RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 14-November-2025 has been entered.
This communication is responsive to the amendment filed 14-November-2025 with respect to application 18/133,063 filed 11-April-2023.
Applicant has amended claims 2, 3, 7-9, 14, 15 and 19-21.
Claims 2-21 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §112, 1st Paragraph
Claims 2-21 are rejected under (pre-AIA ), 35 USC §112, first paragraph as failing to comply with the written description requirement. These claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventors at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding independent claim 2: This claim as presently amended, recites in part: “….in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.”, and where the Applicant has cited the Specification [Page 15] in support of this limitation. The cited page, however, discloses alerts issued to persons associated with the property (as exemplary text/email), but does not appear to disclose performing any action for the property itself; nor is there a clear indication of an action performed specifically “in response to the generation the alert….”.
Regarding independent claims 14 and 21: These claims have been amended in similar fashion as for claim 2, and where the amended limitations are not supported by the disclosure, for the same reasons.
Regarding claims 3-13 and 15-20: these claims are rejected at least because depends from a rejected claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-7, 9-12, 14-19 and 21 are rejected for non-statutory double patenting:
Claims 2, 3, 6, 14, 15, 18 and 21 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as unpatentable over claims 1-18 of Slavin et al. (United States Patent # US 11,651,669 B2), hereinafter Parent, in view of Dorenbosch (United States Patent Application Publication # US2008/0108301 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current Application
US 11,651,669 B2 (Parent)
Claim 2: A method comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separated devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert to the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Claim 10: A method comprising:
based on data communications from one or more sensors installed at a property, detecting, by a monitoring application server, one or more events that occurred at the property, the one or more sensors being included in a monitoring system that is configured to monitor the property and the monitoring application server being configured to electronically receive, either directly or via a network communications module, the data communications from the one or more sensors installed at the property;
based on data communications from one or more mobile devices that are associated with the property and that are configured to report geographic location data, determining, by the monitoring application server, location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property, the monitoring application server being configured to receive data communications from the one or more mobile devices that are configured to report geographic location data;
combining, by the monitoring application server, the one or more events that occurred at the property with the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property;
determining, by the monitoring application server, a profile using the combined one or more events that occurred at the property and the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property;
displaying, by the monitoring application server, the profile to present the one or more events that occurred at the property integrated with the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated, wherein detecting the one or more events that occurred at the property comprises detecting a motion sensor event that occurred at the property;
wherein the one or more mobile assets associated with the property comprise a car associated with the property and the location tracking data comprises location tracking data for the car; and
wherein combining the one or more events that occurred at the property with the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property comprises combining the motion sensor event that occurred at the property with the location tracking data for the car.
Claim 3: The method of claim 2, comprising detecting a vehicle event using the vehicle location data, wherein generating the alert for the event uses the vehicle event.
Claim 11: The method of claim 10,
wherein detecting one or more events that occurred at the property comprises detecting activity within the property; and
wherein combining the one or more events that occurred at the property with the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property comprises combining the detected activity within the property with the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property.
Claim 4: The method of claim 3, wherein:
detecting the vehicle event comprises detecting, using the vehicle location data, the vehicle entering or leaving a geofence; and
performing the action for the property is responsive to detecting the event for the vehicle and the property using the detection of the vehicle entering or leaving the geofence.
Claim 12: The method of claim 10, wherein determining the profile using the combined one or more events that occurred at the property and the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property comprises including, in the profile, finer scale tracking data collected by the monitoring system at the property and including, in the profile, larger scale tracking data collected by the one or more mobile devices at locations remote from the property.
Claim 5: The method of claim 2, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing camera data generated by a camera included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 13: The method of claim 10, wherein determining the profile using the combined one or more events that occurred at the property and the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property comprises determining the profile using the location tracking data collected by each of multiple mobile devices assigned to track multiple mobile assets associated with the property and including, in the profile, an indication of which of the multiple mobile assets is associated with the location tracking data integrated in the profile.
Claim 6: The method of claim 2, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing motion data generated by a motion sensor included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 14: The method of claim 10, wherein determining the profile using the combined one or more events that occurred at the property and the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property comprises including, within the profile, a time associated with each of the one or more events that occurred at the property and timing data associated with the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property.
Claim 7: The method of claim 3, wherein performing the action comprises triggering an alarm for the property using the sensor data and the separate vehicle location data in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 15: The method of claim 14, wherein including, within the profile, the timing data associated with the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property comprises including, within the profile, a duration of time of travel related to the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property.
Claim 8: The method of claim 3, wherein performing the action comprises causing generation of an audible alert at the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 16: The method of claim 15, wherein including, within the profile, the duration of time of travel related to the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property comprises including, within the profile, a duration of driving in travelling by car from a first location to a second location.
Claim 9: The method of claim 3, wherein generating the alert for the event comprises:
in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property, generating an alert with information about the event; and
providing the alert to a device for the property.
Claim 17: The method of claim 10, further comprising:
determining whether to perform an automatic control operation for the monitoring system based on the location tracking data; and
in response to a determination to perform the automatic control operation for the monitoring system, causing performance of the automatic control operation for the monitoring system.
Claim 10: The method of claim 9, wherein generating the alert comprises generating, using the vehicle location data, the alert that includes information about the event and a location of the vehicle.
Claim 18: The method of claim 17, wherein determining whether to perform the automatic control operation for the monitoring system based on the location tracking data comprises determining whether at least one user associated with the property is within a threshold distance of the property based on the location tracking data.
Claim 11: The method of claim 9, wherein generating the alert comprises generating, using the vehicle location data and a rule for the property, the alert that includes information about the event.
Claim 12: The method of claim 9, wherein providing the alert to the device for the property comprises:
determining, for each of two or more devices for the property, a level of control for the respective device; and
selecting, using the levels of control and from the two or more devices, the device to which to provide the alert.
Claim 13: The method of claim 2, comprising receiving data indicating permission to use the vehicle location data for detecting an event for the property, wherein accessing the vehicle location data for the vehicle occurs as a result of the data indicating permission to use the vehicle location data for detecting an event for the property.
Claim 14: A system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separate devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert for the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Claim 1: A system for processing sensor data captured for a property in combination with geographic location tracking data of one or more mobile assets associated with the property, the system comprising:
a monitoring system that is configured to monitor a property and includes one or more sensors that are installed at the property;
one or more mobile devices that are configured to report geographic location data for one or more mobile assets associated with the property; and
a monitoring application server that is configured to electronically receive, either directly or via a network communications module, data communications from the one or more sensors installed at the property and receive data communications from the one or more mobile devices that are configured to report geographic location data, the monitoring application server being configured to perform operations comprising:
based on the data communications from the one or more sensors installed at the property, detecting one or more events that occurred at the property;
based on the data communications from the one or more mobile devices that are configured to report geographic location data, determining location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property;
combining the one or more events that occurred at the property with the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property;
determining a profile using the combined one or more events that occurred at the property and the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property;
displaying the profile to present the one or more events that occurred at the property integrated with the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated;
wherein detecting the one or more events that occurred at the property comprises detecting a motion sensor event that occurred at the property;
wherein the one or more mobile assets associated with the property comprise a car associated with the property and the location tracking data comprises location tracking data for the car; and
wherein combining the one or more events that occurred at the property with the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property comprises combining the motion sensor event that occurred at the property with the location tracking data for the car.
Claim 15: The system of claim 14, the operations comprising detecting a vehicle event using the vehicle location data, wherein generating the alert for the event uses the vehicle event.
Claim 2: The system of claim 1:
wherein detecting one or more events that occurred at the property comprises detecting activity within the property; and
wherein combining the one or more events that occurred at the property with the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property comprises combining the detected activity within the property with the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property.
Claim 16: The system of claim 15, wherein:
detecting the vehicle event comprises detecting, using the vehicle location data, the vehicle entering or leaving a geofence; and
performing the action for the property is responsive to detecting the event for the vehicle and the property using the detection of the vehicle entering or leaving the geofence.
Claim 3: The system of claim 1, wherein determining the profile using the combined one or more events that occurred at the property and the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property comprises including, in the profile, finer scale tracking data collected by the monitoring system at the property and including, in the profile, larger scale tracking data collected by the one or more mobile devices at locations remote from the property.
Claim 17: The system of claim 14, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing camera data generated by a camera included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 4: The system of claim 1, wherein determining the profile using the combined one or more events that occurred at the property and the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property comprises determining the profile using the location tracking data collected by each of multiple mobile devices assigned to track multiple mobile assets associated with the property and including, in the profile, an indication of which of the multiple mobile assets is associated with the location tracking data integrated in the profile.
Claim 18: The system of claim 14, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing motion data generated by a motion sensor included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 5: The system of claim 1, wherein determining the profile using the combined one or more events that occurred at the property and the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property comprises including, within the profile, a time associated with each of the one or more events that occurred at the property and timing data associated with the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property.
Claim 19: The system of claim 15, wherein performing the action comprises triggering an alarm for the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 6: The system of claim 5, wherein including, within the profile, the timing data associated with the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property comprises including, within the profile, a duration of time of travel related to the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property.
Claim 20: The system of claim 15, wherein performing the action comprises causing generation of an audible alert at the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 7: The system of claim 6, wherein including, within the profile, the duration of time of travel related to the location tracking data for the one or more mobile assets associated with the property comprises including, within the profile, a duration of driving in travelling by car from a first location to a second location.
Claim 8: The system of claim 1, wherein the operations comprise: determining whether to perform an automatic control operation for the monitoring system based on the location tracking data; and in response to a determination to perform the automatic control operation for the monitoring system, causing performance of the automatic control operation for the monitoring system.
Claim 9: The system of claim 8, wherein determining whether to perform the automatic control operation for the monitoring system based on the location tracking data comprises determining whether at least one user associated with the property is within a threshold distance of the property based on the location tracking data.
Claim 21: One or more non-transitory computer storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separate devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert for the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Consider independent claim 2: Parent, claim 10, recites or suggests all of the limitations of this claim (note that a car is a vehicle), except that Parent does not recite: (a) a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (c ) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), based on both vehicle location information and information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to Parent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 2: The additional limitations of claim 3 are recited or suggested by Parent, claim 10.
Consider claim 6 and as applied to claim 2: The additional limitations of claim 6 are recited or suggested by Parent, claim 10.
Consider independent claim 14: Parent, claim 1, recites or suggests all of the limitations of this claim (note that a car is a vehicle), except that Parent does not recite: (a) a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (c ) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), based on both vehicle location information and the sensed information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to Parent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Consider claim 15 and as applied to claim 14: The additional limitations of claim 15 are recited or suggested by Parent, claim 1.
Consider claim 18 and as applied to claim 14: The additional limitations of claim 18 are recited or suggested by Parent, claim 1.
Consider independent claim 21: Parent, claim 1, recites or suggests all of the limitations of this claim (note that a car is a vehicle), except that Parent does not recite: (a) a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (c ) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert., or (c ) a programmed storage medium.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], where operation may be controlled by program instructions stored in memory [Fig. 2-3; Para. 0047], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046]. a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), under direction of a programmable CPU, based on both vehicle location information and the sensed information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to Parent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Claims 2-4, 14-16 and 21 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as unpatentable over claims 1-19 of Slavin et al. (United States Patent # US 10,950,106 B2), hereinafter GrandParent, in view of Dorenbosch (United States Patent Application Publication # US2008/0108301 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current Application
US 10,950,106 B2 (GrandParent)
Claim 2: A method comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separated devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert to the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Claim 8: A computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving, from a fixed sensor that is located at a property and by a monitoring system that is configured to monitor the property, fixed sensor data that reflects an attribute of the fixed property;
based on the fixed sensor data, determining, by the monitoring system, that an event has occurred at the fixed property and that a resident is located at the fixed property;
determining, by the monitoring system, that a mobile asset is associated with the event; based on the mobile asset being associated with the event, selecting, by the monitoring system and from among multiple periodic frequencies, a periodic frequency for a mobile sensor to transmit mobile sensor data that reflects a location of the mobile asset;
based on the resident being located at the fixed property, selecting, by the monitoring system and from among multiple tracking scales, a tracking scale for the mobile sensor to generate the mobile sensor data;
transmitting, by the monitoring system and to the mobile sensor, instructions to generate the mobile sensor data at the selected tracking scale and transmit the mobile sensor data at the selected periodic frequency;
receiving, by the monitoring system and from the fixed sensor, additional fixed sensor data;
based on the additional fixed sensor data, determining, by the monitoring system, that the event continues to occur at the fixed property and that the resident is away from the fixed property;
determining, by the monitoring system, that the additional mobile asset is not associated with the event;
based on the additional mobile asset not being associated with the event, selecting, by the monitoring system and from among the multiple periodic frequencies, an additional periodic frequency for an additional mobile sensor to transmit additional mobile sensor data that reflects a location of the additional mobile asset;
based on the resident being away from the fixed property, selecting, by the monitoring system and from among the multiple tracking scales, an additional tracking scale for the additional mobile sensor to generate the additional mobile sensor data; and
transmitting, by the monitoring system and to the additional mobile sensor, additional instructions to generate the additional mobile sensor data at the selected additional tracking scale and transmit the additional mobile sensor data at the selected additional periodic frequency.
Claim 3: The method of claim 2, comprising detecting a vehicle event using the vehicle location data, wherein generating the alert for the event uses the vehicle event.
Claim 9: The method of claim 8, comprising:
identifying, by the monitoring system, a geofence around the property associated with the event;
receiving, by the monitoring system and from the mobile sensor at the selected periodic frequency, additional mobile sensor data collected according to the selecting tracking scale;
based on the additional mobile sensor data collected according to the selecting tracking scale, determining, by the monitoring system, that the mobile asset is outside of the geofence; and
based on determining that the mobile asset is outside of the geofence, transmitting, by the monitoring system, a notification to a user associated with the mobile asset indicating mobile asset is outside the geofence.
Claim 4: The method of claim 3, wherein:
detecting the vehicle event comprises detecting, using the vehicle location data, the vehicle entering or leaving a geofence; and
performing the action for the property is responsive to detecting the event for the vehicle and the property using the detection of the vehicle entering or leaving the geofence.
