DETAILED ACTIONS
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim this application being in benefit of foreign priority from European Patent Application No. EP22169964.8 filed on April 26, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (“IDS”) filed on 10/27/2025 was reviewed and the listed references were noted.
Drawings
The 9-page drawings filed 04/11/2023 and 3-page replacement drawings filed 08/28/2025 have been considered and placed on record in the file.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 9 -14 are pending. Claims 4 and 8 are canceled.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 09/28/2022 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7 of the Remarks, Applicants contend that Nogimori appears to teach way from the subject of the instant Application. Applicants argue that Nogimori’s entire technical approach is centered on detecting the presence or absence of artificial marks, and not on identifying pre-existing vehicle components to define a region, thus Nogimori teaches away from the invention by focusing on adding extraneous elements to the seat rather than utilizing existing components as landmarks. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this characterization of Nogimori and submits that the reference does indeed disclose the limitation in question.
The claim requires that the set of characteristics are associated with a seat in the captured image. The dot like marks on Fig. 17 of Nogimori is associated with both the headrest and the backrest of the seat in the image. The term “associated” does not require the characteristics to be the actual seat part. Because the dot-like marks are placed on the backrest and headrest of the seat, under BRI, they are associated with those parts of the image. As for the limitation, “wherein the first characteristic is a seat belt mount of the seat and the second characteristic is a seat belt buckle of the seat”, the reference Karsten is used to teach the said limitation. As seen on Fig. 3 of Karsten, the dot-like marks are situated in the seat belt buckle and seat belt mount. Nogimori and Karsten are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle seat occupancy. The disclosure of Nogimori of using the set of characteristics associated with the seats to determine occupancy with using the concept of dot-like marks can be combined with Karsten teaching of placing the dot-like marks in the seat belt buckle and seat belt mount of the seat as required by the claim limitations. Therefore, the combination of Nogimori in view of Karsten teaches the limitation “identifying, by means of the processing device, a set of characteristics associated with a seat in the captured image, wherein the set of characteristics comprises a first characteristic and a second characteristic defining the region associated with the seat and wherein the first characteristic is a seat belt mount of the seat and the second characteristic is a seat belt buckle of the seat”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogimori et al., (US 2019/0325603 A1, published 10/24/2019), hereinafter referred to as Nogimori in view of Karsten (DE 102006040244 B3, published 08/30/2027, patent translate by EPO attached), hereinafter referred to as Karsten..
Claim 1
Nogimori discloses computer implemented method (Nogimori, Fig. 5) for detecting an occupancy of a seat (Abstract, “A seated state detection device according to an embodiment includes a detection unit, a state determination unit, and an output unit.”) within a vehicle cabin (Nogimori, [0018], “FIG. 1 is a perspective view illustrating an example of a state in which part of a compartment of a vehicle is drawn in perspective, the vehicle equipped with a seated state detection device according to an embodiment.”), the method (Nogimori, Fig. 5) comprising:
- capturing, by means of an imaging device, an image of the vehicle cabin (Nogimori, [0038], “the seated state detection system includes a camera 24 as an imaging unit that images the seats 14a and 14b,”);
- identifying, by means of the processing device, a set of characteristics associated with a seat in the captured image (Nogimori, [0041], “FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram for explaining an example of a mark 26 that is added to the seat 14 in the seated state detection device according to the first embodiment and the seat 14 to which the mark 26 is added. The mark 26 is preferably configured in a form of “line”, for example, from a viewpoint of easiness of detection. Examples of the mark 26 include a vertical line mark 26a extending in a vertical direction of the seat 14, a horizontal line mark 26b extending in a horizontal direction of the seat 14, a double horizontally long frame mark 26c, a double vertically long frame mark 26d, and a double square frame mark 26e that are obtained by combining the vertical line mark 26a and the horizontal line mark 26b. The number of the vertical line mark 26a and the horizontal line mark 26b may be one, or a plurality of vertical line marks 26a may be arranged in parallel, and a plurality of horizontal line marks 26b may be arranged in parallel. As described above, the seated state detection device according