DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I directed to claims 1-6, 9-11, and 17-20 in the reply filed on 07/15/2024 is acknowledged. The Applicant requested that claim 7 be included in the examination, as it allegedly would not cause an undue burden. Claim 7 is directed to the first device or the second device being a communication device and a magnetoelectric transmitter, receiver, or transceiver. This is a specific type of communication device and further consideration is required to see if such a device would be applicable in the cited prior art system. Accordingly, the examiner maintains the reasoning in the Restriction Requirement and respectfully declines to include claim 7 in the claims being considered. Applicant should identify this claim as withdrawn in any future response.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/11/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 1, “rate analysis module” is a generic placeholder for “means” followed by the functional language “determine a rate at which an energy storage device bank stores energy received from a magnetoelectric energy harvester.” A review of the specification indicates that rate analysis module 306 performs the claimed function. Accordingly, “rate analysis module” is interpreted as rate analysis module 306 and equivalents.
In claim 1, “controller module” is a generic placeholder for “means” followed by the functional language “cause, in response to an existence of a condition and the rate being: greater than a power consumption rate of a first device, the first device to receive power from the energy storage device bank; and greater than a power consumption rate of a second device, but less than the power consumption rate of the first device, the second device to receive the power from the energy storage device bank.” A review of the specification indicates that controller module 308 performs the claimed function. Accordingly, “controller module” is interpreted as controller module 308 and equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christmann, Jean-Frédéric, et al. "Energy harvesting and power management for autonomous sensor nodes." Proceedings of the 49th Annual Design Automation Conference. 2012 (“Christmann”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0179715 to Huang et al. (“Huang”) and further in view of Zaeimbashi, Mohsen, et al. "Ultra-compact dual-band smart NEMS magnetoelectric antennas for simultaneous wireless energy harvesting and magnetic field sensing." Nature communications 12.1 (2021): 3141 (“Zaeimbashi”) (submitted by Applicant in the IDS of 4/11/2023).
Regarding claim 1:
A system (Christmann discloses an event-driven multiple-input dual-output energy harvesting platform. Christmann at Sec. 3.2 and Fig. 3.), comprising:
a processor (Christmann discloses energy harvesting platform includes an asynchronous controller. Christmann at Sec. 3.2 and Fig. 3. However, Christmann does not disclose the structure of the controller. In a same filed of endeavor, energy harvesting (and thus analogous art), Huang discloses a power management integrated circuit (PMIC) that includes a processor. Huang at par. [0035]. Because Christmann does not disclose the details of its digital controller, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to look for a circuit that can implement the EHP of Christmann. It would have been obvious to use the PMIC of Huang because it can implement emerging harvesting from multiple energy sources. Huang at Abstract. Because Christmann and Huang relate to energy harvesting, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP § 2143.I.G.); and
a memory (Huang at par. [0035].) storing:
a rate analysis module including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to determine a rate at which an energy storage device bank stores energy received from a magnetoelectric energy harvester (Christmann discloses two power paths (1.2v-1.5v path (LV) and 1.8v-3.8v path (HV)) with each path including a short-term storage capacitor (collectively, “energy storage device bank”) and that the controller reacts to available energy and performs internal computation according to its energy level. Christmann at Sec. 3.2 and Fig. 3. Christmann also discloses that harvested power is sent to the loads after the respective short-term capacitors are charged. Christmann at Secs. 3.2 and 4.2 (providing an example of power flow with respect to the HV path).); and
a controller module including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to cause, in response to an existence of a condition (Christmann discloses that the controller reacts to energy or data events (“existence of a condition”). Christmann at Sec. 3.2.) and
the rate being: greater than a power consumption rate of a first device, the first device to receive power from the energy storage device bank (Christmann discloses direct power paths (LV and HV) in which harvested energy goes directly to the power loads, e.g., the HV path includes the 1.8v-3.6v power loads (“first device”) (the direct paths are more efficient than the indirect paths). Christmann at Secs. 3.2 and 4.2 and Fig. 3. Christman discloses that, when the input power is above the amount needed by the load, the harvested power is directly supplied to the load. Christmann at Sec. 4.2 and Fig. 5.); and
[the rate being: …] greater than a power consumption rate of a second device, but less than the power consumption rate of the first device, the second device to receive the power from the energy storage device bank (Christmann discloses direct power paths (LV and HV) in which harvested energy goes directly to the power loads, e.g., the LV path includes the 1v power loads (“second device”). Christmann at Secs. 3.2 and 4.2 and Fig. 3. Although the example provided in Sec. 4.2 related to the HV path, the same logic would apply to the LV path. That is, the LV direct path, which includes the 1.2v-1.5v capacitor (“energy storage device bank”) (and is more efficient than the indirect path), is used if the input power is greater than that needed by the Iv power loads. See also Christmann Secs. 1 and 5 (discussing a reconfigurable architecture to provide highly efficient autonomous systems.
energy received from a magnetoelectric energy harvester (Christmann in view of Huang does not explicitly disclose that the energy harvesters can include a magnetoelectric energy harvester. However, in a same field of endeavor, harvesting energy from sensors (and thus analogous art), Zaeimbashi discloses a magnetoelectric antenna that can perform wireless energy harvesting. Zaeimbashi at Abstract. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to use Zaeimbashi’s magnetoelectric antenna as the energy harvester because it can “efficiently perform wireless energy harvesting.” Zaeimbashi at p. 2. Because Zaeimbashi and Christmann in view of Huang relate to energy harvesting, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G.).
