DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 6-9, filed October 16, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are discussed below.
Applicant argues on pg. 6, regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation presented in the previous office action, that:
“As amended, claim 1 now recites an ADC, ALU, and switch control circuit, each of which denotes specific, well-understood circuit structures expressly disclosed in the specification ([0020]). Hence, § 112(f) should no longer apply to the present claims.”
In response, the examiner finds the argument persuasive and agrees. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation is withdrawn.
Applicant argues on pg. 6, regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of the previous office action, that:
“After the amendments, claims 13 and 14 correctly depend from the amended claim 11. Withdrawal of rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is respectfully requested.”
In response, the examiner finds the argument persuasive and agrees. Therefore the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections presented in the previous office action are withdrawn.
Applicant argues on pg. 7, regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection presented in the previous office action, that:
“The amended claim 1 now recites: “…wherein the calculated value is a difference of an average value of the voltage signal … within a first time period and an average value … within a second time period.”
This limitation requires that the arithmetic logic unit calculate a difference between average values of the detected voltage signal across two distinct time periods.
Tang (US 2023/0216324 A1) does not disclose or suggest this feature. Tang instead emphasizes instantaneous detection and immediate response to overvoltage: “…each time it is detected that a highest voltage … reaches or is about to reach an upper limit…” (Tang [0049]), and “…detection occurs at the moment t0 … at the moment t1 …” (Tang [0064]). Tang therefore relies on real-time measurements and explicitly requires reaction at the very moment a threshold is reached. No averaging or differencing across multiple periods is contemplated or permitted because delay would compromise Tang’s immediate protective function.
Zhao (CN 112653204 B), in contrast, discloses calculating differences between average voltage values across multiple time intervals to improve accuracy and reduce noise. For example, Zhao explains computer
∆
V
as the difference of averaged voltages across successive sampling periods (see Zhao, specification discussion of averaging). Zhao’s approach inherently introduces delay because multiple samples must be collected before an average can be determined.
Tang and Zhao disclose fundamentally different and incompatible approaches to battery protection. Tang requires instantaneous detection and immediate cutoff when a highest cell voltage reaches or is about to reach an upper limit. This real-time detection is central to Tang’s stated purpose of preventing immediate overvoltage damage. Zhao, in contrast, discloses determining a voltage difference only after calculating averages across multiple time periods. This method necessarily introduces delay, because multiple samples must be collected before an average can be computed. Such delay is incompatible to Tang’s design, which requires immediate reaction “at the moment” a threshold is reached. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand implementing Zhao’s averaging in Tang’s system would undermine Tang’s core protective function and create a safety hazard by delaying cutoff.”
In response, the examiner finds the argument not persuasive and respectfully disagrees. While it is true that the cutoff voltage is 1) set with a threshold and is 2) instantaneous for the purposes of a protective circuit, 1) no protective circuit is disclosed in the limitations of independent claims 1 or 11, and 2) the switch (104) is cited in the prior art (Tang) as both charge switch (104a) and discharge switch (104b); e.g., controlling the current path switch performs charging as well as discharging. The switch (104) acts as both a switch to charge and discharge, wherein paras. [0079]-[0082] discloses a second example in which the derating rule may include a plurality of current intervals and a current sequence corresponding to each current interval. The controller (11) may count, in a counting manner, a quantity of times that the charging current of the battery (10) and the voltages of the n electrochemical cells meet the derating condition in the charging process of the battery (10). When the voltages of the n electrochemical cells meet the derating condition for the first time, the current sequence corresponding to the interval in which the charging current is located is determined, that is, the current sequence corresponding to the interval in which the initial value of the charging current is located is determined. Then, it is determined that the first current value in the current sequence is a current derating current. Correspondingly, when the voltages of the n electrochemical cells meet the derating condition for the Mth time, it is determined that the Mth current value in the current sequence is a current derating current. It may be understood that current values in each current sequence decrease one by one according to an arrangement sequence, and a minimum current value is the first current value. Paras. [0079]-[0082] make it clear that Tang may be relied upon as teaching taking successive measurements over time during the charging process; e.g., first time to the Mth time, in order to ascertain the derating condition, which is necessarily a logical value that controls the current path switch; e.g., start charge, continue charging, stop charging, and/or discharge.
