DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 1, 9 and 15-20,
Status of claims:
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11- 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Dao et al. (US20190261260)(hereinafter Dao) in view of Liao (US20210058748)
Per claim 1, Dao discloses a method implemented by a network, the method comprising: storing configuration information associated with a device group that includes a first device and a second device (paragraph 0073, i.e. the UE group context may be stored in either the UDM, or UDR, or both the UDM and UDR. The UE context may include the UE IDs of UEs in the group, and other related information from the service subscription information) and for which an aggregated communication capability is to be enabled to communicate with a network (paragraph 0107, i.e. The UE group AMBR is the aggregated maximum bit rate of the UE group ID. The group AMBR is enforced by the (R)AN and UPF. If the UE belongs to a UE group and the SMF already has subscription data for the UE group ID, the SMF does not need to perform this registration with the UDM. If the UE is the first UE of a UE group, the SMF obtains UE subscription data, UE group data from the UDM and stores this information in the UE group shared session context) , the configuration information including a group identifier of the device group and a device identifier for each device of the device group, the device group excluding a base station (paragraph 0064, i.e. For example, the UE group context can include information relating to one or more of: UE group identifier (ID), list of member UE IDs, PDU session group IDs, quality of service (QoS), charging policies or other features of the UE group context which is associated with each of the member UEs) , the aggregated communication capability corresponding to a combination of at least a first communication capability of the first device with the network and a second communication capability of the second device with the network via the base station (paragraph 0052 and 0134, i.e. Furthermore, it has been observed that particular groups of UEs or electronic devices can have the same capabilities and subscribed services. Thus there is provided systems and methods for the grouping of UEs, such that UEs can share a UE group context or share a PDU session context or both, see Fig 10, the hop-on concept proposes that the UP tunnels can be preconfigured, for example UL shared tunnel 1010 and DL shared tunnel 1020. When the UE is attached to the network, the UE can be associated with the pre-configured tunnels, examiner interprets that Ue1 and Ue2 shared connection with similar capabilities connect with a RAN network).; but fails to explicitly disclose receiving, from the first device, the group identifier; determining the configuration information based on the group identifier; determining, based on the configuration information, that the aggregated communication capability is to be enabled for the first device and the second device; and enabling, based on a non-access stratum connection (NAS) with a device of the device group, the aggregated communication capability for at least the first device and the second device, the device being the first device or the second device.
In an analogous filed of endeavor, Liao discloses receiving, from the first device, the group
identifier (paragraph 0058, i.e. the UE 218 may send an N1 signaling message as a service request to the
AMF via the 3GPP access, e.g. RAN node, wherein the request message indicates the interested GBS,
the preferred access type for GBS, virtual cell ID, and SSID of the associated WLAN-AP.) ; determining
the configuration information based on the group identifier (paragraph 0193 and 0194, i.e. the SAI, the
SPF 530 sends group service request to the impacted CN-CPF 412 with at least one of the following
information: TGSID; group service area ID (GSAI); security parameters; mapped SAI; the policy of
session management and the IP multicast capability of the DGWs and the RAN 220 nodes are
configured/stored at the CN-CPF 412. Accordingly, the CN-CPF 412 determines if applying IP multicast
for the group based service and configures routing polices) ; determining, based on the configuration
information, that the aggregated communication capability is to be enabled for the first device and the
second device (paragraph 0400 and 0401, i.e. the electronic device(s), network(s), system(s), chip(s) or
component(s), or portions or implementations thereof, of FIG. 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, or some other figure herein
may be configured to perform one or more processes, techniques, or methods and enabling; causing to
identify a service request in a signal from an access and mobility management function (AMF); enabling
1520 or causing to enable a group based service (GBS) based at least in part on the service request
and/or causing to identify one or more configuration parameters in a signal from a non-3GPP interworking
function (N3IWF); and communicating 1550 or causing to communicate with a user equipment (UE)
based at least in part on the configuration parameters, wherein the configuration parameters include one
