DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
The following is a Final Office Action. In response to Examiner's communication on 04/10/2026, Applicant on 07/01/2026, amended Claims 1, 6 and 11. Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-15 are now pending in this application and have been rejected below.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments are insufficient to overcome the grounds of rejection under 35 USC 112(a). The rejections have been outlined below.
Applicants’ amendments are insufficient to overcome the 35 USC 103 rejections set forth in the previous action. Therefore, these rejections have been updated to address the amendments and are maintained below.
Response to Arguments – 35 USC § 112(a)
Applicant argues that the specification provides support for the claimed features, in particular noting [0031] of the specification. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Note that there is a distinction between the assigning apparatus that implicitly performs the operations of Claim 1, and explicitly in Claims 6 and 11, and the actual remote vehicle. The cited portion of the specification supports that the remote vehicle autonomously drives, and thus may actuate a steering wheel or pedal of the vehicle, but that does not accord with the claimed language that the assigning apparatus is what directly actuates a steering wheel or pedal of the vehicle.
Accordingly, these rejections have been maintained below.
Response to Arguments – 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found to be persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited references fail to teach or suggest the newly added features regarding “a first type of operation…when there is a person in a vicinity of the vehicle…a second type of operation…at a time when there is not the person in the vicinity of the vehicle”. Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Lawler teaches:
classifying a requested remote operation into a … type of operation…when there is a person in a vicinity of the vehicle…and a … type of operation…when there is not the person in the vicinity of the vehicle
Note examples of detecting humans in the vicinity of the vehicle in [0020]. “Children are playing with the car or vandalizing it, and a human operator is needed to assess the situation. An accident occurs and the car needs on-site human representation. The car is subject to a traffic stop by law enforcement and the vehicle needs a remote operator to communicate with the officer. The vehicle is stopped by customs and the operator must indicate to the customs officers what manner of goods the vehicle is carrying. The vehicle enters a loading dock and a human operator must issue instructions to the workers for delivery…. The car must refuel but only a conventional fueling station is nearby and so a remote human agent is needed to interact with the station attendant…A cop car may flash its lights to cause the vehicle to pull over”. Note the relationship of incident characteristics to categorization in [0034], “In more advanced modes and in the best mode, the software may categorize or rate the different types of problems facing the vehicles, and may categorize or rate the different human operators, based on capabilities and/or previous performances. A fluent English-speaker may be necessary for interaction with law enforcement officers…Human operators for specialized tasks, aka accident prevention, may be selected based on fast reflexes and high levels of vigilance…Another dimension on which ailing vehicles and operators may be striated is on criticality or time-sensitivity: a different and more time-sensitive response is necessary for an occurred or imminent vehicle crash versus diagnostic or maintenance level interventions”.
The citations regarding the types of operations and their connection to parallel processing ability, as taught by Gombolay, are maintained and noted below.
Accordingly, the rejections under 35 USC 103 have been updated to address the amendments and maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The newly added limitation pertaining to “causing the vehicle to travel”, as effectuated “by a computer” in Claims 1 and 11 or “at least one processor” in Claim 6, does not have support in Applicant’s specification and thereby constitutes new matter. While there is support for the idea of the vehicle “travelling”, according to remote instruction issued by a remote operator in [0032], it is implicit from the preamble language of Claims 1, 6 and 11 that it is the computer or processor that induces movement in the vehicle.
In Claim 1, “A method … by a computer, comprising: … causing the vehicle to travel…”.
In Claim 6, “An apparatus … configured to cause the at least one processor to: … cause the vehicle to travel”.
In Claim 11, “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for assigning a remote operation…the program being configured to cause a computer to…cause the vehicle to travel”.
While Applicant’s specification does support facilitating remote operator control of a vehicle, this is distinct from the assignment system effectuating such control directly. Applicant is advised to amend the language of the claims to align with the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawler(US 20180039265 A1) in view of Gombolay(US 20170293844 A1).
Claims 1, 6, 11
As to Claim 1, Lawler teaches:
A method for assigning a remote operation on a vehicle to a remote operator by a computer, comprising:
In [0021], "FIG. 1 is a detailed overview of the entire process architecture. Items labeled 101 are the remote vehicle operators. Items labeled 102 are the remote control and telemetry terminal systems used to inform the remote vehicle operators of vehicle conditions. Item 103 is the gateway to the processing algorithm which distributes vehicle service requests to the remote control and telemetry systems of the remote vehicle operators. Item 104 represents the matching engine between vehicles requiring service and remote vehicle operator terminals (102)".