Further, Zhao may be relied upon as performing protective switching; e.g., see pg. 16, lines 1-5 disclosing when for the same cell (100), the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value is greater than or equal to the threshold value, the detecting unit (22) can determine that the corresponding cell (100) occurs in short circuit. Here, the first voltage value and the second voltage value are instantaneous voltage value, and the first voltage value can be measured before the second voltage value of the voltage value; see also pg. 16, lines 12-14 disclosing when the detection unit (22) detects the internal short circuit of the battery module (10) by using the above scheme, the detection unit (22) generates a detection signal (Ds) including the state of the battery module (10) and whether the internal short circuit occurs; see also pg. 16, lines 38-41 disclosing when the detection unit (22) generates the detection signal (Ds) indicating the internal short circuit of the battery module (10), the control unit (23) can control the main switch (32) in the non-conductive state to interrupt the connection to the battery module (10) of the external charging device (not shown) or load (not shown).
Applicant’s own disclosure at para. [0041] discloses both monitoring the current over time in both charging and discharging, as well as providing an alternative mechanism for detecting a short and providing a protective switch circuit in order to protect the battery pack from damage; wherein it is clear the applicant understands that switch control is directed to both charging and discharging. Ergo, Tang and Zhao do not disclose fundamentally different and incompatible approaches to battery protection, and fall well within the broadest reasonable interpretation for obviousness modification. Each of Tang and Zhao both utilize calculations, both utilize measurements over time intervals, and both utilize an instantaneous non-conductive state in order to protect the circuit. It is of further note that both utilize calculations based on measurements taken over time to control a current path switch according to a logic signal during charging.
However, Tang in view of Tang II may not be relied upon as disclosing amended limitations. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection presented in the previous office action is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tang et al. (US 2023/0216324 A1) in view of Schreiber et al. (US 2023/0402677 A1), in further view of Zhao et al. (CN 112653204 A).
Applicant does not argue the merits of the individual dependent claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Independent method claim 11, line 4 discloses “ADC” and “ALU.” Neither of these acronyms are defined in independent claim 11. This is juxtaposed with Independent Claim 1, which defines both ADC and ALU in lines 5 and 9, respectively. The examiner recommends amending to clarify ADC and ALU in claim 11, which is reflected in the independent apparatus claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2023/0216324 A1), hereinafter Tang, in view of Schreiber et al. (US 2023/0402677 A1), hereinafter Schreiber, in further view of Zhao et al. (CN 112653204 A), hereinafter Zhao.
Regarding claim 1, Tang discloses A battery pack comprising:
a group of cells; (Tang, e.g., see fig. 1 illustrating a group of electrochemical cells (101); see also para. [0033] disclosing the charging management module may generally include a battery (10), a controller (11), and a charging circuit (12). The battery (10) includes
n
n
>
1
;
w
h
e
r
e
n
i
s
a
n
i
n
t
e
g
e
r
electrochemical cells (101) connected in series, a sampling circuit (102), a controller (103), and a protection circuit (104)).
a current path switch coupled to the group of cells; and (Tang, e.g., see fig. 1 illustrating protection circuit (104), comprising charge switch (104a) and discharge switch (104b); see also para. [0039] disclosing the protection circuit (104) includes a charge switch (104a) and a discharge switch (104b). The controller (103) is connected to the sampling circuit (102) and the protection circuit (104). The controller (103) may determine, based on information, such as a voltage, current, and a temperature, collected by the sampling circuit (102), whether the battery (10) is in an abnormal charging/discharging state (for example, high-temperature charging, an abnormal voltage, or an abnormal current), and control connection/disconnection of the charge switch (104a) and the discharge switch (104b), to implement charging/discharging protection for the battery (10); examiner notes that fig. 1 explicitly illustrates a connection of protection circuit (104) to the positive terminal of the electrochemical cells (101)).
a current monitoring system comprising:
an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) coupled to the group of cells and/or a positive terminal of the battery pack, configured to detect at least one voltage signal of the group of cells and/or the positive terminal of the battery pack; (Tang, e.g., see fig. 1 illustrating sampling circuit (102); see also paras. [0034]-[0035] disclosing the sampling circuit (102) includes a voltage sampling analog-to-digital converter (Analog-to-Digital Converter, ADC) (102a), a current sampling ADC (102b), and a current sampling resistor (102c). The voltage sampling ADC (102a) is an ADC configured to sample a voltage of each electrochemical cell, and includes n voltage sampling ports that is, v1, v2, v3, …, and
v
n
shown in fig. 1. The n voltage sampling ports are respectively connected to positive electrodes of the n electrochemical cells, to collect the voltage of each electrochemical cell; examiner notes that fig. 1 explicitly illustrates sampling circuit (102) as coupled to the positive terminal of the electrochemical cells (101)).