to the first embodiment detects the seated state based on the shielded state of the mark 26, so that when a plurality of lines are arranged as the mark 26, detection accuracy can be further improved as compared with a case of arranging one line, and a detection form can be increased by increasing a position (detection pattern) at which whether the mark is shielded is detected.”, [0068], “In the first embodiment described above, described is an example of determining whether the occupant 60 (62) is seated and estimating the physique and the seated posture thereof depending on whether the mark 26 can be detected by the camera 24 when visible light hits the mark 26 (26a, 26b, 26c, 26d, 26e, and the like) added to the backrest surface 14m or the headrest 14h of the seat 14, or when infrared rays having a predetermined wavelength are emitted from the camera 24 side. That is, the mark 26 in the first embodiment is an example of a passive type. On the other hand, in the second embodiment, described is an example of using an active-type mark 70 for determining whether the occupant 60 (62) is seated or estimating the physique and the seated posture of the occupant 60 (62). The following describes an example of using a light emitting element, preferably, an infrared light emitting element that outputs infrared rays as an example of the active-type mark 70”) wherein the set of characteristics comprises a first characteristic and a second characteristic defining the region associated with the seat (Nogimori, [0068], In the first embodiment described above, described is an example of determining whether the occupant 60 (62) is seated and estimating the physique and the seated posture thereof depending on whether the mark 26 can be detected by the camera 24 when visible light hits the mark 26 (26a, 26b, 26c, 26d, 26e, and the like) added to the backrest surface 14m or the headrest 14h of the seat 14, or when infrared rays having a predetermined wavelength are emitted from the camera 24 side. That is, the mark 26 in the first embodiment is an example of a passive type. On the other hand, in the second embodiment, described is an example of using an active-type mark 70 for determining whether the occupant 60 (62) is seated or estimating the physique and the seated posture of the occupant 60 (62). The following describes an example of using a light emitting element, preferably, an infrared light emitting element that outputs infrared rays as an example of the active-type mark 70, Fig. 15, mark 70a and 70b can be first and second characteristic);
- determining, by means of the processing device, a region associated with the identified seat based on the set of characteristics (Nogimori, [0042], “The mark 26 is added, for example, to a backrest surface 14m of the seat 14 constituted of the backrest surface 14m (back seat), a seat surface 14n, a headrest 14h, and the like. FIG. 2 illustrates an example in which the mark 26 is added to the backrest surface 14m. The mark 26 may be added to any position within the imaging range of the camera 24 to be shielded when the occupant is seated on the seat 14.”, [0048], “The detection unit 42 detects whether the mark 26 is shielded based on the taken image data acquired by the information acquisition unit 40”), wherein the region is configured to cover at least a portion of the seat (Nogimori, Fig. 8, the marks are associated with specific regions of the seat, such as the backrest and headrest); and
- determining a seat occupancy status of the seat by processing information obtained from the corresponding region (Nogimori, [0048], “The detection unit 42 detects whether the mark 26 is shielded based on the taken image data acquired by the information acquisition unit 40”, [0048], “In a case in which the vertical line mark 26a and the horizontal line mark 26b added to the seat 14 are not shielded, for example, in a case in which the occupant is not seated, the detection unit 42 can detect the vertical line mark 26a and the horizontal line mark 26b having a reference length (a length in the longitudinal direction of the mark 26 originally added to the seat 14). In contrast, in a case in which the vertical line mark 26a and the horizontal line mark 26b are shielded by a certain object (for example, the occupant) present on the seat 14, the detection unit 42 cannot detect the vertical line mark 26a and the horizontal line mark 26b. In a case in which part of the vertical line mark 26a and the horizontal line mark 26b is shielded, the detection unit 42 can detect a length in the longitudinal direction of a portion of the vertical line mark 26a and the horizontal line mark 26b that is not shielded”, as seen in Fig. 5, if the mark is shielded or not the occupancy of the seat is determined).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine each of the example embodiments of the prior art. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the embodiments as claimed by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. Nogimori disclosed that the novel embodiments can be implemented in various other forms, and can be variously omitted, replaced, and modified without departing from the gist of the invention (Nogimori, [0087]).
