DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1, 4-8 are amended and claims 2-3 are cancelled, submitted on 1/28/2026. Claims 1 and 4-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 14 and 15 does not actually further limit claim 13, because claim 13 is dependent from the independent claim 1 which has incorporated the originally filed claim 2 and claim 3 corresponding to the same limitation of claim 14 and claim 15, respectively.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 5-7, 11-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 20160049632 A1), in view of Wang (CN 107195946 A, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang discloses a battery, comprising: a housing (case 20, [0052]); a cell arranged in the housing (FIG. 1), wherein the cell is provided with a first tab (positive electrode tab 17, [0057] and FIG. 1) and a second tab (negative electrode tab 19, [0057] and FIG. 1) having an opposite polarity relative to the first tab, and the first tab and the second tab are located at the same end face of the cell (FIG. 1); a cover assembly (cap plate 130 with 137/139 [0052] and FIG. 1) connected to the housing (130 covers upper portion of 20, [0052]), wherein the cover assembly comprises a first cover (positive electrode terminal 137 [0058]), a second cover (negative electrode terminal 139 [0058]) and an insulator (130, FIG. 1), the first cover and the second cover are connected to each other in an insulated manner through the insulator to form an integral structure (139 insulatingly coupled to the cap plate 130, [0059]), the first cover is connected to the first tab ([0062]), and the second cover is connected to the second tab ([0070]); and an insulating barrier (insulating spacer 110 [0052] and Annotated FIG. 1) arranged between the first tab and the second tabs wherein the insulating barrier comprises a first connection portion (three upward protrusion portions, Annotated FIG. 1) and a second connection portion (two flat portions Annotated FIG. 1), the first connection portion (protrusion along y direction, Annotated FIG. 1) is arranged perpendicular to the second connection portion (horizontal flat portion along Z direction, Annotated FIG. 1), one end of the first connection portion is connected to the second connection portion, a bottom of the second connection portion abuts against the cell (FIG. 1), one end of the second connection portion extends in the x direction (left direction along z axis, Annotated FIG. 1) towards the first tab to form a space for accommodating the first tab, and the other end of the second connection portion extends in the y direction (right direction along z axis, Annotated FIG.1) towards the second tab to form a space for accommodating the second tab; wherein the second connection portion is provided with a first slot opening 110’ and a second slot opening on two sides of the first connection portion (Annotated FIG. 1), the first tab is in clamped connection to the first slot, and the second tab is in clamped connection to the second slot ([0060] and FIG. 1).
Hwang generally mentions battery (Title) without specifying the battery is a cylindrical battery. Further, while Hwang discloses a desire of a battery having a simple structure and improved output performance due to a reduction in electrical resistance ([0006]), Hwang does not explicitly disclose the slots 110’ of the second connection portion are bayonets.
Wang teaches a battery module occupies less space and increases the energy density of the battery pack ([0014]), with an acquisition plate 40 disposed in between the bottom cover 20 and the top cover 30 ([0037] and FIG. 1) a plurality of first acquisition terminals 401 and second acquisition terminals 402 are snapped together in the first bayonet 211 and the second bayonet 311 in a one-to-one correspondence ([0037] and FIGs. 3-5), which teaches using bayonet slot 211/311 for snap-fixing terminals 401/402.
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the slot opening of Hwang to be a bayonet shape as 211/311 taught by Wang, and with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a battery with a simple structure and improved output performance due to a reduction in electrical resistance, as desired by Hwang, without undue experimentation.
Further, Wang teaches a cylindrical battery ([0025] and FIG. 1). It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the battery of modified Hwang in a cylindrical shape with a reasonable expectation of success without undue experimentation.
Regarding claims 5 and 17, modified Hwang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Hwang further discloses two ends of the first connection portion are provided with reinforcement structures (protrusions at both sides with an arch reinforcement structure, Annotated FIG. 1).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, modified Hwang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Hwang further discloses each of the reinforcement structures is arranged in a cambered shape (arch shape, Annotated FIG. 1).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, modified Hwang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Hwang has included the first connection portion and the second connection portion as an integral structure (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Hwang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Hwang further discloses the upper opening of the case 20 may be sealed by the cap plate 130 ([0056]) which anticipates the claimed “an insulating seal is arranged between the housing and the cover assembly”.
Regarding claim 12, modified Hwang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Since modified Hwang has the insulator of the cap plate 130 and the insulating seal is formed by the cap plate 130 to seal the case 20, a skilled artisan would reasonably envisage the insulating seal would be adjacently disposed around the peripheral edges of the cap plate 130 in order to achieve air-tightly seal with the case 20 ([0056]), which means the insulating seal and the insulator are adjacently connected to each other in one unit, thus reading on “the insulating seal and the insulator are integrally formed”. {Examiner notes: The term “integrally formed” is broadly and reasonably interpreted as “formed as a unit with another part”.}
Regarding claims 13-15, modified Hwang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. While modified Hwang seems showing a battery formed by an electrode assembly made of a plurality layers of with a stacked electrode pairs and tabs 17/19, modified Hwang does not explicitly disclose a battery module, comprising a plurality of cylindrical batteries according to claim 1 (FIG. 3).