Claim 10: The method of claim 9, wherein the geofence is configured to change based on a time of day.
Claim 5: The method of claim 2, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing camera data generated by a camera included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 11: The method of claim 8, wherein the selected tracking scale is finer than the selected additional tracking scale.
Claim 6: The method of claim 2, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing motion data generated by a motion sensor included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 12: The method of claim 8, wherein the selected periodic frequency is greater than the selected additional periodic frequency.
Claim 7: The method of claim 3, wherein performing the action comprises triggering an alarm for the property using the sensor data and the separate vehicle location data in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 13: The method of claim 8, wherein the mobile asset is the resident.
Claim 8: The method of claim 3, wherein performing the action comprises causing generation of an audible alert at the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 14: The system of claim 8, wherein the mobile asset is a person, a pet, or an object.
Claim 9: The method of claim 3, wherein generating the alert for the event comprises:
in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property, generating an alert with information about the event; and
providing the alert to a device for the property.
Claim 10: The method of claim 9, wherein generating the alert comprises generating, using the vehicle location data, the alert that includes information about the event and a location of the vehicle.
Claim 11: The method of claim 9, wherein generating the alert comprises generating, using the vehicle location data and a rule for the property, the alert that includes information about the event.
Claim 12: The method of claim 9, wherein providing the alert to the device for the property comprises:
determining, for each of two or more devices for the property, a level of control for the respective device; and
selecting, using the levels of control and from the two or more devices, the device to which to provide the alert.
.
Claim 13: The method of claim 2, comprising receiving data indicating permission to use the vehicle location data for detecting an event for the property, wherein accessing the vehicle location data for the vehicle occurs as a result of the data indicating permission to use the vehicle location data for detecting an event for the property.
Claim 14: A system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separate devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert for the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Claim 1: A system for monitoring a fixed property, the system comprising:
a fixed sensor that is located at the fixed property and that is configured to generate fixed sensor data that reflects an attribute of the fixed property;
a mobile sensor that is configured to generate mobile sensor data that reflects a location of a mobile asset;
an additional mobile sensor that is configured to generate additional mobile sensor data that reflects a location of an additional mobile asset; and
a monitor control unit that is configured to:
receive, from the fixed sensor, the fixed sensor data;
based on the fixed sensor data, determine that an event has occurred at the fixed property and that a resident is located at the fixed property;
determine that the mobile asset is associated with the event; based on the mobile asset being associated with the event, select, from among multiple periodic frequencies, a periodic frequency for the mobile sensor to transmit the mobile sensor data;
based on the resident being located at the fixed property, select, from among multiple tracking scales, a tracking scale for the mobile sensor to generate the mobile sensor data; transmit, to the mobile sensor, instructions to generate the mobile sensor data at the selected tracking scale and transmit the mobile sensor data at the selected periodic frequency;
receive, from the fixed sensor, additional fixed sensor data;
based on the additional fixed sensor data, determine that the event continues to occur at the fixed property and that the resident is away from the fixed property;
determine that the additional mobile asset is not associated with the event; based on the additional mobile asset not being associated with the event, select, from among the multiple periodic frequencies, an additional periodic frequency for the additional mobile sensor to transmit the additional mobile sensor data;
based on the resident being away from the fixed property, select, from among the multiple tracking scales, an additional tracking scale for the additional mobile sensor to generate the additional mobile sensor data; and
transmit, to the additional mobile sensor, additional instructions to generate the additional mobile sensor data at the selected additional tracking scale and transmit the additional mobile sensor data at the selected additional periodic frequency.
Claim 15: The system of claim 14, the operations comprising detecting a vehicle event using the vehicle location data, wherein generating the alert for the event uses the vehicle event.
Claim 2: The system of claim 1, wherein the monitor control unit is configured to:
identify a geofence around the property associated with the event;
receive, from the mobile sensor at the selected periodic frequency, additional mobile sensor data collected according to the selecting tracking scale;
based on the additional mobile sensor data collected according to the selecting tracking scale, determine that the mobile asset is outside of the geofence; and
based on determining that the mobile asset is outside of the geofence, transmit a notification to a user associated with the mobile asset indicating mobile asset is outside the geofence.
Claim 16: The system of claim 15, wherein:
detecting the vehicle event comprises detecting, using the vehicle location data, the vehicle entering or leaving a geofence; and
performing the action for the property is responsive to detecting the event for the vehicle and the property using the detection of the vehicle entering or leaving the geofence.
Claim 3: The system of claim 2, wherein the geofence is configured to change based on a time of day.
Claim 17: The system of claim 14, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing camera data generated by a camera included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 4: The system of claim 1, wherein the selected tracking scale is finer than the selected additional tracking scale.
Claim 18: The system of claim 14, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing motion data generated by a motion sensor included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 5: The system of claim 1, wherein the selected periodic frequency is greater than the selected additional periodic frequency.
Claim 19: The system of claim 15, wherein performing the action comprises triggering an alarm for the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 6: The system of claim 1, wherein the mobile asset is the resident.
Claim 20: The system of claim 15, wherein performing the action comprises causing generation of an audible alert at the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 7: The system of claim 1, wherein the mobile asset is a person, a pet, or an object.
Claim 21: One or more non-transitory computer storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separate devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert for the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Claim 15: One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which, when executed by one or more computing devices, cause the one or more computing devices to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a fixed sensor that is located at a property and by a monitoring system that is configured to monitor the property, fixed sensor data that reflects an attribute of the fixed property;
based on the fixed sensor data, determining, by the monitoring system, that an event has occurred at the fixed property and that a resident is located at the fixed property;
determining, by the monitoring system, that a mobile asset is associated with the event;
based on the mobile asset being associated with the event, selecting, by the monitoring system and from among multiple periodic frequencies, a periodic frequency for a mobile sensor to transmit mobile sensor data that reflects a location of the mobile asset;
based on the resident being located at the fixed property, selecting, by the monitoring system and from among multiple tracking scales, a tracking scale for the mobile sensor to generate the mobile sensor data;
transmitting, by the monitoring system and to the mobile sensor, instructions to generate the mobile sensor data at the selected tracking scale and transmit the mobile sensor data at the selected periodic frequency;
receiving, by the monitoring system and from the fixed sensor, additional fixed sensor data;
based on the additional fixed sensor data, determining, by the monitoring system, that the event continues to occur at the fixed property and that the resident is away from the fixed property;
determining, by the monitoring system, that the additional mobile asset is not associated with the event;
based on the additional mobile asset not being associated with the event, selecting, by the monitoring system and from among the multiple periodic frequencies, an additional periodic frequency for an additional mobile sensor to transmit additional mobile sensor data that reflects a location of the additional mobile asset;
based on the resident being away from the fixed property, selecting, by the monitoring system and from among the multiple tracking scales, an additional tracking scale for the additional mobile sensor to generate the additional mobile sensor data; and
transmitting, by the monitoring system and to the additional mobile sensor, additional instructions to generate the additional mobile sensor data at the selected additional tracking scale and transmit the additional mobile sensor data at the selected additional periodic frequency.
Claim 16: The medium of claim 15, wherein the operations comprise:
identifying, by the monitoring system, a geofence around the property associated with the event;
receiving, by the monitoring system and from the mobile sensor at the selected periodic frequency, additional mobile sensor data collected according to the selecting tracking scale;
based on the additional mobile sensor data collected according to the selecting tracking scale, determining, by the monitoring system, that the additional mobile asset is outside of the geofence; and
based on determining that the additional mobile asset is outside of the geofence, transmitting, by the monitoring system, a notification to a user associated with the mobile asset indicating mobile asset is outside the geofence.
Claim 17: The medium of claim 16, wherein the geofence is configured to change based on a time of day.
Claim 18: The medium of claim 15, wherein the selected tracking scale is finer than the selected additional tracking scale.
Claim 19: The medium of claim 15, wherein the selected periodic frequency is greater than the selected additional periodic frequency.
Consider independent claim 2: GrandParent, claim 8, recites or suggests all of the limitations of this claim, except that GrandParent does not: (a) define a mobile asset as a vehicle, (b) recite a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (c ) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), based on both vehicle location information and the sensed information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to GrandParent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 2: The additional limitations of claim 3 are recited or suggested by GrandParent, claim 8.
Consider claim 4 and as applied to claim 3: The additional limitations of claim 4 are recited or suggested by GrandParent, claims 8 and 9.
Consider independent claim 14: GrandParent, claim 1, recites or suggests all of the limitations of this claim, except that GrandParent does not: (a) define a mobile asset as a vehicle, (b) recite a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (c ) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), based on both vehicle location information and the sensed information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to GrandParent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Consider claim 15 and as applied to claim 14: The additional limitations of claim 15 are recited or suggested by GrandParent, claim 1.
Consider claim 16 and as applied to claim 15: The additional limitations of claim 16 are recited or suggested by GrandParent, claims 1 and 2.
Consider independent claim 21: GrandParent, claim 15, recites or suggests all of the limitations of this claim, except that GrandParent does not: (a) define a mobile asset as a vehicle, (b) recite a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (c ) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), based on both vehicle location information and the sensed information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to GrandParent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Claims 2-6, 14-16 and 21 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as unpatentable over claims 1-17 of Slavin et al. (United States Patent # US 10,366,588 B2), hereinafter G2Parent, in view of Dorenbosch (United States Patent Application Publication # US2008/0108301 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current Application
US 10,366,588 B2 (G2Parent)
Claim 2: A method comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separated devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert to the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Claim 7: A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving monitoring data from one or more sensors located at a fixed property;
based on the monitoring data, determining that an event has occurred at the fixed property;
determining, from amongst a plurality of identities, an identity associated with the event and a geofence associated with the identity; determining that a first mobile asset associated with the fixed property is associated with the identity, wherein a first mobile device tracks the first mobile asset and the first mobile device is configured to transmit first location information at a first periodic frequency;
determining that a second mobile asset associated with the fixed property is not associated with the identity, wherein a second mobile device tracks the second mobile asset and the second mobile device is configured to transmit second location information at the first periodic frequency;
based on determining that the first mobile asset is associated with the identity and determining that the identity is associated with the event that occurred at the fixed property, configuring the first mobile device to transmit the first location information of the first mobile device at a second periodic frequency that is greater than the first periodic frequency;
based on determining that the second mobile asset is not associated with the identity and determining that the identity is associated with the event that occurred at the fixed property, maintaining the second mobile device to transmit the second location information of the second mobile device at the first periodic frequency;
receiving the first location information of the first mobile device according to the second periodic frequency;
determining a location of the first mobile asset using finer scale tracking data collected by the monitoring system when the user is detected as being located at the fixed property and larger scale tracking data provided by the first mobile device when the user is detected as being away from the fixed property;
comparing the location of the first mobile asset to the geofence;
determining that the location of the first mobile asset is outside the geofence; and
in response to determining that the location of the first mobile asset is outside the geofence, transmitting an alert to an entity associated with the first mobile asset indicating that the location of the first mobile asset is outside the geofence.
Claim 3: The method of claim 2, comprising detecting a vehicle event using the vehicle location data, wherein generating the alert for the event uses the vehicle event.
Claim 8: The computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein:
the geofence varies with time such that an area of the geofence has a first size at a first time and a second size at a second time that is different from the first time.
Claim 4: The method of claim 3, wherein:
detecting the vehicle event comprises detecting, using the vehicle location data, the vehicle entering or leaving a geofence; and
performing the action for the property is responsive to detecting the event for the vehicle and the property using the detection of the vehicle entering or leaving the geofence.
Claim 9: The computer-implemented method of claim 7, further comprising:
determining an off-limit area associated with the identity;
determining that the location of the first mobile asset is within the off-limit area; and
transmitting an alert to the entity associated with the first mobile asset in response to determining that the location of the first mobile asset is within the off-limit area.
Claim 5: The method of claim 2, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing camera data generated by a camera included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 10: The computer-implemented method of claim 7, further comprising:
receiving monitoring data from the one or more sensors located at the fixed property by receiving image data from a camera located at the fixed property; and
determining the identity by determining the identity based on the image data received from the camera.
Claim 6: The method of claim 2, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing motion data generated by a motion sensor included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 11: The computer-implemented method of claim 7, further comprising:
after determining that the event has occurred, storing log data indicative of locations of the first mobile asset; and
before determining that the event has occurred, not storing log data indicative of locations of the first mobile asset.
Claim 7: The method of claim 3, wherein performing the action comprises triggering an alarm for the property using the sensor data and the separate vehicle location data in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 12: The computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein:
the one or more mobile assets include one or more of a person, a pet, and an object;
the one or more sensors include a contact sensor, a motion sensor, a glass break sensor, a temperature sensor, a water sensor, a rain sensor, a wind sensor, a light sensor, a smoke detector, a carbon monoxide detector, an air quality sensor, and a health monitoring sensor; and
transmitting the alert includes transmitting a text message or an email to a user associated with the first mobile asset and the identity.
Claim 8: The method of claim 3, wherein performing the action comprises causing generation of an audible alert at the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 9: The method of claim 3, wherein generating the alert for the event comprises:
in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property, generating an alert with information about the event; and
providing the alert to a device for the property.
Claim 10: The method of claim 9, wherein generating the alert comprises generating, using the vehicle location data, the alert that includes information about the event and a location of the vehicle.
Claim 11: The method of claim 9, wherein generating the alert comprises generating, using the vehicle location data and a rule for the property, the alert that includes information about the event.
Claim 12: The method of claim 9, wherein providing the alert to the device for the property comprises:
determining, for each of two or more devices for the property, a level of control for the respective device; and
selecting, using the levels of control and from the two or more devices, the device to which to provide the alert.
Claim 13: The method of claim 2, comprising receiving data indicating permission to use the vehicle location data for detecting an event for the property, wherein accessing the vehicle location data for the vehicle occurs as a result of the data indicating permission to use the vehicle location data for detecting an event for the property.