Regarding claim 2: The system of claim 1, wherein the controller module further includes instructions to cause:
in response to the rate being less than the power consumption rate of the second device: the first device to receive power from an energy source; and the second device to receive the power from the energy source (Christmann discloses that the indirect power paths, which includes supplementing power from the battery (“energy source”), are used if the harvested energy is not enough to supply the LV power loads and the HV power loads. Christmann at Secs. 3.2 and 4.2 and Fig. 3.);
in response to the rate being greater than the power consumption rate of the first device: the second device to receive the power from the energy source (Christmann discloses reconfiguring the architecture (i.e., power paths) to provide a highly efficient system. Christmann at pars. 1, 3.2, 4.2, and 5. Christmann also discloses that using direct power path is more efficient than using an indirect power path. Christmann at Secs. 3.2 and 4.2. Accordingly, in a scenario where the input power from the energy harvesters is enough for the HV power loads but not enough for both the HV and LV power loads, the system will look find the most efficient path. In this case the most efficient path will be to supply the HV power loads using the HV direct path, which will be more efficient than using the HV indirect path. This is because, in the HV indirect path, the battery via the DC/DC voltage regulator supplements the power to the HV path. Because the harvested energy will not be enough to supply both the LV power loads and HV power loads using their respective direct paths, the LV loads (“second device”) will be supplemented using the battery (“energy source”).);
in response to the rate being greater than the power consumption rate of the second device, but less than the power consumption rate of the first device: the first device to receive the power from the energy source (Christmann discloses direct power paths (LV and HV) in which harvested energy goes directly to the power loads, e.g., the LV path includes the 1v power loads (“second device”). Christmann at Secs. 3.2 and 4.2 and Fig. 3. Although the example provided in Sec. 4.2 related to the HV path, the same logic would apply to the LV path. That is, the LV direct path, which includes the 1.2v-1.5v capacitor (“energy storage device bank”) (and is more efficient than the indirect path), is used if the input power is greater than that needed by the LV power loads. See also Christmann Secs. 1 and 5 (discussing a reconfigurable architecture to provide highly efficient autonomous systems.);
in response to the rate being greater than a sum of the power consumption rate of the first device and the power consumption rate of the second device: the first device to receive the power from the energy storage device bank; and the second device to receive the power from the energy storage device bank (Christmann discloses direct power paths (LV and HV) in which harvested energy goes directly to the power loads, e.g., the HV path includes the 1.8v-3.6v power loads (“first device”). The direct paths are more efficient that indirect path. Christmann at Secs. 3.2 and 4.2 and Fig. 3. Christman discloses that, when the input power is above the amount needed by the load, the harvested power supplies power to the load. Christmann at Sec. 4.2 and Fig. 5. Accordingly, in a scenario where the harvested energy is greater than the amount needed by the HV and LV power loads, the HV and LV power loads will be supplied using their respective direct paths, which includes the respective capacitors (“energy storage device bank”); and
in response to the rate being greater than the sum of the power consumption rate of the first device and the power consumption rate of the second device: the energy source to receive the power from the energy storage device bank (Christmann disclose that the battery (“energy source”) will charge via the respective capacitors (“energy storage device bank”) if the harvested energy is greater than that required by the HV and LV power loads. Christmann at Secs. 3.2 and 4.2 and Fig. 3.).
Regarding claim 3: The system of claim 1, wherein:
the controller module further includes instructions to cause a first energy storage device, of the energy storage device bank, to be configured to store the energy received from the magnetoelectric energy harvester (Christmann discloses that the LV and HV capacitors (“energy storage device bank”) in the respective LV and HV power paths store the incoming harvested energy. Christmann at Sec. 3.2 and Fig. 3. The LV capacitor will correspond to the “first energy storage device.”);
the rate analysis module further includes instructions to determine that an amount of energy stored by the first energy storage device is at a capacity of the first energy storage device (Christmann discloses that the controller determines when the LV capacitor is charged to 1.5 volts. Christmann at Sec. 3.2 and Fig. 3.); and
the controller module further includes instructions to cause, in response to a determination that the amount of energy stored by the first energy storage device is at the capacity of the first energy storage device: a second energy storage device, of the energy storage device bank, to be configured to store the energy received from the magnetoelectric energy harvester; and the first energy storage device to be configured to cease storing the energy received from the magnetoelectric energy harvester (Christmann discloses that, after the LV capacitor is charged to 1.5 volts, the harvested energy is used to charge the HV capacitor (“second energy storage device”). Christmann at Sec. 3.2 and Fig. 3.).