a logic unit coupled to the ADC, configured to generate a calculated value of a voltage signal of the at least one voltage signal and generate a value according to the calculated value; and (Tang, e.g., see fig. 1 illustrating controller (11); examiner notes controller (11) is linked/coupled to the sampling circuit (102)/signal detection unit through controller (103); see also para. [0040] disclosing the controller (11) may be a unit that can implement logic control, such as one or more single-chip microcomputer or a CPU; see also paras. [0073]-[0074] disclosing the following provides an example description of a process in which the controller (11) determines the derating current with reference to two examples. Example 1: the derating current may be a current value preconfigured in the controller (11), or may be a current value calculated by the controller (11) according to a preset derating rule; see also paras. [0079]-[0082] disclosing Example 2: the derating rule may include a plurality of current intervals and a current sequence corresponding to each current interval. the controller (11) may count, in a counting manner, a quantity of times that the charging current of the battery (10) and the voltages of the n electrochemical cells meet the derating condition in the charging process of the battery (10). When the voltages of the n electrochemical cells meet the derating condition for the first time, the current sequence corresponding to the interval in which the charging current is located is determined, that is, the current sequence corresponding to the interval in which the initial value of the charging current is located is determined. Then, it is determined that the first current value in the current sequence is a current derating current. Correspondingly, when the voltages of the n electrochemical cells meet the derating condition for the Mth time, it is determined that the Mth current value int eh current sequence is a current derating current. It may be understood that current values in each current sequence decrease one by one according to an arrangement sequence, and a minimum current value is the first current value; e.g., see table 2; see also figs. 4a-4b and para. [0113] disclosing each time the controller (11) sets a charging current, the controller (11) may perform IR compensation on the maximum allowable charging voltage of the battery (10) based on the set charging current, set the cut-off charging voltage of the charging circuit (12) based on a maximum allowable charging voltage obtained after IR compensation. That is, after determining a derating current each time, the controller (11) calculates a compensation voltage based on the determined derating current and the impedance of the charge loop of the battery (10), adds the limited charging voltage of the battery (10) and the compensation voltage to obtain the maximum allowable charging voltage of the battery (10), and then sets the cut-off charging voltage of the charging circuit (12) based on the maximum allowable charging voltage).
a switch control circuit coupled to the logic unit and the current path switch, configured to control the current path switch according to the value; (Tang, e.g., see fig. 1 illustrating controller (103); examiner notes that controller (103) is illustrated as coupled/linked to the controller (11)/logic unit, and also to the protection circuit (104) through sampling circuit (102); see also para. [0039] disclosing the controller (103) may be a unit that can implement logic control, such as one or more single-chip microcomputers or a central processing unit. The controller (103) is connected to the sampling circuit (102) and the protection circuit (104). The controller (103) may determine, based on information, such as voltage, a current, and a temperature, collected by the sampling circuit (102), whether the battery (10) is in an abnormal charging/discharging state (for example, high-temperature charging, an abnormal voltage, or an abnormal current), and control connection/disconnection of the charge switch (104a) and the discharge switch (104b), to implement charging/discharging protection for the battery (10); examiner notes that information such as a voltage, a current, and a temperature are necessarily a value).
Tang may be relied upon as disclosing a logic control, such as one or more single-chip micro-computers or a central processing unit, which may implicitly be construed as having the broadest reasonable interpretation of including an ALU. Tang may also be relied upon as disclosing a voltage, current and temperature value, which may also be construed as implicitly disclosing a logical signal. However, Tang is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing an arithmetic logic unit (ALU), a logical signal, and wherein the calculated value is a difference of an average value of the voltage signal of the at least one voltage signal within a first time period and an average value of the voltage signal of the at least one voltage signal within a second time period.
