Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that “the signal path is disposed or not disposed in the substrate”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in Peng, (Fig. 9) the signal path (transmission line 64) is inserted into the board 32 and is therefore considered to be disposed in the substrate. It is unclear what is meant by the limitation of the signal path being “disposed or not disposed” in the substrate since providing a signal path which is only disposed in the substrate would meet the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “the signal path is disposed or not disposed in the substrate”. The metes and bounds of this limitation is unclear since the claim does not clearly state the structural limitations of the signal path and the substrate. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to how the signal path is both disposed or not disposed in the substrate or whether the only one of a disposal or non-disposal is required by the claim. Further, the claim states in line 9 that the signal path is disposed on the second surface of the substrate and therefore it is unclear how the signal path is not disposed in the substrate.
Claims 2-19 are dependent on claim 1 and are therefore also rejected under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al., CN 106546781in view of Hembree, US 20060043986
Regarding claim 1, Peng discloses a probe card (Figs. 1-2) for high-frequency testing (Abstract; A probe for testing very high frequency circuit chips), comprising:
a substrate, the substrate having a first surface, a second surface (Fig. 4-9; board 32), and at least one first through hole (Fig.4-9; through hole 33), the first through hole being correspondingly connected to the first surface and the second surface (through hole 33 is connected to connected to top and bottom surface); a probe, the probe being disposed on the second surface of the substrate (Fig. 4-9; signal probe 52) at least one movable conductive pillar passing through a corresponding one of the first through hole and being mounted in the first through hole, (Fig. 4-9; conductive contact 334 and conductive wall 332 being a pillar; conductive wall can be removed); and a signal path, wherein the signal path is disposed on the second surface of the substrate, and the signal path is disposed or not disposed in the substrate so that the probe is electrically connected to the conductive pillar (Fig. 9; transmission line 64 inserted into board 32); wherein the movable conductive pillar is replaceable from the first through hole (“conductive in wall 332 is removed, the signal through hole 33 will become the common through-hole does not have conductive function”).
Peng is silent in wherein the at least one movable conductive pillar is fixed on the substrate through mechanical interference, solder, conductive trace, adhesive, or conductive glue before the at least one movable conductive pillar is replaced and wherein the probe is configured to be reused by only replacing the movable conductive pillar when the conductive pillar is unusable.
Hembree teaches wherein the at least one movable conductive pillar is fixed on a substrate through mechanical interference, solder, conductive trace, adhesive, or conductive glue before the at least one movable conductive pillar is replaced (¶[0034]; elastomeric material fills a via to attach a connective pin 104) and wherein the probe is configured to be reused by only replacing the movable conductive pillar when the conductive pillar is unusable (¶[0038]; contact pins 430 (same as contact pin 104) may be removed and replaced; signal from unreplaced contact 104 is not sent to device under test). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Hembree into Peng for securely attaching the conductive portion onto the through hole for greater reliability of the probe card.
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al., CN 106546781in view of Hembree, US 20060043986 in view of Abe et al., KR 20090120513.
Regarding claim 2, Peng is silent in wherein the signal path includes a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate is disposed on the second surface of the substrate and has at least one second through hole, and the second through hole corresponds to the first through hole, so that the at least one movable conductive pillar movably passes through the corresponding one of the first through hole and a corresponding one of the second through hole. Abe teaches wherein a signal path includes a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate is disposed on a second surface of the substrate and has at least one second through hole, and the second through hole corresponds to a first through hole, so that at least one conductive pillar passes through the corresponding one of the first through hole and a corresponding one of the second through hole (Figs. 1; substrate 55, substrate 51, through hole between the substrate for probes, with contact wire being a conductive pillar). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Abe into Peng for the benefit of providing a secure attachment of the probe device.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al., CN 106546781in view of Hembree, US 20060043986 in view of Abe et al., KR 20090120513 in view of Lou et al., US 20110279139
Regarding claim 3, Peng as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Deguchi is silent in wherein the signal path further includes a coaxial cable, and the coaxial cable is disposed on a second surface of the substrate, the coaxial cable being connected between the probe and the flexible substrate. Lou teaches wherein the signal path further includes a coaxial cable, and the coaxial cable is disposed on a second surface of the substrate (Fig. 4; coaxial cable 35, circuit board 34), the coaxial cable being connected to a probe and the flexible substrate (coaxial cable 35, substrate 31 and probe 32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Lou into Peng for the benefit of using a probe that is most suitable for testing a circuit received from the coaxial cable. Peng as modified is silent in wherein the coaxial cable is connected between the flex substrate and probe. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the desired location of the cable, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. It would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a cable at a location between two elements to direct the signal to the probe in order to test a device.