Regarding claim 17: The system of claim 1,
wherein at least one of the processor, the memory, the energy storage device bank, the magnetoelectric energy harvester, the first device, or the second device is disposed in a building (Christmann discloses that the sensor nodes can be inserted in buildings. Christmann at Sec. I.).
Regarding claim 18: A method (Christmann at Secs. 3.2 and Fig. 3.), comprising:
determining, by a processor, a rate at which an energy storage device bank stores energy received from a magnetoelectric energy harvester; and causing, by the processor, in response to an existence of a condition and the rate being: greater than a power consumption rate of a first device, the first device to receive power from the energy storage device bank; and greater than a power consumption rate of a second device, but less than the power consumption rate of the first device, the second device to receive the power from the energy storage device bank (Please see analysis in claim 1.).
Regarding claim 19: The method of claim 18, further comprising:
causing, by the processor, a first energy storage device, of the energy storage device bank, to be configured to store the energy received from the magnetoelectric energy harvester; determining, by the processor, that an amount of energy stored by the first energy storage device is at a capacity of the first energy storage device; and causing, by the processor in response to a determination that the amount of energy stored by the first energy storage device is at the capacity of the first energy storage device: a second energy storage device, of the energy storage device bank, to be configured to store the energy received from the magnetoelectric energy harvester; and the first energy storage device to be configured to cease storing the energy received from the magnetoelectric energy harvester (Please analysis in claim 3.).
Regarding claim 20:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium for providing power to devices from a magnetoelectric energy harvester, the non-transitory computer-readable medium including instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (Huang at par. [0035].), cause the one or more processors to:
determine a rate at which an energy storage device bank stores energy received from the magnetoelectric energy harvester; and cause, in response to an existence of a condition and the rate being: greater than a power consumption rate of a first device, the first device to receive power from the energy storage device bank; and greater than a power consumption rate of a second device, but less than the power consumption rate of the first device, the second device to receive the power from the energy storage device bank (Please see analysis in claim 1.).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christmann in view of Huang and Zaeimbashi, and further in view of J.-F. Christmann, E. Beigne, C. Condemine, P. Vivet, J. Willemin, N. Leblond, and C. Piguet, “Bringing Robustness and Power Efficiency to Autonomous Energy-Harvesting Microsystems,” IEEE Design & Test of Computers, vol. 28, no. 5, pp. 84–94, Oct. 2011 (“Christmann2”).
Regarding claim 4: The system of claim 1, wherein:
the first device comprises one of a sensing device and a communications device (Christmann discloses that the power loads can include processing, sensing, and communication functions. Fig. 3 shows that the HV power loads (“first device”) can include sensing devices and communication devices. Christmann at Sec. 3.1 and Fig. 3. In addition, Christmann also cites Christmann2 for providing an overview of Fig. 3. Christmann2 discloses that the external loads (referred to herein as HV power loads) can include wireless communication devices. Christmann2 at Fig. 1 and p. 92. Christmann2 is a same field of endeavor, energy harvesting ,and thus is analogous art. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Christmann and Christmann2 because Christmann expressly refers to Christmann2 with respect to getting an overview of Christmann’s energy harvesting platform. Accordingly, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP § 2143.I.G.);
the second device comprises one of the sensing device and the communications device (Christmann discloses that power loads can include processing, sensing, and communication functions. Fig. 3 shows that the LV power loads (“second device”) are integrated devices. Christmann at Sec. 3.1 and Fig. 3. Christmann2 discloses that the internal loads (referred to herein a LV power loads) can include sensors such as humidity and temperature. Christmann2 at Fig. 1 and p. 92.); and
the second device is different from the first device (Christmann2 shows that the LV power loads can have temperature and humidity sensors and the HV power loads can have wireless communication devices. Christmann2 at Fig. 1 and p. 92.).
Regarding claim 5: The system of claim 4,
wherein the sensing device is communicably connected to the communications device (Christmann2 discloses that the sensor data (temperature and humidity) can be communicated via a wireless communication device. Christmann2 at p. 92.)