However, Schreiber further discloses: an arithmetic logic unit (ALU), (Schreiber, e.g., see para. [0055] disclosing reconfigurable hardware platform (516) may include a logic component (520). As used in this disclosure a “logic component” is a component that executes instructions on output language. For example, and without limitation, logic component may perform basic arithmetic, logic, controlling, input/output operations, and the like thereof. Logic component (520) may include any suitable processor, such as without limitation a component incorporating logical circuitry for performing arithmetic and logical operations, such as an arithmetic and logic unit (ALU), which may be regulated with a state machine and directed by operational inputs from memory and/or sensors).
a logical signal, (Schreiber, e.g., see paras. [0065]-[0066] disclosing a control algorithm may be configured to determine a segmentation boundary as a function of segmented control algorithm. As used in this disclosure a “segmentation boundary” is a limit and/or delineation associated with the segments of the segmented control algorithm. for example, and without limitation, segmentation boundary may denote that a segment in the control algorithm has a first starting section and/or a first ending section. Control algorithm may be configured to create an optimized signal communication as a function of segmentation boundary. Master bus controller may receive intermediate representation (512) and/or output language from logic component (520), wherein output language may include one or more analog-to-digital conversions, low bit rate transmissions, message encryptions, digital signals, binary signals, logic signals, analog signals, and the like therefore).
Accordingly, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to have modified Tang with Schreiber’s ALU and logic signal for at least the reasons that it is known to utilize a set of standards for physical connecting and transferring data between peripheral devices and master bus controller by defining commands, protocols, electrical, optical, and/or logical interfaces, as taught by Schreiber; e.g., see para. [0066].
Tang in view of Schreiber is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing: wherein the calculated value is a difference of an average value of the voltage signal of the at least one voltage signal within a first time period and an average value of the voltage signal of the at least one voltage signal within a second time period.
However, Zhao further discloses: wherein the calculated value is a difference of an average value of the voltage signal of the at least one voltage signal within a first time period and an average value of the voltage signal of the at least one voltage signal within a second time period. (Zhao, e.g., see fig. 9, specifically to step (S13) disclosing the average voltage of VG1 – the average voltage of VG2 ≥ Th1; see also pg. 19, line 10 – pg. 20, line 33 disclosing in fig. 9, as an example, it shows the constant current (CC) charging period for the corresponding cell (100), the voltage average value of the first voltage group (VG1) and the second voltage group (VG2) corresponding to different time periods are compared with each other, so as to detect the internal short circuit, but the exemplary embodiment is not limited to this. For example, the detecting unit (22) compares the first voltage value and the second voltage value measured during different time periods during the constant current (CC) charging period to each other, so as to detect the internal short circuit. When determining the first voltage group VG1 is stable by the step S12, the detecting unit (22) determines the difference between the voltage average value of the first voltage group VG1 of the cell (100) as the internal short circuit detection target and the voltage average value of the second voltage group VG2; namely by subtracting the average value of the voltage value included in the second voltage group VG2 from the average value of the voltage value included in the first voltage group VG1 to obtain the value, whether it is equal to or greater than the first threshold Th1 (S13).
Accordingly, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to have modified Tang in view of Schreiber with Zhao’s calculated value is a difference of an average value of the voltage signal of the at least one voltage signal within a first time period and an average value of the voltage signal of the at least one voltage signal within a second time period for at least the reasons that utilizing averages from separate times during constant current charging may result in the detection of an internal short circuit, as taught by Zhao; e.g., see pg. 20, para. [0005].
Regarding claim 2, Tang in view of Schreiber, in further view of Zhao discloses: The battery pack of claim 1 further comprising a current sensing resistor coupled between the group of cells and a negative terminal of the battery pack, and two terminals of the current sensing resistor are coupled to the ADC. (Tang, e.g., see rejection as applied to claim 1; see also fig. 1 illustrating current sampling resistor (102c), current sampling ADC (102b), and voltage sampling analog-to-digital converter (102a); examiner notes that current sampling resistor (102c) is explicitly illustrated as two terminals coupled to the ADC/sampling circuit (102a/b) and also coupled between the negative terminal of the battery pack (disclosed as a negative terminal of a charging circuit) and the cells (101); see also paras. [0034]-[0035] disclosing the current sampling ADC (102b) is connected to both ends of the current sampling resistor (102c), and is configured to collect a current on the current sampling resistor (102c). Because the current sampling resistor (102c) is connected in series to a charge loop, the current on the current sampling resistor (102c) is equal to a current of the battery (10), and is also equal to a charging current output by the charging circuit (12)).
