Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/27/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 8, 11 and 18 under 35 U.S.C 112, as being indefinite over 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) are persuasive and such grounds of rejection have been overcome.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/04/2026, with regard to the rejection of claims 1-5, 9-15, 19 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leek patent 5,147,532 (Leek) in view of Carr et al patent 6,475,386 (Carr) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is argued that the Carr patent does not teach storing liquid in a “disinfectant-containing state” since Carr merely describes residual chlorine as an undesirable contaminant to be removed from drinking water; and since Carr lacks any teaching of configuring a storage system to store liquid in a disinfectant-containing state.
It is also then argued that Leek also does not teach storing liquid in a “disinfectant-containing state” since Leek is directed to treating greywater and stores greywater before, or ‘upstream of’ ultraviolet (UV) treatment unit, followed by further storage of such treated water.
In addressing both arguments together, it is submitted that the primary Leek reference literally discloses a liquid treatment system having the claimed configuration of liquid inlet, liquid holding and collecting unit, i.e. “storage system”, filter for removing a 1st contaminant, in-line UV and a liquid storage system configured to dispense liquid, in sequential order from upstream to downstream.
Leek discloses: a domestic or household liquid treatment system (column 2, lines 29-36 regarding a water purification system small enough to be used in a home, all of the below system components clearly illustrated in fig 1) comprising:
a liquid inlet structured to receive a liquid (any of the inlets to liquid storage system 35 receiving contaminated liquid from contaminated washing machine15, washbasin 13 and/or bathtub 11 through tubing or piping 29, 31 and 33, inherently containing plural types of contaminants in grey water);
a liquid storage system (holding tank 35 itself and/or heater 53, column 4, lines 14-17 and 31-34);
a filter 57, 59 or 61 structured to remove a first contaminant from the liquid (column 4, line 67-column 5, line 20 regarding 1st contaminants in residue, sentiment and particulate form);
an inline ultraviolet (UV) reactor 62 structured to mitigate a second contaminant in the liquid (column 5, lines 21-31 re mitigating of 2nd microorganism and bacteria contaminants); and
a liquid outlet 67 or 74 configured to dispense liquid that has passed through the inline UV reactor (column 5, lines 20-31 and lines 38-42 regarding dispensing to hose 74’ for economic use of the purified water),
wherein the liquid storage system is located upstream of both the filter and the inline UV reactor, such that liquid stored in the liquid storage system is subsequently directed through the filter and the inline UV reactor (clearly illustrated in fig 1),
the liquid storage system, the filter and the inline UV reactor forming a liquid channel 64 between the liquid inlet and the liquid outlet, the liquid outlet being downstream from the liquid inlet, the inline UV reactor and the filter being downstream from the liquid storage system (clearly illustrated in fig 1 and discussed throughout column 4, line 31-column 5, line 30 regarding flow and feeding of water through the successive system components).
Leek thus discloses such system as being adapted to collect, treat and recycle grey water from domestic sources such as bathroom and kitchen fixtures.
Carr, although primarily disclosing a system for removing chlorine and other contaminants from potable drinking water, also provides a teaching that circulating domestic water, particularly where the water would not be filtered or otherwise treated, where used for non-potable, contains some amount of residual chlorine disinfectant.
Carr teaches that water provided to domestic or household water circulation systems, including being provided to filtering systems to provide drinking water, may be chlorinated, hence disinfected, and safer for domestic end uses by virtue of being relatively free from micro-organisms (Abstract, column 1, lines 13-21 and column 2, lines 15-18 regarding presence of residual chlorine and filtration to remove such chlorine).
Hence the water collected by Leek from domestic bathroom and kitchen fixtures, is taught as logically or inherently containing some amount of such residual chlorine disinfectant, particularly since household water being directed to such fixtures as bathroom and kitchen sinks is less likely to have been treated to remove contaminants such as chlorine, and it would have been accordingly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the water treatment arts to have configured the Leek system to be constructed so as to be resistant to corrosion or other erosion from the residual chlorine disinfectant.
The Carr reference is not utilized to supply a missing structural feature which the primary Leek reference system is lacking, instead merely is taught as providing logic and motivation to construct the existing liquid storage system of Leek so as to be configured to store liquid, recirculating water in a disinfectant-containing state.