Claim 14: A system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separate devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert for the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Claim 1: A system to process sensor data captured for a fixed property in combination with geographic location tracking data of one or more mobile assets associated with the fixed property, the system comprising:
a monitoring system that is configured to monitor a fixed property and includes one or more sensors that are installed at the fixed property and that are configured to sense attributes of the fixed property;
one or more mobile devices that are configured to track and report geographic location data for one or more mobile assets associated with the fixed property; and
a monitoring application server that is configured to electronically receive data communications from the one or more sensors installed at the fixed property and receive data communications from the one or more mobile devices that are configured to track and report geographic location data, the monitoring application server being configured to perform operations comprising:
receiving monitoring data from the one or more sensors located at the fixed property;
based on the monitoring data, determining that an event has occurred at the fixed property;
determining, from amongst a plurality of identities, an identity associated with the event and a geofence associated with the identity;
determining that a first mobile asset associated with the fixed property is associated with the identity, wherein a first mobile device tracks the first mobile asset and the first mobile device is configured to transmit first location information at a first periodic frequency;
determining that a second mobile asset associated with the fixed property is not associated with the identity, wherein a second mobile device tracks the second mobile asset and the second mobile device is configured to transmit second location information at the first periodic frequency;
based on determining that the first mobile asset is associated with the identity and determining that the identity is associated with the event that occurred at the fixed property, configuring the first mobile device to transmit the first location information of the first mobile device at a second periodic frequency that is greater than the first periodic frequency;
based on determining that the second mobile asset is not associated with the identity and determining that the identity is associated with the event that occurred at the fixed property, maintaining the second mobile device to transmit the second location information of the second mobile device at the first periodic frequency;
receiving the first location information of the first mobile device according to the second periodic frequency; determining a location of the first mobile asset using finer scale tracking data collected by the monitoring system when the user is detected as being located at the fixed property and larger scale tracking data provided by the first mobile device when the user is detected as being away from the fixed property;
comparing the location of the first mobile asset to the geofence;
determining that the location of the first mobile asset is outside the geofence; and
in response to determining that the location of the first mobile asset is outside the geofence, transmitting an alert to an entity associated with the first mobile asset indicating that the location of the first mobile asset is outside the geofence.
Claim 15: The system of claim 14, the operations comprising detecting a vehicle event using the vehicle location data, wherein generating the alert for the event uses the vehicle event.
Claim 2: The system of claim 1, wherein:
the geofence varies with time such that an area of the geofence has a first size at a first time and a second size at a second time that is different from the first time.
Claim 16: The system of claim 15, wherein:
detecting the vehicle event comprises detecting, using the vehicle location data, the vehicle entering or leaving a geofence; and
performing the action for the property is responsive to detecting the event for the vehicle and the property using the detection of the vehicle entering or leaving the geofence.
Claim 3: The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining an off-limit area associated with the identity; determining that the location of the first mobile asset is within the off-limit area; and
transmitting an alert to the entity associated with the first mobile asset in response to determining that the location of the first mobile asset is within the off-limit area.
Claim 17: The system of claim 14, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing camera data generated by a camera included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 4: The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving monitoring data from the one or more sensors located at the fixed property by receiving image data from a camera located at the fixed property; and
determining the identity by determining the identity based on the image data received from the camera.
Claim 18: The system of claim 14, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing motion data generated by a motion sensor included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 5: The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
after determining that the event has occurred, storing log data indicative of locations of the first mobile asset; and
before determining that the event has occurred, not storing log data indicative of locations of the first mobile asset.
Claim 19: The system of claim 15, wherein performing the action comprises triggering an alarm for the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 6: The system of claim 1, wherein:
the one or more mobile assets include one or more of a person, a pet, and an object;
the one or more sensors include a contact sensor, a motion sensor, a glass break sensor, a temperature sensor, a water sensor, a rain sensor, a wind sensor, a light sensor, a smoke detector, a carbon monoxide detector, an air quality sensor, and a health monitoring sensor; and
transmitting the alert includes transmitting a text message or an email to a user associated with the first mobile asset and the identity.
Claim 20: The system of claim 15, wherein performing the action comprises causing generation of an audible alert at the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 21: One or more non-transitory computer storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separate devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert for the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Claim 13: One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media comprising instructions, which, when executed by one or more computing devices, cause the one or more computing devices to perform operations comprising:
receiving monitoring data from one or more sensors located at a fixed property;
based on the monitoring data, determining that an event has occurred at the fixed property;
determining, from amongst a plurality of identities, an identity associated with the event and a geofence associated with the identity;
determining that a first mobile asset associated with the fixed property is associated with the identity, wherein a first mobile device tracks the first mobile asset and the first mobile device is configured to transmit first location information at a first periodic frequency;
determining that a second mobile asset associated with the fixed property is not associated with the identity, wherein a second mobile device tracks the second mobile asset and the second mobile device is configured to transmit second location information at the first periodic frequency;
based on determining that the first mobile asset is associated with the identity and determining that the identity is associated with the event that occurred at the fixed property, configuring the first mobile device to transmit the first location information of the first mobile device at a second periodic frequency that is greater than the first periodic frequency;
based on determining that the second mobile asset is not associated with the identity and determining that the identity is associated with the event that occurred at the fixed property, maintaining the second mobile device to transmit the second location information of the second mobile device at the first periodic frequency;
receiving the first location information of the first mobile device according to the second periodic frequency; determining a location of the first mobile asset using finer scale tracking data collected by the monitoring system when the user is detected as being located at the fixed property and larger scale tracking data provided by the first mobile device when the user is detected as being away from the fixed property;
comparing the location of the first mobile asset to the geofence;
determining that the location of the first mobile asset is outside the geofence; and
in response to determining that the location of the first mobile asset is outside the geofence, transmitting an alert to an entity associated with the first mobile asset indicating that the location of the first mobile asset is outside the geofence.
Claim 14: The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 13, wherein:
the geofence varies with time such that an area of the geofence has a first size at a first time and a second size at a second time that is different from the first time.
Claim 15: The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 13, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining an off-limit area associated with the identity; determining that the location of the first mobile asset is within the off-limit area; and
transmitting an alert to the entity associated with the first mobile asset in response to determining that the location of the first mobile asset is within the off-limit area.
Claim 16: The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 13, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving monitoring data from the one or more sensors located at the fixed property by receiving image data from a camera located at the fixed property; and
determining the identity by determining the identity based on the image data received from the camera.
Claim 17: The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 13, wherein:
the one or more mobile assets include one or more of a person, a pet, and an object; the one or more sensors include a contact sensor, a motion sensor, a glass break sensor, a temperature sensor, a water sensor, a rain sensor, a wind sensor, a light sensor, a smoke detector, a carbon monoxide detector, an air quality sensor, and a health monitoring sensor; and
transmitting the alert includes transmitting a text message or an email to a user associated with the first mobile asset and the identity.
Consider independent claim 2: G2Parent, claim 7, recites or suggests all of the limitations of this claim, except that G2Parent does not: (a) define a mobile asset as a vehicle, (b) recite a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (c ) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), based on both vehicle location information and the sensed information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to G2Parent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 2: The additional limitations of claim 3 are recited or suggested by G2Parent, claim 7.
Consider claim 4 and as applied to claim 3: The additional limitations of claim 4 are recited or suggested by G2Parent, claim 7.
Consider claim 5 and as applied to claim 2: The additional limitations of claim 5 are recited or suggested by G2Parent, claim 10.
Consider claim 6 and as applied to claim 2: The additional limitations of claim 6 are recited or suggested by G2Parent, claim 12.
Consider independent claim 14: G2Parent, claim 1, recites or suggests all of the limitations of this claim, except that G2Parent does not: (a) define a mobile asset as a vehicle, (b) recite a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (c ) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), based on both vehicle location information and the sensed information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to G2Parent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Consider claim 15 and as applied to claim 14: The additional limitations of claim 15 are recited or suggested by G2Parent, claim 1.
Consider claim 16 and as applied to claim 15: The additional limitations of claim 16 are recited or suggested by G2Parent, claim 1.
Consider independent claim 21: G2Parent, claim 13, recites or suggests all of the limitations of this claim, except that G2Parent does not: (a) define a mobile asset as a vehicle, (b) recite a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (c ) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), based on both vehicle location information and the sensed information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to G2Parent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Claims 2-4, 7, 14-16, 19 and 21 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as unpatentable over claims 1-14 of Slavin et al. (United States Patent # US 9,666,047 B2), hereinafter G3Parent, in view Dorenbosch (United States Patent Application Publication # US2008/0108301 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current Application
US 9,666,047 B2 (G3Parent)
Claim 2: A method comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separated devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert to the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Claim 7: A method for automatically controlling operation of a monitoring system for a fixed property using geographic location tracking data of mobile assets associated with the fixed property, the method comprising:
monitoring, by a monitoring system, for events related to the monitoring system that monitors the fixed property;
detecting, based on monitoring for events related to the monitoring system that monitors the fixed property, an absence of activity at the fixed property;
based on the detected absence of activity at the fixed property, determining that the monitoring system is in a disarmed state for a period of time without detected activity at the fixed property;
determining that the period of time in the disarmed state without detected activity at the fixed property is greater than a threshold period of time;
based on the determination that the period of time in the disarmed state without detected activity at the fixed property is greater than the threshold period of time, determining a geographic location of mobile assets associated with the fixed property;
generating, based on determining that the monitoring system is in the disarmed state for the period of time without detected activity at the fixed property, an arming reminder notification;
providing the generated arming reminder notification to a mobile device associated with a mobile asset associated with the fixed property;
determining, based on the geographic location of each of the mobile assets associated with the fixed property, if each of the mobile assets is beyond a threshold distance from the fixed property at the point in time in which the monitoring system has been in a disarmed state without detecting activity at the fixed property for the period of time that is greater than the threshold period of time;
based on a determination that each of the mobile assets is beyond the threshold distance from the fixed property, automatically arming the monitoring system; and
based on a determination that each of the mobile assets is outside the fixed property, and at least one of the mobile assets is within the threshold distance from the fixed property at the point in time in which the monitoring system has been in the disarmed state without detected activity at the fixed property for the period of time that is greater than the threshold period of time:
maintaining the monitoring system in the disarmed state;
continuing to monitor the geographic location of the at least one of the mobile assets; and
based on determining that the location of the at least one of the mobile assets changed to a location outside of the threshold distance from the fixed property, automatically arming the monitoring system.
Claim 3: The method of claim 2, comprising detecting a vehicle event using the vehicle location data, wherein generating the alert for the event uses the vehicle event.
Claim 8: The method of claim 7 wherein the monitoring system is configured to monitor the fixed property and includes one or more sensors that are installed at the fixed property and that are configured to sense attributes of the fixed property.
Claim 4: The method of claim 3, wherein:
detecting the vehicle event comprises detecting, using the vehicle location data, the vehicle entering or leaving a geofence; and
performing the action for the property is responsive to detecting the event for the vehicle and the property using the detection of the vehicle entering or leaving the geofence.
Claim 9: The method of claim 7 wherein determining the geographic location of each of the mobile assets comprises determining the geographic location of each of the mobile assets by mobile devices that are associated with each of the mobile assets and are configured to track and report geographic location data for each of the mobile assets associated with the fixed property.
Claim 5: The method of claim 2, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing camera data generated by a camera included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 10: The method of claim 7 further comprising:
determining a location-based activity profile for the at least one of the mobile assets; and
providing the location-based activity profile for the at least one of the mobile assets to a user.
Claim 6: The method of claim 2, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing motion data generated by a motion sensor included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 11: The method of claim 7 further comprising:
receiving, from the mobile device of a mobile asset, a response to the generated notification; and
arming the monitoring system, based on the received response.
Claim 7: The method of claim 3, wherein performing the action comprises triggering an alarm for the property using the sensor data and the separate vehicle location data in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 12: A method for automatically controlling operation of a monitoring system for a fixed property using geographic location tracking data of mobile assets associated with the fixed property, the method comprising:
monitoring, for events related to the monitoring system that monitors the fixed property;
detecting, based on monitoring for events related to the monitoring system that monitors the fixed property, an absence of activity at the fixed property;
based on the detected absence of activity at the fixed property, determining that the monitoring system is in a disarmed state for a period of time without detected activity at the fixed property;
determining that the period of time in the disarmed state without detected activity at the fixed property is greater than a threshold period of time;
based on the determination that the period of time in the disarmed state without detected activity at the fixed property is greater than the threshold period of time, determining a geographic location of each of the mobile assets associated with the fixed property;
determining, based on the geographic location of each of the mobile assets associated with the fixed property, that each of the mobile assets associated with the fixed property is within an arming reminder zone, the arming reminder zone external to the fixed property;
based on the determination that each of the mobile assets associated with the fixed property is within the arming reminder zone, maintaining the monitoring system in a disarmed state;
continuing to monitor the geographic location of the mobile assets associated with the fixed property;
determining that a new geographic location of at least one mobile asset is outside the arming reminder zone;
generating, based on determining that the new geographic location of the at least one mobile asset is outside of the reminder zone, an arming reminder notification; and
providing the generated arming reminder notification to the at least one mobile asset associated with the fixed property.
Claim 8: The method of claim 3, wherein performing the action comprises causing generation of an audible alert at the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 13: The method of claim 12 wherein providing the generated arming reminder notification to the at least one mobile asset associated with the fixed property comprises providing a text message to a mobile device associated with the at least one mobile asset.
Claim 9: The method of claim 3, wherein generating the alert for the event comprises:
in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property, generating an alert with information about the event; and
providing the alert to a device for the property.
Claim 14: The method of claim 12 further comprising:
receiving, in response to the arming reminder notification, an instruction to arm the monitoring system; and
arming the monitoring system, based on the received response to the arming reminder notification.
Claim 10: The method of claim 9, wherein generating the alert comprises generating, using the vehicle location data, the alert that includes information about the event and a location of the vehicle.
Claim 11: The method of claim 9, wherein generating the alert comprises generating, using the vehicle location data and a rule for the property, the alert that includes information about the event.
Claim 12: The method of claim 9, wherein providing the alert to the device for the property comprises:
determining, for each of two or more devices for the property, a level of control for the respective device; and
selecting, using the levels of control and from the two or more devices, the device to which to provide the alert.