Claim 4, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al., CN 106546781in view of Hembree, US 20060043986 in view of Lou et al., US 20110279139.
Regarding claim 4, Peng is silent in wherein the signal path further includes a coaxial cable, the coaxial cable is disposed on the second surface of the substrate, and is electrically connected between the probe and the movable conductive pillar. Lou teaches wherein the signal path further includes a coaxial cable, and the coaxial cable is disposed on a second surface of the substrate and is electrically connected between the probe and a conductor (Fig. 4; coaxial cable 35, probe 32, circuit board 34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Lou into Peng for the benefit of using a probe that is most suitable for testing a circuit received from the coaxial cable.
Regarding claim 18, Peng is silent in comprising: a coaxial cable, wherein one end of the coaxial cable is electrically connected to the probe, and another end of the coaxial cable is electrically connected to a flexible substrate. Lou teaches wherein a coaxial cable is electrically connected to the probe and another end of the coaxial cable is electrically connected to a flexible substrate. (Fig. 1; coaxial cable 35 connected to probe 31 and flex substrate 31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Abe into Peng for the benefit of using a probe that is most suitable for testing a circuit received from the coaxial cable.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al., CN 106546781in view of Hembree, US 20060043986 in view of Abe et al., KR 20090120513
Regarding claim 6, Peng is silent in wherein the signal path includes a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate is disposed on the second surface of the substrate and has at least one second through hole, and the second through hole corresponds to the first through hole, wherein a length of a first part is greater than or equal to a depth of the first through hole, and a length of a second part is equal to a depth of the second through hole. Abe teaches wherein a signal path includes a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate is disposed on a second surface of the substrate and has at least one second through hole, and the second through hole corresponds to a first through hole, so that at least one conductive pillar passes through the corresponding one of the first through hole and a corresponding one of the second through hole (Figs. 1; substrate 55, substrate 51, through hole between the substrate for probes, with contact wire being a conductive pillar). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Abe into Peng for the benefit of providing a secure attachment of the probe device. Peng is silent in wherein a length of a first part is greater than or equal to a depth of the first through hole, and a length of a second part is equal to a depth of the second through hole. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the desired dimensions, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the desired dimensions for incorporating the first and second parts into the through holes.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al., CN 106546781in view of Hembree, US 20060043986 in view of Abe et al., KR 20090120513 in view of Lin et al. US 20230065443
Regarding claim 7, Peng is silent in wherein the signal path includes a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate is disposed on the second surface of the substrate and has at least one second through hole, and the second through hole corresponds to the first through hole, wherein the movable conductive pillar is configured inserted into the second through hole from the flexible substrate in a direction toward the substrate, a first part passes through the first through hole, and a second part passes through the second through hole. Abe teaches wherein a signal path includes a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate is disposed on a second surface of the substrate and has at least one second through hole, and the second through hole corresponds to a first through hole, so that at least one conductive pillar passes through the corresponding one of the first through hole and a corresponding one of the second through hole (Figs. 1; substrate 55, substrate 51, through hole between the substrate for probes, with contact wire being a conductive pillar). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Abe into Peng for the benefit of providing a secure attachment of the probe device.
Lin teaches a probe card wherein a pillar is configured to be inserted into the second through hole from the flexible substrate in a direction toward the substrate, a first part passes through the first through hole, and a second part passes through the second through hole (Figs. 1D, 1F; substrate 110 with hole for probe pillar 130 with part 134 and another substrate 150 with hole for the probe pillar part 133). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to substitute the pillar of Lin into Peng since doing so would still provide the predictable result of providing a signal to the probes.
Regarding claim 8, Peng as modified is silent in wherein a length of the first part is greater than or equal to a depth of the first through hole, and a length of the second part is equal to a depth of the second through hole. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the desired dimensions, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the desired dimensions for incorporating the first and second parts into the through holes.
Regarding claim 13, Peng as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Lin teaches wherein the movable conductive pillar is configured to be inserted into the first through hole from the flexible substrate in a direction toward the substrate (conductive layer 132 inserted into the hole of 110 and 150). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to insert the pillar of Lin into the probe card arrangement of Peng since doing so would still provide the predictable result of providing a signal to the probes.
