DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of Amendment filed December 9, 2025. Claims 16-17 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2023/0047235).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a backlight module configured to illuminate a plurality of key caps, the backlight module comprising: a lighting board comprising a plurality of illuminants (generally 350; see Figs. 20-21) aligned into two rows (for example rows R2 and R3 respectively having rows of light sources 352 and 353; see Fig. 22); and a shielding sheet 380 comprising: at least one first outlet window (outlet window corresponding to length of R2 and light sources 352); a plurality of first block patterns (382,384; see Fig. 21) disposed within the at least one first outlet window respectively, each of the first block patterns respectively corresponding to one of the illuminants 352, the first block patterns forming a first row pattern; at least one second outlet window (outlet window corresponding to length of R3 and light sources 353); and a plurality of second block patterns (382,384) disposed within the at least one second outlet window, each of the second block patterns respectively corresponding to one of the illuminants, the second block patterns forming a second row pattern; wherein a first window length of an entire contour of the at least one first outlet window is as long as a second window length of the at least one second outlet window, and the first row pattern is different from the second row pattern (see at least Figures 4C and 21-27 and paras [0068]-[0070] and [0100]-[0131])).
Regarding claim 2, a plurality of first outlet windows in Chen have identical areas (see at least Figs. 1A, 22 and 26).
Regarding claim 3, the second outlet window and each first outlet window in Chen have different areas (see at least Figs. 1A, 22 and 26).
Regarding claim 4, the short sides of the first outlet window and the second outlet window in Chen are equal in length (see at least Figs. 1A, 22 and 26).
Regarding claim 5, the first row pattern in Chen defines a first frame pattern surrounding the at least one first outlet window, the second row pattern defines a second frame pattern surrounding the at least one second outlet window, and the first frame pattern is different from the second frame pattern.
Regarding claim 6, wherein the first row pattern defines a first frame pattern surrounding the at least one first outlet window, the second row pattern defines a second frame pattern surrounding the at least one second outlet window, and the first frame pattern is at least partially identical to the second frame pattern.
Regarding claim 7, the backlight module in Chen comprises a plurality of first outlet windows, and two of a plurality of second outlet windows located at relatively outer sides are identical to two of the plurality of first outlet windows located at relatively outer sides (see at least Figs. 1A, 22 and 26).
Regarding claim 8, the backlight module in Chen comprises a plurality of first outlet windows, and the first window length of an entire contour of the plurality of first outlet windows is as long as the second window length of the at least one second outlet window (see at least Figs. 1A, 22 and 26).
Regarding claim 9, two of the plurality of second block patterns in Chen are located at relatively outer sides and two of the plurality of first block patterns located at relatively outer sides correspond to each other in shape and position (see at least Figs. 1A, 22 and 26).
Regarding claim 10, the backlight module in Chen comprises a light guide plate 370 and at least one micro-structure layer (at least 346; see also Fig. 6 and microstructures 124), and the micro-structure layer is located on a surface of at least one of the shielding sheet, the light guide plate and the lighting board (see at least Fig. 21 and para [0112]).
Regarding claim 11, the backlight module in Chen comprises at least one micro-structure layer (at least 346), the shielding sheet 380 comprises a second frame pattern, the second frame pattern corresponds to the second outlet window and the second row pattern, and the micro-structure layer overlaps with at least one part of the second frame pattern (see at least Figures 4C and 21-27 and paras [0068]-[0070] and [0100]-[0131])).
Regarding claim 12, the second outlet window in Chen further comprises at least one frame rib, and the frame rib has at least one second supplementary light window.
Regarding claim 13, at least one of the first block patterns in Chen is identical to at least one of the second block patterns (see at least Figs. 1A, 22 and 26).
Regarding claim 14, four corners of the entire contour of the at least one first outlet window in Chen are symmetrical to four corners of the at least one second outlet window (see at least Figs. 1A, 22 and 26).
Regarding claim 15, the second block patterns in Chen are divided into a first group and a second group, and a number of the second group of second block patterns far away from a plurality of first outlet windows is larger than a number of the first group of at least one second block pattern close to the plurality of first outlet windows see at least Figs. 1A, 22 and 26).
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses a backlight module configured to illuminate a plurality of key caps, the backlight module comprising: a lighting board 320 comprising a plurality of illuminants (generally 350; see Figs. 20-21) aligned into two rows; and a shielding sheet 380 comprising: a plurality of first outlet windows (outlet windows corresponding to R2 and R3 and light sources 352,353); a plurality of first block patterns(382,384, see Fig. 21) disposed within the plurality of first outlet windows respectively, each of the first block patterns 382,384 respectively corresponding to one of the illuminants, the first block patterns forming a first row pattern; at least one second outlet window (outlet window corresponding to R4 and light sources 354); and a plurality of second block patterns 382,384 disposed within the at least one second outlet window, each of the second block patterns respectively corresponding to one of the illuminants, the second block patterns forming a second row pattern; wherein the lighting board further comprises a pair of micro-structure regions (at least 346, see Fig. 21) apart from each other, and at least one of the first block patterns is located between the pair of micro-structure regions, the first row pattern is different from the second row pattern (see at least Figures 4C and 21-27 and paras [0068]-[0070] and [0100]-[0131])).
