DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 USC 112(b): Applicant canceled claim 20 which was rejected under 35 USC 112(b) and thus these rejections are withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 USC 102
Applicant’s Argument: Applicant argues in Argument 1 that Futaki teaches a second BWP including the CORESET but not one that “cover a control resource set of the reduced capability terminal equipment.”
Examiner’s Response: Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner finds no distinction between a second BWP that “includes” CORESET as admitted by Applicant, and a second BWP that “coves” the control resource set. As cited below, the second BWP is configured for reduced capability devices. If this BWP includes the CORESET, then it effectively “covers” the CORESET under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant’s Argument: Applicant argues in Argument 2 in Argument 1 that Futaki fails to teach monitoring messages in the BWP after receiving RRC messages including RRCSetup.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner notes that Futaki teaches RRC messages configure the second BWP as he very first step in Figure 2, step 201, “via an RRC message.” Examiner has cited a new reference, Kim US 20200244410 A1 (see below), to teach the RRC message can be RRC setup as the cited paragraph shows RRCSetup is used to configure the BWP followed by data transfer, see Figure 2F where RRCSetup is sent followed by data transfer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-14, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki et al. (“Futaki”) (US 20220287102 A1, effective filing date of foreign application JP 2020-022376 filed Feb. 13, 2020) in view of Kim et al. (“Kim”) (US 20200244410 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Futaki teaches:
An apparatus, applicable to a reduced capability terminal equipment [Figure 3, 301, ¶0061, second initial BWP configuration (fifth indication) in SIB1, ¶0049 includes cell-specific parameters to second initial BWP, ¶0051 includes “indicating the frequency-domain position and bandwidth of the second initial DL BWP” and reduced capability fields, wherein ¶0072 second configuration supports reduced capability], the apparatus comprising: a memory; and processor circuitry coupled to the memory and configured [Figure 3, UE 2] to: receive fourth indication information and fifth indication information transmitted by a network device [Figure 3, step 301, ¶0061 information in SIB1 includes first initial BWP configuration (fourth indication) and second initial BWP configuration (fifth indication)], the fourth indication information being used to indicate first related information of a first initial bandwidth part (BWP) [¶0061, SIB1 include first initial BWP configuration, ¶0048 includes parameters of first initial BWP], and the fifth indication information being used to indicate second related information of a second initial bandwidth part (BWP) [¶0061, SIB1 include second initial BWP configuration, ¶0049 includes parameters of second initial BWP], wherein the second initial bandwidth part (BWP) covers a control resource set of the reduced capability terminal equipment [¶0053 configure PDCCH with DCI to be transmitted within BWP thus covers a CORESET];
and receive a downlink channel and/or signal in the second initial bandwidth part indicated by the fifth indication information [¶0065, UE monitors PDCCH in second initial BWP to receive DCI for PDSCH and Msg2, thus based on fifth indication information with second initial BWP configuration, ¶0069 PDSCH on second initial bandwidth part] after receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message [¶0056, RRC message for configuring the second BWP which happens in first step of Figure 2, thus messages received after configuration including PDCCH received after RRC message].
Futaki teaches RRC message but not the type of message.
Kim teaches the RRC message including RRCSetup message, RRCResume message or RRCReestablishment message [¶0564 RRC setup message configuring BWP].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the RRC message is RRC setup. Futaki teaches RRC message for configuring BWP and it would have been a simple substitution of parts to replace the unspecified RRC message with the setup message of Kim without altering the intended outcome of the invention to configure BWP as in ¶0564 of Kim.
Regarding claim 12, Futaki-Kim teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the fourth indication information is contained in a system information block to indicate a location and bandwidth of the first initial bandwidth part (BWP) [Futaki Figure 3, 301, ¶0061, fourth indication in SIB1, first initial BWP configuration (fourth indication), ¶0048 includes cell-specific parameters to first initial BWP, ¶0050 includes “indicating the frequency-domain position and bandwidth of the first initial DL BWP” ].
Regarding claim 13, Futaki-Kim teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the fifth indication information is contained in a system information block to indicate second related information of a second initial bandwidth part (BWP) of a reduced capability terminal equipment, the second related information comprising a location and/or a bandwidth [Futaki Figure 3, 301, ¶0061, second initial BWP configuration (fifth indication) in SIB1, ¶0049 includes cell-specific parameters to second initial BWP, ¶0051 includes “indicating the frequency-domain position and bandwidth of the second initial DL BWP” and reduced capability fields, wherein ¶0072 second configuration supports reduced capability].
Regarding claim 14, Futaki-Kim teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the fifth indication information is contained in a radio resource control related message [Futaki ¶0056, “In step 202, the gNB 1 broadcasts the second initial BWP configuration via the system information (e.g., SIB1), or transmits the second initial BWP configuration via UE dedicated signaling (e.g., via an RRC message).” Wherein second initial BWP configuration is fifth indication as above].
Regarding claim 17, Futaki teaches:
An apparatus, applicable to a network device, the apparatus comprising: a memory; and a processor circuitry coupled to the memory and configured to [Figure 3, gNB, ¶0160-162]: transmit fourth indication information and fifth indication information to a reduced capability terminal equipment [Figure 3, step 301, ¶0061 gNB transmits information in SIB1 includes first initial BWP configuration (fourth indication) and second initial BWP configuration (fifth indication), wherein ¶0072 second configuration supports reduced capability], the fourth indication information being used to indicate first related information of a first initial bandwidth part (BWP) [¶0061, SIB1 include first initial BWP configuration, ¶0048 includes parameters of first initial BWP], and the fifth indication information being used to indicate second related information of a second initial bandwidth part (BWP) [¶0061, SIB1 include second initial BWP configuration, ¶0049 includes parameters of second initial BWP], wherein the second initial bandwidth part (BWP) covers a control resource set of the reduced capability terminal equipment [¶0053 configure PDCCH with DCI to be transmitted within BWP thus covers a CORESET];
and transmit a downlink channel and/or signal in the second initial bandwidth part indicated by the fifth indication information [¶0065, UE monitors PDCCH in second initial BWP to receive DCI for PDSCH and Msg2 (sent by gNB), thus based on fifth indication information with second initial BWP configuration], after transmitting a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message [¶0056, RRC message for configuring the second BWP, thus messages received after configuration including PDCCH sent i.e. after RRC message].
Futaki teaches RRC message but not the type of message.
Kim teaches the RRC message including RRCSetup message, RRCResume message or RRCReestablishment message [¶0564 RRC setup message].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the RRC message is RRC setup. Futaki teaches RRC message for configuring BWP and it would have been a simple substitution of parts to replace the unspecified RRC message with the setup message of Kim without altering the intended outcome of the invention to configure BWP as in ¶0564 of Kim.
Regarding claim 18, Futaki-Kim teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the fourth indication information is contained in a system information block to indicate a location and bandwidth of the first initial bandwidth part (BWP) [Futaki Figure 3, 301, ¶0061, fourth indication in SIB1, first initial BWP configuration (fourth indication), ¶0048 includes cell-specific parameters to first initial BWP, ¶0050 includes “indicating the frequency-domain position and bandwidth of the first initial DL BWP” ].
Regarding claim 19, Futaki-Kim teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the fifth indication information is contained in a system information block to indicate second related information of a second initial bandwidth part (BWP) of a reduced capability terminal equipment, the second related information comprising a location and/or a bandwidth [Futaki Figure 3, 301, ¶0061, fifth indication in SIB1, second initial BWP configuration (fifth indication), ¶0049 includes cell-specific parameters to second initial BWP, ¶0051 includes “indicating the frequency-domain position and bandwidth of the second initial DL BWP” and
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478