DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action has been issued in response to amendment filed 12/19/2025. Applicant's arguments have been carefully and fully considered; and they are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made. Accordingly, this action has been made FINAL.
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 9, and 14-15 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending and are ready for examination.
Rejections not based on Prior Art
In view of Applicant’s amendments, the previous Claim Objections has been withdrawn.
In view of Applicant’s amendments, the previous 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejection has been withdrawn.
Rejections based on Prior Art
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 14, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer et al. (US20070227721A1 -hereinafter Springer) in view of Zhang et al. (US20170059199A1 -hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Springer teaches:
determining one or more user preferences for environmental conditions in a structure, wherein: (see [0024]; Springer: “FIG. 2 provides a diagram of an input device, also referred to as a “user interface” or a “wall display unit,” that displays a first set of user-selected and operational settings.”)
the one or more user preferences comprise one or more environmental set points for an interior space of the structure, and (see [0015]; Springer: “The invention utilizes electronic components that include a user input device for use in selecting an indoor low temperature limit and an indoor high temperature limit;”)
the environmental conditions comprise one or more factors including temperature, humidity, and air quality; (see [0026]; Springer: “The user-selected settings include a minimum indoor temperature setting Tmin, and a maximum indoor temperature setting Tmax which define user-specific limits of indoor temperature levels.”)
determining one or more interior environmental parameters measured for the interior space, the one or more environmental parameters comprising at least one of interior temperature, interior humidity, or interior air quality; (see [0039]; Springer: “a controller 100 that …receives an indoor temperature signal T′in from an indoor temperature sensor 125;”)
determining one or more exterior environmental parameters measured for an exterior space outside the structure, the one or more exterior environmental parameters comprising at least one of exterior temperature, exterior humidity, and exterior air quality; (see [0039]; Springer: “a controller 100 that receives an outdoor temperature signal T′out from an outdoor temperature sensor 120;”)
determining a ventilation decision based one or more of the one or more user preferences, the one or more interior environmental parameters, the one or more exterior environmental parameters, and one or more forecasted exterior environmental parameters; (see [0035]; Springer: “The method may further include determining whether to enable ventilation cooling or air conditioner cooling. In an exemplary method, this includes determining whether a current outside temperature Tout is lower than a current inside temperature Tin by a set amount Tdelta S6000.”)
However, Springer does not explicitly teach:
A method of activating auxiliary airflow for a structure to supplement a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, the method comprising:
and prior to activating the HVAC system, activating an air circulation system based on the ventilation decision, the air circulation system independent of the HVAC system, the air circulation system operable to cause airflow between the exterior space and the interior space, wherein the air circulation system comprises a first housing interior to the structure, a second housing exterior to the structure, a channel connecting the first and second housings and a blower to move air through the channel, wherein the channel is separate from HVAC ductwork of the structure.
Zhang from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches:
A method of activating auxiliary airflow for a structure to supplement a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system (see [0020]; Zhang: “At this point, instead of operating the HVAC unit 2 through connection line 16, the controller 13A turns off the HVAC unit 2 and the cooling unit 3, and the controller 13A begins to operate a second unit 20.”), the method comprising:
and prior to activating the HVAC system, activating an air circulation system based on the ventilation decision, the air circulation system independent of the HVAC system (see [0020]; Zhang: “The controller 13A recognizes this condition based on a comparison of the outside air temperature with the inside air temperature. At this point, instead of operating the HVAC unit 2 through connection line 16, the controller 13A turns off the HVAC unit 2 and the cooling unit 3, and the controller 13A begins to operate a second unit 20.”) [The second unit 20 reads on ‘the air circulation system’], the air circulation system operable to cause airflow between the exterior space and the interior space (see [0021]; Zhang: “The second unit 20 includes a mechanism to move outside air 18 directly into the interior of the building 1”), wherein the air circulation system comprises a first housing interior to the structure, a second housing exterior to the structure (see Figs 2-3 and [0024]; Zhang: “the second unit 20 is illustrated in FIG. 2 in the attic space of the building 1, but may be located in one or more other places such as proximate to the cooling unit 3 (exterior to the building 1), inside a first floor 8 (interior to the building 1).”), a channel connecting the first and second housings (see [0021]; Zhang: “the second unit 20 moves air from outside of the building by pulling cool air 25 into an inlet 24A, through intake one or more intake ducts 23A, and into the distribution ducts 4.”) [the intake ducts read on ‘the channel’] and a blower to move air through the channel (see [0022]; Zhang: “the second unit 20 includes a first fan for moving cool air and a second fan for moving hot air.”), wherein the channel is separate from HVAC ductwork of the structure. (see Fig. 2 and [0016]; Zhang: “The controller 13 operates the HVAC unit 2 to heat or cool the air. Intake air is accepted through intake vents 7 located in each zone 8-10. Intake air passes from the intake vents 7 through air intake lines or intake ducts 6 to the HVAC unit 2.” See [0021]; Zhang: “the second unit 20 moves air from outside of the building by pulling cool air 25 into an inlet 24A, through intake one or more intake ducts 23A.