiple display device, and determining distance between two displays display device emitting radio waves to determine distance between two displays).
However, OGATA fails to recite location or position of the second or another monitor or display.
However, KENMOCHI does disclose location or position of the second or another monitor or display (para. 7, 41 disclosing image pixel light emitted is detected by light detecting unit determining display position and location).
OGATA teaches a method performed by the computer of the system or apparatus by, for example, reading out and executing computer instructions from the storage medium to perform the functions to control the display such that in a case where possibility of collision of a second user with display device is high.
OGATA teaches the alert determination unit may receive a radio wave emitted from the display device, and measure the distance (or determines the location of the display device) between the second user display device and the first user display device in accordance with the intensity of the received radio wave.
KENMOCHI teaches display device having plurality of light detector detecting light emitted supplies to CPU and determining location or position of the second display.
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, OGATA performs the same function as it does separately of managing process of measuring distance between the second display panel and first display unit which obviously maps to locating second display location or position.
KENMOCHI performs the same function as it does separately of plurality of light detector detecting light emitted supplies to CPU and determining location or position of the second display.
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The results of the combination would have been predictable and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of OGATA to include teaching of location or position of the second or another monitor or display, as disclosed by KENMOCHI thereby computer program product, and computing system for determining relative positioning in a multiple display as KENMOCHI discusses at para.7.
Claim(s) 3-5, 8-9, 12-13, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OGATA NAOKO (US 20250036349 A1) hereinafter referenced as OGATA in view of KENMOCHI Isamu (US-20210020124-A1) hereinafter referenced as KENMOCHI as applied to claims 1-2, 10-11 and 16 above, and further in view of Deluca Lisa Seacat et al.( US 20170147271 A1) hereinafter referenced as Deluca et al.
Regarding Claim 3, OGATA fails to disclose at least two antennas coupled to the at least one processor.
However, prior art of Deluca et al. disclosing at least two antennas coupled to the at least one processor (please see fig 1, 3, item 130, S (320, 330), paras. 16, 25, 26, disclosing display device consisting of plurality (two) of short range wireless communicating antennas coupled to processor).
OGATA teaches a method performed by the computer of the system or apparatus by, for example, reading out and executing computer instructions from the storage medium to perform the functions to control the display such that in a case where possibility of collision of a second user with display device is high.
OGATA teaches the alert determination unit may receive a radio wave emitted from the display device, and measure the distance (or determines the location of the display device) between the second user display device and the first user display device in accordance with the intensity of the received radio wave.
Deluca et al. teaches display device having display device consisting of plurality (two) of short range wireless communicating antennas coupled to processor.
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, OGATA performs the same function as it does separately of managing process controlling the display such that in a case where possibility of collision of a second user with display device is high.
Deluca et al. performs the same function as it does separately of multiple short range antennas to receive and transmit emitted radio wave signals to determine location or position of the display panels.
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The results of the combination would have been predictable and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of OGATA to include teaching of having multiple short range antennas to receive and transmit emitted radio wave signals to determine location or position of the display panels, as disclosed by Deluca et al. thereby computer program product, and computing system for determining relative positioning in a multiple display grid as Deluca et al. discusses at para. 3.
Regarding Claim 4, Deluca et al. discloses the determine a location of at least one display based on radiation and/or emitted image comprises: determine emitted radiation received by the at least two antennas from the at least one display (please see please see fig 1, 3, item 130, S (320, 330), paras. 16, 25, 26, disclosing display device consisting of plurality (two) of short range wireless communicating antennas coupled to processor)
Regarding Claim 5, Deluca et al. the emitted radiation comprises Wi-Fi and/or Bluetooth signals (para. 16)
Regarding Claim 8, Deluca et al. discloses a monitor communicatively coupled to the at least one memory (Fig. 4), wherein the at least one processor is to determine a location of at least one display based on radiation and/or emitted image relative to the monitor (please see please see fig 1, 3, item 130, S (320, 330), paras. 16, 25, 26, disclosing display device consisting of plurality (two) of short range wireless communicating antennas coupled to processor).
Regarding Claim 9, OGATA discloses one or more of a laptop, tablet computer, or smart phone and wherein the laptop, tablet computer, or smart phone comprise the at least one memory and the at least one processor (paras. 3, 40, 122-123)
Regarding Claim 12, Deluca et al. discloses the determining a location of at least one display based on radiation and/or emitted image comprises: determining emitted radiation received by at least two antennas from the at least one display (please see please see fig 1, 3, item 130, S (320, 330), paras. 16, 25, 26, disclosing display device consisting of plurality (two) of short range wireless communicating antennas coupled to processor).
Please see OGATA disclosure, paras.34-35, figs. 1, 4, paras. 38 existence of multiple display device, and determining distance between two displays (hence location of the display or monitor) display device emitting radio waves to determine distance between wo displays.
Regarding Claim 13, Deluca et al. discloses the emitted radiation comprises Wi-Fi and/or Bluetooth signals (para.16).