The Carr reference is also not utilized to teach removal of residual chlorine from greywater being recirculated, as in Leek.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of the claims has maintained the following motivation to modify Leek in view of teachings of Carr: “Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the domestic or household water treatment arts, to have constructed the liquid storage system of Leek to be configured to store liquid, comprising chlorine, hence in a disinfectant-containing state, as taught by Carr, so as to provide water which is inherently pre-sterilized, hence safer for domestic end-uses. Such modification could have been accomplished by selecting chlorine-resistant materials for the liquid storage system.”
In Applicant’s Remarks section entitled “I-The proposed modification mischaracterizes Carr”, it is argued that Carr does not teach the claimed storage configuration, or it being effective to preserve chlorine or other disinfectant during storage, and instead teaches to remove chlorine from domestic drinking water by filtration.
It is again submitted that Carr was not relied upon for providing a teaching of a storage configuration that is missing from Leek, instead merely being relied upon to teach motivation for modifying a storage configuration, already present, of the Leek domestic water recirculation and treatment system, such that the system is adapted for handling of disinfectant containing liquid or water.
It is also emphasized that the claim language “configured to store the liquid in a disinfectant-containing state” has been interpreted as a storage unit or device operable or configured for storing and otherwise handling liquid or water containing some amount of disinfectant, rather than preserving a set concentration or level of disinfectant during storage.
In Applicant’s Remarks section entitled “II-Leek does not store liquid in a disinfectant-containing state”, it is argued that Leek is directed to purifying greywater from appliances for non-potable use, and lacks disclosure that such greywater contains chlorine or any other disinfectant, or of storage tank 35 maintaining a disinfectant-containing state. Argument continues that Leek lacks disclosure of the liquid in storage tank 35 being disinfectant-containing before it reaches filters and UV reactor.
It is submitted that the claims lack recitation of liquid anywhere in the system being disinfectant containing by way of being directed from a discrete source of disinfectant, or of the storage system as maintaining liquid in a disinfectant-containing state, with such liquid having been mixed with added disinfectant.
In Applicant’s Remarks section entitled “III-A person of ordinary skill would not modify Leek based on Carr in the proposed manner”, it is argued that it would not have been obvious to configure Leek’s system to store chlorinated liquid because Carr teaches that domestic water may be chlorinated, since Leek address materially different source liquids and treatment objectives. Argument continues that Leek treats greywater collected from domestic wastewater sources, whereas Carr concerns domestic drinking water, such as household tap water, with the greywater disclosed by Leek, not being inherently equivalent to chlorinated drinking water.
It is submitted that Carr is analogous to Leek regarding storage of circulating water or liquid, in that both references concern aspects of circulating of water, treated by household filtration and by other forms of water treatment, including potable water, for household or domestic uses. Both references share a common objective of adequately treating circulating municipal water so that the water is useable for varied consumer household use or dispensing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leek patent 5,147,532 (Leek) in view of Carr et al patent 6,475,386 (Carr), and for claims 6, 7, 16 and 17, further in view of Goodrich et al PGPUBS Document US 2021/0047220 (Goodrich).
For independent system claim 1, Leek discloses: a domestic or household liquid treatment system (column 2, lines 29-36 regarding a water purification system small enough to be used in a home, all of the below system components clearly illustrated in fig 1) comprising:
a liquid inlet structured to receive a liquid (any of the inlets to liquid storage system 35 receiving contaminated liquid from contaminated washing machine15, washbasin 13 and/or bathtub 11 through tubing or piping 29, 31 and 33, inherently containing plural types of contaminants in grey water);
a liquid storage system (holding tank 35 itself and/or heater 53, column 4, lines 14-17 and 31-34);
a filter 57, 59 or 61 structured to remove a first contaminant from the liquid (column 4, line 67-column 5, line 20 regarding 1st contaminants in residue, sentiment and particulate form);
an inline ultraviolet (UV) reactor 62 structured to mitigate a second contaminant in the liquid (column 5, lines 21-31 re mitigating of 2nd microorganism and bacteria contaminants); and
a liquid outlet 67 or 74 configured to dispense liquid that has passed through the inline UV reactor (column 5, lines 20-31 and lines 38-42 regarding dispensing to hose 74’ for economic use of the purified water),
wherein the liquid storage system is located upstream of both the filter and the inline UV reactor, such that liquid stored in the liquid storage system is subsequently directed through the filter and the inline UV reactor (clearly illustrated in fig 1),
the liquid storage system, the filter and the inline UV reactor forming a liquid channel 64 between the liquid inlet and the liquid outlet, the liquid outlet being downstream from the liquid inlet, the inline UV reactor and the filter being downstream from the liquid storage system (clearly illustrated in fig 1 and discussed throughout column 4, line 31-column 5, line 30 regarding flow and feeding of water through the successive system components).