Regarding claim 14, Peng is silent in wherein the signal path includes a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate is disposed on the second surface of the substrate and has at least one second through hole, and the second through hole corresponds to the first through hole, wherein a cross sectional area of the first through hole is less than a cross sectional area of the second through hole, the movable pillars have a first part and a second part, and a cross sectional area of the first part is less than a cross sectional area of the second part. Abe teaches wherein a signal path includes a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate is disposed on a second surface of the substrate and has at least one second through hole, and the second through hole corresponds to a first through hole, so that at least one conductive pillar passes through the corresponding one of the first through hole and a corresponding one of the second through hole (Figs. 1; substrate 55, substrate 51, through hole between the substrate for probes, with contact wire being a conductive pillar). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Abe into Peng for the benefit of providing a secure attachment of the probe device.
Lin teaches wherein a cross sectional area of the first through hole is less than a cross sectional area of the second through hole, the movable pillars have a first part and a second part, and a cross sectional area of the first part is less than a cross sectional area of the second part (Figs. 1D, 1F; substrate 110 with hole for probe pillar 130 with part 134 and another substrate 150 with hole for the probe pillar part 133). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to substitute the pillar of Lin into Peng since doing so would still provide the predictable result of providing a signal to the probes.
Regarding claim 15, Peng is silent wherein a length of a first part is greater than or equal to a depth of the first through hole, and a length of a second part is equal to a depth of the second through hole. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the desired dimensions, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the desired dimensions for incorporating the first and second parts into the through holes.
Regarding claim 16, Peng is silent in wherein the signal path includes a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate is disposed on the second surface of the substrate and has at least one second through hole, and the second through hole corresponds to the first through hole, wherein a cross sectional area of the first through hole is greater than a cross sectional area of the second through hole, the movable conductive pillar has a first part and a second part, and a cross sectional area of the first part is greater than a cross sectional area of the second part. Abe teaches wherein a signal path includes a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate is disposed on a second surface of the substrate and has at least one second through hole, and the second through hole corresponds to a first through hole, so that at least one conductive pillar passes through the corresponding one of the first through hole and a corresponding one of the second through hole (Figs. 1; substrate 55, substrate 51, through hole between the substrate for probes, with contact wire being a conductive pillar). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Abe into Peng for the benefit of providing a secure attachment of the probe device.
Lin teaches wherein a cross sectional area of the first through hole is greater than a cross sectional area of the second through hole, the movable conductive pillar has a first part and a second part, and a cross sectional area of the first part is greater than a cross sectional area of the second part (Figs. 1D, 1F; substrate 110 with hole for probe pillar 130 with part 134 and another substrate 150 with hole for the probe pillar part 133). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to substitute the pillar of Lin into Peng since doing so would still provide the predictable result of providing a signal to the probes.
Regarding claim 17, Peng is silent in wherein the signal path includes a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate is disposed on the second surface of the substrate and has at least one second through hole, and the second through hole corresponds to the first through hole, wherein a shape of the first through hole is different from a shape of second through hole, the movable conductive pillar has a first part and a second part, a shape of the first part is the same as the shape of the first through hole, a shape of the second part is the same as the shape of the second through hole, the movable conductive pillar is configured to be inserted into the second through hole from the substrate in a direction toward a flexible substrate; or the movable conductive pillar is configured to be inserted into the first through hole from the substrate in a direction toward a flexible substrate. Abe teaches wherein a signal path includes a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate is disposed on a second surface of the substrate and has at least one second through hole, and the second through hole corresponds to a first through hole, so that at least one conductive pillar passes through the corresponding one of the first through hole and a corresponding one of the second through hole (Figs. 1; substrate 55, substrate 51, through hole between the substrate for probes, with contact wire being a conductive pillar). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Abe into Peng for the benefit of providing a secure attachment of the probe device.
Lin teaches wherein a shape of the first through hole is different from a shape of second through hole, the movable conductive pillar has a first part and a second part, a shape of the first part is the same as the shape of the first through hole, a shape of the second part is the same as the shape of the second through hole; the movable conductive pillar is configured to be inserted into the second through hole from the substrate in a direction toward a flexible substrate; or the movable conductive pillar is configured to be inserted into the first through hole from the substrate in a direction toward a flexible substrate (Figs. 1D, 1F; substrate 110 with hole for probe pillar 130 with part 134 and another substrate 150 with hole for the probe pillar part 133). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to substitute the pillar of Lin into Peng since doing so would still provide the predictable result of providing a signal to the probes.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al., CN 106546781in view of Hembree, US 20060043986 in view of Mochizuki, US 20110121846 in view of Lou et al., US 20110279139
Regarding claim 9, Peng is silent in wherein the movable conductive pillar includes a grounded conductive pillar and a signal transduction conductive pillar, and the grounded conductive pillar and the signal transduction conductive pillar respectively pass through different first through holes. Mochizuki teaches a grounded conductive pillar and a signal transduction conductive pillar (Fig. 3; ground conductor main body12a; conductive line 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Mochizuki into Peng for the benefit of providing a signal with superior electrical characteristic to minimize voltage loss.
