DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyu (US 2010/0252064) in view of Henderson (US 5,590,422).
Shyu discloses a headband element (2) defined by a first continuous loop of an elasticated material configured to securely encircle a head of a wearer, the headband element including a front side opposite a rear side relative to the wearer; and a hairband element (21) fixed to the rear side of the headband element and defined by a second continuous loop of the elasticated material (claims 11 and 12), the second continuous loop being of a smaller inner diameter than the first continuous loop, the hairband element configured to be tied around a ponytail of the wearer (see Figure 7; paragraph 20).
Shyu discloses the claimed invention except for the hairband element is sewn to the rear side of the headband element; an exterior portion of the hairband element is sewn to an exterior portion of the headband element at the rear side thereof; the headband element includes a thickness of between 2mm-20mm; wherein the hairband element includes a thickness of between 2mm-20mm; the headband element includes an inner diameter of between 40cm-55cm; the hairband element includes an inner diameter of between 3cm-6cm.
Henderson teaches a headband and hairband element wherein the hairband is sewn to the rear side of the headband and an exterior portion of the hairband element is sewn to an exterior portion of the headband element at a rear side (see Figures 1; col. 3, lines 45-65). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the hairband and headband of Shyu be attached by sewing as taught by Henderson to allow for a secure attachment. Furthermore, one having ordinary skill in the art would find the parameters of the headband element including a thickness of between 2mm-20mm; the hairband element includes a thickness of between 2mm-20mm; the headband element includes an inner diameter of between 40cm-55cm; and the hairband element includes an inner diameter of between 3cm-6cm to be deemed matters of design choice, will within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results. In this instance case, headband and hairband parameters are common to fit standard sizes of majority of users.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Shyu does not disclose a headband and hairband having the same elasticated fabric material is not persuasive. Shyu in Figure 7 teaches “made of a cloth, having a hair hoop body 2 in the form of a big loop for immobilizing a person’s hair and a hair retainer 21 in the form of a small loop” further in claims 11 and 12 Shyu discloses “said hair hoop body and said hair retainer are formed of a piece of narrow cloth…said narrow elongated cloth is an elastic cloth”. Henderson was relied upon the teaching of sewing to be obvious matter of attachment for the connection of the large hoop to the small hoop well within the level of knowledge one having ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL R STEITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
10/6/2025