Claim 1 differs from Leek by the recitation of the liquid storage system being configured to store the liquid in a disinfectant-containing state.
However, Carr teaches that water provided to domestic or household filtering systems to provide drinking water, may be chlorinated, hence disinfected, and safer for domestic end uses by virtue of being relatively free from micro-organisms (Abstract, column 1, lines 13-21 and column 2, lines 15-18 regarding presence of residual chlorine and filtration to remove such chlorine, although also discussing disadvantages of such chlorination of poor taste and odor of the water prior to filtration).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the domestic or household water treatment arts, to have constructed the liquid storage system of Leek to be configured to store liquid, comprising chlorine, hence in a disinfectant-containing state, as taught by Carr, so as to provide water which is inherently pre-sterilized, hence safer for domestic end-uses. Such modification could have been accomplished by selecting chlorine-resistant materials for the liquid storage system.
Leek also discloses for claim 2, wherein the liquid storage system includes a heat exchanger 55 for heating or cooling the liquid, or a storage tank 35 (column 4, lines 38-40 and 61-66 regarding thermostatically controlled heating to raise the water’s temperature to 90 degrees F of water which has been previously stored and subsequently filtered).
Leek also suggests for claim 3, wherein the liquid treatment system can be considered to optionally not include a second liquid storage system downstream from the inline UV reactor or the filter (see column 7, lines 38-45 regarding options of making the system smaller, and rearranging or omitting components).
For claim 4, Leek further suggests wherein the first contaminant includes chlorine (see also column 3, lines 64-68 regarding treatment of grey water from vanity basins, showers and washing machines, hence inherently from sources containing domestic detergents and cleaning materials which chlorine).
Also see teaching of Carr regarding water being provided to domestic or household filtering systems to provide drinking water, being chlorinated, hence teaching that water within the domestic water treatment systems such as those of Leek being contaminated with chlorine..
Leek discloses for claim 5, wherein the filter is or includes a carbon filter 59 (see column 5, lines 5-8).
For claim 9, Leek is silent regarding cross-sectional area(s) of the liquid channel of the system, hence lacks a clear teaching of wherein a maximum cross-sectional area of the liquid channel between filter and liquid outlet is less than 15 cm2.
However, Leek does suggest such relatively small cross-sectional area dimensions of the liquid channel at column 2, lines 40-44 regarding the system being very compact and easy to install, requiring a total of only about a tenth of a cubic meter, hence piping therein being on the order of square centimeters.
The parameter of cross-sectional area of the channel is deemed to be a results-effective variable for which it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to have optimized in order to achieve an optimum balance regarding factors of providing adequate flow for dispensing of purified liquid on demand, minimizing system pressure drops, while achieving optimal compactness to allow the system being located or installed in limited or confined spaces.
The Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) at Sections 2144.04, Section IV, discusses legal precedent regarding insufficiency of patentably distinguishing based on changes in size, proportion or ratio of parameters and dimensions, relative to the prior art, absent findings of such changes resulting in unexpected improvement or different performance of a device.).
For claim 10, Leek discloses wherein the liquid received at the liquid inlet includes the first contaminant, and wherein the liquid treatment system comprises a pre-filter 51 structured to remove a third contaminant from the liquid (column 4, lines 49-53 regarding removal of particulates from the water).
