DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed February 12, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 6 remain pending in the application. Claims 1 and 6 are noted as amended. Applicant’s amendments to the claims and specification have overcome the previous objections and 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed November 19, 2025 and all objections and 112(a) rejections therein have been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a creating module” in claim 1; “a training module” in claim 1; and “a supporting module” in claim 1.
“a creating module” interpreted as a software module executed on the host computer system for performing the functions of loading a searched surgical image and creating the VR surgical environment based on the image using 3D reconstruction such as optical measure, geometry, or deep learning algorithm per paragraphs 0024 and 0027.
“a training module” interpreted as a software module executed on the host computer system for performing the functions of performing surgical training including monitoring surgical operation behavior via the user inputs and generating a time point message if the behavior is interrupted or delayed per paragraphs 0025 and 0027.
“a supporting module” interpreted as a software module executed on the host computer system for performing the functions of displaying the 2D surgical images and synchronously displaying the operation step, time point, and reference message based on the generated time point message per paragraphs 0026 and 0027.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nesichi et al. (US PGPub 20180098813), hereinafter referred to as Nesichi in view of Avisar (US PGPub 20190222635), further in view of Samosky et al. (US PGPub 20150194066), hereinafter referred to as Samosky, and further in view of Kubota et al. (US PGPub 20120081367), hereinafter referred to as Kubota.
In regards to claims 1 and 6, Nesichi teaches a surgical teaching auxiliary system using virtual reality (Abstract; Paragraph 0034; “a system for simulating medical procedures in a virtual reality”), comprising:
a surgical image database (Paragraphs 0076, 0088 teach the system includes databases for storing information which would include the simulation information including images), configured to store two-dimensional surgical images, wherein each of the two-dimensional surgical images corresponds to a surgical method name (Paragraph 0070 teach the system and method include simulating a type of medical procedure which can be selected by the trainee), an operation step (Paragraph 0063; “guidance can be a step-by-step tutorial”), a time point of using an instrument (Paragraph 0031, 0041, 0046, 0063 teach the guidance can be given by a nurse bot/avatar which can pass virtual tools to the trainee based on the progress of the operation as the surgical tools are determined based on the selected medical procedure), and a reference message (Paragraphs 0044, 0063 teach the system can present messages and visual effects to the user for guidance within the simulated procedure); and
a host, linked to the surgical image database, wherein the host (Paragraph 0034-0035 teaches the system includes a medical simulation system and VR simulation system connected by a connection module) comprises:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store computer- readable program instructions (Paragraph 0028); and
a hardware processor, electrically connected to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and configured to execute the computer-readable program instructions (Paragraphs 0080, 0083-0084) to execute:
a creating module (Paragraph 0059; “medical procedure simulation module 110”), linked to the surgical image database (Paragraph 0035 teaches the systems and modules are connected via the connection module), wherein before a surgical training is performed, the creating module is configured to receive the surgical method name (Paragraph 0070 teaches the trainee can specify the medical procedure type (surgical method name) that is to be performed);
a training module (Paragraph 0059; “medical procedure simulation module”), linked to the creating module (Paragraph 0035 teaches the systems and modules are connected via the connection module), wherein after the virtual-reality surgical environment is created completely, the training module is configured to perform the surgical training (Paragraphs 0030, 0044, 0071 teach the system can simulate the VR environment and perform the simulated procedure to train the trainee including tracking trainee progress and performance), wherein when the surgical training is performed, the training module is configured to continuously acquire motion signals from at least one of a motion sensor (Paragraphs 0037, 0073; “the medical tool can be a device that can sense motion”), a wrist-worn device (Paragraph 0043; “VR/AR glove(s)”), and a hand motion input device (Paragraph 0043; “VR/AR glove(s)”) during the surgical training (Paragraphs 0030, 0037, 0042-0044, 0071 teach the system includes various input devices that can detect and receive user inputs including receiving haptic input from the trainee via the input device to perform the simulated procedures (surgical operation behavior)); and
a supporting module (Paragraph 0076, “surface sharing module”), linked to the training module (Paragraph 0035 teaches the systems and modules are connected via the connection module), and configured to display the corresponding two-dimensional surgical image, and synchronously display the operation step, the time point of using instrument, and the reference message to provide an auxiliary support and guidance (Paragraphs 0063, 0079 teach the system can display a two-dimensional screen showing a two-dimensional view of the simulation which can include the simulated elements/effects including the step-by-step tutorial/guidance messages which would include the current procedure step the trainee is performing including the tool being displayed and used).