Claim 13: The method of claim 2, comprising receiving data indicating permission to use the vehicle location data for detecting an event for the property, wherein accessing the vehicle location data for the vehicle occurs as a result of the data indicating permission to use the vehicle location data for detecting an event for the property.
Claim 14: A system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separate devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert for the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Claim 1: A system for automatically controlling operation of a monitoring system for a fixed property using geographic location tracking data of mobile assets associated with the fixed property, the system comprising:
a monitoring system that is configured to monitor a fixed property and includes one or more sensors that are installed at the fixed property and that are configured to sense attributes of the fixed property;
mobile devices that are configured to track and report geographic location data for mobile assets associated with the fixed property, the mobile devices including at least a first mobile device of a first mobile asset associated with the fixed property and a second mobile device of a second mobile asset associated with the fixed property; and
a monitoring application server that is configured to electronically receive, either directly or via a network communications module, data communications based on sensor data captured by the one or more sensors installed at the fixed property and that is configured to receive data communications from the mobile devices that are configured to track and report geographic location data, the monitoring application server being configured to perform operations comprising:
monitoring for events related to the monitoring system that monitors the fixed property;
detecting, based on monitoring for events related to the monitoring system that monitors the fixed property, an absence of activity at the fixed property;
based on the detected absence of activity at the fixed property, determining that the monitoring system is in a disarmed state for a period of time without detected activity at the fixed property;
determining that the period of time in the disarmed state without detected activity at the fixed property is greater than a threshold period of time;
based on the determination that the period of time in the disarmed state without detected activity at the fixed property is greater than the threshold period of time, determining a geographic location of each of the mobile assets associated with the fixed property;
generating, based on determining that the monitoring system is in the disarmed state for the period of time greater than the threshold period of time without detected activity at the fixed property, an arming reminder notification;
providing the generated arming reminder notification to a mobile device of at least one mobile asset;
determining, based on the geographic location of each of the mobile assets associated with the fixed property, if each of the mobile assets is beyond a threshold distance from the fixed property at the point in time in which the monitoring system has been in a disarmed state without detecting activity at the fixed property for the period of time that is greater than the threshold period of time;
based on a determination that each of the mobile assets is beyond the threshold distance from the fixed property, automatically arming the monitoring system; and
based on a determination that that each of the mobile assets is outside the fixed property, and at least one of the mobile assets is within the threshold distance from the fixed property at the point in time in which the monitoring system has been in the disarmed state without detected activity at the fixed property for the period of time that is greater than the threshold period of time:
maintaining the monitoring system in the disarmed state;
continuing to monitor the geographic location of the at least one of the mobile assets; and
based on determining that the location of the at least one of the mobile assets changed to a location outside of the threshold distance from the fixed property, automatically arming the monitoring system.
Claim 15: The system of claim 14, the operations comprising detecting a vehicle event using the vehicle location data, wherein generating the alert for the event uses the vehicle event.
Claim 2: The system of claim 1 wherein the monitoring application server is configured to perform operations further comprising:
determining a location-based activity profile for the at least one of the mobile assets; and
providing the location-based activity profile for the at least one of the mobile assets to a user.
Claim 16: The system of claim 15, wherein:
detecting the vehicle event comprises detecting, using the vehicle location data, the vehicle entering or leaving a geofence; and
performing the action for the property is responsive to detecting the event for the vehicle and the property using the detection of the vehicle entering or leaving the geofence.
Claim 3: The system of claim 1 wherein the monitoring application server is configured to perform operations further comprising:
receiving, from a mobile device of a mobile asset, a response to the generated notification; and
arming the monitoring system, based on the received response.
Claim 17: The system of claim 14, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing camera data generated by a camera included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 18: The system of claim 14, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing motion data generated by a motion sensor included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 19: The system of claim 15, wherein performing the action comprises triggering an alarm for the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 20: The system of claim 15, wherein performing the action comprises causing generation of an audible alert at the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 21: One or more non-transitory computer storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separate devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert for the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Claim 4: A system for automatically controlling operation of a monitoring system for a fixed property using geographic location tracking data of mobile assets associated with the fixed property, the system comprising:
a monitoring system that is configured to monitor a fixed property and includes one or more sensors that are installed at the fixed property and that are configured to sense attributes of the fixed property;
mobile devices that are configured to track and report geographic location data for mobile assets associated with the fixed property, the mobile devices including at least a first mobile device of a first mobile asset associated with the fixed property and a second mobile device of a second mobile asset associated with the fixed property; and
a monitoring application server that is configured to electronically receive, either directly or via a network communications module, data communications based on sensor data captured by the one or more sensors installed at the fixed property and that is configured to receive data communications from the mobile devices that are configured to track and report geographic location data, the monitoring application server being configured to perform operations comprising:
monitoring for events related to the monitoring system that monitors the fixed property;
detecting, based on monitoring for events related to the monitoring system that monitors the fixed property, an absence of activity at the fixed property;
based on the detected absence of activity at the fixed property, determining that the monitoring system is in a disarmed state for a period of time without detected activity at the fixed property;
determining that the period of time in the disarmed state without detected activity at the fixed property is greater than a threshold period of time;
based on the determination that the period of time in the disarmed state without detected activity at the fixed property is greater than the threshold period of time, determining a geographic location of each of the mobile assets associated with the fixed property;
determining, based on the geographic location of each of the mobile assets associated with the fixed property, that each of the mobile assets associated with the fixed property is within an arming reminder zone, the arming reminder zone external to the fixed property;
based on the determination that each of the mobile assets associated with the fixed property is within the arming reminder zone, maintaining the monitoring system in a disarmed state;
continuing to monitor the geographic location of the mobile assets associated with the fixed property;
determining that a new geographic location of at least one mobile asset is outside the arming reminder zone;
generating, based on determining that the new geographic location of the at least one mobile asset is outside of the reminder zone, an arming reminder notification; and
providing the generated arming reminder notification to the at least one mobile asset associated with the fixed property.
Claim 5: The system of claim 4 wherein providing the generated arming reminder notification to the at least one mobile asset associated with the fixed property comprises providing a text message to a mobile device associated with the at least one mobile asset.
Claim 6: The system of claim 5 wherein the monitoring application server is configured to perform operations further comprising:
receiving, in response to the arming reminder notification, an instruction to arm the monitoring system; and
arming the monitoring system, based on the received response to the arming reminder notification.
Consider independent claim 2: G3Parent, claim 7, recites or suggests all of the limitations of this claim, except that G2Parent does not: (a) define a mobile asset as a vehicle, (b) recite a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (c ) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), based on both vehicle location information and the sensed information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to G3Parent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 2: The additional limitations of claim 3 are recited or suggested by G3Parent, claim 7.
Consider claim 4 and as applied to claim 3: The additional limitations of claim 4 are recited or suggested by G3Parent, claim 7 where a threshold distance may be broadly considered to be a geofence.
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 3: The additional limitations of claim 7 are recited or suggested by G3Parent, claims 7 and 12, where an alert or notification may be broadly considered to be an alarm.
Consider independent claim 14: G3Parent, claim 1, recites or suggests all of the limitations of this claim, except that G2Parent does not: (a) define a mobile asset as a vehicle, (b) recite a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (c ) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), based on both vehicle location information and the sensed information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to G3Parent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Consider claim 15 and as applied to claim 14: The additional limitations of claim 15 are recited or suggested by G3Parent, claim 1.
Consider claim 16 and as applied to claim 15: The additional limitations of claim 16 are recited or suggested by G3Parent, claim 1, where a threshold distance may be broadly considered to be a geofence.
Consider claim 19 and as applied to claim 15: The additional limitations of claim 19 are recited or suggested by G3Parent, claims 1 and 6, where an alert or notification may be broadly considered to be an alarm.
Consider independent claim 21: G3Parent, claim 13, recites or suggests all of the limitations of this claim, except that G2Parent does not: (a) define a mobile asset as a vehicle, (b) recite a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (c ) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), based on both vehicle location information and the sensed information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to G3Parent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Claims 2, 3, 5-7, 10-12, 14, 15, 17-19 and 21 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as unpatentable over claims 1-9 of Slavin et al. (United States Patent # US 9,123,229 B2), hereinafter G4Parent, in view of Dorenbosch (United States Patent Application Publication # US2008/0108301 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current Application
US 9,123,229 B2 (G4Parent)
Claim 2: A method comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separated devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert to the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Claim 1: A system for processing sensor data captured for a fixed property in combination with geographic location tracking data of one or more mobile assets associated with the fixed property, the system comprising:
a monitoring system that is configured to monitor a fixed property and includes one or more sensors that are installed at the fixed property and that are configured to sense attributes of the fixed property;
mobile devices that are configured to track and report geographic location data for mobile assets associated with the fixed property, the mobile devices including at least a first mobile device of a first user associated with the fixed property and a second mobile device of a second user associated with the fixed property; and
a monitoring application server that is configured to electronically receive, either directly or via a network communications module, data communications based on sensor data captured by the one or more sensors installed at the fixed property and that is configured to receive data communications from the mobile devices that are configured to track and report geographic location data, the monitoring application server being configured to perform operations comprising:
monitoring for events related to the monitoring system that monitors the fixed property;
detecting an event at the fixed property based on the monitoring based on the detected event, determining to send a notification of the detected event;
determining a set of potential recipients of the notification, each of the potential recipients residing at the fixed property, each of the potential recipients being associated with at least one of the mobile devices that are configured to track and report geographic location data for mobile assets associated with the fixed property, and the potential recipients including the first user and the second user; determining a geographic location of each of the potential recipients based on geographic location data reported by the mobile devices,
wherein the geographic location of the first user is determined to be outside of the fixed property,
wherein the geographic location of the second user is determined to be outside of the fixed property, and
wherein the determined geographic location of the first user is closer to the fixed property than the determined geographic location of the second user;
selecting, from among the set of potential recipients, a subset of the potential recipients to receive the notification based on the determined geographic location of each of the potential recipients, the subset of the potential recipients including the first user, but not including the second user based on the determined geographic location of the first user being closer to the fixed property than the determined geographic location of the second user;
generating a notification of the detected event that combines a description of the detected event with the determined geographic location of the second user that is outside of the fixed property; and
sending, to the subset of the potential recipients including the first user associated with the fixed property, the generated notification that combines the description of the detected event with the determined geographic location of the second user that is outside of the fixed property;
wherein detecting the event at the fixed property comprises:
detecting, based on data from a contact sensor that is included in the monitoring system and that senses whether a door or a window of the fixed property is oriented in an open or closed position, a user leaving the fixed property;
determining an identity of the user based on analysis of image data captured by a camera that is included in the monitoring system and that captures images of an area proximate to the door or the window of the fixed property through which the user exited;
identifying a mobile device assigned to track a mobile asset associated with the determined identity; and increasing frequency of geographic location tracking for the identified mobile device assigned to track the mobile asset associated with the determined identity.
Claim 3: The method of claim 2, comprising detecting a vehicle event using the vehicle location data, wherein generating the alert for the event uses the vehicle event.
Claim 2: The system of claim 1: wherein detecting the event at the fixed property comprises detecting activity of a user within the fixed property;
wherein the operations further comprise:
tracking, based on fixed contact and motion sensors that are installed at the fixed property, the detected activity within the fixed property based on the detected activity, the fixed sensors being stationary relative to the fixed property;
combining the tracked activity data within the fixed property with location tracking data collected by a mobile device assigned to track a mobile asset associated with the user;
determining a location-based activity profile for the user using the combined tracked activity data and location tracking data; and
performing an operation that leverages the location-based activity profile for the user.
Claim 4: The method of claim 3, wherein:
detecting the vehicle event comprises detecting, using the vehicle location data, the vehicle entering or leaving a geofence; and
performing the action for the property is responsive to detecting the event for the vehicle and the property using the detection of the vehicle entering or leaving the geofence.
Claim 3: The system of claim 2, wherein determining the location-based activity profile for the user using the combined tracked activity data and location tracking data comprises including, in the location-based activity profile, finer scale tracking data collected by the monitoring system when the user is detected as being located at the fixed property and including, in the location-based activity profile, larger scale tracking data collected by the mobile device assigned to track the mobile asset associated with the user when the user is detected as being away from the fixed property.
Claim 5: The method of claim 2, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing camera data generated by a camera included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 4: The system of claim 2, wherein determining the location-based activity profile for the user using the combined tracked activity data and location tracking data comprises determining the location-based activity profile for the user using location tracking data collected by each of multiple mobile devices assigned to track multiple mobile assets associated with the user and including, in the location-based activity profile, an indication of which of the multiple mobile assets associated with the user is tracked.
Claim 6: The method of claim 2, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing motion data generated by a motion sensor included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 5: The system of claim 1:
wherein detecting the event at the fixed property comprises detecting an event that triggers consideration of whether an automatic control operation for the monitoring system should be performed; and
wherein the operations further comprise:
accessing geographic location tracking data for at least one mobile asset associated with the fixed property, the geographic location tracking data being tracked by at least one of the mobile devices;
determining whether to perform the automatic control operation for the monitoring system based on the accessed geographic location tracking data;
in response to a determination to perform the automatic control operation for the monitoring system, causing performance of the automatic control operation for the monitoring system; and
in response to a determination not to perform the automatic control operation for the monitoring system, maintaining a state of the monitoring system without causing performance of the automatic control operation for the monitoring system.
Claim 7: The method of claim 3, wherein performing the action comprises triggering an alarm for the property using the sensor data and the separate vehicle location data in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 6: The system of claim 1:
wherein generating the notification of the detected event that combines a description of the detected event with the determined geographic location of the second user associated with the fixed property comprises generating a notification of the detected event that combines a description of the detected event with geographic locations of all users that reside at the fixed property.