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses a lighting keyboard comprising: at least one first keyswitch (see Figs. 1A and 22; for example left shift key in Row 5); at least one second keyswitch (see Figs. 1A and 22; for example right shift key in Row 5) arranged parallel to the at least one first keyswitch; and a backlight module comprising: a lighting board 320 comprising a plurality of illuminants generally 350; see Figs. 20-21, particularly specific illuminants 355 for first and second keyswitch) corresponding to the at least one first keyswitch and the at least one second keyswitch; and a shielding sheet 380 comprising: at least one first outlet window (outlet window corresponding to R5 and light sources 355); a plurality of first block patterns (382,384; see Fig. 21) disposed within the at least one first outlet window respectively, each of the first block patterns respectively corresponding to one of the illuminants, the first block patterns forming a first row pattern; at least one second outlet window (outlet window corresponding to any other row, for example R4 and light sources light sources 354); and a plurality of second block patterns 382,384 disposed within the at least one second outlet window, each of the second block patterns respectively corresponding to one of the illuminants, the second block patterns forming a second row pattern; wherein a first long side of an entire contour of the at least one first keyswitch is identical to a second long side of the at least one second keyswitch, and the first row pattern is different from the second row pattern (see at least Figures 4C and 21-27 and paras [0068]-[0070] and [0100]-[0131])).
Regarding claim 19, the at least one first keyswitch and the at least one second keyswitch in Chen are two multiple keys located on an identical straight line, a plurality of square keys are located between the two multiple keys, and the at least one first keyswitch and the at least one second keyswitch have corresponding key cap outlets (see at least Figs. 1A, 22 and 26).
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses a lighting board comprising: a plurality of illuminants aligned into two rows; a first pair of non-intersecting traces (for example 331 and 333); a second pair of non-intersecting traces (for example 334 and 336); and a shielding sheet 380 comprising: a plurality of first outlet windows (left and right outlet windows within R2 corresponding to left and right light sources 352); a plurality of first block patterns (382,384) disposed within the plurality of first outlet windows respectively, each of the first block patterns respectively corresponding to one of the illuminants 350, the first block patterns forming a first row pattern; at least one second outlet window (for example outlet window corresponding to row R5 and light sources 355); and a plurality of second block patterns 382,384 disposed within the at least one second outlet window, each of the second block patterns respectively corresponding to one of the illuminants, the second block patterns forming a second row pattern; wherein the first row pattern is located between the first pair of non-intersecting traces 331,333, the second row pattern is located between the second pair of non-intersecting traces 334,336, and the first row pattern is different from the second row pattern (see at least Figures 4C and 21-27 and paras [0068]-[0070] and [0100]-[0131])).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 16, Chen does not teach that the pair of non-intersecting traces 331,334 pass through the plurality of first outlet windows formed in the light shielding layer 380. Accordingly, the claim is deemed patentable over the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 9, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 1, 17-18 and 20, Examiner first respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s submission that the light shielding layer 380 in Chen is not for a keyboard with multiple keys. Chen makes clear that Figure 20 is “a partial cross-sectional view of a light-emitting keyboard 5’” (see para [0100]), and again makes clear that Figure 21 is “a partial cross-sectional view of a backlight module” of Figure 20. Thus, despite Figures 20-21 only showing the structure of one key of the keyboard 5’, the view is only a “partial cross-sectional view” of an entire backlight module and keyboard 5’. Figure 22 shows a top view of a portion of the keyboard including rows of light sources 350, including at least six different rows R1-R6 of light sources 351-356. Accordingly, Chen discloses a light shielding layer 380 disposed on a light guide plate 370 that extends across a keyboard 5’ with holes 372 for receiving the rows of light sources 351-356 (see also Fig. 27 which shows at least two light sources in two different sized holes 372). Examiner also respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s submission that the first block patterns (382,384 associated with light sources 352 in R2) are not “different” from the second row pattern (382,384 associated with light sources 352 in R3). Examiner first notes that there is no clear definition of what is “different” row patterns. Examiner submits that the mere fact that they are in two different rows (R2 and R3) and are their own row of block patterns makes them “different” from each other. Moreover, Examiner submits that the first and second row patterns are “different” from each other in that the patterns are offset from each other and/or different in size pertaining to different sized keycap and the offsetting nature of keyboard rows (see particularly Fig. 26 which shows the offsetting nature and size difference between keys in R2 and R3; also see Fig. 22 where you can see the light sources being offset in R2 from R3 which have the light blocking patterns 382,384 positioned above the light sources as set forth in Figure 21). Accordingly, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s submission that Chen does not disclose the limitations of claims 1, 17-18 and 20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN P GRAMLING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875