For independent method claim 11, Leek discloses: a method for treating water, i.e. a “liquid”, with a domestic or household liquid treatment system (column 2, lines 29-36 regarding a water purification system small enough to be used in a home, all of the below system components clearly illustrated in fig 1)
operating a liquid treatment system including:
a liquid inlet structured to receive a liquid (any of the inlets to liquid storage system 35 receiving contaminated liquid from contaminated washing machine15, washbasin 13 and/or bathtub 11 through tubing or piping 29, 31 and 33, inherently containing plural types of contaminants in grey water);
a liquid storage system (holding tank 35 itself and/or heater 53, column 4, lines 14-17 and 31-34);
a filter 57, 59 or 61 structured to remove a first contaminant from the liquid (figure 1 and see column 5, lines 5-14);
an inline ultraviolet (UV) reactor 62 structured to mitigate a second contaminant in the liquid (column 5, lines 21-31 re mitigating of 2nd microorganism and bacteria contaminants with the UV reactor); and
a liquid outlet 67 or 74 configured to dispense liquid that has passed through the inline UV reactor (column 5, lines 20-31 and lines 38-42 regarding dispensing to hose 74’ for economic use of the purified water),
storing with the liquid storage system located upstream of both the filter and the inline UV reactor, a liquid stored in the liquid storage system is subsequently directed through the filter and the inline UV reactor (clearly illustrated in fig 1),
filtering, with the filter, a 1st contaminant from the stored liquid (see column 4, line 67-column 5, line 20 regarding filtering 1st contaminants in residue, sentiment and particulate form with filters 57, 59 and 61), and
mitigating with the inline UV reactor, a 2nd contaminant in the filtered liquid (column 5, lines 21-31 re mitigating of 2nd microorganism and bacteria contaminants with the UV reactor).
Claim 11 differs from Leek by the recitation of the liquid storage system being configured to store the liquid in a “disinfect”, i.e. a disinfectant-containing state.
However, Carr teaches that water provided to domestic or household filtering systems to provide drinking water, may be chlorinated, hence disinfected, and safer for domestic end uses by virtue of being relatively free from micro-organisms (Abstract, column 1, lines 13-21 and column 2, lines 15-18 regarding presence of residual chlorine and filtration to remove such chlorine, although also discussing disadvantages of such chlorination of poor taste and odor of the water prior to filtration).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the domestic or household water treatment arts, to have constructed the liquid storage system of Leek to be configured to store liquid, comprising chlorine, hence in a disinfectant-containing state, as taught by Carr, so as to provide water which is inherently pre-sterilized, hence safer for domestic end-uses. Such modification could have been accomplished by selecting chlorine-resistant materials for the liquid storage system.
Leek also discloses for claim 12, wherein the liquid storage system includes a heat exchanger 55 for heating or cooling the liquid, thus teaches heating or cooling the liquid as it is stored in heat exchanger 55 (column 4, lines 38-40 and 61-66 regarding thermostatically controlled heating to raise the water’s temperature to 90 degrees F of water which has been previously stored and subsequently filtered).
Leek also suggests for claim 13, wherein the liquid treatment system can be considered to optionally not include a second liquid storage system downstream from the inline UV reactor or the filter (see column 7, lines 38-45 regarding options of making the system smaller, and rearranging or omitting components).
For claim 14, Leek further suggests wherein the first contaminant includes chlorine (see also column 3, lines 64-68 regarding treatment of grey water from vanity basins, showers and washing machines, hence inherently from sources containing domestic detergents and cleaning materials which chlorine).
Also see teaching of Carr regarding water being provided to domestic or household filtering systems to provide drinking water, being chlorinated, hence teaching that water within the domestic water treatment systems such as those of Leek being contaminated with chlorine..
Leek also discloses for claim 15, wherein the filter is or includes a carbon filter 59 (see column 5, lines 5-8).
For claim 19, Leek is silent regarding any cross-section of a liquid channel of the system, hence lacks a clear teaching of wherein a maximum cross-sectional area of the liquid channel between filter and liquid outlet is less than 15 cm2.
However, Leek does suggest such relatively small cross-sectional area dimensions of the liquid channel at column 2, lines 40-44 regarding the system being very compact and easy to install, requiring a total of only about a tenth of a cubic meter, hence piping therein being on the order of square centimeters.
The parameter of cross-sectional area of the channel is deemed to be a results-effective variable for which it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to have optimized in order to achieve an optimum balance regarding factors of providing adequate flow for dispensing of purified liquid on demand, minimizing system pressure drops, while achieving optimal compactness to allow the system being located or installed in limited or confined spaces.
The Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) at Sections 2144.04, Section IV, discusses legal precedent regarding insufficiency of patentably distinguishing based on changes in size, proportion or ratio of parameters and dimensions, relative to the prior art, absent findings of such changes resulting in unexpected improvement or different performance of a device.).
For claim 20, Leek discloses wherein the liquid received at the liquid inlet includes the first contaminant, and wherein the liquid treatment system comprises a pre-filter 51 structured to remove a third contaminant from the liquid (column 4, lines 49-53 regarding removal of particulates from the water).