classifying a requested remote operation into a … type of operation…when there is a person in a vicinity of the vehicle…and a … type of operation…when there is not the person in the vicinity of the vehicle
Note examples of detecting humans in the vicinity of the vehicle in [0020]. “Children are playing with the car or vandalizing it, and a human operator is needed to assess the situation. An accident occurs and the car needs on-site human representation. The car is subject to a traffic stop by law enforcement and the vehicle needs a remote operator to communicate with the officer. The vehicle is stopped by customs and the operator must indicate to the customs officers what manner of goods the vehicle is carrying. The vehicle enters a loading dock and a human operator must issue instructions to the workers for delivery…. The car must refuel but only a conventional fueling station is nearby and so a remote human agent is needed to interact with the station attendant…A cop car may flash its lights to cause the vehicle to pull over”. Note the relationship of incident characteristics to categorization in [0034], “In more advanced modes and in the best mode, the software may categorize or rate the different types of problems facing the vehicles, and may categorize or rate the different human operators, based on capabilities and/or previous performances. A fluent English-speaker may be necessary for interaction with law enforcement officers…Human operators for specialized tasks, aka accident prevention, may be selected based on fast reflexes and high levels of vigilance…Another dimension on which ailing vehicles and operators may be striated is on criticality or time-sensitivity: a different and more time-sensitive response is necessary for an occurred or imminent vehicle crash versus diagnostic or maintenance level interventions”.
Lawler does not teach:
classifying a requested remote operation into a first type of operation in which only one operation can be assigned to one remote operator at a time … and a second type of operation in which a plurality of operations can be assigned to one operator at a time …
However, Gombolay teaches:
classifying a requested remote operation into a first type of operation in which only one operation can be assigned to one remote operator at a time … and a second type of operation in which a plurality of operations can be assigned to one operator at a time …
In [0061], "Labor nurses are modeled as agents with a finite capacity to process tasks in parallel, where each subtask requires a variable amount of this capacity. For example, a labor nurse may generally care for a maximum of two patients simultaneously. If the nurse is caring for a patient who is “full and pushing” (i.e., the cervix is fully dilated and the patient is actively trying to push out the baby) or in the operating room, he or she may only care for that patient". Looking for a mathematical formalization of these constraints, at [00006], "U.sub.τ.sub.i.sub.j; specifies the effort required from any agent to work on τ.sub.i.sup.j", and we have that "Equation 10 ensures that each subtask τ.sub.i.sup.j receives a sufficient portion of the effort of its assigned agent a during epoch [t, t+1)". Note that the particular context of nurses is irrelevant; it is merely exemplary of a CD [MT-MA-TA] class problem, wherein in [0032], “The Korsah et al. taxonomy also delineates between tasks requiring one agent (“single-agent tasks” (SA)); and tasks requiring multiple agents (“multi-agent tasks” (MA)). Similarly, agents that perform one task at a time are “single-task agents” (ST), while agents capable of performing multiple tasks simultaneously are “multi-task agents” (MT). Lastly, the taxonomy distinguishes between “instantaneous assignment” (IA), in which all task and schedule commitments are made immediately, and “time-extended assignment” (TA), in which current and future commitments are planned”.
Lawler teaches:
when the requested remote operation is the first type of operation, assigning the requested remote operation to an idle remote operator, the assigned idle remote operator remotely operates the vehicle;
In [0024], " FIG. 4 items between 103 and 105 represents the flowchart of the algorithm which distributes vehicle intervention requests to human remote operators. 401 is an algorithm or hardware implementation of an algorithm which receives the service request from the vehicle gateway 105. Service requests are passed to 402, a queuing mechanism, which matches available operators to groups of remote operators. It may queue requests by some priority score, with secondary matching by time priority, or any other scoring mechanism which allocates vehicle requests to human operators. 403 represents a routing algorithm which will route the service request to the human operator/terminal which is most capable of handling the request". Effectively, we are combining the notion of availability in Lawler to have the nuance of available effort and capacity in Gombolay; if a task is to consume all of an agent’s availability, we seek to find one who is wholly available, and if not, we parallelize where we can. This clearer picture of availability from Gombolay is exactly one such scoring mechanism.
Lawler does not teach:
selecting an active remote operator already engaged in the second type of operation to assign the requested remote operation from among a plurality of active remote operators based on a content of the second type of operation each active remote operator is engaged in,
Gombolay does teach:
selecting an active remote operator already engaged in the second type of operation to assign the requested remote operation from among a plurality of active remote operators based on a content of the second type of operation each active remote operator is engaged in,
In accordance with the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, we understand the content of the operation to be both metadata, such as priority or other features of the operation, as well as the tasks in the operation. With respect to factoring in content of the second type of operation each active remote operator is engaged in, by understanding content to be demanded capacity in [0061], "Labor nurses are modeled as agents with a finite capacity to process tasks in parallel, where each subtask requires a variable amount of this capacity. For example, a labor nurse may generally care for a maximum of two patients simultaneously. If the nurse is caring for a patient who is “full and pushing” (i.e., the cervix is fully dilated and the patient is actively trying to push out the baby) or in the operating room, he or she may only care for that patient". Looking for a mathematical formalization of these constraints, at [00006], "U.sub.τ.sub.i.sub.j; specifies the effort required from any agent to work on τ.sub.i.sup.j", and we have that "Equation 10 ensures that each subtask τ.sub.i.sup.j receives a sufficient portion of the effort of its assigned agent a during epoch [t, t+1)".