Claim 8: The method of claim 3, wherein performing the action comprises causing generation of an audible alert at the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 7: The system of claim 1:
wherein the monitoring system is a security system for the fixed property that is configured to detect alarm events at the fixed property and report detected alarm events to a central monitoring station that dispatches emergency services based on reported alarm events;
wherein monitoring for events related to the monitoring system that monitors the fixed property comprises monitoring for alarm events at the fixed property;
wherein detecting an event at the fixed property based on the monitoring comprises detecting an alarm event at the fixed property based on the monitoring;
wherein determining to send the notification of the detected event comprises:
determining to send a notification of the detected alarm event, and determining to report the detected alarm event to the central monitoring station that dispatches emergency services for the fixed property;
wherein generating the notification of the detected event that combines a description of the detected event with the determined geographic location of the second user associated with the fixed property comprises:
generating a notification of the detected alarm event that combines a description of the detected alarm event with the determined geographic location of the second user associated with the fixed property, and
generating a report message for the detected alarm event that includes a description of the detected alarm event and identification information that enables the central monitoring station to identify the fixed property;
wherein sending, to the subset of the potential recipients including the first user associated with the fixed property, the generated notification that combines the description of the detected event with the determined geographic location of the second user associated with the fixed property comprises:
sending, to the first mobile device of the first user, the generated notification that combines the description of the detected alarm event with the determined geographic location of the second user associated with the fixed property, and
sending, to the central monitoring station, the generated report message for the detected alarm event that includes the description of the detected alarm event and the identification information that enables the central monitoring station to identify the fixed property.
Claim 9: The method of claim 3, wherein generating the alert for the event comprises:
in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property, generating an alert with information about the event; and
providing the alert to a device for the property.
Claim 8: The system of claim 1, wherein the fixed property is a private home, the first user and the second user reside in the private home, and the monitoring system is configured to monitor the private home.
Claim 10: The method of claim 9, wherein generating the alert comprises generating, using the vehicle location data, the alert that includes information about the event and a location of the vehicle.
Claim 9: A system for processing sensor data captured for a fixed property in combination with geographic location tracking data of one or more mobile assets associated with the fixed property, the system comprising:
a monitoring system that is configured to monitor a fixed property and includes one or more sensors that are installed at the fixed property and that are configured to sense attributes of the fixed property;
mobile devices that are configured to track and report geographic location data for mobile assets associated with the fixed property, the mobile devices including at least a first mobile device of a first user associated with the fixed property and a second mobile device of a second user associated with the fixed property; and
a monitoring application server that is configured to electronically receive, either directly or via a network communications module, data communications based on sensor data captured by the one or more sensors installed at the fixed property and that is configured to receive data communications from the mobile devices that are configured to track and report geographic location data, the monitoring application server being configured to perform operations comprising:
monitoring for events related to the monitoring system that monitors the fixed property;
detecting an event at the fixed property based on the monitoring based on the detected event, determining to send a notification of the detected event;
determining a set of potential recipients of the notification, each of the potential recipients residing at the fixed property, each of the potential recipients being associated with at least one of the mobile devices that are configured to track and report geographic location data for mobile assets associated with the fixed property, and the potential recipients including the first user and the second user;
determining a geographic location of each of the potential recipients based on geographic location data reported by the mobile devices, wherein the geographic location of the first user is determined to be outside of the fixed property, wherein the geographic location of the second user is determined to be outside of the fixed property, and wherein the determined geographic location of the first user is closer to the fixed property than the determined geographic location of the second user;
selecting, from among the set of potential recipients, a subset of the potential recipients to receive the notification based on the determined geographic location of each of the potential recipients, the subset of the potential recipients including the first user, but not including the second user based on the determined geographic location of the first user being closer to the fixed property than the determined geographic location of the second user;
generating a notification of the detected event that combines a description of the detected event with the determined geographic location of the second user that is outside of the fixed property; and sending, to the subset of the potential recipients including the first user associated with the fixed property, the generated notification that combines the description of the detected event with the determined geographic location of the second user that is outside of the fixed property;
wherein detecting the event at the fixed property comprises:
detecting, based on data from a contact sensor that is included in the monitoring system and that senses whether a door or a window of the fixed property is oriented in an open or closed position, a user leaving the fixed property;
determining an identity of the user based on analysis of image data captured by a camera that is included in the monitoring system and that captures images of an area proximate to the door or the window of the fixed property through which the user exited;
identifying a mobile device assigned to track a mobile asset associated with the determined identity; and increasing frequency of geographic location tracking for the identified mobile device assigned to track the mobile asset associated with the determined identity wherein detecting the event at the fixed property comprises detecting an event that triggers consideration of whether an automatic control operation for the monitoring system should be performed; and
wherein the operations further comprise:
accessing geographic location tracking data for at least one mobile asset associated with the fixed property, the geographic location tracking data being tracked by at least one of the mobile devices;
determining whether to perform the automatic control operation for the monitoring system based on the accessed geographic location tracking data;
in response to a determination to perform the automatic control operation for the monitoring system, causing performance of the automatic control operation for the monitoring system; and in response to a determination not to perform the automatic control operation for the monitoring system, maintaining a state of the monitoring system without causing performance of the automatic control operation for the monitoring system;
wherein detecting the event that triggers consideration of whether the automatic control operation for the monitoring system should be performed comprises detecting an absence of all activity within the fixed property while the monitoring system is in a disarmed state that triggers consideration of whether the monitoring system should be automatically set to an armed state in which a security alarm is generated in response to detected entry into the fixed property;
wherein determining whether to perform the automatic control operation for the monitoring system based on the accessed geographic location tracking data comprises: determining whether at least one of multiple users that reside at the fixed property is within a threshold distance of the fixed property based on the accessed geographic location tracking data, in response to a determination that at least one of the multiple users that reside at the fixed property is within the threshold distance of the fixed property, determining to maintain the monitoring system in the disarmed state, and in response to a determination that at least one of the multiple users that reside at the fixed property is not within the threshold distance of the fixed property, determining to automatically set the monitoring system to the armed state;
wherein causing performance of the automatic control operation for the monitoring system comprises automatically, without human intervention, setting the monitoring system to the armed state in response to a determination to automatically set the monitoring system to the armed state; and wherein maintaining a state of the monitoring system without causing performance of the automatic control operation for the monitoring system comprises maintaining the monitoring system in the disarmed state in response to a determination to maintain the monitoring system in the disarmed state.
Claim 11: The method of claim 9, wherein generating the alert comprises generating, using the vehicle location data and a rule for the property, the alert that includes information about the event.
Claim 12: The method of claim 9, wherein providing the alert to the device for the property comprises:
determining, for each of two or more devices for the property, a level of control for the respective device; and
selecting, using the levels of control and from the two or more devices, the device to which to provide the alert.
Claim 13: The method of claim 2, comprising receiving data indicating permission to use the vehicle location data for detecting an event for the property, wherein accessing the vehicle location data for the vehicle occurs as a result of the data indicating permission to use the vehicle location data for detecting an event for the property.
Claim 14: A system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separate devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert for the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Claim 15: The system of claim 14, the operations comprising detecting a vehicle event using the vehicle location data, wherein generating the alert for the event uses the vehicle event.
Claim 16: The system of claim 15, wherein:
detecting the vehicle event comprises detecting, using the vehicle location data, the vehicle entering or leaving a geofence; and
performing the action for the property is responsive to detecting the event for the vehicle and the property using the detection of the vehicle entering or leaving the geofence.
Claim 17: The system of claim 14, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing camera data generated by a camera included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 18: The system of claim 14, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing motion data generated by a motion sensor included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 19: The system of claim 15, wherein performing the action comprises triggering an alarm for the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 20: The system of claim 15, wherein performing the action comprises causing generation of an audible alert at the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 21: One or more non-transitory computer storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separate devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert for the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Consider independent claim 2: G4Parent, claims 1 and 9, recite or suggest all of the limitations of this claim, except that G2Parent does not: (a) define a mobile asset as a vehicle, (b) recite a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (c ) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), based on both vehicle location information and the sensed information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to G4Parent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 2: The additional limitations of claim 3 are recited or suggested by G4Parent, claims 1 and 9.
Consider claim 5 and as applied to claim 2: The additional limitations of claim 5 are recited or suggested by G4Parent, claims 1 and 9.
Consider claim 6 and as applied to claim 2: The additional limitations of claim 6 are recited or suggested by G4Parent, claim 2.
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 3: The additional limitations of claim 7 are recited or suggested by G4Parent, claims 1, 6, 7 and 9, where a notification or message may be broadly considered to be an alarm.
Consider claim 10 and as applied to claim 9: The additional limitations of claim 10 are recited or suggested by G4Parent, claims 1 and 6.
Consider claim 11 and as applied to claim 9: The additional limitations of claim 11 are recited or suggested by G4Parent, claims 1 and 7.
Consider claim 12 and as applied to claim 9: The additional limitations of claim 12 are recited or suggested by G4Parent, claim 9, where a plurality of mobile devices exist, and a mobile device is selected to receive an event notification based on proximity and/or location.
Consider independent claim 14: G4Parent, claims 1 and 9, recite or suggest all of the limitations of this claim, except that G2Parent does not: (a) define a mobile asset as a vehicle, (b) recite a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (c ) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), based on both vehicle location information and the sensed information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to G4Parent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Consider claim 15 and as applied to claim 14: The additional limitations of claim 15 are recited or suggested by G4Parent, claims 1 and 9.
Consider claim 17 and as applied to claim 14: The additional limitations of claim 17 are recited or suggested by G4Parent, claims 1 and 9.
Consider claim 18 and as applied to claim 14: The additional limitations of claim 18 are recited or suggested by G4Parent, claim 2.
Consider claim 19 and as applied to claim 14: The additional limitations of claim 19 are recited or suggested by G4Parent, claims 1 and 6, where a notification or message may be broadly considered to be an alarm.
Consider independent claim 21: G4Parent, claims 1 and 9, recite or suggest all of the limitations of this claim, except that G2Parent does not: (a) define a mobile asset as a vehicle, (b) recite a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (c ) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), based on both vehicle location information and the sensed information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to G4Parent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Claims 2-7, 9-12, 14-19 and 21 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as unpatentable over claims 1-22 of Slavin et al. (United States Patent # US 8,531,294 B2); Hereinafter G5Parent, in view of Dorenbosch (United States Patent Application Publication # US2008/0108301 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current Application
US 8,531,294 B2 (G5Parent)
Claim 2: A method comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separated devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert to the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Claim 1: A system for processing sensor data captured for a fixed property defined by a first zone in combination with geographic location tracking data of one or more mobile assets associated with the fixed property, the system comprising:
a monitoring system for the fixed property defined by the first zone that includes one or more sensors that are installed at the fixed property and that is configured to detect alarm events at the fixed property and report detected alarm events to a central monitoring station that dispatches emergency services based on reported alarm events;
mobile devices that are configured to track and report geographic location data for mobile assets associated with the fixed property, the mobile devices including at least a first mobile device of a first user associated with the fixed property and a second mobile device of a second user associated with the fixed property; and
a monitoring application server that is configured to electronically receive, either directly or via a network communications module, data communications based on sensor data captured by the one or more sensors installed at the fixed property and that is configured to receive data communications from the mobile devices that are configured to track and report geographic location data, the monitoring application server being configured to perform operations comprising:
detecting a condition related to providing a reminder to arm the security system based on a time of day and a level of activity within the fixed property measured by the one or more sensors that are installed at the fixed property;
based on detecting the condition related to providing the reminder to arm the security system, determining geographic locations of all users that reside at the fixed property based on geographic location data reported by the mobile devices;
based on the determined geographic locations of all users that reside at the fixed property, determining whether any of the users that reside at the fixed property are within a second zone defining an arming reminder decision zone, the second zone defining the arming reminder decision zone being different from the first zone defining the fixed property;
based on a determination that at least one of the users that reside at the fixed property are within the second zone defining the arming reminder decision zone, determining not to provide a reminder to arm the security system, and
based on a determination that all of the users that reside at the fixed property are outside of the second zone defining the arming reminder decision zone, determining to provide a reminder to arm the security system.
Claim 3: The method of claim 2, comprising detecting a vehicle event using the vehicle location data, wherein generating the alert for the event uses the vehicle event.
Claim 2: The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining that the determined geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user corresponds to the fixed property defined by the first zone; and
based on the determination that the determined geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user corresponds to the fixed property, determining a location of the second user within the fixed property based on fixed sensors that are installed at the fixed property, the fixed sensors being stationary relative to the fixed property,
wherein generating the notification of the detected event that combines a description of the detected event with the determined geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user associated with the fixed property comprises generating a notification of the detected event that combines a description of the detected event with the determined location of the second user within the fixed property.
Claim 4: The method of claim 3, wherein:
detecting the vehicle event comprises detecting, using the vehicle location data, the vehicle entering or leaving a geofence; and
performing the action for the property is responsive to detecting the event for the vehicle and the property using the detection of the vehicle entering or leaving the geofence.
Claim 3: The system of claim 1, wherein the fixed property defined by the first zone is a private home, the first user and the second user reside in the private home, and the monitoring system is configured to monitor the private home.
Claim 5: The method of claim 2, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing camera data generated by a camera included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 4: The system of claim 1, wherein the monitoring application server is configured to perform operations comprising:
monitoring for events related to the monitoring system that monitors the fixed property defined by the first zone;
detecting an event at the fixed property defined by the first zone based on the monitoring;
based on the detected event, determining to send a notification of the detected event to the first mobile device of the first user associated with the fixed property; determining a geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user associated with the fixed property;
generating a notification of the detected event that combines a description of the detected event with the determined geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user associated with the fixed property; and
sending, to the first mobile device of the first user associated with the fixed property, the generated notification that combines the description of the detected event with the determined geographic location of the second mobile device for the second user associated with the fixed property.
Claim 6: The method of claim 2, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing motion data generated by a motion sensor included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 5: The system of claim 4: wherein detecting the event at the fixed property defined by the first zone comprises detecting, based on data from a contact sensor that is included in the monitoring system and that senses whether a door or a window of the fixed property is oriented in an open or closed position, a user leaving the fixed property;
wherein the operations further comprise:
determining an identity of the user associated with the door or the window of the fixed property through which the user exited;
identifying a mobile device assigned to track a mobile asset associated with the determined identity; and
increasing frequency of geographic location tracking for the identified mobile device assigned to track the mobile asset associated with the determined identity.