Regarding claim 6, Tang in view of Schreiber, in further view of Zhao discloses: The battery pack of claim 1, wherein the voltage signal is a highest voltage of the group of cells. (Tang, e.g., see rejection as applied to claim 1; see also para. [0049] disclosing each time it is detected that a highest voltage in the voltages of the n electrochemical cells reaches or is about to reach an upper limit of a single electrochemical cell charging voltage, the charging current is derated, so that the voltage of the n electrochemical cells decrease, thereby ensuring that in the constant charging state, the voltage of each electrochemical cell does not exceed the upper limit of the single electrochemical cell charging voltage).
Regarding claim 7, Tang in view of Schreiber, in further view of Zhao discloses: The battery pack of claim 1, wherein the voltage signal is a voltage measured at the positive terminal of the battery pack. (Tang, e.g., rejection as applied to claim 1, specifically to fig. 1; see also para. [0034] disclosing the n voltage sampling ports are respectively connected to positive electrode of the n electrochemical cells, to collect the voltage of each electrochemical cell).
Regarding claim 8, Tang in view of Schreiber, in further view of Zhao discloses: The battery pack of claim 1, wherein the voltage signal is a voltage across a terminal with a highest voltage of the group of cells and the positive terminal of the battery pack. (Tang, e.g., see rejection as applied to claim 1; see also para. [0034] disclosing the voltage sampling ADC (102a) is an ADC configured to sample a voltage of each electrochemical cell, and includes n voltage sampling ports, that is, v1, v2, v3, …, and vn as shown in fig. 1; see also para. [0064] disclosing refer to (b) in fig. 3. After the battery (10) starts to be charged, the voltages are generated on the n electrochemical cells. It is assumed that, at the moment to, a voltage of an electrochemical cell m in the n electrochemical cell also gradually increases. However, the voltage of the electrochemical cell m is always the highest voltage in the voltages of the n electrochemical cells. At a moment t1, the controller (11) detects that the voltage of the electrochemical cell m reaches the upper limit of the single electrochemical cell charging voltage. That is, because a difference between the highest voltage and Um is 0, which is less than the preset difference, the controller (11) determines that the currently detected voltages of the n electrochemical cells meet the derating condition, and needs to perform derating on a current charging current a1).
Regarding claim 9, Tang in view of Schreiber, in further view of Zhao discloses: The battery pack of claim 1, wherein the group of cells comprises a plurality of cells coupled in series. (Tang, e.g., see fig. 1 illustrating electrochemical cells (101) connected in series; see also para. [0033] disclosing the battery (10) includes
n
(
n
>
1
; where n is an integer) electrochemical cells (101) connected in series).
Regarding claim 10, Tang in view of Schreiber, in further view of Zhao discloses: The battery pack of claim 1, wherein each cell in the group of cells is coupled respectively to the ADC. (Tang, e.g., see rejection as applied to claim 1; specifically fig. 1 and para. [0034] disclosing The voltage sampling ADC (102a) is an ADC configured to sample a voltage of each electrochemical cell, and includes n voltage sampling ports that is, v1, v2, v3, …, and
v
n
shown in fig. 1; examiner notes that ports v1-
v
n
are explicitly illustrated in fig. 1; construed as respective coupling of individual cells as connected to sampling circuit (102)).
Regarding claim 11, Claim 11 recites A current monitoring method for a battery pack, the battery pack comprising a group of cells, a current path switch and a current monitoring system, the current monitoring system comprises a ADC, a ALU and a switch control circuit, the current path switch being coupled to the group of cells, the ADC being coupled to the group of cells and/or a positive terminal of the battery pack, the ALU being coupled to the ADC, and the switch control circuit being coupled to the ALU and the current path switch, and the method comprising: detecting at least one voltage signal of the group of cells and/or of the positive terminal of the battery pack by the ADC; generating a calculated value of a voltage signal of the at least one voltage signal, wherein the calculated value is a difference of an average value of the voltage signal of the at least one voltage signal within a first time period and an average value of the voltage signal of the at least one voltage signal within a second time period; generating a logic signal according to the calculated value by the ALU; and controlling the current path switch according to the logic signal by the switch control circuit., and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Tang in view of Schreiber, in further view of Zhao for reasons analogous to those set forth in connection with claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Tang in view of Schreiber, in further view of Zhao discloses: The method of claim 11, wherein when the ALU determines the difference to be higher than a threshold, the switch control circuit turns off the current path switch. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met; see, e.g., MPEP 2111.04(III); because the step of the current path control unit turns off the current path switch is only performed if/when a condition precedent is met; e.g., when the ALU determines the difference to be higher than a threshold, the broadest reasonable interpretation of this claim does not require this step; e.g., the current path control unit turns off the current path switch to be performed; accordingly, this step does not carry patentable weight.
