DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Singhai et al. (US 2016/0162352).
Consider claim 1, Singhai et al. discloses an apparatus comprising: an interface to a memory pool; and a processor operable to execute one or more instructions to cause the processor to: determine a first memory region of a plurality of memory regions in the memory pool; and modify a metadata of the first memory region from a first configuration to a second configuration, wherein the first configuration is associated with a first number of error correction code (ECC) bits and the second configuration is associated with a second number of ECC bits (abstract, [0013]-[0014], [0021], [0027]-[0030], table 1 and 2, Singhai et al. discloses blocks of memory being grouped together based on degradation of the blocks. The ECC mechanism is adaptive to those conditions, thus giving different groupings of blocks different ECC schemes that utilize different amounts of ECC code bits.), wherein the second configuration allocates metadata bits to a different service ([0014]-[0015], Singhai discloses that the host can run a plurality of user-level applications (different services) and the ECC mechanisms (configurations) are implemented in such a way that they are useful for every service used by the host.).
Consider claim 2, Singhai et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first number of ECC bits is different than the second number of ECC bits (abstract, [0013]-[0014], [0021], [0027]-[0030], table 1 and 2, Singhai et al. discloses different groupings of blocks having different ECC schemes that utilize different amounts of ECC code bits.).
Consider claim 3, Singhai et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first configuration is associated with a first number of bits for a service, wherein the second configuration is associated with a second number of bits for the service (abstract, [0013]-[0014], [0021], [0027]-[0030], table 1 and 2, Singhai et al. discloses different groupings of blocks having different ECC schemes that utilize different amounts of ECC code bits.).
Consider claim 4, Singhai et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the service is to comprise one or more of a security service, an encryption service, an isolation service, or an interconnect protocol service (abstract, [0013]-[0014], [0021], [0027]-[0030], table 1 and 2, Singhai et al. discloses an adaptive ECC system.).
Consider claim 5, Singhai et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the processor operable to execute the one or more instructions to cause the processor to, prior to modifying the metadata: receive a request to modify the metadata of the first memory region (abstract, [0013]-[0014], [0021], [0027]-[0030], table 1 and 2, Singhai et al. discloses that blocks are continuously monitored and when the conditions of a block require an improved ECC scheme, a new scheme is employed.).
Consider claim 6, Singhai et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the processor operable to execute the one or more instructions to cause the processor to, prior to modifying the metadata: determine an error rate of the first memory region; and determine to modify the metadata of the first memory region based on the error rate (abstract, [0013]-[0014], [0021], [0027]-[0030], table 1 and 2, Singhai et al. discloses that blocks are continuously monitored and when the conditions of a block require an improved ECC scheme, a new scheme is employed.).
Consider claim 7, Singhai et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the processor operable to execute the one or more instructions to cause the processor to: determine a Quality of Service (QoS) parameter for the first memory region; and migrate the first memory region to a second memory region of the plurality of memory regions based on the QoS parameter for the first memory region (abstract, [0013]-[0014], [0021], [0024], [0027]-[0030], table 1 and 2, Singhai et al. discloses determining the error count of a block an associating it with the correct group.).
Consider claim 8, Singhai et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the processor operable to execute the one or more instructions to cause the processor to: determine a Quality of Service (QoS) parameter for the first memory region; and modify the first memory region to include a second memory region of the plurality of memory regions based on the QoS parameter for the first memory region (abstract, [0013]-[0014], [0021], [0024], [0027]-[0030], table 1 and 2, Singhai et al. discloses determining the error count of a block an associating it with the correct group.).
Consider claim 9, Singhai et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the interface to the memory pool is to be based on the Compute Express Link standard ([0017]-[0018], PCI express is disclosed which is a based on CXL to be implemented on.).
Consider claim 10, Singhai et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a memory controller configured to, subsequent to the modification of the metadata: determine, based on the second number of ECC bits, one or more ECC bits in the metadata for a first memory line of the first memory region; compute an ECC value based on the first memory line of the first memory region; and compare the ECC value to the one or more ECC bits in the metadata for the first memory line of the first memory region (abstract, [0013]-[0014], [0021], [0024], [0027]-[0030], table 1 and 2, Singhai et al. discloses determining the error count of a block an associating it with the correct group.).
Consider claim 21, Singhai et al. discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by a processor cause the processor to: map a first address space of a plurality of address spaces to a first set of memory features, wherein the first set of memory features includes a first number of error correction code (ECC) bits, wherein the first address space is mapped to a first memory region of a plurality of memory regions of physical memory in a memory pool; and map a second address space of the plurality of address spaces to a second set of memory features, wherein the second set of memory features includes a second number of ECC bits, wherein the second number of ECC bits is different than the first number of ECC bits, wherein the second address space is mapped to a second memory region of the plurality of memory regions of physical memory in the memory pool (abstract, [0013]-[0014], [0021], [0027]-[0030], table 1 and 2, Singhai et al. discloses blocks of memory being grouped together based on degradation of the blocks. The ECC mechanism is adaptive to those conditions, thus giving different groupings of blocks different ECC schemes that utilize different amounts of ECC code bits.), wherein the first set of memory features is associated with a first number of bits for a service, wherein the second set of memory features is associated with a second number of bits for the service (abstract, [0013]-[0014], [0021], [0027]-[0030], table 1 and 2, Singhai et al. discloses different groupings of blocks having different ECC schemes that utilize different amounts of ECC code bits.).
Consider claim 23, Singhai et al. discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 22, wherein the service is to comprise one or more of a security service, an encryption service, an isolation service, or an interconnect protocol service (abstract, [0013]-[0014], [0021], [0027]-[0030], table 1 and 2, Singhai et al. discloses an adaptive ECC system.).
Claims 11-15 are the method claims to apparatus claims 1, 3, 4, 6 and 9 above and are rejected in the same manner.
Claims 16-20 are the medium claims to apparatus claims 1, 3-5 and 9 above and are rejected in the same manner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments pertain to the new claim limitations which have been addressed in the appropriate claim rejections above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL ALSIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139