However, Wang teaches a battery module comprising a plurality of cylindrical batteries (FIG. 1). It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further prepare a battery module comprising a plurality of cylindrical batteries taught by Wang, and with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving a battery module comprising a plurality of cylindrical batteries with a simple structure and improved output performance due to a reduction in electrical resistance, as desired by Hwang, without undue experimentation.
Claims 14 and 15 are both included in the claim 13. See 35 U.S.C. 112(d) rejection to claims 14-15 above.
7. Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 20160049632 A1), in view of Wang (CN 107195946 A, see machine translation for citation), as applied to claim 1, further in view of Kim ( US 20160087318 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, modified Hwang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Hwang does not explicitly disclose the second connection portion is made of a high-temperature resistant material.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a cap assembly 30 for a rechargeable battery includes a cap plate 31, a lower insulating member 33 and a heat-resistant insulating layer 37 ([0041] and Enlarged portion of FIG. 1), the heat-resistant insulating layer 37 has a higher melting point than the lower insulating member 33 ([0058]), and the heat-resistant insulating layer 37 includes a groove 37a that is inserted into the recess portion 36a ([0060] and FIG. 4) to prevent generated arc from being expanded due to increased internal pressure of the rechargeable battery 101 ([0062]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to successfully prepare the second connection portion with a high-temperature resistant material similar to the heat-resistant insulating piece 37 taught by Kim, in order to prevent generated arc being expanded due to increased internal pressure of the rechargeable battery.
8. Claims 8-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 20160049632 A1), in view of Wang (CN 107195946 A, see machine translation for citation), as applied to claim 1, further in view of Uh ( US 20090061307 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, modified Hwang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. While modified Hwang further includes a coupling pin 131 at the bottom of the insulator (middle portion of 130, FIG. 1) to couple the cap plate 130 and the positive electrode lead 127 ([0065]), modified Hwang does not explicitly disclose that the bottom of the insulator is provided with an accommodation groove, and the other end of the first connection portion is arranged in the accommodation groove.
Uh teaches cap assembly 120 includes an electrode terminal 130, a cap plate 140, an insulating plate 150, and a terminal plate 160 ([0042] and FIGs. 1 and 3), the insulating plate 150 electrically insulates cap plate 140 from terminal plate 160 ([0047]); and the insulating plate 150 includes a first protrusion 150a, a third protrusion 150b ([0047] and FIG. 3). Uh further teaches cap plate 140 may include a second groove 140b for receiving a third protrusion 150b formed on insulating plate 150 to prevent a relative rotation between cap plate 140 and insulation plate 150 due to the spinning pressure ([0043]). It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to modify the bottom of the insulator of modified Hwang with an accommodation groove similar to cap plate 140 of Uh and the other end of the first connection portion with a protrusion as 150b of the insulating plate 150 of Uh, such that the other end of the first connection portion being arranged in the accommodation groove of the insulator of modified Hwang, in order to prevent a relative rotation between insulating barrier and the cover assembly due to the spinning pressure for the purpose of achieving better insulating and sealing.
Regarding claim 9, modified Hwang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Since the insulator and the first connection portion are connected through a groove connection as set forth above, the insulator and the first connection portion are naturally in an integral structure.
9. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 20160049632 A1), in view of Wang (CN 107195946 A, see machine translation for citation), as applied to claim 1, further in view of Breuer (DE102019208063 A1, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 10, modified Hwang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Hwang has a cylindrical surface of a downward protrusion of the second cover 139 that is connected to the insulator (middle portion of 130, FIG. 1). However, modified Hwang does not explicitly disclose the surface of the downward protrusion of 139 is provided with a plurality of nanopores, and the insulator is partially embedded in the plurality of nanopores.
Breuer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches similar a need of gas and liquid tight for battery cell safe operation ([000]) and a sealing or insulating element 4 should be joined to a battery cell component 8;18 as reliably as possible and/or the production of the battery cell should be as cost-effective as possible ([0006]). Breuer further teaches in the embodiment of FIG. 2d, different variants of the surface 6 of battery cell component 8 (or terminal 18) with structural elements 10 formed as pore-like depressions, as roughening, as hemispherical depressions and/or as mushroom-shaped elevations ([0030] and FIG. 2d) by means of a defocused electron beam ([0038]) whereby material of the battery cell component is melted and/or evaporated on the surface 6, which teaches the surface 6 of the terminal 18, connected to the insulator 4, is provided with a plurality of nanopores, and the insulator 4 is partially embedded in the plurality of pores, because material of the battery cell component 8;18 is melted and/or evaporated on the surface 6. Since it is well-known that electron beam means of Breuer is used to roughen surface by creating nanopores, a skilled artisan would reasonably expect that the plurality of pores of Breuer would be nanopores .
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to prepare the cylindrical surface of the downward protrusion of the second cover 139 in the same electron beam surface roughening method as taught by Breuer, having a plurality of nanopores, and the insulator being partially embedded in the plurality of nanopores due to the material of the first cover and/or the second cover is melted and/or evaporated on the surface, having a reasonable expectation to arrive at the claimed “wherein a surface, connected to the insulator, of the first cover and/or the second cover is provided with a plurality of nanopores, and the insulator is partially embedded in the plurality of nanopores.”
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant’s arguments regarding the amended claim 1 filed on 1/28/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K. L./Examiner, Art Unit 1751 5/6/2026
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751