DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 and 7-8, in the reply filed on 3/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 6 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)/(a)(2)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lee et al. (US 2021/0009722).
In ¶ 8, Lee et al. teach a modified conjugated diene-based polymer, wherein the Mooney viscosity is 100, the Mooney stress relaxation rate is 0.70 or less, the glass transition temperature Tg is -90°C to -50°C, , and each of a nitrogen content and a silicon content is 50 ppm or more based on a mass with respect to the total amount of the modified conjugated diene-based polymer (See ¶ 52);
wherein the modified conjugated diene-based polymer has a molecular weight distribution (Mw/Mn) of 1.5 or more and less than 3.5 and the vinyl bond content in the conjugated diene-based polymer is 30% or less.
In ¶ 111, Lee et al. teach adding 100 parts by weight or less, based on 100 parts by weight of the rubber component, of process oil as a softener in a rubber composition comprising the modified conjugated diene-based polymer.
In ¶ 105, Lee et al. teach the rubber composition to include 10 parts by weight to 120 parts by weight of a filler.
While Lee et al. do not expressly teach the claimed the phase difference index, it is reasonable that the modified conjugated diene-based polymer of Lee et al. would possess the presently claimed properties since the composition of the modified conjugated diene-based polymer in Lee et al. is essentially the same as the claimed composition and the USPTO does not have at its disposal the tools or facilities deemed necessary to make physical determinations of the sort. In any event, an otherwise old composition is not patentable regardless of any new or unexpected properties. In re Fitzgerald et al., 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112 - § 2112.02.
Even if assuming that the prior art references do not meet the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 102, it would still have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to arrive at the same inventive composition because the disclosure of the inventive subject matter appears within the generic disclosure of the prior art.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Choi Jea Sun et al. (KR 20210037162 A) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0009722), above.
In the abstract, Choi Jea Sun et al. teach a modified conjugated diene-based polymer, wherein the Mooney viscosity is 100, the phase difference index is 0.65 or more, the Mooney stress relaxation rate is 0.5 or less, and each of a nitrogen content and a silicon content is 50 ppm or more based on a mass with respect to the total amount of the modified conjugated diene-based polymer;
wherein the modified conjugated diene-based polymer has a molecular weight distribution (Mw/Mn) of 1.5 or more and less than 3.5. (See ¶ 64)
In ¶ 209, Choi Jea Sun et al. teach the rubber composition to include 10 parts by weight to 120 parts by weight of a filler.
In ¶ 215, Choi Jea Sun et al. teach adding 100 parts by weight or less, based on 100 parts by weight of the rubber component, of process oil as a softener in a rubber composition comprising the modified conjugated diene-based polymer.
While Choi Jea Sun et al. differ from the claimed invention in that the glass transition temperature Tg of the modified conjugated diene-based polymer is not disclosed, it is known in the art that if the glass transition temperature of the modified conjugated diene-based polymer is higher than −50° C., tensile properties such as abrasion resistance may be degraded, and if the glass transition temperature is lower than −90° C., processability may be deteriorated, and it is apprehended that viscoelasticity properties such as rolling resistance and wet skid resistance may be degraded, such as taught by Lee et al., above. (see ¶ 41)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, for the glass transition temperature of the modified conjugated diene-based polymer in Choi Jea Sun et al. to be from −50° C to−90° C, in order to obtain the advantages taught by Lee et al., motivated by a reasonable expectation of success.
/KELECHI C EGWIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
KCE