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Springer to include Zhang’s features of a method of activating auxiliary airflow for a structure to supplement a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, the method comprising: and prior to activating the HVAC system, activating an air circulation system based on the ventilation decision, the air circulation system independent of the HVAC system, the air circulation system operable to cause airflow between the exterior space and the interior space, wherein the air circulation system comprises a first housing interior to the structure, a second housing exterior to the structure, a channel connecting the first and second housings and a blower to move air through the channel, wherein the channel is separate from HVAC ductwork of the structure. Doing so would avoid inefficient energy use, high operating costs and lack of flexibility in controlling the unit. (Zhang, [0006])
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Springer and Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Springer further teaches determining that one or more interior environmental parameters trigger a determination of the ventilation decision based on a comparison with of the one or more interior environmental parameters with the one or more environmental set points for the interior space. (see [0036]; Springer: “The method may include ventilating with outside air S7000 if ventilating and cooling with outside air if a current outside temperature Tout is lower than a current inside temperature Tin by a set amount Tdelta S6000, and if the current indoor air temperature Tin is greater than a calculated ventilation cooling low limit temperature Tvent S7100. If Tin is greater than Tvent, ventilation cooling is operated S7200 and includes opening an outside air damper 140 where ventilation cooling operation is commenced or confirming that the outside air damper 140 is in an “open” position where ventilation cooling is being operated.” See [0042]: “The user may also set the temperature set amount setting Tdelta; ventilation cooling with outside air is enabled when the outside temperature Tout is lower than the indoor temperature Tin by the amount of Tdelta.”)
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Springer and Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Springer further teaches the method further comprising: activating the air circulation system when one or more forecasted exterior environmental parameters are within the predetermined range of the one or more interior environmental parameters during a future time period. (see [0053]; Springer: “a method of nighttime pre-cooling of a building comprising determining the optimum schedule for the operation of a vapor compression cooling system during a future period defined by a nighttime period followed by a daytime period. The optimum schedule is selected to maintain the indoor temperature of the building within the range of the comfort zone, i.e., within a range defined by Tmin and Tmax.” See [0055]: “The controller 100 may further comprise in an alternate embodiment a communications link used to obtain weather information, including weather predictions, from weather services for control and display purposes. This weather information can be utilized in predicting indoor and outdoor temperatures Tin and Tout for a future period of time.” See [0007]: “Pre-cooling can be accomplished by ventilating the space either with cool outdoor air, or with air that is cooled by vapor compression processes.”)
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Springer and Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 3 above, Springer further teaches the method further comprising:
determining, during the future time period, that one or more new exterior environmental parameters for the exterior space; and (see [0048]; Springer: “a method is provided for predicting next-day weather conditions using statistically derived equations and a recent history of temperature conditions and trends, and the application of these predictions to determine how much pre-cooling to apply. This method is developed using a statistical evaluation of weather patterns and the response of a building to those weather patterns to establish certain key forecasting parameters, and to define equations which, when combined with these key forecasting parameters, can reasonably predict outdoor and indoor temperature extremes at least one day in advance to allow for the selection of optimal indoor temperature limits as well as the timings, durations, and ventilation rates of pre-cooling periods.”)
if the one or more new exterior environmental parameters are not within the predetermined range of the one or more interior environmental parameters, activating the air conditioning system or the heating system. (see [0034]; Spinger: “An exemplary embodiment could further include displaying the predicted minimum TPmin and maximum indoor temperatures TPmax for the current day S4000, and determining whether to change user inputs based on the displayed predicted minimum and maximum indoor temperatures for the current day S5000. This may be done, for example, where the displayed calculated TPmax exceeds the Tmax setting, which predicts air conditioner operation during the future period of time such as the current day.”)