Gombolay does not teach:
and a content of the requested remote operation; and assigning the requested remote operation to the selected active remote operator
However, Lawler teaches:
and a content of the requested remote operation; and assigning the requested remote operation to the selected active remote operator
In [0024], " FIG. 4 items between 103 and 105 represents the flowchart of the algorithm which distributes vehicle intervention requests to human remote operators. 401 is an algorithm or hardware implementation of an algorithm which receives the service request from the vehicle gateway 105. Service requests are passed to 402, a queuing mechanism, which matches available operators to groups of remote operators. It may queue requests by some priority score, with secondary matching by time priority, or any other scoring mechanism which allocates vehicle requests to human operators. 403 represents a routing algorithm which will route the service request to the human operator/terminal which is most capable of handling the request". Additionally routing on the basis of skills, or another aspect of the content of the operation is specifically provided for in [0011], "We extend this basic concept to the routing of service requests from semi-autonomous vehicles to a centralized group of human operators based on their specific skills and aptitudes for servicing semi-autonomous vehicle intervention requests".
Lawler teaches:
and causing the vehicle to travel according to the remote operation by actuating a steering wheel or pedal of the vehicle,
Remote operators control vehicles according to the systems disclosed in [0023], “FIG. 3 is a detailed view of the human operator side of operations….In some modes of operation it may give the operator discretion over tasks. It may be integrated with vehicle remote controls, such as a steering wheel, but this need not be the case. Item 304 is the various input-output devices, not necessarily part of the invention, which nevertheless allow a human operator to remotely control a vehicle and/or various I/O devices present with the vehicle, including local speakers, local microphones, local video capture devices, local video presentation screens, local steering systems, local accelerators, local braking systems, local signature/signing devices, etc., which correspond to systems on the vehicle”.
Lawler does not teach:
wherein the second type of operation has an upper limit set for each remote operator, the upper limit being determined based on a proficiency level of each remote operator or operation available points of each remote worker
However, Gombolay teaches:
wherein the second type of operation has an upper limit set for each remote operator, the upper limit being determined based on a proficiency level of each remote operator or operation available points of each remote worker
In [0061], "Labor nurses are modeled as agents with a finite capacity to process tasks in parallel, where each subtask requires a variable amount of this capacity. For example, a labor nurse may generally care for a maximum of two patients simultaneously. Mathematically, this is modeled in equation 11, looking at [0064], "Equation 11 ensures that agent a is not oversubscribed"; i.e. the summation of indicator variables regarding assignment of a given agent at one time does not exceed the capacity of a given agent at one time. Refer to [0063] and [0069] for the clarification of the meanings of variables. In [0046] of Applicant’s specification it is outlined that points are a means of governing task demands with worker capacity, “Further, a method may be considered in which the upper limit number is regarded as operation available points, and a plurality of operations can be performed at a time up to the operation available points. For example, when the operation point of the remote monitoring is one, a remote operator having operation available points of five can engage in five operations of remote monitoring at a time. However, when the operation points of remote calling are three and the current operation points of a remote operator with operation available points of five are two, the remote operator cannot be assigned a remote calling”. We understand the indicator variables governing agent capacity to correspond to Applicant’s claimed points.
Lawler discloses a system for managing requests for assistance from fleets of autonomous vehicles to human remote operators. Gombolay discloses a system meant to facilitate the scheduling of agents to perform tasks. Each reference pertains to the problem of managing and organizing human agents for operational support. Extending the system as recorded in Lawler to include the task parallelization of Gombolay is applicable to Lawler as we already have means of maintaining records on agent availability in Lawler, we are merely taking a more nuanced view on “availability” by adapting the possibility for agents to work on tasks in parallel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to apply the method of Gombolay and apply that to the system of Lawler. Motivation to do so comes from the fact that the claim is plainly directed to the predictable result of combining known items in the prior art, with the expected benefit that adopting task parallelization would enable operators to increase efficiency and overall improve system throughput. Currently, Lawler only discloses a “re-insurer” mechanism to accommodate increased operator demand, in [0017], “The system may even increase the number of potential operators by calling out to another bank or banks of operators, in the manner that re-insurers insure insurers”. Since tasks might be able to done in parallel, it’s clear that there is need for means to facilitate high operator demand.