Claim 7: The method of claim 3, wherein performing the action comprises triggering an alarm for the property using the sensor data and the separate vehicle location data in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 6: The system of claim 4:
wherein detecting the event at the fixed property defined by the first zone comprises detecting, based on data from a contact sensor that is included in the monitoring system and that senses whether a door or a window of the fixed property is oriented in an open or closed position, a user leaving the fixed property;
wherein the operations further comprise:
determining an identity of the user based on analysis of image data captured by a camera that is included in the monitoring system and that captures images of an area proximate to the door or the window of the fixed property through which the user exited; identifying a mobile device assigned to track a mobile asset associated with the determined identity; and
increasing frequency of geographic location tracking for the identified mobile device assigned to track the mobile asset associated with the determined identity.
Claim 8: The method of claim 3, wherein performing the action comprises causing generation of an audible alert at the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 7: The system of claim 4:
wherein detecting the event at the fixed property defined by the first zone comprises detecting activity of a user within the fixed property;
wherein the operations further comprise:
tracking, based on fixed contact and motion sensors that are installed at the fixed property, the detected activity within the fixed property based on the detected activity, the fixed sensors being stationary relative to the fixed property;
combining the tracked activity data within the fixed property with location tracking data collected by a mobile device assigned to track a mobile asset associated with the user;
determining a location-based activity profile for the user using the combined tracked activity data and location tracking data; and
performing an operation that leverages the location-based activity profile for the user.
Claim 9: The method of claim 3, wherein generating the alert for the event comprises:
in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property, generating an alert with information about the event; and
providing the alert to a device for the property.
Claim 8: The system of claim 7, wherein determining the location-based activity profile for the user using the combined tracked activity data and location tracking data comprises:
including, in the location-based activity profile, finer scale tracking data collected by the monitoring system when the user is detected as being located at the fixed property and
including, in the location-based activity profile, larger scale tracking data collected by the mobile device assigned to track the mobile asset associated with the user when the user is detected as being away from the fixed property.
Claim 10: The method of claim 9, wherein generating the alert comprises generating, using the vehicle location data, the alert that includes information about the event and a location of the vehicle.
Claim 9: The system of claim 7, wherein determining the location-based activity profile for the user using the combined tracked activity data and location tracking data comprises:
determining the location-based activity profile for the user using location tracking data collected by each of multiple mobile devices assigned to track multiple mobile assets associated with the user and including, in the location-based activity profile, an indication of which of the multiple mobile assets associated with the user is tracked.
Claim 11: The method of claim 9, wherein generating the alert comprises generating, using the vehicle location data and a rule for the property, the alert that includes information about the event.
Claim 10: The system of claim 4:
wherein detecting the event at the fixed property defined by the first zone comprises detecting an event that triggers consideration of whether an automatic control operation for the monitoring system should be performed; and
wherein the operations further comprise:
accessing geographic location tracking data for at least one mobile asset associated with the fixed property, the geographic location tracking data being for tracking at least one of the mobile devices;
determining whether to perform the automatic control operation for the monitoring system based on the accessed geographic location tracking data;
in response to a determination to perform the automatic control operation for the monitoring system, causing performance of the automatic control operation for the monitoring system; and
in response to a determination not to perform the automatic control operation for the monitoring system, maintaining a state of the monitoring system without causing performance of the automatic control operation for the monitoring system.
Claim 12: The method of claim 9, wherein providing the alert to the device for the property comprises:
determining, for each of two or more devices for the property, a level of control for the respective device; and
selecting, using the levels of control and from the two or more devices, the device to which to provide the alert.
Claim 11: The system of claim 10:
wherein detecting the event that triggers consideration of whether the automatic control operation for the monitoring system should be performed comprises detecting an absence of all activity within the fixed property defined by the first zone while the monitoring system is in a disarmed state that triggers consideration of whether the monitoring system should be automatically set to an armed state in which a security alarm is generated in response to detected entry into the fixed property;
wherein determining whether to perform the automatic control operation for the monitoring system based on the accessed geographic location tracking data comprises:
determining whether at least one of multiple users that reside at the fixed property is within a threshold distance of the fixed property based on the accessed geographic location tracking data,
in response to a determination that at least one of the multiple users that reside at the fixed property is within the threshold distance of the fixed property, determining to maintain the monitoring system in the disarmed state, and
in response to a determination that at least one of the multiple users that reside at the fixed property is not within the threshold distance of the fixed property, determining to automatically set the monitoring system to the armed state;
wherein causing performance of the automatic control operation for the monitoring system comprises automatically, without human intervention, setting the monitoring system to the armed state in response to a determination to automatically set the monitoring system to the armed state; and
wherein maintaining a state of the monitoring system without causing performance of the automatic control operation for the monitoring system comprises maintaining the monitoring system in the disarmed state in response to a determination to maintain the monitoring system in the disarmed state.
Claim 13: The method of claim 2, comprising receiving data indicating permission to use the vehicle location data for detecting an event for the property, wherein accessing the vehicle location data for the vehicle occurs as a result of the data indicating permission to use the vehicle location data for detecting an event for the property.
Claim 12: The system of claim 4:
wherein detecting the event at the fixed property defined by the first zone comprises detecting an event at the fixed property related to a notification rule that defines conditions for selecting one or more recipients of the notification;
wherein the operations further comprise: accessing geographic location tracking data for at least one mobile asset associated with the fixed property, the geographic location tracking data being for tracking at least one of the mobile devices;
determining a geographic location for each of multiple, possible recipients of the notification based on the accessed geographic location tracking data;
analyzing the determined geographic location for each of multiple, possible recipients of the notification with respect to the conditions for selecting one or more recipients of the notification defined by the notification rule; and
selecting a subset of the multiple, possible recipients of the notification based on the analysis.
Claim 14: A system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separate devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert for the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Claim 13: The system of claim 4:
wherein detecting the event at the fixed property defined by the first zone comprises detecting an event at the fixed property related to a notification rule that defines conditions for determining whether or not to send the notification;
wherein the operations further comprise: accessing geographic location tracking data for at least one mobile asset associated with the fixed property, the geographic location tracking data being for tracking at least one of the mobile devices;
determining a geographic location for at least one possible recipient of the notification based on the accessed geographic location tracking data;
analyzing the determined geographic location for the at least one possible recipient of the notification with respect to the conditions for determining whether or not to send the notification defined by the notification rule; and
determining whether or not to send the notification to the at least one possible recipient based on the analysis;
sending the notification to the at least one possible recipient in response to a determination to send the notification to the at least one possible recipient, and
withholding the notification from the at least one possible recipient in response to a determination not to send the notification to the at least one possible recipient.
Claim 15: The system of claim 14, the operations comprising detecting a vehicle event using the vehicle location data, wherein generating the alert for the event uses the vehicle event.
Claim 14: The system of claim 4, wherein determining to send a notification of the detected event to the first mobile device of the first user associated with the fixed property defined by the first zone comprises:
determining a set of potential recipients of the notification, each of the potential recipients residing at the fixed property, each of the potential recipients being associated with at least one of the mobile devices that are configured to track and report geographic location data for mobile assets associated with the fixed property, and the potential recipients including the first user;
determining a location of each of the potential recipients based on geographic location data reported by the mobile devices; and
selecting, from among the set of potential recipients, a subset of the potential recipients to receive the notification.
Claim 16: The system of claim 15, wherein:
detecting the vehicle event comprises detecting, using the vehicle location data, the vehicle entering or leaving a geofence; and
performing the action for the property is responsive to detecting the event for the vehicle and the property using the detection of the vehicle entering or leaving the geofence.
Claim 15: The system of claim 4,
wherein the operations further comprise determining a location of a third user within the fixed property defined by the first zone based on fixed sensors that are installed at the fixed property, the fixed sensors being stationary relative to the fixed property,
wherein determining the geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user associated with the fixed property comprises determining a geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user that is outside of the fixed property;
wherein generating the notification of the detected event that combines a description of the detected event with the determined geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user associated with the fixed property comprises generating a notification of the detected event that combines a description of the detected event with the determined geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user that is outside of the fixed property and the determined location of the third user within the fixed property.
Claim 17: The system of claim 14, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing camera data generated by a camera included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 16: The system of claim 15:
wherein determining the location of the third user within the fixed property defined by the first zone comprises determining a room of the fixed property in which the third user is located; and
wherein generating the notification of the detected event that combines a description of the detected event with the determined geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user that is outside of the fixed property and the determined location of the third user within the fixed property comprises generating a notification of the detected event that combines a description of the detected event with the determined geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user that is outside of the fixed property and the determined room of the fixed property in which the third user is located.
Claim 18: The system of claim 14, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing motion data generated by a motion sensor included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Claim 17: The system of claim 4:
wherein determining the geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user associated with the fixed property defined by the first zone comprises determining geographic locations of all users that reside at the fixed property based on geographic location data reported by the mobile devices, the users that reside at the fixed property including the first user, the second user, and at least one other user; and
wherein generating the notification of the detected event that combines a description of the detected event with the determined geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user associated with the fixed property comprises generating a notification of the detected event that combines a description of the detected event with the determined geographic locations of all users that reside at the fixed property other than the first user.
Claim 19: The system of claim 15, wherein performing the action comprises triggering an alarm for the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 18: The system of claim 4, wherein determining the geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user associated with the fixed property defined by the first zone comprises:
inferring that the second user was involved in the event at the fixed property based on sensor data captured by one or more fixed sensors that are installed at the fixed property, the fixed sensors being stationary relative to the fixed property;
determining to provide, in the notification, the geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user based on the inference that the second user was involved in the event at the fixed property; and
determining the geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user based on the determination to provide, in the notification, the geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user.
Claim 20: The system of claim 15, wherein performing the action comprises causing generation of an audible alert at the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Claim 19: The system of claim 18:
wherein the second mobile device of the second user is a mobile device installed in a vehicle associated with the second user; and
wherein determining to provide, in the notification, the geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user based on the inference that the second user was involved in the event at the fixed property comprises determining to track a geographic location of the vehicle associated with the second user based on the inference that the second user was involved in the event at the fixed property.
Claim 21: One or more non-transitory computer storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property;
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separate devices from the vehicle;
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data;
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert for the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property.
Claim 20: The system of claim 4:
wherein monitoring for events related to the monitoring system that monitors the fixed property defined by the first zone comprises monitoring for alarm events at the fixed property;
wherein detecting an event at the fixed property based on the monitoring comprises detecting an alarm event at the fixed property based on the monitoring;
wherein determining to send the notification of the detected event to the first mobile device of the first user associated with the fixed property comprises:
determining to send a notification of the detected alarm event to the first mobile device of the first user that resides at the fixed property, and
determining to report the detected alarm event to a central monitoring station that dispatches emergency services for the fixed property;
wherein generating the notification of the detected event that combines a description of the detected event with the determined geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user associated with the fixed property comprises:
generating a notification of the detected alarm event that combines a description of the detected alarm event with the determined geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user associated with the fixed property, and
generating a report message for the detected alarm event that includes a description of the detected alarm event and identification information that enables the central monitoring station to identify the fixed property;
wherein sending, to the first mobile device of the first user associated with the fixed property, the generated notification that combines the description of the detected event with the determined geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user associated with the fixed property comprises:
sending, to the first mobile device of the first user, the generated notification that combines the description of the detected alarm event with the determined geographic location of the second mobile device of the second user associated with the fixed property, and
sending, to the central monitoring station, the generated report message for the detected alarm event that includes the description of the detected alarm event and the identification information that enables the central monitoring station to identify the fixed property.
Claim 21: The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
based on a determination not to provide a reminder to arm the security system:
continuing to track locations of the users that reside at the fixed property while the condition related to providing the reminder to arm the security system remains,
based on the continued tracking,
determining that the tracked locations of the users that reside at the fixed property have all become outside of the second zone defining the arming reminder decision zone while the condition related to providing the reminder to arm the security system remains, and
providing a reminder to arm the security system based on the determination that the tracked locations of the users that reside at the fixed property have all become outside of the second zone defining the arming reminder decision zone while the condition related to providing the reminder to arm the security system remains.
Claim 22: The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
based on a determination to provide a reminder to arm the security system:
determining a set of potential recipients of the reminder to arm the security system, each of the potential recipients residing at the fixed property, each of the potential recipients being associated with at least one of the mobile devices that are configured to track and report geographic location data for mobile assets associated with the fixed property, and the potential recipients including the first user;
determining a location of each of the potential recipients based on geographic location data reported by the mobile devices;
based on the location of each of the potential recipients,
selecting, from among the set of potential recipients, a subset of the potential recipients to receive the reminder to arm the security system; and
providing the reminder to arm the security system to the selected subset of the potential recipients.
Consider independent claim 2: G5Parent, claims 1, 4, 18 and 19, recite or suggest all of the limitations of this claim, except that G5Parent does not recite: (a) a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (b) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), based on both vehicle location information and information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to G5Parent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 2: The additional limitations of claim 3 are recited or suggested by G5Parent, claims 1 and 2.
Consider claim 4 and as applied to claim 3: The additional limitations of claim 4 are recited or suggested by G5Parent, claims 1, 4 and 6, where a zone may be broadly considered to be a geofenced area.
Consider claim 5 and as applied to claim 2: The additional limitations of claim 5 are recited or suggested by G5Parent, claim 6.
Consider claim 6 and as applied to claim 2: The additional limitations of claim 6 are recited or suggested by G5Parent, claim 7.
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 3: The additional limitations of claim 7 are recited or suggested by G5Parent, claims 1, 11 and 20.
Consider claim 9 and as applied to claim 2: The additional limitations of claim 9 are recited or suggested by G5Parent, claim 1.
Consider claim 10 and as applied to claim 9: The additional limitations of claim 10 are recited or suggested by G5Parent, claims 1 and 4.
Consider claim 11 and as applied to claim 9: The additional limitations of claim 11 are recited or suggested by G5Parent, claims 1, 4, 10 and 11.