Peng as modified is silent in the grounded conductive pillar and the signal transduction conductive pillar respectively pass through different first through holes. Lou teaches grounded conductor and a signal transduction conductor respectively pass through different first through holes (Fig. 5; wires 351 and wire 355 are signal transduction and ground conductor respectively). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Lou into Peng for the benefit of testing high-frequency signals.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al., CN 106546781in view of Hembree, US 20060043986 in view of Mochizuki, US 20110121846 in view of Lou et al., US 20110279139 in view of Abe et al., KR 20090120513
Regarding claim 10, Peng is silent in wherein a signal path includes a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate is disposed on a second surface of the substrate and has at least one second through hole, and the second through hole corresponds to a first through hole, so that at least one conductive pillar passes through the corresponding one of the first through hole and a corresponding one of the second through hole. Abe teaches wherein a signal path includes a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate is disposed on a second surface of the substrate and has at least one second through hole, and the second through hole corresponds to a first through hole, so that at least one conductive pillar passes through the corresponding one of the first through hole and a corresponding one of the second through hole (Figs. 1; substrate 55, substrate 51, through hole between the substrate for probes, with contact wire being a conductive pillar). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Abe into Peng for the benefit of providing a secure attachment of the probe device. Peng is silent in wherein a length of a first part is greater than or equal to a depth of the first through hole, and a length of a second part is equal to a depth of the second through hole. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the desired dimensions, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the desired dimensions for incorporating the first and second parts into the through holes.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al., CN 106546781in view of Hembree, US 20060043986 in view of Mochizuki, US 20110121846
Regarding claim 11, Peng is silent in wherein the movable conductive pillars include a signal transduction layer and a grounded layer, and the grounded layer surrounds the signal transduction layer or the signal transduction layer surrounds the grounded layer. Mochizuki teaches a grounded conductive pillar and a signal transduction conductive pillar and the grounded layer surrounds the signal transduction layer or the signal transduction layer surrounds the grounded layer (Fig. 3; ground conductor main body12a; conductive line 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Mochizuki into Peng for the benefit of providing a signal with superior electrical characteristic to minimize voltage loss.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al., CN 106546781in view of Hembree, US 20060043986 in view of Mochizuki, US 20110121846 in view of Abe et al., KR 20090120513
Regarding claim 12, Peng is silent in wherein a signal path includes a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate is disposed on a second surface of the substrate and has at least one second through hole, and the second through hole corresponds to a first through hole, so that at least one conductive pillar passes through the corresponding one of the first through hole and a corresponding one of the second through hole. Abe teaches wherein a signal path includes a flexible substrate, the flexible substrate is disposed on a second surface of the substrate and has at least one second through hole, and the second through hole corresponds to a first through hole, so that at least one conductive pillar passes through the corresponding one of the first through hole and a corresponding one of the second through hole (Figs. 1; substrate 55, substrate 51, through hole between the substrate for probes, with contact wire being a conductive pillar). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Abe into Peng for the benefit of providing a secure attachment of the probe device.
Peng as modified is silent wherein a length of a first part is greater than or equal to a depth of a first through hole, and a length of the second part is equal to a depth of the second through hole. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the desired dimensions, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the desired dimensions for incorporating the first and second parts into the through holes.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al., CN 106546781in view of Hembree, US 20060043986 in view of Lou et al., US 20110279139in view of Senoue et al., TW 201346270
Regarding claim 19, Peng is silent in wherein the substrate further includes a groove, and a flexible substrate is accommodated in the groove. Lou teaches a substrate and a flexible substrate included in a probe card (Fig. 4; flex substrate 31, substrate 34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Lou into Peng for the benefit of testing high frequency signals. Senoue teaches wherein a substrate further includes a groove, and a circuit is accommodated in the groove (Fig. 1; substrate 2, land portion 21 with cabling). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of providing a groove in a substrate as taught by Senoue into Peng for the benefit of providing a secure attachment of the circuit.
Conclusion
/FEBA POTHEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858