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected as presenting substantially similar limitations as Claim 1.
Claims 3, 8, 13
As to Claim 3, Lawler combined with Gombolay teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above.
Gombolay teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the assigning the requested remote operation to the active remote operator comprises assigning the requested remote operation to an active remote operator engaged in less than an upper limit number of operations belonging to the second type of operation.
In [0061], "Labor nurses are modeled as agents with a finite capacity to process tasks in parallel, where each subtask requires a variable amount of this capacity. For example, a labor nurse may generally care for a maximum of two patients simultaneously. Mathematically, this is modeled in equation 11, looking at [0064], "Equation 11 ensures that agent a is not oversubscribed"; i.e. the summation of indicator variables regarding assignment of a given agent at one time does not exceed the capacity of a given agent at one time. Refer to [0063] and [0069] for the clarification of the meanings of variables.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to apply the means for facilitating task parallelization of Gombolay and apply that to the system for facilitating remote operator management of fleets of autonomous vehicles of Lawler. Motivation to do so comes from the fact that the claim is plainly directed to the predictable result of combining known items in the prior art, with the expected benefit as outlined above in Claim 1.
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected as presenting substantially similar limitations as Claim 3.
Claims 4, 9, 14
As to Claim 4, Lawler combined with Gombolay teaches all the limitations of Claim 3 as discussed above.
Lawler teaches:
The method according to claim 3, further comprising assigning the requested remote operation to an idle remote operator when the requested remote operation is the second type of operation and no active remote operator is engaged in less than the upper limit number of operations belonging to the second type of operation.
In [0017], "The system may even increase the number of potential operators by calling out to another bank or banks of operators, in the manner that re-insurers insure insurers". As claimed in Claim 13, "The system in claim 1, further comprising a “re-insurer” mechanism by which a second remote bank of human operators is available to handle an excess of demand by vehicles on the first bank".
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to apply the means for facilitating task parallelization of Gombolay and apply that to the system for facilitating remote operator management of fleets of autonomous vehicles of Lawler. Motivation to do so comes from the fact that the claim is plainly directed to the predictable result of combining known items in the prior art, with the expected benefit as outlined above in Claim 1.
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected as presenting substantially similar limitations as Claim 4.
Claims 5, 10, 15
As to Claim 5, Lawler combined with Gombolay teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above.
Gombolay teaches:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising: when the requested remote operation is the first type of operation and there is no idle remote operator, reassigning the second type of operation in which some of a plurality of active remote operators are engaged to remaining active remote operators; and assigning the requested remote operation to a remote operator that becomes idle due to the reassigning of the second type of operation.
In [0067], "The resource nurse may also reassign roles among nurses: For example, a resource nurse may pull a nurse from triage, or even care for patients herself if the floor is too busy. Or, if a patient's condition is particularly acute (e.g., the patient has severe preeclampsia), the resource nurse may assign one-to-one nursing. The level of attentional resources a patient requires and the level a nurse has available correspond to variables U.sub.τ.sub.i.sub.j and .sup.tG.sub.τ.sub.i.sub.j.sup.a, respectively. The resource nurse makes his or her decisions while considering current patient status Λ.sub.τ.sub.i.sub.j, which can be manually transcribed on, e.g., a whiteboard". As a specific example of dynamic reallocation based on need, in [0066], "The resource nurse may accelerate, delay or cancel scheduled inductions or cesarean sections in the event that the floor is too busy. Resource nurses may also request expedited active management of a patient in labor. The decision variables for the timing of transitions between the various steps in the care process are described by s.sub.τ.sub.i.sub.j and f.sub.τ.sub.i.sub.j. The commitments to a patient (or that patient's procedures) are represented by H.sub.τ.sub.i". In [0062], "Rooms on the labor floor (e.g., a labor room, an operating room, etc.) are modeled as resources, which process subtasks in series. Agent and resource assignments to subtasks are pre-emptable, meaning that the agent and resource assigned to care for any patient during any step in the care process may be changed over the course of executing that subtask". We then construe this limitation to be anticipated by the ability for a nurse that is currently processing a patient to have that patient be reassigned to another nurse, and to have the newly freed nurse be scheduled to administer one-to-one nursing. The flexibility to alter assigned agents dependent on patient needs is within the bounds of the dynamic adjustments permitted by the model of Gombolay.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to apply the means for facilitating task parallelization of Gombolay and apply that to the system for facilitating remote operator management of fleets of autonomous vehicles of Lawler. Motivation to do so comes from the fact that the claim is plainly directed to the predictable result of combining known items in the prior art, with the expected benefit as outlined above in Claim 1.
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected as presenting substantially similar limitations as Claim 5.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEODORE XIE/Examiner, Art Unit 3623
/WILLIAM S BROCKINGTON III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623