or more of an application-ID, a wireless local area network (WLAN) service type, a temporary group
based ID, synchronization information, or a virtual cell ID), based on a non-access stratum connection
(NAS) with a device of the device group (paragraphs 0385 and 0389, i.e. the non-access stratum (NAS)
protocols 1106 form the highest stratum of the control plane between the UE 801 and the MME 821. The
NAS protocols 1106 support the mobility of the UE 801 and the session management procedures to
establish and maintain IP connectivity between the UE 801 and the P-GW 823, which include UE 802,
see Fig 8) , the aggregated communication capability for at least the first device and the second device
(see paragraphs 0385 and 0389 as stated above), the device being the first device or the second device
(paragraphs 0385 and 0389, i.e. UE801 or UE802).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Liao into the invention of Dao, Dao
teaches systems and methods for the grouping of UEs, such that UEs can share a UE group context or share a PDU session context or both. In this manner, network resource usage, with respect to UE context and PDU session context management, can be mitigated and Liao teaches systems and
methods are provided for pervasive connectivity for group based service (GBS) provisioning. In addition,
or in other embodiments, groupcast services provisioning in 5G systems is described. An example
apparatus for GBS provisioning for pervasive connectivity in a mobile network includes a memory
interface and a processor in order to provide a quality of service by receiving a stream of packets only if
they previously elected to by joining the specific groupcast/multicast group address. instead receiving
unwanted data, see Liao, paragraph 0004.
Per claim 2, the combination of Dao and Liao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Dao discloses the configuration information is stored by a unified data management (UDM) network function (NF) of the network (paragraph 0073, i.e. the UE group context may be stored in either the UDM, or UDR, or both the UDM and UDR. The UE context may include the UE IDs of UEs in the group, and other related information from the service subscription information).
Per claim 3, the combination of Dao and Liao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Dao discloses the configuration information indicates a role of the first device in the device group.(paragraph 0147, i.e. In a case of UE group context, the UE group context may include the UE IDs that are in the UE group, the UE that is the leader (or group master, or group head), the location of all UEs of the UE group).
Per claim 4, the combination of Dao and Liao discloses wherein Dao discloses the configuration information indicates that the first device is a group leader and that the second device is a group member (paragraph 0147, i.e. paragraph 0147, i.e. In a case of UE group context, the UE group context may include the UE IDs that are in the UE group, the UE that is the leader (or group master, or group head; and their PDU session identifiers, one or more shared protocol data unit (PDU) session context and their identifiers and a list of UE IDs which are members of the UE group), and wherein the NAS connection is with the first device based on the first device being the group leader (paragraph 0126).
Per claim 5, the combination of Dao and Liao discloses the method of claim 3, wherein Dao discloses the configuration information further includes a radio access capability signaling (RACS) identifier of the first device (paragraph 0065, i.e. a number of different UEs are defined as being members of a particular UE group, and this UE group can have an associated UE group ID. According to embodiments, a UE group context can be created by the AMF. In this instance, when a first UE of a particular UE group registers with the communication network the AMF can create the UE group context in the AMF. According to some embodiments, when a first UE of a particular UE group requests a PDU session, there is an associated PDU session context).
Per claim 6, the combination of Dao and Liao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Dao discloses the device identifier of the first device includes a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), a globally unique temporary user equipment identifier (GUTI), or a user equipment (UE) aggregation identifier (paragraph 0089, i.e. With reference to FIG. 6 the method includes the UE sending 621 a message in as a registration request to the (R)AN 604. The message can include (AN parameters, RM-NAS registration request (registration type, SUPI or 5G-GUTI, security parameters, NSSAI, UE 5GCN capability, PDU session status, PDU session(s) to be re-activated).
Per claim 7, the combination of Dao and Liao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Dao discloses the device identifier of the first device includes a user equipment (UE) aggregation identifier, wherein the UE aggregation identifier is based on the group identifier and a UE identifier unique within the device group (paragraph 0107, i.e. the UE group AMBR is the aggregated maximum bit rate of the UE group ID).