Regarding claim 6: The system of claim 4, wherein:
the sensing device comprises at least one of a humidity sensing device, a vibration sensing device, a temperature sensing device, a water leak sensing device, an uninterrupted power supply monitoring sensing device, a current sensing device, a power alignment sensing device, a proximity sensing device, an imaging device, or a ranging device (Christmann2 shows that the LV power loads can have temperature and humidity sensors. Christiann2 at Fig. 1 and p. 92.; and
the communications device comprises at least one of a transmitter, a receiver, or a transceiver (Christmann2 shows that the HV power loads can have wireless communication devices, which will include a transceiver. Christmann2 at Fig. 1 and p. 92.).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christmann in view of Huang and Zaeimbashi, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0254503 to Widmer et al. (“Widmer”).
Regarding claim 9: The system of claim 1,
wherein: at least one of the processor, the memory, the energy storage device bank, the magnetoelectric energy harvester, the first device, or the second device is disposed on a vehicle (While Zaeimbashi discloses an exemplary application to medical implants and Christmann discloses an exemplary application to buildings, Christmann in view of Huang and Zaeimbashi do not expressly disclose that that they can be included in a vehicle. However, those skilled in the art would understand that the teachings in Christmann in view of Huang and Zaeimbashi relate to power management in autonomous self-powered sensor nodes (see Christmann at Abstract) and not to any particular application, and one skilled in the art would also understand that these sensor nodes can be used in a variety of applications. To this end, Widmer discloses the use of ultrasonic sensors in a vehicle application. Widmer at par. [0065]. teachings in Christmann in view of Huang and Zaeimbashi, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify the ultrasonic sensor of Widmer to include the power management of Christmann in view of Huang and Zaeimbashi, including the use of magnetoelectric energy harvesters, in order to avoid as much as possible the use of batteries. Christmann at Abstract. Because Christmann in view of Huang and Zaeimbashi discloses power management for a sensor, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G; see also MPEP §2143.I.A.),
the vehicle comprises a wireless power receiving coil configured to produce, in a presence of a magnetic field, power in an alternating current form (Widmer discloses that the vehicle is capable of wireless charging using an antenna (e.g., antenna 118) (“wireless power receiving coil”) for wireless power charging in the presence of a magnetic field. Widmer at pars. [0065], [0097]-[0099] and [0125]-[0126] and Figs. 2, 9, and 23.), and
the magnetoelectric energy harvester is disposed on the vehicle in a vicinity of the wireless power receiving coil (As discussed above with respect to claim 1, the autonomous sensor node of Christmann in view of Huang and Zaeimbashi will harvest energy from RF fields. Zaeimbashi at Fig. 1. Accordingly, to maximize the energy harvesting (and ensure that the sensor works), it would have been obvious to dispose the sensor near the antenna 118 of the vehicle.).
Regarding claim 10: The system of claim 9,
wherein at least one of the first device or the second device comprises a power alignment sensing device configured to sense a degree of alignment between the wireless power receiving coil and a wireless power transmitting coil (Widmer discloses that the ultrasonic sensors, which can be either or both of the first device or the second device, can be used to position the vehicle “until an alignment error has reached a tolerable value.” Widmer at par. [0065].
Regarding claim 11: The system of claim 1,
wherein: at least one of the processor, the memory, the energy storage device bank, the magnetoelectric energy harvester, the first device, or the second device is disposed on a vehicle, and the magnetoelectric energy harvester is disposed on the vehicle at a position to be exposed to radio frequency waves associated with communications among at least one of vehicles or between one vehicle and another communications device (Widmer discloses that the wireless power charging system 150 includes communication links 152, guidance links 154, and alignment systems 156 (“radio frequency waves associated with communications among at least one of vehicles or between one vehicle and another communications device.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0113677 to Boley et al. (“Boley”) discloses a power management circuit.
Zhang, Xuefu, et al. "A novel power delivery method for asynchronous loads in energy harvesting systems." ACM Journal on Emerging Technologies in Computing Systems (JETC) 7.4 (2011): 1-22 discloses switch capacitor on-chip capacitor bank block.
Christmann, J. F., et al. “An innovative and efficient energy harvesting platform architecture for autonomous microsystems.” Proceedings of the 8th IEEE International NEWCAS Conference 2010. IEEE, 2010 discloses an energy harvesting platform with power management.
Christmann, Jean-Frederic, et al. “Bringing robustness and power efficiency to autonomous energy harvesting microsystems.” 2010 IEEE Symposium on Asynchronous Circuits and Systems. IEEE, 2010 discloses an energy harvesting platform with power management.
Abrial, André, et al. "A new contactless smart card IC using an on-chip antenna and an asynchronous microcontroller." IEEE Journal of Solid-State Circuits 36.7 (2001): 1101-1107 discloses an asynchronous microcontroller.
K. Hamza et al., "A Combination of Energy Harvesting and Wireless Power Transfer for Applications in Harsh Environments," 2022 19th International Multi-Conference on Systems, Signals & Devices (SSD), Sétif, Algeria, 2022, pp. 864-869, discloses wireless power transfer with energy harvesting.
/B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116