DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 13, 15, 17, and 18 depend on the above claims and, therefore, are also rejected
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the carbon particle" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the water" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the carbon particle" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe et al (WO 2019123898) in view of Borba (US 2020/0231853).
With regards to claims 12, 13, 16, and 17, Abe teaches a refrigerant composition (0001) that contains trans-1,2-difluoroethylene (HFO-1132(E)) or trifluoroethylene (HFO-1123) (0007).
Abe does not teach the addition of the carbon.
Borba teaches a refrigerant fluid (abstract) that contains nanoparticles such as graphite (abstract). Borba teaches the amount of particles to be from 0.01 to 5% by weight (0077). Borba teaches the motivation for adding said particles to be because due to its increased thermodynamic performance it provides for significant gain savings in total energy consumption and consumed power by the appliance (0069). Abe and Borba are analogous in the art of refrigerant compositions. In light of the benefit above, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add the carbon particle of Borba in the composition of Abe, thereby obtaining the present invention.
With regards to claims 14 and 18, Abe teaches the water content of the composition to be 100 ppm or less (0136).
With regards to claim 15, Abe teaches the addition of a refrigerating machine oil to the composition (0032).
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763