DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The limitation “moving unit” in claim 11 is construed under 35 U.S. C. 112(f).
Claim 11 function: ‘moving a magnet configured for generating a magnetic field….along the blood vessel magnetically forcing movement of the tube through the blood vessel’
Corresponding structure: moving unit comprises a robotic arm with the magnet (156) mounted on a distal end of the robotic arm ([0064, 0169]; Fig. 16, 17, 44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 13, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 16, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 4-16 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only and/or cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 4-16 have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change “any of claim 5” to “claim 5”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change “any claim 7” to “claim 7”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandhu et al. (US 2009/0118817A1, “Sandhu”).
Regarding claim 1, Sandhu discloses a tube (410; vascular graft; Fig. 5) with a hollow cylindrical elastic base structure (102; Fig. 5) for insertion into a blood vessel of a vascular system. It is noted that vascular grafts are known to be formed of polymeric material, e.g. polyurethane, that provides compliance (elasticity) similar to the native blood vessel. The elastic base structure is configured to provide a radial elastic force (Fn) capable of establishing a contact between an outer anisotropic surface structure (412;portions of a magnetic strand that is woven about the inner and outer periphery of the graft; Fig. 5) and an inner surface of the blood vessel. Anisotropic being interpreted as an object having a physical property (strand) that has a different value when measured in different directions. The outer anisotropic surface structure are strands of magnetic material or provided with discrete islands of magnetic particles, the size, spacing and/or pattern of the one or more magnetic strands can vary, e.g. strands may be larger or more densely arranged within the structure, density may increase or decrease in areas of the graft [0099, 0100, 0101]. The magnetic material of the strands distributed in a helical or any suitable pattern, wherein multiple strands may extend in a substantially longitudinal direction around the circumference of the tube [0099]. The magnetic material of the strands are capable of establishing within an external magnetic field a rotation of the tube around the central longitudinal body axis of the tube. The anisotropic surface structure (412; Fig. 5) includes a geometrical anisotropy between a direction circumferential to the tube and a direction longitudinal to the tube. The anisotropic surface structure is capable of establishing by the contact an anisotropic friction between the anisotropic surface structure and the inner surface of the blood vessel, wherein the anisotropic friction is capable of resulting in a surface propulsion of the tube when rotated around a central longitudinal body axis of the tube by an external magnet.
Regarding claim 2, Sandhu discloses that the anisotropic surface structure includes one or more protrusions added onto the elastic base structure in the form of discrete, magnetic particles [0101].
Regarding claim 3/1, Sandhu discloses that the anisotropic surface structure includes one or more helical structures in the form of strands extending in the longitudinal direction around the elastic base structure [0099].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shoham et al. (US 2014/0180392A1) discloses a magnetically manipulatable device that is formed with ferromagnetic material. Moss et al. (US 2014/0228619A1) discloses a stent including a magnetic coating.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771