Regarding Claim 14, Springer teaches a system from controlling the environment of a structure, the system comprising:
a heating and cooling system; (see [0050]; Springer: “In an embodiment of the present invention, the outside air ventilation system comprises at least one variable speed fan motor 150, which may be a part of a furnace or other heating-cooling system.”)
one or more interior environmental sensors configured to measure one or more interior environmental parameters; (see [0039]; Springer: “a controller 100 that …receives an indoor temperature signal T′in from an indoor temperature sensor 125;”)
one or more exterior environmental sensors configured to measure one or more exterior environmental parameters; and (see [0039]; Springer: “a controller 100 that receives an outdoor temperature signal T′out from an outdoor temperature sensor 120;”)
a control system coupled to the heating and cooling system, the ventilation system, the one or more interior environmental sensors, and the one or more exterior environmental sensors, wherein the control system is configured to: (see [0039]; Springer: “As shown in FIG. 1, an exemplary embodiment of a system for pre-cooling a building is provided, comprising a controller 100 that receives an outdoor temperature signal T′out from an outdoor temperature sensor 120; receives an indoor temperature signal T′in from an indoor temperature sensor 125; receives a current time of day signal T′ct from a clock device 160; and receives one or more user-selected setting signals from an input device 110.”)
receive an environmental set point for the interior space (see [0026]; Springer: “The user-selected settings include a minimum indoor temperature setting Tmin, and a maximum indoor temperature setting Tmax which define user-specific limits of indoor temperature levels.”), and selectively activate the heating and cooling system or the ventilation system based on analysis of the one or more interior environmental parameters and the one or more exterior environmental parameters. (see [0035]; Springer: “The method may further include determining whether to enable ventilation cooling or air conditioner cooling. In an exemplary method, this includes determining whether a current outside temperature Tout is lower than a current inside temperature Tin by a set amount Tdelta S6000.”)
However, Springer does not explicitly teach:
a ventilation system configured to circulate air between an interior space and an exterior space of the structure, the ventilation system comprising first housing interior to the structure, a second housing exterior to the structure, a channel connecting the first and second housings and a blower to move air through the channel, wherein the channel is separate from HVAC ductwork of the structure;
Zhang from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches:
a ventilation system configured to circulate air between an interior space and an exterior space of the structure (see [0021]; Zhang: “The second unit 20 includes a mechanism to move outside air 18 directly into the interior of the building 1”), the ventilation system comprising first housing interior to the structure, a second housing exterior to the structure (see Figs 2-3 and [0024]; Zhang: “the second unit 20 is illustrated in FIG. 2 in the attic space of the building 1, but may be located in one or more other places such as proximate to the cooling unit 3 (exterior to the building 1), inside a first floor 8 (interior to the building 1).”), a channel connecting the first and second housings (see [0021]; Zhang: “the second unit 20 moves air from outside of the building by pulling cool air 25 into an inlet 24A, through intake one or more intake ducts 23A, and into the distribution ducts 4.”) [the intake ducts read on ‘the channel’] and a blower to move air through the channel (see [0022]; Zhang: “the second unit 20 includes a first fan for moving cool air and a second fan for moving hot air.”), wherein the channel is separate from HVAC ductwork of the structure; (see Fig. 2 and [0016]; Zhang: “The controller 13 operates the HVAC unit 2 to heat or cool the air. Intake air is accepted through intake vents 7 located in each zone 8-10. Intake air passes from the intake vents 7 through air intake lines or intake ducts 6 to the HVAC unit 2.” See [0021]; Zhang: “the second unit 20 moves air from outside of the building by pulling cool air 25 into an inlet 24A, through intake one or more intake ducts 23A.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Springer to include Zhang’s features of a ventilation system configured to circulate air between an interior space and an exterior space of the structure, the ventilation system comprising first housing interior to the structure, a second housing exterior to the structure, a channel connecting the first and second housings and a blower to move air through the channel, wherein the channel is separate from HVAC ductwork of the structure. Doing so would avoid inefficient energy use, high operating costs and lack of flexibility in controlling the unit. (Zhang, [0006])
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Springer and Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 14 above, Springer further teaches wherein the environmental set point comprises one or more factors including temperature, humidity, and air quality. (see [0026]; Springer: “the user-selected settings include a minimum indoor temperature setting Tmin, and a maximum indoor temperature setting Tmax which define user-specific limits of indoor temperature levels.”)