Per claim 8, the combination of Dao and Liao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Dao discloses the configuration information further includes a radio access capability signaling (RACS) identifier of the first device, wherein the RACS identifier corresponds to the first communication capability that is a subset of a user equipment (UE) radio capability of the first device, and wherein the RACS identifier is provided along with a UE context by an application management function (AMF) of the network to a session management function (SMF) of the network (paragraph 0055, i.e. For example, the UE context can include data indicative of a UE group identifier (ID), one or more PDU session identifiers, which may include PDU session identifiers and shared PDU session identifiers, and a list of UE IDs which are members of the UE group and paragraph 0089, i.e. the UE device class can be optional and it indicates the UE capabilities to assist (R)AN to select a pre-configured AMF. The UE device class is also to assist so that the AMF to select a pre-configured SMF function or NSSF function).
Per claim 9, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1
Per claim 11, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4.
Per claim 12, the combination of Dao and Liao discloses the device of claim 9, wherein Dao discloses the device is a group leader of the device group, wherein the group identifier is sent in a registration message to the network, wherein establishing the data connection session includes establishing a first protocol data unit (PDU) session with the network by at least sending an aggregation request in a PDU session establishment request (paragraph 0089, i.e. the method includes the UE sending 621 a message in as a registration request to the (R)AN 604. The message can include [AN parameters, RM-NAS registration request (registration type, SUPI or 5G-GUTI, security parameters, NSSAI, UE 5GCN capability, PDU session status, PDU session(s) to be re-activated, UE device class, follow on request, and MICO mode preference] or in a PDU session modification request, a first device identifier of the first device, and a second identifier of the second device to the network (paragraph 0129 and 0130, i.e. for UE initiated modification, the SMF 808 responds 823a to the AMF 806 throughNsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext (N2 SM information (PDU session ID, QoS profile, session-AMBR), N1 SM information (PDU session modification command (PDU session ID, QoS rule, session-AMBR)) and the UE acknowledges the PDU session modification command by sending a NAS message (PDU session ID, N1 SM information (PDU session modification command Ack)) message. For shared PDU session, the (R)AN uses the shared PDU session ID to identify the impacted UEs' PDU sessions and apply the changes to all UEs' PDU sessions. .
Per claim 13, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 12, where the examiner interprets the second PDA session is from a secondary members of the user group ID which have similar capabilities.
Per claim 14, the combination of Dao and Liao discloses the device of claim 12, wherein Dao discloses a quality of service (QoS) flow established between the first device and an endpoint of the network and routed via the first PDU session is re-mapped to be established between the second device and the endpoint and be routed via a second PDU session (paragraph 0066, i.e. The request may include a transaction ID to represent this request, and information including one or more of: an external group identifier to identify the UE group, a list of external UE IDs or GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier), a packet filter set or Packet Flow description (PFD) to identify downlink traffic intended to one or some or all UEs of UE group (e.g. application server IP address(es) or IP prefixes), port numbers, QoS information (e.g. maximum bit rate for each UE, maximum aggregated bit rate of all UEs, packet delay budget, packet error rate), DNAI (data network access identifier)).
Per claim 15, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1, see paragraph 0220, non-transitory system memory, readable by the processor.
Per claim 16, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 11.
Per claim 17, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 12.
Per claim 18, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 14.
Per claim 19, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 14.
Per claim 20, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1, see Liao, paragraph 0385 and
0389, the non-access stratum (NAS) protocols 1106 form the highest stratum of the control plane
between the UE 801 and the MME 821. The NAS protocols 1106 support the mobility of the UE 801 and
the session management procedures to establish and maintain IP connectivity between the UE 801 and
the P-GW 823.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao and Liao and further in view of Wang et al. (US20210058986) (hereinafter Wang)
Per claim 10, the combination of Dao and Liao discloses the device of claim 9, but fails to disclose wherein the configuration information is stored in a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) of the device.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Wang discloses wherein the configuration information is stored
in a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) of the device. (paragraph 0107. i.e. USIM).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Wang into the invention of Dao and
Liao, where Wang discloses the method includes: first determining, by a terminal, a first radio access
technology for establishing a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection; and then determining, by the
terminal based on access information in order to provide network optimization by using cause values for a
plurality of core networks via message format defined by the same radio access network, see Wang , paragraph 0003 and 0004.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH E DEAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647