Claims 6, 7, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leek patent 5,147,532 (Leek) in view of Carr et al patent 6,475,386 (Carr), as applied to claims 1-5, 9-15, 19 and 20 above, and further in view of Goodrich et al PGPUBS Document US 2021/0047220 (Goodrich). Reference paragraph numbers of the Specification of the applied PGPUBS Document are identified with “[ ]” symbols.
Claim 6 further differs from Leek by requiring a control system configured to operate the inline UV reactor in a standby mode while the liquid treatment system is not dispensing the liquid.
Goodrich teaches a small, mobile water treatment system employing plural steps of filtration and UV reaction and sterilization [0031 and 0032] , and being so structured to so operate in standby mode [0055 regarding connections and control valves forming components of a control system to enable flexibly taking treatment units on and off-line (thus alternately in operation and in stand-by mode] .
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the domestic water treatment art to have augmented the disclosed UV reactor of Leek, with controls or a control system comprising control valves, to enable the reactor to operate in a standby mode while the liquid treatment system is not dispensing the liquid, as taught by Goodrich, in order to enable continued operation of the water treatment system, during periods when the UV reactor is undergoing maintenance or replacement of parts, or alternately to enable maintenance of the UV reactor whenever needed, to assure its long-term operability.
For claim 7, Goodrich further teaches wherein the standby mode includes periodically activating a UV-C light of the inline UV reactor (capability of the unit being placed on “standby mode” suggested by [0055 re connections and valves to enable flexibility regarding which treatment units are connected and in operation], and see [0050 regarding the UV reactor device being a UV-C treatment device]).
It would have been further obvious to have configured the controls for the UV reactor so as to in a standby mode includes periodically activating a UV-C light of the inline UV reactor, as taught by Goodrich, inherently so as to assure the water remaining sterile at all times, assuring dispensing of sterilized water as needed, and since emitting UV-C light is known as an effective type of emitted UV radiation for killing microorganisms and sterilization.
Claim 16 further differs from Leek by requiring the method comprising operating the inline UV reactor in a standby mode while the liquid treatment system is not dispensing the liquid.
Goodrich teaches a small, mobile water treatment system employing plural steps of filtration and UV reaction and sterilization [0031 and 0032] , and being so structured to so operate in standby mode [0055 regarding connections and control valves forming components of a control system to enable flexibly taking treatment units on and off-line (thus alternately in operation and in stand-by mode] .
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the domestic water treatment art to have augmented the disclosed method of Leek, by providing controls or a control system comprising control valves, to enable the reactor to operate in a standby mode while the liquid treatment system is not dispensing the liquid, thus operating the inline UV reactor in a standby mode while the liquid treatment system is not dispensing the liquid, as taught by Goodrich, in order to enable periodic maintenance or replacement of parts of the UV reactor, so as to assure continued sterilization of the water treatment system .
For claim 17, Goodrich further teaches wherein the standby mode includes periodically activating a UV-C light of the inline UV reactor (capability of the unit being placed on “standby mode” suggested by [0055 re connections and valves to enable flexibility regarding which treatment units are connected and in operation], and see [0050 regarding the UV reactor device being a UV-C treatment device]).
It would have been further obvious to have configured the controls for the UV reactor so as to in a standby mode includes periodically activating a UV-C light of the inline UV reactor, as taught by Goodrich, inherently so as to assure the water remaining sterile at all times, assuring dispensing of sterilized water as needed, and since emitting UV-C light is known as an effective type of emitted UV radiation for killing microorganisms and sterilization.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 would remain distinguished over all of the other prior art now of record, and also over the newly cited prior art, in view of recitation of the liquid treatment system of claim 1, wherein the liquid storage system includes a liquid storage system and a heating stage including a heat exchanger, wherein the liquid storage system and the heating stage form parallel liquid subchannels
The prior art lacks any teaching or suggestion of a storage system and heating stage, as claimed forming parallel liquid subchannels.
Claim 18 would remain distinguished over all of the other prior art now of record, and also over the newly cited prior art, in view of recitation of the method of treating a liquid of claim 11, wherein the liquid storage system includes a liquid storage system and a heating stage including a heat exchanger, wherein the liquid storage system and the heating stage form parallel liquid subchannels
The prior art lacks any teaching or suggestion of a storage system and heating stage, as claimed forming parallel liquid subchannels.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner Interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http:///www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
The formal facsimile phone number, for official, formal communications, for the examining group where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
JWD
05/29/2026
/JOSEPH W DRODGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773