Regarding Claim 17, Deluca et al. discloses the determine a location of at least one display based on radiation and/or emitted image comprises: determine emitted radiation received by at least two antennas from the at least one display (please see fig 1, 3, item 130, S (320, 330), paras. 16, 25, 26, disclosing display device consisting of plurality (two) of short range wireless communicating antennas coupled to processor).
Please see OGATA disclosure, paras.34-35, figs. 1, 4, paras. 38 existence of multiple display device, and determining distance between two displays (hence location of the display or monitor) display device emitting radio waves to determine distance between wo displays.
Regarding Claim 18, Deluca et al. discloses the emitted radiation comprises Wi-Fi and/or Bluetooth signals (para. 16).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 14-15 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant is requested to review the prior art cited on USTO 892’s.
The prior art of KOMATSU Ryouta et al. (US 20150356789 A1) disclosure; paras. 43-164, discloses a display method executed by a computer, the display method includes: displaying an input image; receiving a first designation of a first point on the input image; detecting a specific object from an input image captured by a camera; generating display data for rendering a plan view, a first display component, and a second display component based on a positional relationship between the camera and the specific object, the plan view corresponding to a first plane which is different from a second plane projected on the input image, the first display component corresponding to the camera and being displayed at a camera position on the first plane, and the second display component corresponding to the reference object and being displayed at a reference object position on the first plane; displaying the plan view, the first display component, and the second display component on a display based on the display data; receiving a second designation of a second point on the plane view corresponding to the first plane; acquiring a position of the point; converting the position on the first plane into another position on depth direction to the second plane; generating positional information indicating three dimensional position of an augmented reality content based on the another position and the first point; and storing the positional information and the augmented reality content into a memory. [0038] When setting the AR object that is displayed by being registered with an object present in the real space, work of measuring the coordinates specifying the position of the AR object is performed. Furthermore, even if the measuring work is performed, when deviation occurs in the position specification, the display is performed in a state where the object that is a target to be displayed by being registered with the AR object and the AR object are deviated from each other. If the deviation in the position specification occurs, the measuring work is performed again to specify a correct position. An object of the disclosure is to provide a standard corresponding to a real space for the position specification in a depth direction of an imaging screen. First, an AR technique, in which an AR object disposed in a three-dimensional virtual space corresponding to real space is displayed to overlap a captured image that is imaged by a camera, will be described. For example, the AR object is model data including a plurality of points. A pattern (texture) is set for each of a plurality of surfaces obtained by interpolating the plurality of points by straight lines or curves. A three-dimensional model is formed by synthesizing the plurality of surfaces. An arrangement of the AR object on the virtual space is performed by determining coordinates of each point configuring the AR object based on a reference object present within the real space. The object is not present at a position of the coordinate of each point in the real space, but the coordinate of each point is determined in the virtual space based on the reference object.
The prior art of Baker Patrick et al. (US 20240212407 A1) disclosure; paras. 28-208, discloses, a communication and alert system for an interactive ID badge. The disclosed system optionally includes badges operable to communicate with other devices such as other servers, tablets, smart phones, or other computing devices, access control or security systems, location finding services, satellites or cellular networks for communication or location finding, location specific beacon(s), and the like, via wired or wireless communication links. Optional local computer(s) may be included which may accept input or provide output in collaboration with the badge. These local computers may include tablets, desktop computers, smart phones, laptop computers, or any other suitable computing device. In another aspect, events captured by the local computer(s) optionally cause a change to the state of a badge, or multiple badges, and input optionally captured using the badge may cause a change to the state of one or more collaborating device(s). These interactions are managed by the disclosed management system which is operable to facilitate communication between devices and platforms so that personnel may be kept abreast of important events in real time and may be mobilized to respond as needed. Management system is optionally configured to coordinate with access control/security systems which may be configured to confirm credentials of a badge user. The management system of the present disclosure may be configured to query the servers or other computers of the access control system when a badge is assigned to a user. In another aspect, the management system may be optionally configured to update the access control system with new credentials provided by the user, and/or with an indication that a badge has been assigned to a particular user, optionally including information about which specific badges were assigned to individual users. Interactive badge my collaborate with patient care systems to receive notifications or alerts, and to optionally coordinate a response amongst one or more badge users. Such systems may include systems for monitoring patient activity in a hospital, clinic, nursing home, or other facility where a patient may be receiving care. More specifically, a monitoring system may interact with the disclosed communication system to detect patient activity and to analyze this data in real time to predict when a patient is likely to stand, which may lead to a fall, for example, from a bed, chair, or other supporting structure. When the system determines that a fall is imminent, nearby caregivers may be alerted via the disclosed badges, or other nearby computers, and can then offer timely assistance thus increasing the chance of avoiding a fall before it happens.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria VA 22313-1450
/Prabodh M Dharia/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2629
04-23-2026