Nesichi further teaches the rendering can be two-dimensional amounting to a two-dimensional surgical images of the selected procedure (Paragraph 0059). Nesichi may not explicitly teach store two-dimensional surgical images, wherein each of the two-dimensional surgical images corresponds to a surgical method name, an operation step, a time point of using an instrument, and a reference message; load one of the two-dimensional surgical images that corresponds to the received surgical method name; and reconstruct a three-dimensional virtual surgical environment. However, Avisar teaches a system and method for generating a surgical simulation by converting static/still medical images into three-dimensional images/models including generating user tools that interact with the surgical simulation wherein the medical images are stored in a database including the performed surgical procedure (Paragraphs 0014-0021, 0037, 0046, 0131).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nesichi to incorporate the teachings of Avisar by including storing medical images in the database and using the images to generate the 3D medical procedure simulation, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to surgical/medical procedure training systems including virtual reality. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Nesichi by including real medical images in the database and associating the medical images with the patients corresponding medical/surgical procedure such that, when a trainee selects a surgical procedure type, the system can retrieve the corresponding images and procedure guidance/tutorials and steps and generate the 3D surgical simulation based on the procedure type and images. Upon such modification, the method and system of Nesichi would include store two-dimensional surgical images, wherein each of the two-dimensional surgical images corresponds to a surgical method name, an operation step, a time point of using an instrument, and a reference message; load one of the two-dimensional surgical images that corresponds to the received surgical method name; and reconstruct a three-dimensional virtual surgical environment. Further it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method of generating 3D models/dynamic images based on medical images of Avisar to the system of Nesichi in order to improve the system in the same way by generating more realistic surgical models and helping surgeons better prepare (Avisar Paragraphs 0014, 0037). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Avisar with Nesichi’s system and method in order to create more realistic simulations based on real medical images and better train surgical/medical trainees.
Nesichi in view of Avisar may not explicitly teach input the acquired motion signals into a machine learning model which has been trained completely to recognize whether a surgical operation behavior represented by the motion signals is abnormally interrupted or delayed relative to a reference operation sequence, wherein the machine learning model is trained by continuously inputting surgical operation behavior data that has no abnormally interrupted or delayed condition, and generate a feedback signal when the machine learning model recognizes that the surgical operation behavior is abnormally interrupted or delayed. However, Samosky teaches a system and method for medical training and learner performance assessment including providing guidance to a user through a sequence of steps wherein the system detects if an appropriate action has been performed by the user at each stage and provides “just-in-time guidance” (feedback signal) based on detecting user error or hesitation (abnormal delay) compared to a response time threshold or expert performance wherein the performance data can be used in and mined by (training) clustering algorithms (machine learning) that can determine novice and expert performance including the speed, accuracy, and nature of user’s actions and can create customized, learner-adaptive tutorial feedback such as the “just-in-time guidance” if a user hesitates or makes an error (slow speed or accuracy actions) in the procedure and thereby training the algorithms and models on the behavior of the users (Paragraphs 0002, 0048, 0061).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nesichi in view of Avisar to incorporate the teachings of Samosky by applying the technique of providing just-in-time guidance based on user/trainee hesitation and the metrics of the clustering algorithm of Samosky to the guidance/tutorial of Nesichi, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to surgical/medical procedure training systems including step-by-step surgical procedure guidance. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Nesichi by providing messages/guidance to the trainee if the trainee makes an error or hesitates (abnormally delayed) compared to an expert performance or pre-set threshold wherein criteria and metrics are based on clustering algorithms analysis of the performance data and wherein the user performance is used to train/develop clustering algorithms and models of the user behavior as taught by Samosky in order to improve Nesichi in the same way by providing targeted guidance and improving user performance and training (Samosky Paragraph 0033). Upon such modification, the method and system of Nesichi in view of Avisar would include input the acquired motion signals into a machine learning model which has been trained completely to recognize whether a surgical operation behavior represented by the motion signals is abnormally interrupted or delayed relative to a reference operation sequence, wherein the machine learning model is trained by continuously inputting surgical operation behavior data that has no abnormally interrupted or delayed condition, and generate a feedback signal when the machine learning model recognizes that the surgical operation behavior is abnormally interrupted or delayed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Samosky with Nesichi in view of Avisar’s system and method in order to improve trainee performance and understanding by providing real-time guidance and assistance based on user behavior (Samosky Paragraph 0033).