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Springer and Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 14 above, Springer further teaches wherein the control system is further configured to:
determine that one or more interior environmental parameters trigger a conditional of the interior space based on a comparison with the environmental set point; (see [0036]; Springer: “The method may include ventilating with outside air S7000 if ventilating and cooling with outside air if a current outside temperature Tout is lower than a current inside temperature Tin by a set amount Tdelta S6000, and if the current indoor air temperature Tin is greater than a calculated ventilation cooling low limit temperature Tvent S7100. If Tin is greater than Tvent, ventilation cooling is operated S7200 and includes opening an outside air damper 140 where ventilation cooling operation is commenced or confirming that the outside air damper 140 is in an “open” position where ventilation cooling is being operated.” See [0042]: “The user may also set the temperature set amount setting Tdelta; ventilation cooling with outside air is enabled when the outside temperature Tout is lower than the indoor temperature Tin by the amount of Tdelta.”)
if the one or more exterior environmental parameters are within a predetermined range of the one or more interior environmental parameters, activate the ventilation system that causes an airflow between the exterior space and the interior space; and (see [0030]; Spriner: “The operational settings may include the minimum indoor ventilation cooling temperature setting Tvent, which is the temperature to which indoor air will be cooled by outside air ventilation.” See [0036]: “In this “open” position, outside air is supplied to the fan 150, as shown in FIG. 1.”)
if the one or more exterior environmental parameters are not within the predetermined range of the one or more interior environmental parameters, activate the heating and cooling system. (see [0036]; Springer: “This method may include cooling with air conditioning pre-cooling S8000 if the current outside temperature Tout is not lower than the current inside temperature Tin by the set amount Tdelta S6000, if a current time of day is within an air conditioner pre-cooling start time setting Tpcl start and an air conditioner pre-cooling stop time setting Tpcl stop, and if the current indoor air temperature Tin is greater than a calculated air conditioner pre-cooling low limit temperature Tpcl S8100. If these conditions are met the air conditioner 130 runs S8600.”)
Claim(s) 5-11, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer in view of Zhang in view of Barnes (US20220268475A1 -hereinafter Barnes).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Springer and Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; however, it does not explicitly teach wherein the ventilation decision is determined based on an application of one or more of the one or more user preferences, the one or more interior environmental parameters, the one or more exterior environmental parameters, and one or more forecasted exterior environmental parameters to a machine learning model for predicting potential environmental conditions associated with the structure.
Barnes from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the ventilation decision is determined based on an application of one or more of the one or more user preferences, the one or more interior environmental parameters, the one or more exterior environmental parameters, and one or more forecasted exterior environmental parameters to a machine learning model for predicting potential environmental conditions associated with the structure. (see [0020]; Barnes: “In some embodiments, one or more remote servers analyze the sensor data, historical data, and other environmental data (e.g., predicted weather data) in a dataset, and use one or more machine learning algorithms to model the air quality within the facility… As the sensors continue to provide additional data (through periodic sensing), machine learning techniques may be applied to progressively generate modified, improved models and algorithms for decision making.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Springer and Zhang to include Barnes’s features of wherein the ventilation decision is determined based on an application of one or more of the one or more user preferences, the one or more interior environmental parameters, the one or more exterior environmental parameters, and one or more forecasted exterior environmental parameters to a machine learning model for predicting potential environmental conditions associated with the structure. Doing so would maintain and improve air quality in a sustainable, energy-efficient way, reduce wasted energy and labor resources. (Barnes, [0024])
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Springer, Zhang, and Barnes teaches all the limitations of claim 5 above, Barnes further teaches wherein the machine learning model utilizes one or more of supervised learning algorithms, time series forecasting algorithms, clustering algorithms, nearest neighbor search algorithms, collaborative filtering techniques, reinforcement learning algorithms, or advanced learning algorithms. (see [0070]; Barnes: “Supervised learning module 440 uses one or more learning algorithms to generate an air quality prediction model 445 for sensor. While the illustrated module is labelled as a supervised learning mechanism, any appropriate machine learning system can be used by the environment modeling logic 175 in different embodiments, such as supervised learning systems (e.g., regression trees, random forests), unsupervised learning systems (e.g., k-means clustering), support vector machines, kernel method, and Bayesian networks (probabilistic directed acyclic graphic model).”)