Nogimori does not explicitly disclose wherein the first characteristic is a seat belt mount of the seat and/or the second characteristic is a seat belt buckle of the seat.
However, Karsten teaches wherein the first characteristic is a seat belt mount of the seat and the second characteristic is a seat belt buckle of the seat (Karsten, [0001], “the invention is based on a device for seat occupancy detection “, [0013], “The seat belt fixing point, the seat belt deflection point and the seat belt insertion point advantageously represent three fixed points of the seat belt, the positions of which are generally independent of the occupant.”, [0015], “The seat belt markings, which are designed as stripes, can be deliberately designed as a design element”, [0036], “The support points 18.1 to 18.14 respectively.
19.1 to 19.9 of the seat belt routes 14 and 15 now allow model-based seat occupancy detection.”, Fig. 3, fiducial point 19.1 is on the seat belt buckle position).
Nogimori and Karsten are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle seat occupancy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Nogimori to incorporate the teachings of Karsten wherein the first characteristic is a seat belt mount of the seat and/or the second characteristic is a seat belt buckle of the seat. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been because the marking of the seat belt can be implemented inexpensively, so that the device according to the invention enables cost-effective seat occupancy detection with sufficiently accurate determination of the current occupant position (Karsten, [0010]).
Claim 2
The combination of Nogimori in view of Karsten discloses computer implemented method according to claim 1 (Nogimori, Fig. 5), wherein the seat occupancy status is determined (Nogimori, [0048], “The detection unit 42 detects whether the mark 26 is shielded based on the taken image data acquired by the information acquisition unit 40”, [0048], “In a case in which the vertical line mark 26a and the horizontal line mark 26b added to the seat 14 are not shielded, for example, in a case in which the occupant is not seated, the detection unit 42 can detect the vertical line mark 26a and the horizontal line mark 26b having a reference length (a length in the longitudinal direction of the mark 26 originally added to the seat 14). In contrast, in a case in which the vertical line mark 26a and the horizontal line mark 26b are shielded by a certain object (for example, the occupant) present on the seat 14, the detection unit 42 cannot detect the vertical line mark 26a and the horizontal line mark 26b. In a case in which part of the vertical line mark 26a and the horizontal line mark 26b is shielded, the detection unit 42 can detect a length in the longitudinal direction of a portion of the vertical line mark 26a and the horizontal line mark 26b that is not shielded”, as seen in Fig. 5, if the mark is shielded or not the occupancy of the seat is determined) by comparing the information obtained from the corresponding region with reference information obtained from the corresponding region (Nogimori, [0050], “The state determination unit 44 determines the seated state of the seat 14 based on the shielded state of the mark 26 detected by the detection unit 42. For example, if all the marks 26 added to the seat 14 are detected without being shielded, it is determined that the occupant is not seated on the seat 14. In a case in which part of the mark 26 is detected (a case in which the mark 26 shorter than the reference length is detected), the state determination unit 44 can determine the physique or the seated posture of the occupant seated on the seat 14 in accordance with the position and the length of the mark 26 that is detected without being shielded”, the reference length is the reference information).
Claim 5
The combination of Nogimori in view of Karsten discloses computer implemented method according to claim 1 (Nogimori, Fig. 5), wherein the set of characteristics comprises a third characteristic and a fourth characteristic defining the region associated with the seat (Nogimori, Fig. 2, the third and fourth characteristic can be 26d the lines of 26d, [0041], “in a case of the double horizontally long frame mark 26c, the double vertically long frame mark 26d, and the double square frame mark 26e, the number of detection targets (lines for determining whether the mark is shielded) can be increased, so that detection accuracy and the detection form can be improved. In a case of the mark for visible light, the form of the mark 26 can be used as the surface design of the seat 14. The mark 26 illustrated in FIG. 2 is merely an example, and the form of the mark can be appropriately modified. The mark 26 may include, for example, a circle, a triangle, other figures or characters, and a geometric design.”, [0042], “The mark 26 is added, for example, to a backrest surface 14m of the seat 14 constituted of the backrest surface 14m (back seat), a seat surface 14n, a headrest 14h, and the like. FIG. 2 illustrates an example in which the mark 26 is added to the backrest surface 14m. The mark 26 may be added to any position within the imaging range of the camera 24 to be shielded when the occupant is seated on the seat 14.” ).