Consider claim 12 and as applied to claim 9: The additional limitations of claim 12 are recited or suggested by G5Parent, claims 1 and 22, where a plurality of mobile devices exist, and a mobile device is selected to receive an event notification based on proximity and/or location.
Consider independent claim 14: G5Parent, claims 1, 4, 18 and 19, recite or suggest all of the limitations of this claim, except that G5Parent does not recite: (a) a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (b ) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), based on both vehicle location information and information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to G5Parent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Consider claim 15 and as applied to claim 14: The additional limitations of claim 15 are recited or suggested by G5Parent, claims 1, 18 and 19.
Consider claim 16 and as applied to claim 15: The additional limitations of claim 16 are recited or suggested by G5Parent, claim 1, 4 and 6 where a zone may be broadly considered to be a geofenced area.
Consider claim 17 and as applied to claim 14: The additional limitations of claim 17 are recited or suggested by G5Parent, claim 6.
Consider claim 18 and as applied to claim 14: The additional limitations of claim 18 are recited or suggested by G5Parent, claim 7.
Consider claim 19 and as applied to claim 15: The additional limitations of claim 19 are recited or suggested by G5Parent, claims 1, 11 and 20.
Consider independent claim 21: G5Parent, claims 1, 4, 18 and 19, recite or suggest all of the limitations of this claim, except that G5Parent does not recite: (a) a requirement that both vehicle location data and property sensor data are required to generate an alert, or (b) recite the performing of an action in response to generating an alert.
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that an action is performed (initiation or changing of home media content), based on both vehicle location information and information from home sensors as taught by Dorenbosch, and applied to G5Parent claims, as a means to control property system operation without a need for manual intervention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 2-4, 7-16 and 19-21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 USC §103(a) as unpatentable over Staton et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2006/0099969 A1), hereinafter Staton, in view of Dorenbosch (United States Patent Application Publication # US2008/0108301 A1).
Consider claim 2: A method, Staton discloses a system and method to monitor persons using wireless media such as a PDA (mobile asset) including tracking the person’s location and measuring parameters associated with the environment of the monitored person, which may include a vehicle, home or workplace (property) [Title; Abstract; Fig. 8A, 8B; Para. 0006-0008, 0014, 0019-0020, 0039]; comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with a property; portable devices (such as a PDA) may be supplied to a plurality of individuals, both monitored and monitoring, and associated with one or more geographical areas (such as the home, and particularly with a vehicle) [Para. 0006, 0008, 0010, 0014, 0020, 0039]; and particularly that location of the mobile devices and associated users (assets) may be associated with a vehicle, and tracked based on reported location [Fig. 1, 2B, 8B; Para. 0040, 0045, 0082, 0185-0186];
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separate devices from the vehicle; portable devices (PDA) associated with individuals present within a home or workplace may communicate with sensors to detect various parameters of the local environment (such as the home), including a fire detector, appliances such as a television, or measure air quality, carbon monoxide, smog, smoke, oxygen level or temperature, [Fig. 8B; Para. 0014, 0019, 0183, 0185-0189];
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data; wherein an event may be based on reaching a measurement threshold (which may be by a sensor at the property) [Para 0084];
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert to the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; wherein an event may be determined based on rules using a combination of GPS position (location) of a portable device (vehicle) with information such as any measurements (sensor information) received from an instrument module [Para. 0043, 0082-0084]; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property; wherein Staton further discloses configurable operations that execute in response to a determined event [Para. 0018, 0044, 0063, 0199-0201].
Staton discloses that determination of an event may be based on a combination of a PDA GPS location (such as associated with a vehicle) and a sensed measurement threshold according to a rule as may be determined by a user [Para. 0082-0084], but does not specifically disclose an exemplary rule which disclose event which is based on a particular vehicle location and a particular measurement or detection at an associated property. his is known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that a home event for changing current home media program content may be based on both a determination that a user vehicle has arrived at, or a proximate distance from the user home (vehicle location) and a receipt of a communication by the home network through a communication infrastructure (104) (home sensor) indicating a particular desired media content, causing by the home media server, to render the requested content, as taught by Dorenbosch, applied as an event rule for a system and method to monitor persons and associated properties, as taught by Staton, where a determination that a user vehicle is at an associated property may be made using both by vehicle GPS location and identification of vehicle presence by property sensors to improve accuracy and security of the determination, and where determination of the vehicle presence at the property and receipt of current vehicle delivery information (such as a cargo or shipping manifest (see Staton: Fig. 10; Para. 0195-0198] by a property receiver ( sensor) allows efficient transfer and handling of delivered cargo.
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 2: The method of claim 2, comprising detecting a vehicle event using the vehicle location data, wherein detecting the event for the vehicle and the property uses the vehicle event.
Staton discloses the use of geofencing software allowing a user to define geographical zone with respect to a monitored person (vehicle or at home) and where violation of geofenced rules is an event [Fig. 7, 8B; Para. 0046; 0180-0182], and that an event may be determined based on rules using a combination of GPS position (location) of a portable device (vehicle) with information such as any measurements (sensor information) received from an instrument module [Para. 0043-0045, 0082-0084].
Dorenbosch discloses that vehicle presence at the property (vehicle location) and receipt of media programming content information by the home media server (sensor data) defines an event requiring a change to home media rendering content [Fig. 5,7, Para. 0043, 0046].
Consider claim 4 and as applied to claim 3: The method of claim 3, wherein:
detecting the vehicle event comprises detecting, using the vehicle location data, the vehicle entering or leaving a geofence; Staton specifically discloses events based on mobile devices entering or departing geofenced zones [Para. 0046, 0095-0097, 0182, 0202], and
performing the action for the property is responsive to detecting the event for the vehicle and the property using the detection of the vehicle entering or leaving the geofence; wherein operations at the property may be performed based on a mobile device entering or departing the geofence [Para. 0201]; and where it would have been obvious that such geofence may define a proximate distance threshold from the user property.
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 3: The method of claim 3, wherein performing the action comprises triggering an alarm for the property using the sensor data and separate vehicle location data in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Stanton discloses that actions performed in response to an event, may include notification or alarm in various forms [Para. 0018, 0159, 0180, 0187, 0189], and where such an alarm may alert property personnel that a delivery vehicle has arrived.
Consider claim 8 and as applied to claim 3: The method of claim 3, wherein performing the action comprises causing generation of an audible alert at the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Stanton discloses that actions performed in response to an event, may include notification or alarm in various forms, particularly audible forms such as a siren [Para. 0097], and for example, to alert property personnel that a delivery vehicle has arrived with a particular load.
Consider claim 9 and as applied to claim 3: The method of claim 3, wherein generating the alert for the event comprises:
in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property, generating an alert with information about the event; Staton discloses embodiments in which tasks and events are monitored at one or more work sites, and wherein the delivery of various material according to a schedule is also monitored, the approach of such material may be determined (as an event) based on tracking with respect to one or more geofences, and where information to trigger preconfigure operations relating to special equipment and personnel requirements [Fig 9, 10; Para. 0198-0199]; and
providing the alert to a device for the property; and where when notified of the delivery vehicle approach, various property preparatory actions may occur (such as opening a gate) [Para. 0196-0199].
Dorenbosch further discloses that an alert may be based on the specific location of the vehicle at the property and identification of the vehicle by property sensors [Para. 0033].
Consider claim 10 and as applied to claim 9: The method of claim 9, wherein generating the alert comprises generating, using the vehicle location data, the alert that includes information about the event and a location of the vehicle.
Staton discloses that an exemplary truck may provide alerts based on entering or departing various zones, and may indicate other information such as condition of cargo, special delivery requirements and/or estimated time of arrival [Fig. 10; Para. 0197-0200].
Dorenbosch further discloses that an alert may be based on the specific location of the vehicle at the property and identification of the vehicle by property sensors [Para. 0033].
Consider claim 11 and as applied to claim 9: The method of claim 9, wherein generating the alert comprises generating, using the vehicle location data and a rule for the property, the alert that includes information about the event.
Staton discloses that events are configurable and may be based on combinations of mobile device location and other factors [Fig. 4; Para. 0082-0084], and where alerts may include information such as condition of cargo, special delivery requirements and/or estimated time of arrival [Fig. 10; Para. 0197-0200].
Dorenbosch further discloses that an alert may be based on the specific location of the vehicle at the property and identification of the vehicle by property sensors [Para. 0033].
Consider claim 12 and as applied to claim 9: The method of claim 9, wherein providing the alert to the device for the property comprises:
determining, for each of two or more devices for the property, a level of control for the respective device; and
selecting, using the levels of control and from the two or more devices, the device to which to provide the alert.
Staton discloses an embodiment in which different mobile devices (parent and child) may be configured differently, and for tracking event alerts sent to a device according to the configurations [Para. 0189], and where it would have been obvious that a similar arrangement may be made with respect to a foreman and dockworker in the context of a delivery vehicle and property.
Consider claim 13 and as applied to claim 2: The method of claim 2, comprising receiving data indicating permission to use the vehicle location data for detecting an event for the property, wherein accessing the vehicle location data for the vehicle occurs as a result of the data indicating permission to use the vehicle location data for detecting an event for the property. Staton specifically discloses the use of permissions for tracking or monitoring assets or to configure operation and receive notifications [Fig. 7; Para. 0168-0169].
Consider claim 14: A system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, Staton discloses a system and method to monitor persons using wireless media such as a PDA (mobile asset) including tracking the person’s location and measuring parameters associated with the environment of the monitored person, which may include a vehicle, home or workplace (property) [Title; Abstract; Fig. 8A, 8B; Para. 0006-0008, 0014, 0019-0020, 0039]; when executed by the one or more computers, wherein both mobile devices and backend control systems operate using computers [Fig. 1, 3, 7; Para. 0049, 0137, 0162, 0205] to cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property; portable devices (such as a PDA) may be supplied to a plurality of individuals, both monitored and monitoring, and associated with one or more geographical areas (such as the home, and with a vehicle) [Para. 0006, 0008, 0010, 0014, 0020, 0039]; and particularly that location of the mobile devices and associated users (assets) may be associated with a vehicle, and tracked based on reported location [Fig. 1, 2B, 8B; Para. 0040, 0045, 0082, 0185-0186];
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separated devices from the vehicle; portable devices (PDA) associated with individuals present within a home or workplace may communicate with sensors to detect various parameters of the local environment (such as the home), including a fire detector, appliances such as a television, or measure air quality, carbon monoxide, smog, smoke, oxygen level or temperature, [Fig. 8B; Para. 0014, 0019, 0183, 0185-0189];
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data; wherein an event may be based on reaching a measurement threshold (which may be by a sensor at the property) [Para 0084];
in response to detecting an event for the property, generating an alert for the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; wherein an event may be determined based on rules using a combination of GPS position (location) of a portable device (vehicle) with information such as any measurements (sensor information) received from an instrument module [Para. 0043, 0082-0084]; and
in response to generating the alert for the event, performing an action for the property; wherein Staton further discloses configurable operations that execute in response to a determined event [Para. 0018, 0044, 0063, 0199-0201].
Staton discloses the use of computer devices to operate both mobile devices and backend systems, the use of memory associated with these devices, and the configuration of operation of these devices [Fig. 1, 3, 7; Para. 0041, 0049, 0068, 0074, 0127, 0137, 0162, 0203, 0205], but does not explicitly disclose operation based on program instructions stored in computer readable memory. It would have been understood and have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention that the disclosed computer elements operate and are configured using instructions stored in the disclosed memory, where such programmed operation of computers is known and usual in the art.
Staton discloses that determination of an event may be based on a combination of a PDA GPS location (such as associated with a vehicle) and a sensed measurement threshold according to a rule as may be determined by a user [Para. 0082-0084], but does not specifically disclose an exemplary rule which disclose event which is based on a particular vehicle location and a particular measurement or detection at an associated property. his is known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], where operation may be controlled by program instructions stored in memory [Fig. 2-3; Para. 0047], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that a home event for changing current home media program content may be based on both a determination that a user vehicle has arrived at, or a proximate distance from the user home (vehicle location) and a receipt of a communication by the home network through a communication infrastructure (104) (home sensor) indicating a particular desired media content, causing by the home media server, to render the requested content, as taught by Dorenbosch, applied as an event rule for a system and method to monitor persons and associated properties, as taught by Staton, where a determination that a user vehicle is at an associated property may be made using both by vehicle GPS location and identification of vehicle presence by property sensors to improve accuracy and security of the determination, and where determination of the vehicle presence at the property and receipt of current vehicle delivery information (such as a cargo or shipping manifest (see Staton: Fig. 10; Para. 0195-0198] by a property receiver ( sensor) allows efficient transfer and handling of delivered cargo.
Consider claim 15 and as applied to claim 14: The system of claim 14, the operations comprising detecting a vehicle event using the vehicle location data, wherein generating the alert for the event uses the vehicle event.
Staton discloses the use of geofencing software allowing a user to define geographical zone with respect to a monitored person (vehicle or at home) and where violation of geofenced rules is an event [Fig. 7, 8B; Para. 0046; 0180-0182], and that an event may be determined based on rules using a combination of GPS position (location) of a portable device (vehicle) with information such as any measurements (sensor information) received from an instrument module [Para. 0043, 0082-0084].
Dorenbosch discloses that vehicle presence at the property (vehicle location) and receipt of media programming content information by the home media server (sensor data) defines an event requiring a change to home media rendering content [Fig. 5,7, Para. 0043, 0046].
Consider claim 16 and as applied to claim 15: The system of claim 15, wherein:
detecting the vehicle event comprises detecting, using the vehicle location data, the vehicle entering or leaving a geofence; Staton specifically discloses events based on mobile devices entering or departing geofenced zones [Para. 0046, 0095-0097, 0182, 0202], and
performing the action for the property is responsive to detecting the event for the vehicle and the property using the detection of the vehicle entering or leaving the geofence; wherein operations at the property may be performed based on a mobile device entering or departing the geofence [Para. 0201]. [Para. 0201]; and where it would have been obvious that such geofence may define a proximate distance threshold from the user property.