The same motivation to combine Springer, Zhang, and Barnes a set forth for Claim 6 equally applies to Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Springer and Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 4 above, Springer further teaches the method further comprising:
transmitting… one or more measured exterior environmental parameters for the exterior space during the future time period, wherein the one or more measured exterior environmental parameters are stored in the history of environmental parameters. (see [0048]; Springer: “a method is provided for predicting next-day weather conditions using statistically derived equations and a recent history of temperature conditions and trends, and the application of these predictions to determine how much pre-cooling to apply. This method is developed using a statistical evaluation of weather patterns and the response of a building to those weather patterns to establish certain key forecasting parameters, and to define equations which, when combined with these key forecasting parameters, can reasonably predict outdoor and indoor temperature extremes at least one day in advance to allow for the selection of optimal indoor temperature limits as well as the timings, durations, and ventilation rates of pre-cooling periods.” See [0029]: “An exemplary method of the present invention may also comprise measuring and storing outdoor and indoor temperature trends for previous days S2000.”)
However, it does not explicitly teach transmitting to a remote location,
Barnes from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches transmitting to a remote location, (see [0019]-[0020]); Barnes: “The gateway device may store the sensor data in a database, either local or remote to the gateway.”)
The same motivation to combine Springer, Zhang, and Barnes a set forth for Claim 7 equally applies to Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Springer and Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; however, it does not explicitly teach wherein the air quality comprises values for carbon monoxide, lead, ground-level ozone, particulate matter, nitrogen dioxide, and sulfur dioxide.
Barnes from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the air quality comprises values for carbon monoxide, lead, ground-level ozone, particulate matter, nitrogen dioxide, and sulfur dioxide. (see [0051]; Barnes: “These conditions may variously include, for instance, temperature, air density, air pressure, a level of contaminants (for example, targeted measurements of carbon monoxide, ozone, particulate matter (dust), sulfur dioxide, nitrogen dioxide, carbon monoxide, lead, welding fumes, oxygen, other toxic or non-toxic air pollutants) or any other appropriate condition.”)
The same motivation to combine Springer, Zhang, and Barnes a set forth for Claim 8 equally applies to Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 9, Springer teaches method of optimizing environmental systems, the method comprising:
receiving a request for a ventilation decision for a structure, wherein: (see [0026]; Springer: “The user-selected settings may be inputted by a user S1000 into an input device 110 such as shown, for example, in FIGS. 1-3.”)
the request comprises one or more user preferences including environmental set points for environmental conditions in an interior space of the structure (see [0015]; Springer: “The invention utilizes electronic components that include a user input device for use in selecting an indoor low temperature limit and an indoor high temperature limit;”), one or more interior environmental parameters measured within the interior space (see [0039]; Springer: “a controller 100 that …receives an indoor temperature signal T′in from an indoor temperature sensor 125;”), and one or more exterior environmental parameters measured within an exterior space outside the interior space, and (see [0039]; Springer: “a controller 100 that receives an outdoor temperature signal T′out from an outdoor temperature sensor 120;”)
the environmental conditions comprise one or more factors including temperature, humidity, and air quality; (see [0026]; Springer: “The user-selected settings include a minimum indoor temperature setting Tmin, and a maximum indoor temperature setting Tmax which define user-specific limits of indoor temperature levels.”)
wherein the one or more forecasted exterior parameters comprises at least one of forecasted exterior temperature, forecasted exterior humidity, or forecasted exterior air quality; (see [0048]; Springer: “This method is developed using a statistical evaluation of weather patterns and the response of a building to those weather patterns to establish certain key forecasting parameters, and to define equations which, when combined with these key forecasting parameters, can reasonably predict outdoor and indoor temperature extremes at least one day in advance to allow for the selection of optimal indoor temperature limits as well as the timings.”)
applying… the one or more forecasted exterior parameters and the one or more user preferences including environmental set points for environmental conditions in an interior space of the structure (see [0015]; Springer: “The invention utilizes electronic components that include a user input device for use in selecting an indoor low temperature limit and an indoor high temperature limit;”), one or more interior environmental parameters measured within the interior space (see [0039]; Springer: “a controller 100 that …receives an indoor temperature signal T′in from an indoor temperature sensor 125;”), and one or more exterior environmental parameters measured within an exterior space outside the interior space (see [0039]; Springer: “a controller 100 that receives an outdoor temperature signal T′out from an outdoor temperature sensor 120;”)
wherein the ventilation decision controls the activation of one or more of an air circulation system, an air conditioning system, or a heating system of the structure (see [0035]; Springer: “The method may further include determining whether to enable ventilation cooling or air conditioner cooling. In an exemplary method, this includes determining whether a current outside temperature Tout is lower than a current inside temperature Tin by a set amount Tdelta S6000.”), wherein the air circulation system comprises one or more pathways between the interior space and the exterior space and one or more blowers to move air through the one or more pathways; and (see [0030]; Spriner: “The operational settings may include the minimum indoor ventilation cooling temperature setting Tvent, which is the temperature to which indoor air will be cooled by outside air ventilation.” See [0036]: “In this “open” position, outside air is supplied to the fan 150, as shown in FIG. 1.”)