Claim 6
The combination of Nogimori in view of Karsten discloses computer implemented method according to claim 4 (Nogimori, Fig. 5), wherein the first characteristic defines a first corner of the region and the second characteristic defines a second corner of the region (Nogimori, [0068], “In the first embodiment described above, described is an example of determining whether the occupant 60 (62) is seated and estimating the physique and the seated posture thereof depending on whether the mark 26 can be detected by the camera 24 when visible light hits the mark 26 (26a, 26b, 26c, 26d, 26e, and the like) added to the backrest surface 14m or the headrest 14h of the seat 14, or when infrared rays having a predetermined wavelength are emitted from the camera 24 side. That is, the mark 26 in the first embodiment is an example of a passive type. On the other hand, in the second embodiment, described is an example of using an active-type mark 70 for determining whether the occupant 60 (62) is seated or estimating the physique and the seated posture of the occupant 60 (62). The following describes an example of using a light emitting element, preferably, an infrared light emitting element that outputs infrared rays as an example of the active-type mark 70.”, the first and second characteristic can be the active type mark in Fig. 15 where there are dots that define corners ); and
wherein the first corner of the is diagonally opposite to the second corner (Nogimori, Fig. 15, top left mark 70a is diagonally opposite to bottom right mark 70b).
Claim 7
The combination of Nogimori in view of Karsten discloses computer implemented method according to claim 5 (Nogimori, Fig. 5),
wherein the third characteristic defines a first edge of the region and the fourth characteristic defines a second edge of the region (Nogimori, Fig. 2, if 26d is the mark that is used all the lines of the mark26d can account for 4 edges of the region, [0043], “depending on the purpose of detection, the double horizontally long frame mark 26c, the double vertically long frame mark 26d, the double square frame mark 26e, and the like may be used together. Depending on a shape and a size of the seat 14 (backrest surface 14m), a position to which the mark 26 is added, the number of positions, and the form of the mark 26 can be appropriately modified.”); and
wherein the first edge is parallel to the second edge (Nogimori, Fig. 2, mark 26d, the top line and bottom line of mark26d are parallel to each other).
Claim 9
The combination of Nogimori in view of Karsten discloses computer implemented method according to claim 5 (Nogimori, Fig. 5),
wherein the third characteristic is a top edge of the back rest of the seat and/or the fourth characteristic is a front edge of the bottom rest of the seat (Nogimori, [0068], “In the first embodiment described above, described is an example of determining whether the occupant 60 (62) is seated and estimating the physique and the seated posture thereof depending on whether the mark 26 can be detected by the camera 24 when visible light hits the mark 26 (26a, 26b, 26c, 26d, 26e, and the like) added to the backrest surface 14m or the headrest 14h of the seat 14, or when infrared rays having a predetermined wavelength are emitted from the camera 24 side. That is, the mark 26 in the first embodiment is an example of a passive type. On the other hand, in the second embodiment, described is an example of using an active-type mark 70 for determining whether the occupant 60 (62) is seated or estimating the physique and the seated posture of the occupant 60 (62). The following describes an example of using a light emitting element, preferably, an infrared light emitting element that outputs infrared rays as an example of the active-type mark 70”).
Claim 10
The combination of Nogimori in view of Karsten discloses computer implemented method according to claim 4 (Nogimori, Fig. 5), the method further (Nogimori, Fig. 5) comprising:
- identifying, by means of the processing device, a sub-region based on the region (Nogimori, Fig. 7, 56a and 54a are subregions);
and
- determining, by means of the processing device, a type of occupancy of the seat
based on the first sub-region (Nogimori, [0059], “FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram illustrating a state in which the small occupant 62 is seated on the seat 14 in a normal posture. In FIG. 7, the first mark 54 in the first detection region 54a added to the backrest surface 14m is completely shielded, and part of the second mark 56 in the second detection region 56a (for example, a center part) is partially shielded by a body 62a (a head part or a neck part) of the occupant 62. That is, the detection unit 42 does not detect the first mark 54, and detects the second mark 56 (horizontal line mark 26b) in a state of being divided into two parts, for example. In such a case, the state determination unit 44 determines that the small occupant 62 that cannot completely shield the second mark 56 is seated on the seat 14 in a normal posture.”).