Regarding claim 14, Tang in view of Schreiber, in further view of Zhao discloses: The method of claim 11, wherein when the ALU determines the difference to be lower than a threshold, the switch control circuit turns on the current path switch. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met; see, e.g., MPEP 2111.04(III); because the step of the current path control unit turns on the current path switch is only performed if/when a condition precedent is met; e.g., when the ALU determines the difference to be lower than a threshold, the broadest reasonable interpretation of this claim does not require this step; e.g., the current path control unit turns on the current path switch to be performed; accordingly, this step does not carry patentable weight.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites The method of claim 11, wherein the voltage signal is a highest voltage of the group of cells., and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Tang in view of Schreiber, in further view of Zhao for reasons analogous to those set forth in connection with claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 recites The method of claim 11, wherein the voltage signal is a voltage measured at the positive terminal of the battery pack., and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Tang in view of Schreiber, in further view of Zhao for reasons analogous to those set forth in connection with claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, The method of claim 11, wherein the voltage signal is a voltage across a terminal with a highest voltage of the group of cells and the positive terminal of the battery pack., and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Tang in view of Schreiber, in further view of Zhao for reasons analogous to those set forth in connection with claim 8.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Schreiber, in further view of Zhao, in further view of Luo et al. (CN 114598014 A), hereinafter Luo.
Regarding claim 4, Tang in view of Schreiber, in further view of Zhao is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing: The battery pack of claim 1, wherein when the ALU determines the difference to be higher than a threshold, the switch control circuit turns off the current path switch.
However, Luo further discloses: wherein when the ALU determines the difference to be higher than a threshold, the switch control circuit turns off the current path switch. (Luo, e.g., see pg. 7, lines 27-30 disclosing the first control module (160) under the condition that the voltage difference value is greater than the preset threshold value, controlling the charging path is off; see also pg. 15, line 39 – pg. 16, line 5 disclosing mobile terminal (1000) may also include power supply to each component, the power supply can be connected with the processor (1010) logic through the power supply management system. The processor (1010) is used for obtaining the voltage difference values from the output end of the voltage comparator).
Accordingly, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to have modified Tang in view of Schreiber, in further view of Zhao’s device with Luo’s when the logic unit determines the difference to be higher than a threshold, the current path control unit turns off the current path switch for at least the reasons that it is known to use a switch create an open circuit to protect the circuit from damage once a damaging voltage/current is detected.
Regarding claim 5, Tang in view of Schreiber, in further view of Zhao is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing: The battery pack of claim 1, wherein when the ALU determines the difference to be lower than a threshold, the switch control circuit turns on the current path switch.
However, Luo further discloses: wherein when the ALU determines the difference to be lower than a threshold, the switch control circuit turns on the current path switch. (Luo, e.g., see pg. 13, lines 11-13 disclosing under the condition that the voltage difference value is less than or equal to the preset threshold value, controlling the first switch (170) to close; see also pg. 15, line 39 – pg. 16, line 5 disclosing mobile terminal (1000) may also include power supply to each component, the power supply can be connected with the processor (1010) logic through the power supply management system. The processor (1010) is used for obtaining the voltage difference values from the output end of the voltage comparator).
Accordingly, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to have modified Tang in view of Schreiber, in further view of Zhao’s device with Luo’s when the logic unit determines the difference to be lower than a threshold, the current path control unit turns on the current path switch for at least the reasons that it is known to close the switch to operate the circuit under detected safe operating conditions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 2009/0309547 A1 to Nakatsuji relates to a charging method, battery pack and charger for battery pack.
US 2013/0002199 A1 to Hu et al. relates to charging of Li-Ion batteries.
US 2014/0306662 A1 to Kim et al. relates to voltage compensated active cell balancing.
/E.S.V./Examiner, Art Unit 2863
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863