if the ventilation decision is negative, activating an air conditioning system or a heating system; and (see [0036]; Springer: “This method may include cooling with air conditioning pre-cooling S8000 if the current outside temperature Tout is not lower than the current inside temperature Tin by the set amount Tdelta S6000, if a current time of day is within an air conditioner pre-cooling start time setting Tpcl start and an air conditioner pre-cooling stop time setting Tpcl stop, and if the current indoor air temperature Tin is greater than a calculated air conditioner pre-cooling low limit temperature Tpcl S8100. If these conditions are met the air conditioner 130 runs S8600.”)
transmitting the ventilation decision to one or more of the air circulation system, the air conditioning system, or the heating system of the structure. (see [0037]; Springer: “In embodiments, these conditions for operation of the air conditioner 130 may include if the user-selected air conditioner pre-cooling on/off setting is “on.””)
However, Springer does not explicitly teach:
retrieving a history of environmental parameters for a geographical area associated with the structure;
determining one or more forecasted exterior parameters adjacent to the structure,
apply to a machine learning model of the structure,
determining a ventilation decision from an output of the machine learning model of the structure, wherein the air circulation system comprises first housing interior to the structure, a second housing exterior to the structure, a channel connecting the first and second housings and a blower to move air through the channel, wherein the channel is separate from HVAC ductwork of the structure;
Zhang from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches:
wherein the air circulation system comprises first housing interior to the structure, a second housing exterior to the structure (see Figs 2-3 and [0024]; Zhang: “the second unit 20 is illustrated in FIG. 2 in the attic space of the building 1, but may be located in one or more other places such as proximate to the cooling unit 3 (exterior to the building 1), inside a first floor 8 (interior to the building 1).”), a channel connecting the first and second housings (see [0021]; Zhang: “the second unit 20 moves air from outside of the building by pulling cool air 25 into an inlet 24A, through intake one or more intake ducts 23A, and into the distribution ducts 4.”) [the intake ducts read on ‘the channel’] and a blower to move air through the channel (see [0022]; Zhang: “the second unit 20 includes a first fan for moving cool air and a second fan for moving hot air.”), wherein the channel is separate from HVAC ductwork of the structure; (see Fig. 2 and [0016]; Zhang: “The controller 13 operates the HVAC unit 2 to heat or cool the air. Intake air is accepted through intake vents 7 located in each zone 8-10. Intake air passes from the intake vents 7 through air intake lines or intake ducts 6 to the HVAC unit 2.” See [0021]; Zhang: “the second unit 20 moves air from outside of the building by pulling cool air 25 into an inlet 24A, through intake one or more intake ducts 23A.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Springer to include Zhang’s features of the air circulation system comprises first housing interior to the structure, a second housing exterior to the structure, a channel connecting the first and second housings and a blower to move air through the channel, wherein the channel is separate from HVAC ductwork of the structure. Doing so would avoid inefficient energy use, high operating costs and lack of flexibility in controlling the unit. (Zhang, [0006])
However, it does not explicitly teach:
retrieving a history of environmental parameters for a geographical area associated with the structure;
determining one or more forecasted exterior parameters adjacent to the structure,
apply to a machine learning model of the structure,
determining a ventilation decision from an output of the machine learning model of the structure,
Barnes from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches
retrieving a history of environmental parameters for a geographical area associated with the structure; (see [0051]; Barnes: “sensors on the outside of the facility (e.g., on the roof or outside walls or positioned farther away from the building) collect data on outdoor ambient conditions.”)
determining one or more forecasted exterior parameters adjacent to the structure, (see [0028]; Barnes: “While FIG. 1 only illustrates sensors 120 on a front and back interior wall of a room (shown as surfaces S1 and S3, the sensors on these surfaces being shown in gray and white, respectively) for ease of illustration, such is merely exemplary and sensors 120 may be positioned at any location, both internal and external to the facility.”)
apply to a machine learning model of the structure, (see [0068]; Barnes: “Machine-learning is applied to every air-quality sensor to build a model of correlation between the air at that point in the facility, the respective states of the various air-handlers (e.g., HVAC, MAU, baghouses, etc.), and/or the indoor average ambient conditions and outdoor ambient conditions.”)