Nesichi in view of Avisar and Samosky may not explicitly teach reconstruct a three-dimensional virtual surgical environment by performing at least one of optical measure, geometry, and deep learning algorithm from the loaded two-dimensional surgical images and transform the loaded two-dimensional surgical image into three-dimensional information of virtual reality. However, Kubota teaches a surgical simulation model generation method and system that generates the models through geometrical analysis of medical images stored in a storage unit by determining relative positions and volume data for the body part/image (Abstract; Paragraphs 0013, 0037, 0042).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nesichi in view of Avisar and Samosky to incorporate the teachings of Kubota by applying the technique of using geometrical information to generate three-dimensional models based on medical images of Kubota to the simulation generation of Avisar, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to surgical/medical procedure training systems including virtual-reality/simulated anatomy. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Nesichi in view of Avisar and Samosky by using geometrical analysis/information of the medical images of Avisar to generate the simulated anatomy and surgical procedure as the technique is well-known method (Kubota paragraph 0037) and improves Avisar in the same way by generating anatomy that is more realistically reactive (Kubota Paragraphs 0005, 0052). Upon such modification, the method and system of Nesichi in view of Avisar and Samosky would include reconstruct a three-dimensional virtual surgical environment by performing at least one of optical measure, geometry, and deep learning algorithm from the loaded two-dimensional surgical images and transform the loaded two-dimensional surgical image into three-dimensional information of virtual reality. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Kubota with Nesichi in view of Avisar and Samosky’s system and method in order to improve simulation realism and generate better reactions to user manipulation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks/Arguments, filed February 12, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. With regard to Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-12, Applicant argues the following: A) the instant application claims a supervised training method that requires only correct (uninterrupted) data; B) Samosky fails to teach “establishing a single, continuous, time-ordered reference operation sequence…”; and C) Samosky does not teach how to establish a single “reference operation sequence” for detecting deviations. Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the claim language and rely on piecemeal analysis of the cited references. Specifically, with regard to argument A, Applicant argues Samosky fails to teach the limitation because it does not teach “only data without abnormalities” but the claim language does not include such an exclusionary proviso and is preamble with the transitional phrase “comprising” meaning the claim is open-ended. Therefore, the reference can teach training with both novice (error data) and expert (gold standard) data as taught by Samosky. Therefore, this argument is not commensurate with the claim language as the claim does not explicitly exclude other training data and Samosky does teach training with expert data for determining the thresholds for hesitation/delay in user performance including training data with “no abnormally interrupted or delayed condition”. With regard to arguments B and C, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant states Samosky fails to teach limitations that, as discussed above, are taught by the combination of Nesichi, Avisar, Samosky, and Kubota as combined above. Samosky failing to teach the specific cited limitations does not make the combination non-obvious as the limitations are taught by the combination of the references. Further Samosky does teach a specific sequence for which the deviations can be detected as Samosky Paragraph 0048 teaches the process is a sequence of operations including visual displays, feedback, and guidance that can be provided to guide the user through the sequence of steps while providing specific feedback/guidance based on performance of certain tasks in the sequence. Therefore, the claims stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1 and 6 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CORRELL T FRENCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/KANG HU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715