Consider claim 19 and as applied to claim 15: The system of claim 15, wherein performing the action comprises triggering an alarm for the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Stanton discloses that actions performed in response to an event, may include notification or alarm in various forms [Para. 0018, 0159, 0180, 0187, 0189], and where such an alarm may alert property personnel that a delivery vehicle has arrived.
Consider claim 20 and as applied to claim 15: The system of claim 15, wherein performing the action comprises causing generation of an audible alert at the property in response to detecting the event for the vehicle or the property.
Stanton discloses that actions performed in response to an event, may include notification or alarm in various forms, particularly audible forms such as a siren [Para. 0097], and for example, to alert property personnel that a delivery vehicle has arrived with a particular load.
Consider claim 21: One or more non-transitory computer storage media encoded with instructions that, Staton discloses a system and method to monitor persons using wireless media such as a PDA (mobile asset) including tracking the person’s location and measuring parameters associated with the environment of the monitored person, which may include a vehicle, home or workplace (property) [Title; Abstract; Fig. 8A, 8B; Para. 0006-0008, 0014, 0019-0020, 0039]; when executed by one or more computers, wherein both mobile devices and backend control systems operate using computers [Fig. 1, 3, 7; Para. 0049, 0137, 0162, 0205], cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
accessing, for a property, vehicle location data for a vehicle associated with the property; portable devices (such as a PDA) may be supplied to a plurality of individuals, both monitored and monitoring, and associated with one or more geographical areas (such as the home, and/or with a vehicle) [Para. 0006, 0008, 0010, 0014, 0039, 0045]; and particularly that location of the mobile devices and associated users (assets) may be associated with a vehicle, and tracked based on reported location [Fig. 1, 2B, 8B; Para. 0040, 0045, 0082, 0185-0186];
accessing sensor data generated by one or more sensors physically located at the property, the sensor data being different data than the vehicle location data and the one or more sensors being separate devices from the vehicle; portable devices (PDA) associated with individuals present within a home or workplace may communicate with sensors to detect various parameters of the local environment (such as the home), including a fire detector, appliances such as a television, or measure air quality, carbon monoxide, smog, smoke, oxygen level or temperature, [Fig. 8B; Para. 0014, 0019, 0183, 0185-0189];
detecting an event for the property using the sensor data; wherein an event may be based on reaching a measurement threshold (which may be by a sensor at the property) [Para 0084];
in response to detecting the event for the property, generating an alert for the event using the vehicle location data and the sensor data that is different data than the vehicle location data; wherein an event may be determined based on rules using a combination of GPS position (location) of a portable device (vehicle) with information such as any measurements (sensor information) received from an instrument module [Para. 0043, 0082-0084]; and
in response to generating an alert for the event, performing an action for the property; wherein Staton further discloses configurable operations that execute in response to a determined event [Para. 0018, 0044, 0063, 0199-0201].
Staton discloses the use of computer devices to operate both mobile devices and backend systems, the use of memory associated with these devices, and the configuration of operation of these devices [Fig. 1, 3, 7; Para. 0041, 0049, 0068, 0074, 0127, 0137, 0162, 0203, 0205], but does not explicitly disclose operation based on program instructions stored in computer readable memory. It would have been understood and have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention that the disclosed computer elements operate and are configured using instructions stored in the disclosed memory, where such programmed operation of computers is known and usual in the art.
Staton discloses examples in which a location of a vehicle, such as a truck, may be monitored, and based on a determined zone, events may be caused to occur at an associated fixed location, such as equipment deployment triggered in preparation for the truck’s arrival at a destination [Fig. 10; Para. 0199-0202], but does not specifically disclose that notification of the preparation event at the fixed site is communicated to the truck based on the truck location. This is known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Staton discloses that determination of an event may be based on a combination of a PDA GPS location (such as associated with a vehicle) and a sensed measurement threshold according to a rule as may be determined by a user [Para. 0082-0084], but does not specifically disclose an exemplary rule which disclose event which is based on a particular vehicle location and a particular measurement or detection at an associated property. his is known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Dorenbosch discloses a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0025], where operation may be controlled by program instructions stored in memory [Fig. 2-3; Para. 0047], and various embodiments in which a triggering event is based on a particular vehicle location (which may be determined by GPS) and/or a sensor in the home, such as a sensor in the driveway or garage, incorporated in the home network, which may be programmed to recognize the particular associated vehicle, wherein the trigger event may be based on vehicle location and recognition by property sensors [Para. 0031-0034]. Dorenbosch also discloses that based on determined vehicle at or near home and a received programming content information signal from the vehicle (wherein the receiver is broadly a home sensor device) the received content information (an alert) is used to reprogram/change or initiate playing of the content on the home media system [Fig.5, 7; Para. 0035-0036, 0043, 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that a home event for changing current home media program content may be based on both a determination that a user vehicle has arrived at, or a proximate distance from the user home (vehicle location) and a receipt of a communication by the home network through a communication infrastructure (104) (home sensor) indicating a particular desired media content, causing by the home media server, to render the requested content, as taught by Dorenbosch, applied as an event rule for a system and method to monitor persons and associated properties, as taught by Staton, where a determination that a user vehicle is at an associated property may be made using both by vehicle GPS location and identification of vehicle presence by property sensors to improve accuracy and security of the determination, and where determination of the vehicle presence at the property and receipt of current vehicle delivery information (such as a cargo or shipping manifest (see Staton: Fig. 10; Para. 0195-0198] by a property receiver ( sensor) allows efficient transfer and handling of delivered cargo.
Claims 5, 6, 17 and 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 USC §103(a) as unpatentable over Staton et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2006/0099969 A1), hereinafter Staton, and Dorenbosch (United States Patent Application Publication # US2008/0108301 A1), further in view of Jentoft (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2007/0063840 A1).
Consider claim 5 and as applied to claim 2: The method of claim 2, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing camera data generated by a camera included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Staton does not disclose the use of a camera or video capture device for property or mobile device monitoring.
Dorenbosch discloses that a home network may comprise cameras and/or motion detectors, and that a property sensor used for recognition of a predetermined vehicle [Fig. 1; Para. 0019, 0034] but does not specifically disclose the use of a camera and/or motion detectors for the recognition function. This was well known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Jentoft discloses a security monitoring arrangement and method using a common field of view[Title; Abstract; [Fig. 1A, 1B; Para. 0002, 0007-0008] and particularly the integration of cameras and motion sensors to monitor, identify and track objects [[Fig. 1A, 1B; Para. 0021-0023].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use an integrated apparatus comprising cameras and motion sensors as a monitoring device as taught by Jentoft and applied to a system and method of monitoring persons as taught by Staton, as modified by Dorenbosch, where an integrated sensor may determine the presence, identity, location and path of an object or person.
Consider claim 6 and as applied to claim 2: The method of claim 2, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing motion data generated by a motion sensor included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Staton discloses that a PDA (mobile device may monitor events related to motion [Para. 0007, 0064] but does not explicitly disclose the use of motion sensors for property monitoring.
Dorenbosch discloses that a home network may comprise cameras and/or motion detectors, and that a property sensor used for arrival or recognition of a predetermined vehicle [Fig. 1; Para. 0019, 0034] but does not specifically disclose the use of a motion detectors for performing these functions. This was well known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Jentoft discloses a security monitoring arrangement and method using a common field of view[Title; Abstract; [Fig. 1A, 1B; Para. 0002, 0007-0008] and particularly the integration of cameras and motion sensors to monitor, identify and track objects [[Fig. 1A, 1B; Para. 0021-0023].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use an integrated apparatus comprising cameras and motion sensors as a monitoring device as taught by Jentoft and applied to a system and method of monitoring persons as taught by Staton, as modified by Dorenbosch, where an integrated sensor may determine the presence, identity, location and path of an object or person.
Consider claim 17 and as applied to claim 14: The system of claim 14, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing camera data generated by a camera included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Staton does not disclose the use of a camera or video capture device for property or mobile device monitoring.
Dorenbosch discloses that a home network may comprise cameras and/or motion detectors, and that a property sensor used for recognition of a predetermined vehicle [Fig. 1; Para. 0019, 0034] but does not specifically disclose the use of a camera and/or motion detectors for the recognition function. This was well known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Jentoft discloses a security monitoring arrangement and method using a common field of view[Title; Abstract; [Fig. 1A, 1B; Para. 0002, 0007-0008] and particularly the integration of cameras and motion sensors to monitor, identify and track objects [[Fig. 1A, 1B; Para. 0021-0023].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use an integrated apparatus comprising cameras and motion sensors as a monitoring device as taught by Jentoft and applied to a system and method of monitoring persons as taught by Staton, as modified by Dorenbosch, where an integrated sensor may determine the presence, identity, location and path of an object or person.
Consider claim 18 and as applied to claim 14: The system of claim 14, wherein accessing the sensor data comprises accessing motion data generated by a motion sensor included in the one or more sensors physically located at the property.
Staton discloses that a PDA (mobile device may monitor events related to motion [Para. 0007, 0064] but does not explicitly disclose the use of motion sensors for property monitoring.
Dorenbosch discloses that a home network may comprise cameras and/or motion detectors, and that a property sensor used for arrival or recognition of a predetermined vehicle [Fig. 1; Para. 0019, 0034] but does not specifically disclose the use of a motion detectors for performing these functions. This was well known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Jentoft discloses a security monitoring arrangement and method using a common field of view[Title; Abstract; [Fig. 1A, 1B; Para. 0002, 0007-0008] and particularly the integration of cameras and motion sensors to monitor, identify and track objects [Fig. 1A, 1B; Para. 0021-0023].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use an integrated apparatus comprising cameras and motion sensors as a monitoring device as taught by Jentoft and applied to a system and method of monitoring persons as taught by Staton, as modified by Dorenbosch, where an integrated sensor may determine the presence, identity, location and path of an object or person
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 14=November-2025 have been carefully and fully considered by the Examiner, and responses are provided as follow:
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to non-statutory double patenting rejection of the claims over family patents: US 11,651,669 B2 (Parent), US 10,950,106 B2 (GrandParent), US 10,366,588 G2Parent), US 9,666,047 B2 (G3Parent), US 9,123,229 B2 (G4Parent) and US8,531,294 B2 (G5Parent) [Remarks: page 7]: Amendment to independent claims 2, 14, and 21 obviate these rejections, but new rejections of the amended claims have been made over the claims of the ancestor patents, and in view of Dorenbosch (US2008/0108301 A1) as presented in this Office action.
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to rejection of claims 2-21 under 35 USC §112, first paragraph, as lacking written description support [Remarks: page 7]: Amendment of claims 1, 14 and 21 obviate the previous rejection, but introduce new grounds for rejection as presented in this Office action.
Consider Applicants remarks with respect to the rejection of claims 2-4, 7-16 and 19-21 under 35 USC §103 over Staton (US 2006/0099969 A1) and Richton (JP 2001-189977) [Remarks: page 7-10]:
Regarding independent claim 2: The first argument presented is that Staton fails to teach “an alert generated using both the vehicle location and senor data” [Remarks: page 7-8], but the cited portions of Staton [Para. 0082] teach exactly that, and specifically “In one embodiment, events are based on rules using a combination of GPS position of the PDA [vehicle] and one other factor such as time or speed. “, and also “….Transmitting an event message ….may include the transmission of a message that the event itself has occurred in combination with information such as latitude, longitude, speed, direction, time health condition, home appliance measurements, environmental conditions, or other measurements that can be received from the [home] instrument module….”. Simply, the inclusion of a combination of information (such as location and property sensor measurements) may be broadly interpreted to be “using” each of contributed information items. Staton clearly and explicitly discloses a system that may be configured by the user to define an event based on a combination of parameters, and specifically may include a vehicle location, and a parameter measured at a property, and also to generate a message with includes information about the location and measured parameter(s). For this reason, the argument is not deemed persuasive.
Staton, however, does not provide a specific example of the use of a vehicle location and property sensed condition to define an event, and/or to generate an alert. A second reference, therefore, has been used to provide an example, and for which the system taught by Staton may be configured (by user selection) to perform.
Second arguments, directed to Richton and the combination of Staton and Richton, are moot, the claim is now rejected under 35 USC §103 over Staton and Dorenbosch ( US2008/0108301 A1). Dorenbosch teaches that media programming for a vehicle media system may be transferred to a home media system (and vice-versa) based on vehicle location (which may be determined by vehicle GPS) and/or by property sensors which may also recognize the vehicle, and where the home network may wirelessly receive (a receiving device is broadly a sensor) information about the vehicle media programming, and causing a based on push and/or pull communication a media programming change at the destination media system, and where the system taught by Stanton may be configured to perform these operations.
Regarding independent claims 14 and 21 [Remarks: page 10]: These claims have been amended in similar fashion as for claim 2, and the same arguments presented. The arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons, and these claims are now also rejected under 35 USC §103 over Staton and Dorenbosch.
Regarding claims 3, 4, 7-13, 15, 16, 19, 20: No specific or additional arguments have been made with respect to these claims, allowability asserted based on the alleged allowability of their respective base claims 2 (3, 4, 7-13) and 14 (15, 16, 19, 20). These claims are now also rejected under 35 USC §103 over Staton and Dorenbosch, based on the new rejection of the respective base claim, and on the particular citations and analysis presented for each in this Office action
Consider rejection of claims 5, 6, 17 and 18 under 35 USC §103 over Staton, Richton and Jentoft (US 2007/0063840 A1): No specific or additional arguments have been made with respect to these claims, allowability asserted based on the alleged allowability of their respective base claims 2 (5, 6) and 14 (17,18). These claims are now also rejected under 35 USC §103 over Staton, Dorenbosch and Jentoft, based on the new rejection of the respective base claim, and on the particular citations and analysis presented for each in this Office action
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Richton (U.S. Patent # US 6,400,956 B1disclosing a method and apparatus for a wireless telecommunication system that provides location-based action services.
Dorenbosch et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2008/0108301 A1) disclosing a method and apparatus for synchronizing programming content between a vehicle and a residential network.
Schofield et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2005/0187675 A1) disclosing a vehicle communication system.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Quan-Zhen Wang can be reached on (571)270-73283114. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STEPHEN R BURGDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2684