determining a ventilation decision from an output of the machine learning model of the structure, (see [0079]; Zhang: “By these instructions, the single holistic machine learning algorithm applied at the server 170 (or at the gateway 150) functions to generate a plurality of optimized individual schedules of each device to function in support of the air quality of the facility as a whole.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Springer and Zhang to include Barnes’s features of retrieving a history of environmental parameters for a geographical area associated with the structure; determining one or more forecasted exterior parameters adjacent to the structure, apply to a machine learning model of the structure, and determining a ventilation decision from an output of the machine learning model of the structure. Doing so would maintain and improve air quality in a sustainable, energy-efficient way, reduce wasted energy and labor resources. (Barnes, [0024])
Regarding Claim 10, the limitations in this claim is taught by the combination of Springer, Zhang, and Barnes as discussed connection with claim 8.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Springer, Zhang, and Barnes teaches all the limitations of claim 9 above, Barnes further teaches: the method further comprising: training the machine learning model of the structure with a history of measured environmental parameters for the structure. (see [0058]; Barnes: “Environmental modeling logic 175 may execute machine learning solutions to model the environment (that is, the air quality) of the facility 110 by analyzing sensor data collected from the nodes 225, historical data stored in time-series database 160, weather data, and/or other obtained data and determining which of those data (or combinations of data) correlate with the facility's behavior.”)
The same motivation to combine Springer, Zhang, and Barnes a set forth for Claim 11 equally applies to Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Springer, Zhang, and Barnes teaches all the limitations of claim 9 above, Springer further teaches the method further comprising: determining a future time period for an application of the ventilation decision. (see [0053]; Springer: “Another embodiment of the present invention provides a method of nighttime pre-cooling of a building comprising determining the optimum schedule for the operation of a vapor compression cooling system during a future period defined by a nighttime period followed by a daytime period.”)
Regarding Claim 19, the limitations in this claim is taught by the combination of Springer, Zhang, and Barnes as discussed connection with claim 8.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer in view of Zhang in view of Barnes in view of Heintzelman et al. (US20210102723A1 -hereinafter Heintzelman).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Springer, Zhang, and Barnes teaches all the limitations of claim 11 above, Barnes further teaches: the method further comprising: training the machine learning model of the structure with additional measured environmental parameters. (see [0058]; Barnes: “Environmental modeling logic 175 may execute machine learning solutions to model the environment (that is, the air quality) of the facility 110 by analyzing sensor data collected from the nodes 225, historical data stored in time-series database 160, weather data, and/or other obtained data and determining which of those data (or combinations of data) correlate with the facility's behavior.”)
The same motivation to combine Springer, Zhang, and Barnes a set forth for Claim 9 equally applies to Claim 12.
However, it does not explicitly teach: determining the geographical area associated with the structure based on the climate zone for the structure; collecting additional measured environmental parameters from additional HVAC systems within the geographical area;
Heintzelman from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches:
determining the geographical area associated with the structure based on the climate zone for the structure; (see [0054]; Heintzelman: “Controller 18 may use the address, and/or general climate conditions of building 102 to determine the geographic location of controller 18.”)
collecting additional measured environmental parameters from additional HVAC systems within the geographical area; and (see [0086]; Heintzelman: “Each sensor may be able to sense temperature, humidity, motion, occupancy, and/or environmental parameters and to communicate the sensed parameters to HVAC controllers 718, 818, and 918 and/or thermostats 828 and 928.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Springer, Zhang, and Barnes to include Heintzelman’s features of determining the geographical area associated with the structure based on the climate zone for the structure; and collecting additional measured environmental parameters from additional HVAC systems within the geographical area. Doing so would improve the indoor air quality and avoid improperly operate HVAC system. (Heintzelman, [0021] and [0032])
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer in view of Zhang in view of Zhong et al. (US20150339811A1 -hereinafter Zhong) in view of Wen et al. (US20140216704A1 -hereinafter Wen).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Springer and Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 14 above; however, it does not explicitly teach wherein: the control system further comprises one or more communication interfaces, the control system utilizes the one or more communication interfaces to communicate with a forecasting system to request an environmental score based on one or more forecasted exterior parameters, and the environmental score represents a likelihood activating heating and cooling system will be required to maintain the environmental set point during a future time period.
