DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amendment filed November 4, 2025.
Status of Claims
Applicant amended the claims in the filed amendment. Claims 29-34 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/4/25, with respect to the previous rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made under 103 based on Park in view Krishnan in view of Lei.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US Publication 20110235583) in view of Krishnan et al (US Publication 20160353185) in further view of Lei et al (US Publication 20180027476).
In reference to claim 29, Park teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor of a vehicle communication device, facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
receiving, from a services provider via a consumer-centric wireless communication network according to consumer-centric network profile information that uniquely corresponds to the consumer-centric network profile, a download notification that service data are available to be downloaded; (see at least ¶ 34, which teaches receiving from a server/service provider via a mobile wireless network according to contextual connection information, a download notification that data is available for download)
analyzing information contained in the download notification with respect to a predetermined criterion to result in an analyzed download notification; (see at least ¶s 51-52, which teaches analyzing the download notification with respect to a predetermined criteria)
determining, based on the analyzed download notification satisfying the predetermined criterion, one of the consumer-centric network profile information corresponding to the consumer-centric network profile or another network profile information to use to download the service data to result in determined network profile information; (see at least ¶ 35, which teaches determining based on the download notification one of a current access network according to a current profile or a different enhanced network according to a different profile, to use to download the data) and
downloading, from the telematics service provider, the vehicle-centric services data according to the determined network profile information (see at least ¶ 36, which teaches downloading from the service provider the data for download).
Park fails to explicitly teaches a vehicle communication device downloading vehicle centric service data from a telematics service provider. However, Lei teaches a vehicle communication device downloading vehicle centric service data from a telematics service provider (see Lei, at least Abstract and ¶s 23,28). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Park based on the teachings of Lei for the purpose of efficient downloading of telematic data relevant to a vehicle.
Park fails to explicitly teach the vehicle communication device comprises a consumer-centric SIM profile information and a vehicle-centric SIM profile information; and based on a determined SIM profile information, determining one of the consumer-centric wireless communication network or a vehicle-centric wireless communication network that corresponds to the determined SIM profile information to result a determined wireless communication network; downloading, by the vehicle communication device from the service provider via a connection between the vehicle communication device and the determined wireless communication network, the vehicle-centric services data according to the determined SIM profile information. However, Lei teaches data communications from a vehicle where the vehicle comprises a consumer centric SIM profile and a vehicle centric SIM profile, and further teaches determining and selecting a profile for vehicle wireless communication via a determined network (see Lei, at least Abstract and ¶s 32,40). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Park based on the teachings of Lei for the purpose of choosing vehicle network connections that are most appropriate for wireless data communication.
In reference to claim 30, see at least ¶ 54 of Park, where Park teaches the information in the download notification is indicative of a file size, and where the file size fails to exceed a threshold, and a corresponding network is selected for download. Furthermore, Lei teaches determining to use consumer centric and vehicle centric network connections for downloading data, see Lei at least ¶s 32,40.
In reference to claim 31, see at least ¶ 53 of Park, where Park teaches the information in the download notification is indicative of a file size, and where the file size exceeds a threshold, and a corresponding network is selected for download. Furthermore, Lei teaches determining to use consumer centric and vehicle centric network connections for downloading data, see Lei at least ¶s 44,52.
In reference to claim 32, see at least ¶s 36,55,56 of Park, where Park teaches the information in the download notification is indicative of a file size, and where the file size exceeds a threshold, and suspending the data download connection according to completion of the download.
In reference to claim 33, see at least ¶s 36,55,56 of Park, where Park teaches determining a trigger event related to the download, and suspending the data download connection according to completion of the download and after the trigger event.
Claim 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US Publication 20110235583) in view of Krishnan et al (US Publication 20160353185) in further view of Lei et al (US Publication 20180027476) in further view of Fry (US Publication 20040117459).
In reference to claim 34, see at least ¶s 52,54 of Park, where Park teaches receiving information of a download and determining that a trigger event has not occurred. Furthermore, Lei and Krishnan teach the consumer/vehicle-centric SIM interface as demonstrated above. Park fails to explicitly teach transmitting a message indicating that the service provider is to buffer the service data. However, Fry teaches transmitting a message indicating to suspend and buffer downloading data until a trigger/resume event occurs (see Fry, at least, Abstract & ¶s 32,38,40). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Park based on the teachings of Fry for the purpose of efficient resource management during data downloading.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For any subsequent response that contains new/amended claims, Applicant is required to cite its corresponding support in the specification. (See MPEP chapter 2163.03 section (I.) and chapter 2163.04 section (I.) and chapter 2163.06) Applicant may not introduce any new matter to the claims or to the specification.
In formulating a response/amendment, Applicant is encouraged to take into consideration the prior art made of record but not relied upon, as it is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Form 892.
Contact & Status
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Ramy M Osman/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457
January 6, 2026