Claim 11
The combination of Nogimori in view of Karsten discloses computer implemented method according to claim 10 (Nogimori, Fig. 5), the method further comprising:
- identifying, by means of the processing device, a second sub-region based on the region (Nogimori, Fig. 7, 56a and 54a are subregions); and
- determining, by means of the processing device, a type of occupancy of the seat based on the second sub-region (Nogimori, [0059], “FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram illustrating a state in which the small occupant 62 is seated on the seat 14 in a normal posture. In FIG. 7, the first mark 54 in the first detection region 54a added to the backrest surface 14m is completely shielded, and part of the second mark 56 in the second detection region 56a (for example, a center part) is partially shielded by a body 62a (a head part or a neck part) of the occupant 62. That is, the detection unit 42 does not detect the first mark 54, and detects the second mark 56 (horizontal line mark 26b) in a state of being divided into two parts, for example. In such a case, the state determination unit 44 determines that the small occupant 62 that cannot completely shield the second mark 56 is seated on the seat 14 in a normal posture.”).
Claim 12
The combination of Nogimori in view of Karsten discloses computer implemented method according to claim 10 (Nogimori, Fig. 5), the method further comprising:
- identifying, by means of the processing device, a reference body point in the first sub-region (Nogimori, Fig. 7, 62a is the bodypoint); and
- determining, by means of the processing device, a type of occupancy of the seat based on the reference body point (Nogimori, [0059], “FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram illustrating a state in which the small occupant 62 is seated on the seat 14 in a normal posture. In FIG. 7, the first mark 54 in the first detection region 54a added to the backrest surface 14m is completely shielded, and part of the second mark 56 in the second detection region 56a (for example, a center part) is partially shielded by a body 62a (a head part or a neck part) of the occupant 62. That is, the detection unit 42 does not detect the first mark 54, and detects the second mark 56 (horizontal line mark 26b) in a state of being divided into two parts, for example. In such a case, the state determination unit 44 determines that the small occupant 62 that cannot completely shield the second mark 56 is seated on the seat 14 in a normal posture.”).
Claim 13
The combination of Nogimori in view of Karsten discloses computer system (Nogimori, Fig. 3), the computer system being configured to carry out the computer implemented method of claim 1 (Nogimori, Fig. 5).
Claim 14
The combination of Nogimori in view of Karsten discloses non-transitory computer readable medium (Nogimori, Fig. 3, ROM 34, RAM 36, and SSD 38) comprising instructions for carrying out the computer implemented method of claim 1 (Nogimori, Fig. 5).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogimori in view of Karsten in further view of Pertsel et al., (US 10,953,850 B1, published 03/21/2021), hereinafter referred to as Pertsel.
Claim 3
The combination of Nogimori in view of Karsten discloses computer implemented method according to claim 2 (Nogimori, Fig. 5).
Nogimori does not explicitly disclose wherein the reference information is obtained from at least one previously captured image.
However, Pertsel teaches wherein the reference information is obtained from at least one previously captured image (Pertsel, Col. 14, lines 24-32, “The video analytics may be configured to determine reference objects. For example, the CNN module 150 may be trained to recognize when a car seat is empty. In another example, the CNN module 150 may be configured to recognize when a child, person, pet and/or a type of inanimate object is present in the seat. Comparing the seat in the current video frame to a reference empty seat may enable the processors 106a-106n to detect the presence of occupants even if there is no motion by the occupants.”, In Fig. 4, the length of d_ref is compared to d_current to determine the occupancy of the seat, Nogimori also teaches comparing a length of a region in an image compared to a reference length, Pertsel teaches that the reference length is from a previous image).
Nogimori, Karsten and Pertsel are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle seat occupancy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Nogimori to incorporate the teachings of Pertsel wherein the reference information is obtained from at least one previously captured image. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to make the detection more accurate.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENISE G ALFONSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662