Zhong from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: the control system further comprises one or more communication interfaces (see [0034]; Zhong: “The communication interface 114 may enable the electronic device 102 to communicate with one or more other electronic devices.”), the control system utilizes the one or more communication interfaces to communicate with a forecasting system to request an environmental score based on one or more forecasted exterior parameters (see [0041]; Zhong: “The communication interface 114 may be a modality 130 for requesting and/or receiving information regarding the surroundings of the electronic device 102 (and/or of a remote electronic device).” See [0040]: “The haziness detector 124 may perform haziness detection based on multiple modalities 130 to determine a haziness confidence level.”), and the environmental score represents a likelihood activating heating and cooling system will be required… (see [0070]; Zhong: “the electronic device 202 initiates an action, such as activating a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) system”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Springer and Zhang to include Zhong’s features of the control system further comprises one or more communication interfaces, the control system utilizes the one or more communication interfaces to communicate with a forecasting system to request an environmental score based on the one or more forecasted exterior parameters, and the environmental score represents a likelihood activating heating and cooling system will be required. Doing so would improve the accuracy in order to perform functions faster, more efficiently or with higher quality. (Zhong, [0003] and [0031])
However, it does not explicitly teach …activating heating and cooling system will be required to maintain the environmental set point during a future time period.
Wen from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches …activating heating and cooling system will be required to maintain the environmental set point during a future time period. (see [0042]; Wen: “As an example, controller 114 can calculate the adjustment time interval at step 230 utilizing at least the model for y of step 210 and the predicted future outdoor temperatures of step 220.” See [0048]: “controller 114 can be programmed to adjust the operating temperature of HVAC system 110 between T0 and Tf.” See [0020]: “HVAC system 110 can operate to maintain building 100 at a first operating temperature when building 100 is unoccupied. Conversely, HVAC system 110 can operate to maintain building 100 at a second operating temperature when building 100 is occupied. Controller 114 can adjust HVAC system 110 between the first and second operating temperatures, e.g., in order to conserve energy and/or reduce operating costs of HVAC system 110”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Springer, Zhang, and Zhong to include Wen’s features of activating heating and cooling system will be required to maintain the environmental set point during a future time period. Doing so would improve operation of the HVAC system with the activation time or the adjustment time interval. (Wen, [0006])
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Springer, Zhang, Zhong, and Wen teaches all the limitations of claim 15 above; however, it does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more forecasted exterior environmental parameters are predicted based on a history of environmental parameters for a geographical area associated with the structure.
Wen further teaches: wherein the one or more forecasted exterior environmental parameters are predicted based on a history of environmental parameters for a geographical area associated with the structure. (see [0034]; Wen: “The predicted future outdoor temperatures can come from any suitable source. For example, the predicted future outdoor temperatures can be based on weather forecast data or historical weather data.” See [0019]: “Buildings having different shapes, configurations, different numbers of rooms, hallways, etc.—both residential and commercial—may be used with the present subject matter.”)
The same motivation to combine Springer, Zhang, Zhong, and Wen a set forth for Claim 16 equally applies to Claim 15.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Springer, Zhang, Zhong, and Wen teaches all the limitations of claim 16 above, Springer further teaches wherein the control system is further configured to:
transmit, via the one or more communication interfaces (see [0042]; Springer: “The use of other embodiments of user interfaces may be utilized to display various information concerning methods of pre-cooling buildings and to allow a user to provide various inputs.”), one or more measured exterior environmental parameters for the exterior space during the future time period, wherein the one or more measured exterior environmental parameters are stored in the history of environmental parameters. (see [0048]; Springer: “a method is provided for predicting next-day weather conditions using statistically derived equations and a recent history of temperature conditions and trends, and the application of these predictions to determine how much pre-cooling to apply. This method is developed using a statistical evaluation of weather patterns and the response of a building to those weather patterns to establish certain key forecasting parameters, and to define equations which, when combined with these key forecasting parameters, can reasonably predict outdoor and indoor temperature extremes at least one day in advance to allow for the selection of optimal indoor temperature limits as well as the timings, durations, and ventilation rates of pre-cooling periods.” See [0029]: “An exemplary method of the present invention may also comprise measuring and storing outdoor and indoor temperature trends for previous days S2000.”)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim rejection(s) of the independent claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive because of the amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou (US10788232B2) discloses air circulation systems comprise multiple ducts that are separate from the HVAC system of the structure.
Snyder (US20140202449) discloses multiplatform control systems may utilize the most efficient system or method available to heat or cool a given structure depending on climatic conditions (e.g., temperature and/or relative humidity).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.N.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117